Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
184 047 04
Connect ID #
184 047 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio RD400/4

4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98621

JL Audio RD400/4

JL Audio RD400/4

4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98621

48 reviews
View this product

So far so good!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/8/2021

2017 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great name and great amp. I have this amp running my new Focal setup in my 10th gen Si. To be exact, I have the Focal Performance PS 165FX fronts and ICU 100's in the rear deck rounded out with a RE 12. Only around 5 hours on these speakers/amp so far, getting better every time I get in. I don't suspect I will have ANY issues with this amp, reason I went with JL Audio. Clean and crisp power is all I have heard so far. Hopefully many years to come!

Pros: Small footprint and large sound

Cons: Pricier than other amps

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, NH on 12/22/2020

2020 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match for Alpine 6.5 Rs. Life is much easier when the consultants ask the right questions , it makes them truly helpful .

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Look no further!!

Kevin from Lamoni, IA on 9/13/2020

2003 Kia Spectra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was having bad luck with a Kenwood Excelon 4 channel amplifier So I went and got this one. This thing blows the Kenwood out of the water! I really can't describe how much better it really is and the clipping indicator is spot on. I tested it with my O-scope and it 100% passed for me. I will recommend people buy this one and I'm also looking into buying one of JL Audio's mono amps for subwoofer!

Pros: does 100% everything that it says in description.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Ottumwa, IA on 9/3/2020

2011 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good does what he says easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Jeffersonville, IN on 8/23/2020

2014 Lincoln MKS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this RD400/4 amplifier to run my 2 pairs of C2570X 5X7's. I also purchased RD1500/1 to run my subwoofer. Unfortunately I can't find the Q Class L7 15 inch 2 ohm sub that I want for my project. These amplifier and speakers were packed exceptionally well. I have purchased JL Audio amplifier before. I am not worried about the quality or performance of these amps. Once I can get my sub I will do another review.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

I like it

Lael from Mount Olive, AL on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp so far. Vast improvement from the JL JX400 I had prior. Pushes my Infinity Primus line up with ease and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect amp for my JL components

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Schertz, TX on 5/11/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade over the Kicker that it replaced. Adjustment options are straightforward.

Pros: Easy set up. Sounds good.

Cons: Had to go another website to download test tones.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp

Crutchfield customer from Mukwonago, WI on 5/5/2020

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it's a great amp more then fit my needs as an addition to my FJ audio upgrade project. Always been a fan of JL and have not installed in years. Getting back in the game with this amp has been fun. Plenty of adjustments and the clipping adjustment is great idea. Ultimately you end up adjusting it to your system but it's a great reference

Pros: Great adjustability

Cons: Non for me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds awesome

Juan from Brea, CA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never had it, looking forward to owning it soon. Thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 4/28/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp! Easy to set inputs/gains, sounds great and looks good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Selma, TX on 4/28/2020

2007 Porsche Cayman

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp. Plenty of power and no added noise. Love it!!

Pros: Great price and excellent quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good amp, it's versatile....small size, great punch, easy install, with clear sound. A little more money than compared to other amps in this wattage range, but money well spent. Great addition to my stock head unit.

Pros: Compact size. Accepts low-level and high-level signals from factory head unit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good sound

audio junkie from Eugene, OR on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really good amp. sound good, has good power. thats all pretty impressive however alternator whine started happening. cleaned and checked all connections for chassis and power. comes down to would not filter out the noise. replaced with alternate d class amp same location and connections. problem solved. that may not happen for everyone. sound quality is very good

Pros: small, efficient, powerful

Cons: alternator whine.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievably awesome. This thing did a miracle for me

Pros: No wire cutting

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sweet music

Crutchfield customer from Lake Jackson, TX on 1/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great amp, it's does an excellent job of cleaning up the signal and producing crystal clear sound. A little more money than other units in this watt range, but money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

After All

Craig from Oak Grove, MO on 1/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After all it is JL Audio. Small size, no noise, great punch, easy install, fantastic sound...after all, it IS JL Audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Scottsville, KY on 1/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect choice for amplifying my stock head unit. Super easy install. Love it!

Pros: Clean sound, power to spare

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield Customer 4 Life from USA on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small/compact, clean power!!! Smart amplifier that perfectly configures your vehicles audio to be distortion free!!! Protects and ensures that all your components will last during the life of your car!!!

Pros: This Amplifier eliminates the need for Line Output Converters (LOCs) in most installation scenarios. Amplifierc accepts low-level and high-level signals from a variety of factory head unit outputs and amplifiers, including single ended "ground referenced" sources, Balanced or Unbalanced "Bridged or BTL" sources. . Daisy chain multiple amplifiers with ease.

Cons: No bass knob. A bass knob does put more stress on an amplifier. JL AUDIO ensures all audio output is always always flawless. You must configure/tune the bass on the amplifier itself and then rely on your factory head unit or aftermarket head unit to make specific adjustments on your song selection. This amplifier does add the bass you need by increasing the rms power from the head unit. A bass knob is not needed with this amplifier. .

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

JL continues to inpress

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has plenty of power for what I need. The size of it and how clean my speakers sound compared to a cheaper amp I had makes a huge difference. I'm using Hertz Mille 3-way comments in the front and Hertz Mille 6.5" coax in the rear. This amp makes them scream. The build quality is something that can be expected from JL but you can also tell a lot of thought went into it. Nothing on it feels cheap.

Pros: Small foot print, solid build, plenty of power. Well worth the money.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 10/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clear sound great amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed both hardware and aesthetics

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

John from Somerset, NJ on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot of power for a small amplifier excellent sound quality for my Interiors my entire sound system JL Audio

Pros: Never go wrong with Jl

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Covina, CA on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Installation was simple and speakers sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Texas City, TX on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound way better than expected

Pros: Perfect for highs and mids

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good solid amp

franc23 from Northborough, MA on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. First real amp. Controls are easily accessible though best not to play with it much once set. Came away impressed. Tough to fit in a truck, ended up sealing the vent on the passenger side and this went below that seat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great liked all connections on one side mounted well also

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product lots of adjustments Fits in small spaces

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Joe from St Augustine, FL on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Lewisville, TX on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amps sound very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great 4 channel amp

FrankyG from Bellflower, CA on 8/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome 4 channel amp. Worth every dollar. Night and day from previous amp. JL audio might be a little more pricey than other audio equipment but you pay for what you get.

Pros: Compact and packs a punch. More than enough power for my set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

product is as described and works great. I have had no issues at the time of this review. I will add more info if I run into any problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Install

Phil from Wilmington, DE on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to replace a dead Infinity Reference amp. The install was easy since I had all the wires run already. The LED clipping lights and the test tone download from the JL website made setting levels easy. The sound is just a bit cleaner than the old amp and it doesn't get hot to the touch even though it is half the size.

Pros: Small and cool to the touch Easy Install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Woke up my system

George from Richmond, VA on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this amp with Alpine speakers. Really woke up my system. Very happy how it sounds.

Pros: Fantastic clean sound. Look great mounted too.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Kevin from Upper Marlboro, MD on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product Easy to install and good sound Stays cool

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

VERONICA from Fairfield, AL on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound.....no other competitors comes close.... .Crutchfield & JL Audio y'all got people hating on me ....lol

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

All you need for mids-highs

Rick from Elk Grove, CA on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amplifier, lots of power. Plenty of parameter settings available. Simple to install; I love the blue LED light! Most importantly it has plenty of power to drive my 6.5" mids. Thanks Sam at Crutchfield for recommending this amp to me!

Pros: Plenty of power, good price point

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good amp very easy to install the crossover adjustment are great delivers good power when needed doesn't over heat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Theodore from Midland, MI on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No complaints, Easy setup and sound clean. Recommended in this price range.

Pros: Gain adjustment.

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Takes the guess out of work.

Dave from Cowen, WV on 11/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this up to replace a physically larger Infinity Reference 704A. Everything is mounted to the rear wall of my F150 Supercab and needed that extra space. The install was easy, the output clean, and it was no sweat dialing it in. Not that anyone will ever see mine, but it's nice to know that it looks as good as it sounds. The only downside was that I was missing the mounting screws. Fortunately, I had some from a previous amp that I pressed into service and didn't have to resort to using assorted wood screws that were laying in a drawer in my workbench.

Pros: Small footprint and easy to dial in.

Cons: No mounting hardware? What gives?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great for the price

Mark from MINNEAPOLIS, MN on 9/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this amp for a few weeks running C3's on the front channels and C2's on the rear for fill. Having previously ran the Slash V2 and V3 series 4 channels as well as the J2 Series 4 channel, this amp definitely isn't the BEST in the JL line. I've never seen the HD series in person so I can't comment on that, but I would say the RD is definitely just below the Slash series. Good amp for the price, very compact and efficient, with decent settings and filters for the price. I would recommend for anyone who wants to break away from the entry level amps like Kicker and Pioneer. You definitely won't regret the investment!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Jackson Heights, NY on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it easy set up and it sounds great! Going deaf already!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from Clearfield, Ut on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this product. The Jl audio Rd 400/4 is a awesome product. I'm powering jbl 6.5 components and jbl 6x9 with a pioneer head unit. Very clean sound.

Pros: Great price High end construction Power 75x4 @ 4 ohms Small size

Cons: Can not find any

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Glenn from Union, MO on 4/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, need to use the HP filter for regular speakers and tune the filter some or it will eat em' up with bass also used this with the little Kenwood (2 channels) one for 6 channels total. Recommend Rockford Speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Good quality

Bobby from Birdsboro. PA on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and made of high quality material as expected. Service was great as always one of their fellow customer service reps helped me pick the best option in my price range.

Pros: Easy to set up and small size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

LUAN h from Atlanta, ga on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit nicely under the seat and it does what it suppose to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

Crutchfield customer from FORESTVILLE, CA on 10/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I PURCHASED THIS AMPLIFIER TO REPLACE AN OLDER SOUND STREAM AMPLIFIER. INSTALLATION AND TUNING WAS EASY,.MOST IMPORTANTLY IT SOUNDS GREAT.

Pros: SOUNDS GREAT SMALL IN SIZE

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio RD400/4

CBR Bob from Hamilton, NJ on 10/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smooth, easy installation. Replacing an old amp... Easy to adjust and set up. Good sound as expected.

Pros: Runs cool

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP