Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
843 472 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
843 472 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio C2-400X

Evolution™ C2 Series 4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # 99612

JL Audio C2-400X

JL Audio C2-400X

Evolution™ C2 Series 4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # 99612

24 reviews
View this product

JL Audio C2-400X

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 10/20/2019

1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upper end bass!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, IL on 7/29/2019

1980 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great flexibility, amazing sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound,great price

Kevin from Ringgold,Ga on 5/26/2019

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these to replace my blown 4x6 in my 09 single cab Silverado great sound great product. Will be buying 6.5 c2 from Crutchfield soon...

Pros: Good fit came with adapter plate easy install. Awesome sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 3/22/2019

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for such a small speaker. Perfect for my application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality

Jacob from Carmichael, CA on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are pretty great speakers. Originally had them hooked directly to the head unit and they sounded pretty good but once hooked to an amp they sound great. I have this set in the dash directly next to each other and having the added mounting plate it made the custom install a lot cleaner and easier. With a high pass filter they put out some great mid-bass and the tweeters are not harsh. I have these paired with 1 Infinity Kappa 6.5" coax. The Kappas have a higher pitched tweeter but i think the JLs have a better balanced tweeter. I wish I would have went with the matching JL 6.5" coax as these 4" speakers sound great.

Pros: tweeter mid-bass mounting options

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound quality

James from Litchfield, IL on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These pair of 4" coaxials have good output. In crisp, clear, and undistorted sound quality. With lower power needs these speakers will work in almost any 4" speaker system. I am very pleased and happy with the purchase of these speakers.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: It could use some pre terminated wire to make installation easier for every installation knowledge level.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/28/2018

2014 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rich sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Danny from Marietta, GA on 1/8/2018

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You know your getting the best with jl and Crutchfield is always on point

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Mitchell from Lincoln, CA on 12/29/2016

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, Used in the pillar of my Chevy truck. Don't expect too much power, they're only 4".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Allen J from Natchitoches, LA. on 4/27/2016

2006 Dodge Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Sounds great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

jl

mtnbiker2013 from Brandon ms on 5/8/2015

1995 Buick Skylark

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers. They pack such clear sound In a little package!

Pros: Small, clear, awsome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Crutchfield customer from Milford, CT on 2/8/2015

2001 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from stock speakers, sound great using aftermarket stereo with out amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

replacing original speakers

ORDEPA from San Marcos, CA on 12/7/2014

1988 Toyota MR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality but I expected more from JL speakers

Pros: Fit perfect like originaspeakersrs, good quality sound on low power

Cons: Not enough power as I expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JL audio C2-400x

carolyn from greenwood, in on 10/4/2014

2005 Lotus Elise

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the speakers. It was worth every penny and the time to put them in. I also put C5-525 speakers in the rear. I can drive in my Lotus-Elise with the sound turned down and hear every nuance of the music. I have not replaced the original head unit and the sound is soooo much better than the original speakers. I wish that I had replaced the speakers long ago. I had no idea that there could be such a huge change in sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sounding coaxials

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, WV on 1/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an old set of Infinity plates with these and the sound is great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

These are great little speakers!

Jacob from Eagan, MN on 6/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For all of the folks who want a clean, rich, full bass tone - these are great! I have 1" tweeters in the doors and 3-way 6x9's in the back dash. After I installed these I get a bass sound that fills the car. It completes the sound. I've seen people write about sounding tinny but I think they are finally hearing notes they hadn't heard before.

Pros: Fit perfectly - wired in parallel with door tweeters coming off a four channel amp. This makes wiring and power supply simple and effective.

Cons: I would like to see them handle about 5-10 more watts and come without a tweeter.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

Crutchfield customer from Apalachin, NY on 4/2/2012

1991 Nissan 300ZX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speaker. Very clean and crisp. For the money you can not beat these speakers.

Pros: Value, sound. All over a great product

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Tinny Sound

DaveL from Kennett Square, PA on 5/14/2011

2011 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hate to say this after spending this kind of money, but the factory speakers in the rear of my 2011 Chevy Express van sounded better than these. I realize that, due to the cavernous space, a 4" speaker won't provide the performance of a larger speaker, but I was expecting more than what these provide. There is no bass response and an overall tinny sound from these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 25 found this helpful

JL Audio Evolution 2

Mike from Colorado on 4/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these speakers in a 1951 Ford F-1 that I am refurbishing. I was limited by available space, so the 4" speakers were the most logical choice. They sound surprisingly good for 4". I would recommend this pair of speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

JL Audio C2-400X

justin from billings mt on 9/20/2010

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than stock by far should have gotten some bass blockers though. Sounds come from back seat sound much better than they used to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Decent Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 6/24/2010

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers around 8-9 months ago. I installed them into my 2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport and wired them onto my aftermarket head unit (50 watts per speaker) quite painlessly after a quick delivery from Crutchfield. After a few minutes of listening I quickly noticed 2 things. 1. The highs and mids were of AMAZING quality 2. The speakers shake a LOT when the bass boost is anywhere from -2 to 12. The only way to get it to not shake and be annoying is by turning the bass down to anywhere -3 or below. Good thing I have a nice subwoofer. With that said I had these suckers installed at the end of fall / beginning of winter. I like blasting my music, which was not a problem when the top of the jeep was always up in the cold winter weather. However as I got into spring and summer I realized these speakers are NOT meant for blasting purposes in a Jeep Wrangler. While the quality of the music is quite nice, it just isn't loud enough when the I'm driving topless. I have to strain my ears to hear the speakers when driving on an interstate. I am a firm believer that if you are driving a convertible, there should always be a volume that can be reached to hear without losing quality. Conclusion: the quality of these are amazing for the highs and mids, while not so great for the lows. The potential volume of these speakers is not loud enough to be used in a convertible! Beware to all you convertible owners! Save these speakers for your sedans and coupes!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 20 found this helpful

Awesome sound for this small speaker

Crutchfield customer from Orangevale, CA on 2/26/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these speakers in my dash of my 91 Camaro. Stock size was 4x6, these came with adapters in the box, it was great! I am using a new Kenwood deck that's rated 50x4 per channel, 22 RMS watts output. Turned up loud with bass up decent amount and bass boost all the way up these speakers don't even begin to destort, they are awesome. Clear highs and greats lows for being so little. Perfect for dash and or door speakers because the highs are so great and then you can add some bass to the rear of the car if you want. I am assuming because of the quality of these speakers that's why they are so deep in deminsions. I would measure first to make sure they will clear, cleared my dash by about a 1/2". But luckly the tweeters have a nice bar to protect them as well. Oh, the baffle boxes are totally useless! Only add to the depth issue and then you have to poke the screws through them and make sure it goes into your proper screw holes in the car. Plus, you should cut about a 1" or so hole in the bottom to give it a more ported sound, deeper bass in other words. But I ended up tossing them. But if you have the depth for them then I guess they are ok. Again, measure first! You WONT be disappointed either way, worth every penny! Got the matching rear speakers too and it only makes the whole system sound even better :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

These speakers are worth it

John from Honolulu, HI on 12/22/2009

2003 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried many 4" speakers in my van, always looking to get the last bit of aural quality out of my system. I have a high end JL Audio 4X100 amp, the Alpine CDA 9887 deck, which has the best sound shaping system, and the 6" Bazooka's pointed into a corner to emphasize the low end. Based on "Michaels" testimonial of the JL Audio Evolution C2 speakers in the Crutchfield catalog, I decided to take a chance and bought them. I was pleasantly surprised how the JL Audio C2400x speakers brought the music to life. Mannheim Steamroller's "Christmas" album, for example, sounds absolutely fantastic. Each note is delicately but precisely presented with all the punch and sparkle you could ask for. Listening to the album is now even more satisfying then before. And the Crutchfield service was excellent, as usual. I got delivery in a couple of days (not bad for Hawaii).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

A lot better than you'd expect

Clinton from Kansas City, MO on 6/2/2009

2001 Pontiac Grand Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Monsoon stereo in the grand am GT just isn't any good. Originally, considered only replacing the rear 6 X 9 speakers because one was blown. Decided to go full out JL Audio but maintain the factory head unit. Replaced the front woofers with the 4 inch JL Audio C2's. Replaced the rear 6 X 9's with JL-TR series 6 X 9's. Because of the goofy monsoon setup, only wired the rears with the low frequency wiring from the monsoon (bose) amp. Ignored the high frequency wiring from the factory amp for the 6 X 9's all together. Now, with the C2's in the front, my front stage sounds absolutely amazing. And with only mid/low frequencies to the rear, the car images very very well now. Where you have observed in the past and might assume in this case that the soundstage would be pulled to the rear because of a considerable larger speaker being mounted high in the rear deck, the car truly doesn't sound like you'd expect. The low frequencies are of good impact and image as though there is a much larger woofer in the front of the vehicle. I'd almost recommend sound deadening your doors after the install of these C2's! These speakers remain very linear at high volumes and I've yet to notice low frequency distortion from the front stage. I'm highly highly impressed and wonder just how much better they'd sound from a real, amplified, crossed over setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

TOP