Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
211 492 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
211 492 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amp in select 1988-up Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda, and Nissan vehicles

MFR # C4FDK5

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amp in select 1988-up Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda, and Nissan vehicles

MFR # C4FDK5

24 reviews
View this product

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from River Ridge, LA on 9/10/2018

1989 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy-to-read, clear hook-up instructions, everything "clicked" into place on the first try. The individual adjustable volume on all four speakers helped me to "balance" the sound to my personal specifications. A little pricey for what's there; but what isn't today? Gotta pay for their knowledge and expertise, I guess.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Ray from Chittenango, ny on 5/13/2016

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this setup to wire a double din pioneer touch screen into my girlfriends 96 mustang gt with Mach 460 audio and retain the factory amp. The setup worked flawlessly and would definitely recommend it to anyone that's try to accomplish the same.

Pros: Pretty much plug and play.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to use.

Bryce from Mount Vernon, WA on 5/6/2016

1989 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and track where everything goes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great solution for a long known problem!

Fixer the pilot from Indiana on 3/7/2015

1993 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product makes installing a modern radio unit in your Ford Explorer with Ford's Custom sound nearly effortless! Sounds great works even better

Pros: Super easy adapter for an almost impossible problem

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works fine

DWC from York, PA on 12/24/2014

1992 Mercury Capri XR2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product does what it is intended to do. Made the installation easier.

Pros: Correctly wired for my vehicle

Cons: Very poor instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Robert from Aloha, or on 4/11/2014

1993 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it needs to do. Installed with a jvc Arsenal in the factory mach 460 system on a 98 Mustang. The speakers and my sub play loud and clean. And now I have an aux input and ipod controls.

Pros: Easy, works

Cons: Could have gotten online cheaper.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked well

Bouffy from Myerstown, PA on 9/30/2013

1989 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adapter worked fine with our installation of an aftermarket head unit in a 1989 Lincoln Town Car. Yes, the build quality could be a bit more substantial, but we took our time and were listening to music within 30 minutes.

Pros: Perfect match for our application.

Cons: Nothing significant.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Factory amp adapter

Josh M from McMinnville, TN on 4/21/2013

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked pretty well for me in my 1993 Mustang coupe with the premium sound system. I read all the reviews and before installation I checked for good connections and they were fine. The only problem I had was the pins inside the plug can be bent and pushed out very easy. I finally just took every pin out and plugged each one into the factory amp harness. Everything else was a breeze to install and worked as it should.

Pros: Does the job. My new radio sounds a lot better than the 20 year old tape player. The gain control is kinda cool

Cons: The pins are not the best.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Raymond B from West Union, OH on 4/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The item and the instructions made it easy to install. Looked everywhere for this part and Crutchfield had it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Integration adaptor

Jim C from Austin on 2/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality build and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ended up not using it.

Crutchfield customer from Wenatchee, WA on 2/7/2012

1990 Ford Bronco II

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The old "Premium Sound System" was inoperative when I got the vehicle, a 1990 Bronco II, so I decided to bypass the whole works and put new speakers and wiring in the vehicle instead.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Brandon from va. on 7/28/2010

1993 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had no problem installing on my 93 gt. I did'nt go pulling on the wires just installed and played. Everything sounds great plus I can taylor each speaker perfectly. Maybe it will act up later on but anything can. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NOT worth the money

Richard from Bryan, Ohio on 8/25/2008

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this for my 1994 Ford Ranger Splash. I installed the unit and tried to adjust the gain when the adjuster broke before I could turn the screw. I decided to install without adjusting and the glue that holds the back of the unit on came loose and the back fell open. After these problems I removed the unit and bypassed the factory system. Crutchfield is known for selling quality, but this does not fit their reputation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You can make it work

LONNY from San Clemente CA on 4/12/2008

1994 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The butt connections were terrible, so the first thing you'll have to do is either recrimp them or solder. I could only get my right side speakers to work so I modified the small square connector and removed the gain adjustment altogether. It all works now. In the end I paid $39.99 +S&H for a connector I had to modify. Semper Fi.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Miserable little device, but if you need it you need it and it WORKS (

vicefan86 from Cleveland, OH on 11/14/2007

1994 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

90% of people will probably purchase this because they have no choice. Either they checked the premium sound option box back in the day or picked up something preowned that just happened to have a premium sound system, and you want to keep all your nifty amps. No Mach 460 system here like most, just an aging Lincoln Towncar with a suprisingly fantastic factory JBL system with 2 75 watt amps. Bought a new deck (Alpine 9883) mainly to play MP3s, and this little device was the only way I found to ad a new deck and properly communicate with the amps. Trouble began when I pulled it out of the bag and a crimp came undone. Replaced all the crimps myself, and when I plugged it in only the drivers side speakers worked. Bent the pins (very common problem) and HOLY SMOKES those factory amps gave my alpine a wonderful little jolt. Well worth the money at that point! If you have time to tinker with it and don't wail on its fragile connections it is a great option for those that want to keep their factory amps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

stangmasterb from florida on 9/25/2007

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

used it on my 2000 mustang gt with the mach 460 system. it works well but bad workmanship. give a good tug on the butt connectors there will more than likley be a few that come loose. the directions said to hook up the amp lead to the blue wire. that was wrong in my case it needed to be hooked up to the blue & white striped wire instead. the square spaeker plug is very delicate plug it in slow & straight or you will bend the contacts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Works, but poor workmanship

Paul from Statesboro, GA on 4/16/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness plug fit fine in my '95 Nissan Quest (no problems like the 460 owners), and installation seemed to be fine. But just a few days after installation, the left rear speaker sounded terrible. I thought the factory speaker had given up already. So I bought a full set of speakers, and the problem was still there. I pulled the HU out and found one of the wires had pulled out of it's butt splice. A little disappointing. I decided to pull on the rest of the wires and TWO MORE came out with very little effort! The adapter works as advertised, but beware of poor workmanship.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

JAMES from Warner Robins, GA USA!!! on 3/3/2007

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found the adapter to do as advertised. I would recommend that you draw lines on the wires at the plug before you install so you can see which wire or wires push out. The shoddy butt lug connectors make it look less than professional unit a little heat shrink would go a long way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

1996 Mustang Mach 460 System (Adaptor does not fit correctly)

fstboater from Alabaster, Alabama on 9/30/2006

1996 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adaptor on this item does not fit correctly into my Mach 460 adaptor. The pins do not line up, so I was forced to bend the pins to make it fit. I only hope I do not have to remove the system ever because it is almost impossible to plug it back into the adaptor. Also, now that the pins have been bent, I am afraid that they may break due to the stress if I ever take the stereo in and out. Well, if you don't count the adaptor not fitting (which is a huge pain), then this product seems to work well so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Didn't Need It

Tom from Ormond Beach, Fl on 4/28/2006

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Based upon Crutchfield recommendations, I purchased this adapter in order to replace my 2000 Mustang GT's Mach 460 radio and cd player with a JVC KD-AR860 head unit (using the existing OEM amplifiers). The professional installer I used said that the adapter caused additional static and popping noises, and wasn't necessary for the installation. He merely used the JVC wiring harness/pre-outs to connect to the Mach 460 amps. The new unit plays fine, with no apparent (to me, anyway) adverse side effects.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

SCOSCHE MISSED THE MARK

Larry Lloyd from Hillsboro, TX on 1/27/2006

1995 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The potentiometer works great - good solid unit, but the output harness connection (harness) is very shoddy. The pins bend and dislocate. Getting it to fit right and make solid connection with the factory speaker harness was aggrevating. A few cents invested in a better harness connection would go a very long way in customer satisfaction. If I had paid $19.99 for this unit, I would probably be satisfied, but I was dissappointed in the quality for $39.99.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Scosche C4FDK5 Wiring Interface

Alberto from Miami, Fl. on 1/6/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is severly lacking. The workmanship is shawdy. Cables are crimped together and the unit requires assembly. In addition, the plug that connects to the stock Mach 460 speaker harness is flimsy. The pins bend and come undone. It is hard to get them all to fit in, and since some will be pushed out or will make false contact, some speakers will not sound or will have constant static. After several tries of having to take the radio out to fix the issue with the loose connections, I ended up cutting off the harness, and splicing, and soldering in the gain control, so hacking up of my stock Mach 460 harness became inevitable. I would have left out the whole thing, but the ONLY plus is that the gain adjusters DO allow you to turn the gain down some, as the aftermarket headunits will put out too much power if this is not done, and disort the speakers at the higher volumes. I ended up placing the gain adjuster near the OBDii connector on the driver's side, so I can tweak the gains without pulling the headunit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

MACH 460

Andrew from Atlanta, GA on 11/14/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This interface worked to integrate a replacement head for the MACH 460. The only thing thing I had to figure out was which lead to turn on the amps. There is a blue lead marked "power antenna", which the Mustang doesn't have. The next over blue with white stripe is not labeled, and when I connect the new deck's (JVC KD-DV5100) "remote turn on" lead to that lead, the system worked fine (after adjusting the gain dials).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Fixed Hi Output Problems

Scot from Marshall, MI on 4/27/2005

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the interest of saving some labor, I recently had an aftermarket CD/MP3 player installed in my 1995 Mustang convertible by a well known retail electronics store. They connected a straight harness to my Mach 460 amps which caused the new head unit to overdrive the amps at about 1/3 the volume range. This sounded terrible and I lost overall loudness compared to the factory head. I ordered and installed this set of potentiometers and dialed thing in to balance the levels and blam! back to full power and great sound. This thing is a must if your trying to wire into a factory amp system with the speaker outputs of your new car stereo head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

86 of 109 found this helpful

TOP