Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
261 619 23
Connect ID #
261 619 23
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio XD800/8v2

8-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 8

MFR # 98259

JL Audio XD800/8v2

JL Audio XD800/8v2

8-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 8

MFR # 98259

9 reviews
View this product

JL Audio does it again

Michael from Lawton, OK on 8/10/2020

2015 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has great power and superior heat exchange! I love the sleek look and Crutchfield did an amazing job and getting it to me quickly and in great shape. Unfortunately the sound wasn't the best until I added JL's TwK88, it is like the crossover knobs just couldn't quite get the sound right, no matter how much I, or my stereo shop played with it.

Pros: Small-ish, Great heat exchange, Pairs so well with the TwK-88.

Cons: The adjustment knobs are difficult to get to, having to remove the cover with two small allen keys. Sound is subpar until you add the TwK-88.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Beast

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is a beast. Tried several other ones that just could not power the speakers that I have in my Land Cruiser but this one does it power to spare. Smooth crisp sound throughout all the speakers.

Pros: Easy to install with plenty of amps and power to spare.

Cons: It's large, you need to have a lot of room for this one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AMAZING!

Guest from Vancouver, WA on 3/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is absolutely incredible. I have it hooked up to 3 JL 13w3's and a set of Alpine R type 6.5 with tweets and it thumps. I first bought the HD 1200/1 but it didnt like what I wanted to give it....it would turn off. This amp takes what I give it and begs for more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

8 Channels Made for Ideal Installation

Dave from Carlsbad, CA on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be a great 8 channel amp. I've only found a few nits. There's an error in the Owners Manual regarding the numerical outputs assigned to a 4 channel input that sent me down a rat hole. I plan to contact JL to recommend a change. Thumb screws or a hinge would be nice for the access cover; the two small countersunk screws require you to drag out the allen wrench every time you want to tweak the settings. The threaded shaft on the remote level control is too short for anything other than thin sheet metal; getting the nut on was exceedingly difficult when mounted in a plastic panel.

Pros: 75 X 8 is more than enough power. 8 Channels with crossovers made for an easy installation. Sounds great. Using the RLC to control the mid-range levels. Fit perfectly under an F150 passenger seat between the mounting rails.

Cons: Shaft on Remote Level Control (RLC) was too short for mounting in a plastic panel; getting the nut on was exceedingly difficult. Owners Manual needs correcting regarding the outputs assigned to a four channel input.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Superb upgrade from my Harman Kardon System!

Christopher from Dallas, Texas on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a crisp sounding system in my Mercedes with the factory Harman Kardon system, but with 12 speakers, I needed a multi channel amp since the clean sweep component requires an additional amp of its own. With the JL xd-800 8-ch amplifier, I only need to buy, install, wire, etc a single amplifier instead of two, 4-ch amplifiers with dual amp wiring kits, tons of y-adapters, mounting kits, then don't forget signal loss in the mix of it all! I needed this amplifier when I upgraded my previous Range Rover that had a 14-sp H/K system! Definitely suggest this amplifier as the "one-stop-shop" when needing to power multi-channel audio systems! PS. It has the perfect wattage for my factory speakers and if I wanted to upgrade, it was plenty powerful for them also. Even my subwoofer is powered by this amp. I've been an Network engineer for a long time and it's great full when components are made to be a multi-use item. After the clean sweep component, this amp adds the filters for my selected speakers. The factory head unit which I'm still using has only bass and treble controls, but now I was able to add treble and bass to my selected speakers, bass only to the factory sub, and full range to the center channel. I will most likely upgrade my factory door speakers for even a more HIFI sounding experience. This sound quality is far more appreciative than any megawatt driven competition vehicle I've ever had!

Pros: One stop shop for 8, 10, 12 & 14 speaker system amplifiers without a need for multi amps, lots of clean watts, high quality output. Excellent for upgrades to Bose and Harman Kardon systems, , but an amplifier needs to be made with the fiber optic input so we can delete the factory, and sometimes faulty amplifier. Maybe include the clean sweep into the amps.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Nice amp

Dennis from Northern, NV on 10/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a lot of amp for the money and size. It weighs quite a bit too. You can bridge groups of channels and the amp has a nice design. It is user friendly with decent positive clamping of cables. It is easy to set input gain settings with a volt meter. I like that all the connections are on one side, it makes it easier to arrange mounting positions.

Pros: 8 channels of decent performance and size. No complaints on the performance of the amp with decent drivers.

Cons: A little bit longer than I could use

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Runs ALL my speakers

Alexander from San Diego, CA on 10/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This one amp has enough power to run my Arc Audio 6.5" components, bi-amped. My Audio Frog coaxials in the rear passenger shoulder of my car, and the Arc Audio 5.25 Midbass in my hatch; both sets at 75W. Clean reproduction and awesome sound! It takes some knowledge and know-how to set-up, but having the correct crossover frequencies makes up for the time spent tuning. This paired with a separate amp for a sub powers all that you could ever need.

Pros: Runs ALL 8 pairs of speakers in my car.

Cons: Tough to tune, but with some homework and understanding it can be done.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio XD800/8v2

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 7/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great to have 1 amp to run all your speakers where you want them!

Pros: 1 amp for all!

Cons: you need a little more power to run a sub

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

A+ in Quality and Design

Rabuckg from Lawton, OK on 5/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb amp gives me exactly what I was looking for. Powers JL 6.5" in front doors and rear side panel (75 watts each), and a pair of 6.75" Kicker Subs in the rear deck (150 watts each (bridged). Perfect amp for my 2004 Pontiac GTO. Great job JL!

Pros: Design, quality, flexible input and output options, bridgeable, lower power consumption than my old 600 watt amp.

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP