Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
131 958 04
Connect ID #
131 958 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio JD400/4

JD Series 4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98361

JL Audio JD400/4

JL Audio JD400/4

JD Series 4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98361

34 reviews
View this product

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Cranston, RI on 1/30/2021

2018 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good amp. Seems to do the job, but my speakers blew. I dunno if it was because the amp or not. But otherwise it works good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing little amp!

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp rocks! I have this powering a set of morel coax up front and morel 6x9s in the rear deck of my 62 coupe deville. At first I had the speakers powered by and old eclipse 3640. The eclipse was and is still an amazing amp but thi JL 400/4 really made everything come to life! I love how compact and powerful it is! I would definitely recommend!!!

Pros: Price, size, sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Beaverdam, VA on 1/29/2021

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed myself under passenger seat in 2012 FJ Cruiser. Took 2 days, but I took my time and followed instructions from Crutchfield and Youtube videos. The wiring harnesses and extras that Crutchfield told me I needed came in very handy. Also installed JL Audio C1-690 speakers. Much better than the stock system and plenty loud.

Pros: Good Power Fits under seat wire connections are arranged nicely

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, CA on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good & satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Incline Village, NV on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 3rd JL Amp. Love the warm, crisp, clear, sound it produces. I'm using Polk speakers on all 3 amps and the sound is amazing. I get compliments all the time on how clear and full the sound is.

Pros: Well made Priced fairly Great sound Fairly compact 75 watts is plenty for 4 speakers in a car/truck. You can go with more power but it's like hunting squirrels with a 12 Guage. This is a really good Amp.

Cons: Someone has to install it?? No cons at all.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Roger from , NJ on 1/26/2021

2009 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL build quality is superior and sound is robust with clarity. Will buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice little amp

Nathaniel from FLORISSANT, MO on 12/28/2020

2013 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has great clean power and was very easy to install. The clipping indicator made it very simple to set the gain. I used the crossovers in the head unit so I did not need to dig into the other amp tuning functions.

Pros: small size, easy to install and tune

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 12/20/2020

2013 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup - good clean power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the buck!

Pros: All good!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 12/18/2020

2010 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for my door speakers at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/17/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had this amp professionally installed and it's pushing focal components and 6x9 in the cabin of my charger. It seems to have plenty of power to make the focal speakers come alive. This is the first amp I've purchased in 10 years and I have no problems with it. Small foot print makes it easy to install in a stealth position. I would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Its a winner

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 12/13/2020

2020 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this amplifier to drive a set of 6 1/2 components in the front of my truck, and a set of 6 1/2 coaxials in the rear doors. This amp does a great job, no hissing or wining. It's also pushing the speakers to very high volume levels without distortion. The price is right and I'm very satisfied

Pros: Price, volume , clarity

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Walker, LA on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Very versatile for my needs. Currently have 2 infinity reference 9632ix hooked and they sound phenomenal! No distortion , no overheating. I Intend to put a DD508 on it later and think it will do just fine with the added load.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from SAUK RAPIDS, MN on 11/7/2020

2006 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job well. The clipping light indicator is very handy for tool free tuning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid amp

Crutchfield customer from Seadrift, TX on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong compact amp for my high's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

edward from NEW HOLLAND, PA on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good power for a good price

Pros: easy install , clean look , powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quaility Amp Great Price

Jim from Minneapolis, MN on 7/29/2020

2008 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using mine as a 4 channel crossed over at 80Hz. speakers are infinity 2 ohms . It does run blazing hot in the summer at moderate to higher volumes after about 20 minutes (my time to work). I will probably purchase an aftermarket fan for it. Overall has good options. High Quality connectors for power, ground, and speakers. Have not tried to adjust gain yet using user instruction manual only by ear. I would have to disconnect all 4 speakers if I do that or risk blowing them.

Pros: Powerful Super price! JL audio has some other models way overpriced and same power as this one with some extra frills? Good quality power, ground, and speaker connectors

Cons: No installed fuse Runs hot with 2 ohm 4 channel loads (too hot for my hands to touch for over 1 second)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/25/2020

2006 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made my speakers INCREDIBLY loud, so much that I actually had to dial the input sensitivity back a little in order to not drown out my 12" alpine type R sub in the back. Provides sound clarity and volume well beyond what I anticipated!! All this and still compact enough to fit right under the driver's seat. Thank you JL and thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Hemlock, MI on 7/23/2020

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works as it should.

Pros: Easy to adjust for clipping

Cons: I'm not big on the style how the wires crimp down

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, NE on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very high quality, lots of nice features, and solid power for the price!

Pros: Love the input sensitivity light so you always set your gain correctly!

Cons: No subsonic filter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Screams

Josh from Moberly, MO on 7/5/2020

2002 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. Easy to install and setup. My stereo is so loud and clear.

Pros: Clip light for properly setting gain

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Typical JL quality.

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 7/5/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome. I'm powering two JL C2 6x9's and two JL 5 1/4's. Plenty of power. The clipping light makes tuning a breeze.

Pros: Compact, powerful, easy to set up.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 6/17/2020

2012 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love JL amps great quality sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Wenonah, NJ on 6/15/2020

2011 Dodge Nitro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid like everything JL

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Broadway, NC on 6/1/2020

2012 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic amp. I couldn't believe the way it made my kicker speakers come to life! The instructions on how to setup and calibrate were very easy as well. Highly recommend JL Audio products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Soddy Daisy, TN on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid piece of equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value here.

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 5/18/2020

2016 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amp at a great price point. It's decent sized and easily fits most places, such as under the seat or hidden in the trunk. Sound is great at it fits a budget install perfectly. Depending on your budget, I do find that the RD line of amps are easier to initially install and tune, but this one worked great for this car.

Pros: Inexpensive, good size

Cons: The RD line is a little easier to initially set up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 F-150 install with no issues

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/11/2020

2012 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased in late April 2020 and installed as a replacement to a previous amp that failed. Absolutely no issues with the unit, directions were clear and supporting documentation from Crutchfield was very helpful

Pros: size, cost, simplicity

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love JL Audio

Crutchfield customer from Rhinelander, WI on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful and clean sound.

Pros: Easy connections and tuning

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for the price

Benjamin from Mc Rae, AR on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For this being JLs entry level it does a very good job powering my Focal Flax woofers from my 3 ways and rear Hertz Cento 6x9s. Good clean clear and crisp sound. Would recommend on a budget

Pros: Price to performance, clean crisp sound, ease of installation

Cons: None that any other amp in the price range wouldn't have as well

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

awesome

Crutchfield customer from Astoria, NY on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, IN on 4/27/2020

1978 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Talladega, AL on 4/20/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great built well very nice packaging easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio JD400/4

Guest from Clearwater, FL on 3/7/2020

1994 BMW 525I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

TOP