Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
184 047 04
Connect ID #
184 047 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

8" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92079

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

8" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92079

44 reviews
View this product

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Seguin, TX on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased one of these to replace a home audio sub, I know it's for car audio but the low power requirements are on point for what I needed, the low end response and "punch" is far superior to the original sub. Gunshots and explosions have a new found resonance in my living room with any action movie. Highly recommend speaker for designed rms and impedance. Will absolutely buy again...Maybe next application will be in a vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Okeechobee, FL on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clean just like always with jl audio former shop owner did not sell jl but went up against them at shows plenty of times they always outperformed everyone else my 12w1 are 15 years old and still pounding hard so they have excellent quality to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 1/17/2021

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just finished install of two of these subs in my 1999 F-150. They are a drop in replacement into my old MTX Thunderform enclosure that still had the 20 year old original MTX subs. I'm running them with an old Rockford Fosgate Power 450s bridged into 2 ohms. What a difference the new JL Audio subs make! It will take a while to break them in but I am very pleased with the performance so far. JL Audio makes a great product and I highly recommend these subs if you are using a small sealed enclosure.

Pros: Great low end performance in a small package. Also fit perfectly into my old enclosure with no modifications.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just Ok for the money

Joe from OVERLAND PARK, KS on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does ok but honestly if didn't already have installed would have sent it back. It can not keep up with most music I listen too. Not a bass friendly sub

Pros: Small Depth

Cons: Cant handle bass at all

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Oakdale, CA on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding compact sub.

Pros: Small yet great output. JL quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/23/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Good base, easy hook up.

Pros: Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Rock Springs, WY on 7/25/2020

2010 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing an old worn out shaker 1000 system in my Shelby. These speakers NAILED it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Michael Todd from STANFORD, KY on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub. People are surprised that it's just an 8"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great OE replacement driver.

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 6/7/2020

2014 Lexus RX350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace my stock subwoofer. It bolted in to the stock location with minimal work since it has 8 mounting holes instead of the 4 with most subs. Hits much harder, is faster and sounds considerably more natural as opposed to the stock, Pioneer sub. Great performance for a very modest price and is highly recommended.

Pros: Efficient Accurate Sharp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio never let's me down! I have several JL products and as usual, very satisfied with them. This 8 inch replaced the after market 8 that blew, which was replaced by another 8 that also blew.

Pros: Sounds amazing, sharp and hits the perfect lows!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Overall everything was excellent the speakers the quality of the sound

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall everything was excellent the speakers the quality of the sound the packaging the timing and I will recommend we ordering from you

Pros: Excellent quality loud

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love this thing

Crutchfield customer from Quebeck, TN on 8/13/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this sub. It packs quite a punch for being so small, however my favorite part is how clear it sounds. It's not just powerful base, it's beautiful sounding bass you can feel. One note, the sub doesn't come with any mounting hardware.

Pros: Amazing sound in a very small package

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 7/26/2019

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sub, thumps pretty good for a single 8

Pros: Good sound, well buit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Alex from Prosper, TX on 7/12/2019

2012 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL sub rocks 07 expy.

Mike from Ooltewah, TN on 2/24/2019

2007 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome performance for a small subwoofer as expected from JL audio. Had to modify the fit as the cage was a little small for the expedition's OEM sub box. Nothing a little 1/4 inch plywood and silicone couldn't cure. The OEM sub used a bolt through the back of the enclosure to help hold the magnet in place, but JL doesn't have a threaded hole, so I plugged the hole with a nut/bolt with a rubber washer. Solid and air tight. Completes the whole JL speaker package in the expy, components in front, coax in rear, running on a sound stream 5 channel nano amp. Wife couldn't be happier with the system. Modern Bluetooth for her phone curtesy of Kenwood head unit, and plenty of boom for her kpop favorite BTS. Extra note. I bought the sub as a open box. Saved a few dollars and was not disappointed with the contents. Thanks Crutchfield's for this great option.

Pros: It's JL Audio. What more is there to say. Tight, clean, powerful, bass.

Cons: Driver not a direct fit for the OEM enclosure. Expect to create a ring bracket and fill in bolt hole behind driver in enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio in Toyota Tacoma JBL System

Artemio from Amarillo, TX on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of these subwoofers in my Tacoma. These sound AMAZING! Thanks to Crutchfield support for advising on which subwoofers to choose based on my current setup. My Tacoma has the JBL package, so I added a separate amplifier to power these two babies. They are a little pricy compared to other subs, but you get what you pay for. These provide amazing clean, deep, punchy bass. I've never owned JL Audio before, im an Infinity fan and so far I am impressed. I've had these for 6 months. Once they were broken in, the sound improved. By that I am that the bass is now deep and clean. Definitely worth every penny on these sweet babies!!!

Pros: Small, but not shallow. Powerful Clean bass

Cons: Price, maybe?

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound with factory amp

Benjamin from Salina, KS on 9/25/2018

2000 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great in place of my stock sub in my 1999 explorer. With the factory amp and stereo it sounds great. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

JT from Augusta, KS on 9/3/2018

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub, impressive sound. Installed in a 2005 Tahoe - found a factory sub box for the left rear cargo area from a '00-'02 Tahoe and retrofitted with this sub. This is a very small box designed to fit this space. Driving it with a Rockford Fosgate Punch P500X1BDI amp. I can't think of how it could really be better, excepting include mounting screws with it. If you need an 8" sub to fit a small space, get this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

surprising output

JTK from Bedford, NH on 8/30/2018

2014 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I based my purchase on reviews so I'm paying it forward by writing one... I know its nearly impossible to buy audio gear online without being able to listen first. For their price and size, these are pretty impressive for 8 inch. I bought 2, mounted in separate 1.34 cu. ft. sealed boxes and powered with a kicker 43CXA300.1 at 2 ohm. I've had 12's and 10's in my younger years and I can say technology has come a long way since then, these sound accurate, "quick" and go pretty low which is what I was looking for. I definitely would not have gone with a smaller amp though... I would recommend a similar sized amp to push these to their limit given their size. I've pushed them pretty hard and so far I hear no fatigue... if you want bass that's musical and within reason (not heard 2 miles away) then you'll be pleased with these.

Pros: quick and responsive, not sloppy.

Cons: no grill included

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome sub, great bass great price.

Rick from Jacksonville, FL on 7/30/2018

2015 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Big sound and clear tight bass in sealed enclosure. JL always delivers and this 8 in. Does not disappoint. Rocks my daughters dodge dakota. Very satisfied.

Pros: Great price and great sound quality.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Timothy from Madison, WI on 7/2/2018

2006 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Nice clean bass!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Huge sound in a small sub

Jon D from Mililani, HI on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing depth and range is what comes to mind with this not-so-tiny 8" woofer from JL. I chose this brand based on excellent experiences with JL Audio in the past. I had an SUV prior to the car I have now. In the SUV I had a 12" JL PowerWedge box/speaker combo running off of a class D mono amp separately. That thing slammed! I never fully powered it or turned it up to its potential, because I probably would've went def. So when I sold that SUV and got a smaller hatchback with a stock 6" Subwoofer, my first thought was a JL upgrade. I got this speaker instead of a greater power handling 8W3, because this one had slightly more range on the lows and requ I had to bore out the old 6" sub holder to fit the JL 8W1 and expand the back by about 1.5". Then find a remote tap for the external amp. When it was all done, I was amazed by sound and vibrations this 8" speaker reproduced. Wow! It sounded like the range my old 12" PowerWedge could make! The only catch was I couldn't turn it up as much, which I wouldn't do anyway. That's fine, I don't need the people 2 cars in front of me to hear and feel my bass anymore. I just wanted that depth that the stock couldn't reach. Some songs can only be fully appreciated with the right speakers. This sub does just that. If you're still in your teenage or even your twenties this may not have enough volume to fill your ego, but it'll make you go def if you play it loud long enough. I'd definitely recommend it if you just need quali

Pros: Small size, deep quality bass without needing to turn the volume all the way up. Fits in CT200h stock enclose with minor modification.

Cons: Not loud enough to advertise the goods in your trunk to your neighbors up the street - if that's what your trying to accomplish.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall satisfaction sounds great for my style of music. (Funk Jazz)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

VIRGINIA from Ventura, CA on 2/9/2018

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a pair of shallow 8 inch subs. I had these before and I liked them. I'm always looking for better so when they finally wore out I looked around. I couldn't find anything better, even if I'd spent more money. If you need a great 8 inch sub, that will fit in a 4 inch deep box, with a fantastic frequency response, look no further.

Pros: Affordable, great sound for an 8 inch sub, super frequency response.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

OMG to OHM's!

gary c from St Petersburg, FL on 12/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased for factory replacement sub in my 2007 Tundra Double Cab w/JBL Nav system (OEM bass under rear jump seat came apart, old age). Had to do some modification to the factory underseat bass box to make this fit, this speaker is an inch too deep on a top mount install. Problem: The JBL system in all toyotas are 1.8 OHM as measured at the speaker. This JL is a 4 OHM. It was light years ahead of the stock unit, but because the OHM's did not match the other speakers in the truck it required constant tone adjustment for different music. Pain in the ass! I would tune it for a strong modern bass song, and sounded great, then a softer bass song from and old rock song would sound empty, no bass at all. Lesson learned...do not mix and match OHM's in your system. Crutchfield support was absolutely AWESOME! Hank helped me figure this thing out, even had me send him a pic of my OEM part to determine voice coil count, and research any number on it! We came to the conclussion the JL had to go, and w/Crutchields 60 day return policy... they hooked me up with a new RetroSound 2 OHM 8" R-TW82 and shipped the same day with an RMA sent to my e-mail! Instant satisfaction! Great that I did not have to return the JL before they send the RetroSound! I don't know who is in charge of Crutchfields buisness model, and customer first attitude, but they nailed it! Thanks Crutchfield! P.S. I will review the RetroSound as soon as it is installed and thumping!

Pros: It's JL, what can you say! Great sub!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

JL audio

JOHN from Salinas, CA on 10/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to buy 8 in subwoofers due to space requirements my friend gave me 2 8 in in another well known popular brand after installing t was a slight improvement however not musical and missing that thump and clear rumble that brings a smile to our faces . I did alot of research read alot of reviews The JL audios were raved about so I ordered from Crutchfield the price was well within my budget and I figures if they weren't an immediate upgrade I could return them Wow what a difference not a little difference but an astonishing improvement My buddy was also immediately impressed so much so that he is going to replace his 10 in sub in his 2015 silverado. Thank you to Crutchfield for carrying such fine products at amazing prices and for speedy service I am a loyal customer for life

Pros: Very musical clear crisp n thumps way lower than most everything else especially in price range

Cons: None other than I wish I could have fit 10s or even 12s

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from NY on 8/20/2017

2012 Chevrolet Captiva Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL is by far one of the best brands in the industry. The 8" woofer is a cult classic and this version does not disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Bouton,ia on 7/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Sonora, CA on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit 2001 stock sub box. Had to modify sub to fit. Also doesn't sound good , my gues not enoff air space in box. Don't trust the vehicle look up listing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 20 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/1/2017

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed 2 of these in a Q-logic box running at 4 ohms with 150 watts to each in my toyota tundra. They sound fantastic! I am amazed at the bass they produce.

Pros: Tight accurate bass!

Cons: They are not dual voice coil, so I couldn't run both at 4 ohms on one channel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Andre from California on 12/26/2016

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great packaging subs look good. Can't wait to hear them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Freaking Awesome!

Kevin from Sherman Oaks, CA on 6/24/2016

2013 Lexus CT200H

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took about 5 days after install for this sub to break in in sound but the sound quality is fantastic. Very rich, deep bass that you hear and feel. Music is greatly improved and I'm in love. It's amazing how adding this sub truly gives me the chills every time I listen to music in the car. By the way, this thing bumps. I put a knob on my kicker amp and only have this thing turned up about 7% of the way and it hits.

Pros: Bass you'll hear, feel and love

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3 4 & jx250/1 amp

Elvin G from Slidell, LA on 3/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this JL AUDIO merchandise is the greatest.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

J L sub

George from lake city, SC on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the factory sub in my 07' F150 with a little help from a heat gun to give me the depth it needs. Sounds great with a aftermarket amp.

Pros: Great quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great upgrade from stock sub

Wikiwha? from Nevada on 9/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker like all jl audio products.

Pros: Great sound quality

Cons: Spendy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 11 found this helpful

Perfect

Hus from Danville, nh on 9/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just enough bass for quality music and surround sound DVD. After a little triming for depth clearance it works perfectly in the stock Toyota sienna subwoofer enclosure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Really great sound

Miguel Angel from PR on 9/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good

Pros: Great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Crutchfield customer from California on 9/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for stock sub in my 98 ES lexus.

Pros: solid sound, deeper bass than stock

Cons: not as loud as stock, difficult install

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Little Package Huge Hit!!!

Robert - North Carolina from North Carolina on 8/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this Sub to fit into my 2001 Ford Expedition Stock Sub Box with Stock Amp and I was amazed how the sound and power it produced. It hits like a 12". I had to utilize a .5" spaced ring to make if fit because of its depth but that it. I am over joyed with the results.

Pros: Size, Output, Power Handling, Sound, Great

Cons: None that I have encounter yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W1v3-4

Matt from Grand Rapids, MI on 5/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little sub for the money, just wish it would hit harder.but what can you expect for an 8" sub?

Pros: Quality build and looks good.

Cons: Light hitting.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio Woofer

deryck from Miami on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and sounding subwoofer. Do not be put off by its size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

very pleased

Scott R from California on 11/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this subwoofer to replace the blown stock subwoofer in my '99 Ford Expedition Mach system. The sound quality is hands down better than the stock speaker. The speaker is playing lows that the stock speaker could not produce. For those wanting to purchase this for the same application, read on: Even though this is a relatively shallow speaker, it is still just a little deep for the stock enclosure. I had to modify the enclosure by softening the area that the old subwoofer was bolted through the magnet with a heat gun and push it back a half inch. I had measured the stock enclosure prior to ordering and knew this would needed. As one would expect, the bolt pattern is not exact, so you will need to drill new holes.

Pros: Awesome replacement for a stock subwoofer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great small sub (fits Focus SVT)

DDriver from California on 11/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great narrow compact sub. It was a replacement for a factory sub on my Focus SVT 2002. Complete easy swap. The factory amp can push this small bad boy. Sounds better than stock subwoofer

Pros: Good punch for a very small package perfectly fits into factory box of focus mk1 (SVT audiophile package), except drilled wholes are not aligned absolutely perfectly.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jeep wrangler

Robbie M. from Charlotte, NC on 7/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed two of these JL 8s in my 2010 four door Jeep wrangler in a custom fiberglass box and the sound quality was fantastic even while the roof and door were off.

Pros: Small out of the way but hit hard at the same time due to the quality of the Sub

Cons: Small

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP