Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
819 018 04
Connect ID #
819 018 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo in select 2000-Up Ford Taurus and Mercury Sable vehicles with rotary climate controls

MFR # FD1380B

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo in select 2000-Up Ford Taurus and Mercury Sable vehicles with rotary climate controls

MFR # FD1380B

63 reviews
View this product

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Rich from Collinsville, IL on 4/22/2018

2004 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Works and fits well. Step by step instructions are AWSOME and easy to follow. 2nd time using this same product in 2 different vehicles. Would recommend this to everyone!

Pros: Easy for. Spot on product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lynn Haven, FL on 3/11/2018

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything came it exactly how it should. I had to call to get some help wiring and it's the best customer service I've had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthless product damaged my car

Ben from NEWTON, KS on 2/16/2018

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a piece of crap. The rear defrost light does not turn on and off, one of the plastic mounting brackets (which are metal on the factory stereo broke off when installing it, and it has caused several problems with the electrical system on my car that I'm still trying to track down and fix (my wipers, power windows, rear defrost, and engine oxygen sensor heaters have stopped working due to installing this, and there are no blown fuses, so it is very difficult to trace the problems it has caused, and may end up requiring expensive repairs). Once I fix the problems this has caused with my car, I am going to try the Metra kit in the hope that it will work better.

Pros: Stereo and some climate controls work

Cons: Isn't locked in place due to broken bracket; wreaked havoc on my car's electrical system

Crutchfield response on 2/28/2018
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They specified that Fuse 11 in the driver's side fuse box is causing the issue. If that fuse is blown, replacing it should fix these issues.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheaply made

Brian from Straw Plains, TN on 12/30/2017

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cheaply made. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money on the better kit. The whole thing is made of thin plastic and is glued together. It was broken before I even opened it. Had to glue it back together. The cheap plastic broke when I was putting it in the car.

Pros: Wiring adapter worked well

Cons: Radio adapter is cheaply made and barely glued together

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Brian from Copperhill, Tennessee on 11/13/2017

2002 Ford Taurus LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install went well, parts were correct and made install a Breeze

Pros: Simple kit Fits well Looks OEM

Cons: A little fine tuning for it to fit and lock in place

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Bruce from Shelbyville, IN on 6/8/2017

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great on my ford Taurus.

Pros: Fits great and looks better than my original.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good Kit

Forest from Wichita, KS on 4/4/2017

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A few things about this kit that are good and some that are great. 1. The wiring harness is great. It was easy to install and easy to connect to the stereo. The only thing is that I had to look up on the internet the remote turn on wire for my car. It is an 03 Ford Taurus (It is the black wire with pink stripe). 2. The Dash replacement held the radio great. Very tight and snug (Kenwood Excelon). 3. The dash replacement is harder to remove than the original. The clips that hold it in move a little more than original making it harder catch them with the tool. 4. The Dash replacement looks good and fits good. Does not look as good as the original but once the radio is in and your listening to some tunes I forget about all of that. 5. The control knobs fit well and work well. No issues. Overall I am pleased with this kit and it was very inexpensive with the purchase of a stereo from Crutchfield. I could not go anywhere else and buy both stereo and dash kit for a better price.

Pros: Wiring harness, Fits well,

Cons: More difficult to remove than the factory version.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Chris from Piffard ny on 3/9/2017

2002 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it should. However I would go for the metra kit. The edges on this kit are sharp and don't line up with the dash. Stock clips keep falling off no matter how tight I screw them in. That being said it holds my radio and looks ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Option Available

Jeremy from Spokane, Wa on 12/21/2016

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It gets the job done but it looks and feels pretty cheap.

Pros: Comes with wiring harness Works

Cons: Feels pretty cheap Mine came broken

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Nate from Duluth, MN on 6/21/2016

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Face is a little cheap, but it does what it's supposed to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Gotta take your time

DLG from Crawfordville on 4/13/2016

2000 Ford Taurus LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install kit was ok for possibly someone younger. I personally had a time removing all the stuff that was in the way in the trunk and along the bottom of the door areas. Lots of patience hoping that you didn't tear up the connectors. As for the connectors along the sides of the main radio part that gets taken out, I was very careful about not breaking them as I read in the previous reviews. I chose not to connect the wire to the cigarette lighter to avoid the cheap look of the replacement panel at night. As it is now, I keep the radio display on dim and it looks A-OK. I had the negative lead disconnected as I was doing the install. After I turned on the radio, I immediately lost my power windows, door locks, remote trunk, wipers, and speedometer. Long story short, I had blown a 15 amp fuse on the second row of fuses located under the dash. Whew! Had no idea all those things could be impacted by a single itty bitty fuse. I was reading that I may need a new GEM module, etched. Always check the cheap things first.

Pros: It fits with no trimming and the original rear bracket did not need to be cut.

Cons: It does look cheap, but for the $35 I paid for as part of a bundle with my radio, I guess it's ok.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

OK

LORRI from Virginia on 12/26/2015

2002 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WORKED FINE ONCE I FIGURED OUT YOU HAVE TO USE PARTS OFF IN STOCK RADIO TO COMPLETE THE INSTALL

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Daughters car

Matt from Michigan on 10/11/2015

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great and everything was included for the install like always.

Pros: Looks good with the radio I installed

Cons: No complaints

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

FD1380B

BrianB from Tulsa, Oklahoma on 7/24/2015

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No complaints at all. Crutchfield support was excellent as usual.

Pros: Had everything I needed to complete the install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from mpls,mn on 4/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

dash kit

wayne from Sheridan, Wy on 8/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an absolute must for installing a new radio in this type of car.

Pros: Worked perfectly.

Cons: Instructions were a little brief, but do-able

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great price impressed

BobM from Lakeland FL. on 5/5/2014

2002 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked wonderful. was impress by the workmanship. installed in my 2002 Ford Taurus.

Pros: instructions were a little hard to understand unless you don't know what you are doing

Cons: had to splice orange illumination wire to ashtray light on order to illuminate the controls for ac,fan and temp control.two wires in trunk did not use and one black ground wire under dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

gg from chicago on 4/26/2014

2000 Mercury Sable LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

thought the adapter could have been better quality. I had to insatll a seperate dimmer switch just for adapter, because it was too bright , so now I dimm it down and able to keep car dimmer for dash lights up high so I can see.

Pros: able to install kenwood stereo

Cons: Cheapens the car dash not the quality of standard controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

works good

rob from bismarck nd on 4/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as planned.

Pros: Did the trick

Cons: Didnt like scotch locking into the cig lighter wire

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rehoboth ma 02769 on 3/6/2014

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy and complete

Dave from Kansas City, MO on 2/7/2014

2000 Mercury Sable GS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this equipment. I had my new head unit leaned up against the center console until I purchased this factory adapter. The adapter plus Crutchfield's MasterSheet providing instruction on how to install made the whole operation simple and quick to integrate my aftermarket stereo and 2 amplifiers.

Pros: Complete. Everything I needed(except tools of course) to integrate stereo and 2 amplifiers plus 2 additional speakers and subwoofer into my 2000 Mercury Sable GS Wagon. Anybody familiar with this install can tell you how difficult this can be for a number of reasons including bypassing the factory amp and adapter wires long enough to get all the way to the back of the vehicle where the factory amp and antenna are.

Cons: A little spendy compared to other adapters for other models of cars, however compared to other retail sources the price was very competitive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Conversion

Paul from Plymouth, Ma on 1/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This conversion was an easy installation, one control, rear defroster is in a different location, but may no difference for installation. Looks Great

Pros: Perfect Fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Quality / Unclear Instructions

JD from KY on 1/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions for installation were unclear. They are very generic. They are written that way because they cover the installation of many radios. Two wires that were routed to trunk of car were not used. The plastic is cheap and where the springs are attached broke off during removal of the radio. It fits in the hole it is intended to. It looks as nice as the original panel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Little Wonky but Not Bad.

Neil C from Atlanta, GA on 10/16/2013

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit a 2000 Ford Taurus properly. Be WARY when removing your original climate control knobs. There is a metal sleeve inside them that helps enhance the grip on the post. If they fall out or your lose them you have to order new ones. It's pretty basic, not pretty but the installation was easy and smooth.

Pros: Fits. Price is good.

Cons: Kinda cheap feeling.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

fd 1380b

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 9/13/2013

2002 Ford Taurus LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to swap parts off the old one,wires didn't match up had to cut them,antenna coax didn't match up ,but it did fit real well and looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I love it!

Charisse W from Coral Springs, FL on 8/19/2013

2002 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think its great! Defiantly a step up from factory which is what I had before...Overall I thinks its convenient and fun!

Pros: I can play my ipod charge my phone and take calls all at the same time. Very convenient!

Cons: It was pretty tricky to instal into my car! But only do to the fact that I have a 2002 ford taurus..The install is just harder on my car than most.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

very helpful.

HappyCamper from Forest grove Or on 8/19/2013

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this was really easy to install and looks good with my new reciever!!!

Pros: decent price.

Cons: nope

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Taurus/Sable Radio Adapter

AdamM from Doylestown,PA on 8/5/2013

2000 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation of components from factory plate to Adapter plate. Texture is a little different than factory plate. Very satified with product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Adequate, but not ideal

Phil from Minnesota on 7/10/2013

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am glad I read other reviews before installing this unit in my car so I knew to be very careful with it as to not break the tabs during installation. The unit looks ok, but as others have said, when you have the dash lights on, they shine through the plastic and it looks really cheap. The 1/4" slot below the DIN opening is a waste since if you put something in it, you will need a hemostat and a flashlight to get it out. The heat/cool controls all installed easily and all worked when it was hooked up. The panel itself does what it is supposed to do, but it is cheaply made and looks cheap as well.

Pros: Holds the radio in place

Cons: Looks cheap, flimsy installation tabs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Better than 2X4's and Tape

Girtski from Carleton, MI on 6/16/2013

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the list price, this should certainly be of better quality. Apparently previous reviewers received a different unit than mine. My defroster light is illuminated when the defroster is activated. No problem there. However the one hole which requires transferring the switch and screw from the old panel to this one was too large for the screw. Had to improvise a bit. In my opinion, the lighting should match that of a Taurus/Sable since it isn't going to be used in any other vehicle. Bleed through of the backlighting through the entire lower half of the panel is a bit unsavory! When using the din tools to remove, the holes do not guide you straight into the clips to release the unit had to finesse that a bit since our first head unit has been in and out of the dash a few times due to defective head unit.

Pros: It fits.

Cons: Backlighting, flimsy, poor alignment for din tools.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

GregG from New Lisbon, WI on 6/6/2013

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this on my wife's 01 Taurus. After running all the wires from the trunk under the carpet up to the hole in the dash it was a very quick and easy install. I broke the clips that held it into the opening and Ford doesn't sell them separately so be careful with them. It might be nice if those clips were included and were held in by a drilled hole in the plastic rather than a slot that they could slide out of. But other wise the upgrade was successful and my wife now has a radio that has bluetooth and she can use her i-Pod without any problems and I don't have to hear about it...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Dan p from Middleton, MA on 5/13/2013

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great option for people wanting to replace their stock system and need a kit.!

Pros: Very easy to wire up and replace.

Cons: Weird finish on it. Wish it was carbon fiber or wood grain look.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dash kits for 200 ford

bobby from syracues ny on 3/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this dash kits fit perfect and it looks good in my car i would recommend it to all my friends and tell all my friends to buy from crutchfield

Pros: every thing works good and simple instructions to install it

Cons: wish they made double din decks for 2000 ford taurus

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do not buy!

Crutchfield customer from Springfield,MA on 11/4/2012

2002 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a VERY cheaply made product and while installing a plastic clip holding it in place broke. Now i have to buy a new radio install kit and it will NOT another one of these.

Pros:

Cons: looks cheap break easily not worth your time

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Could use some work

Chuck from O'Fallon, IL on 10/12/2012

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit was good. There are a few things that could use improvement. 1.) There is no indication of the state of the rear window defroster. 2.) A color code for the wiring harness included with the package was unavailable. I figured it out using a battery to locate which wires went to which speakers. 3.) There is a plastic spacer included with the kit that is not listed or included in the installation instructions. I finally figured out that it was for spacing the head unit out from the dash panel. It installs between the panel and the metal mounting sleeve that comes with the stereo. 4.) On the factory panel, the place where the DIN mounting clips attach has a couple of small bosses that fit into some holes in the clips to hold them in place so they don't slide off of the plastic. I had to use some small pieces of sandpaper between the clip and the plastic mount to get the clips to stay in place.

Pros: Good fit. Easy to put together.

Cons: Lighting looks better on the original. Also see review above.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Iowa city, ia on 5/31/2012

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cheap looking plastic. I used a similar competitor's kit when I replaced a radio in an escort zx2 and the finish was much better.

Pros: Easy, all wires included

Cons: Cheap looking, thin plastic

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Cheap

Zmann from Loveland, Co on 3/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only because 0 is not an option. Looks cheap made a great install look cheap.

Pros:

Cons: Cheap cheap.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very Cheap

JB from Placerville, CA on 3/4/2012

2002 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a very cheap product. the retaining tabs are cheap plastic and can ann great during installation or removal. i just wish it was better quality for the money.

Pros: nice fit

Cons: cheap plastic clips

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Rustyf99 from Illinois on 1/26/2012

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit has a nice fit and finish, works great, as with most Scosche products. Easy to install, just one wire to hook up for illumination, otherwise all adaptors and plugs. No squeaks or rattles after installation. However, now rear defroster is not working (it includes that on/off button as part of the harness/wiring and kit). I've not had time to call Crutchfield or Scosche to chase down that demon, probably a loose crimp in the Scosche factory unit (not my work).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poorly made

SB from Lincoln, NE on 1/22/2012

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this kit for my daughters 2001 Ford Taurus. Having used a similar kit for my 2005 Subaru Outback I was hoping this would be similar in quality. Sadly, this kit was lacking. The back of the panel where you install the HVAC controls had fitment issues (inconsistent depth). Just using my fingers, I stripped the plastic where the screw that holds the fan switch in (ended up using super glue to hold it in place). Additionally, there were gaps at the top of the panel that make the panel look truly "aftermarket". Worst of all, the rear defrost button looks and feels like something you would get as a prize from a vending machine (the label under the clear cover wasn't even straight). Wiring harness instructions were barely adequate. There were two wires in the kit's loom but no instructions as to what they were for (tech support told me they could be used for a powered accessory in the trunk). The tray below the received is pretty much worthless storing anything (unless you like fishing things out with a pencil), they should have left that part of the panel filled.

Pros: I was able to make it work after two calls to tech support. Be prepared to create a short extension wire to connect the panel's dimmer wire to the ash tray light wire.

Cons: Poorly constructed and fitted kit. I hope Crutchfield can source a better supplier for future customers.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

2001 ford taurus

davem from raymond,ne on 12/28/2011

2001 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

instructions are fairly easy to navigate

Pros:

Cons: cheaply made plastic, broke one tab off that holds the most important clip on.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent

INKD4LIFE from ILLINOIS on 4/2/2011

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first got this piece I was a little skeptical that it would break, i did break the little side tab, but was able to super glue that back together. the instructions were great, the only complaint was the vehicles ashtray light wire that I was supposed to tap into was way to short so it made it difficult, other than that super unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

DanJ from Omaha, NE on 3/21/2011

2002 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to go in my 2002 Ford Taurus. I was unfamiliar with Ford products so I didn't know much about this adapter. I didn't read the reviews until after it was on its way so I just hoped for the best. I'm sorry to report this product is worse than even the poorest reviews led me to believe. The support where the clips attach is flimsy and broke. The lighting is cheap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Dale from Chesterland, OH on 2/1/2011

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in the 2003 Taurus. Just wish there was a cover plate for the small slot under the main radio slot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Josh W from Shepherd MT on 1/25/2011

2002 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't impressed with this adapter at all. It did the job and everything but caused me a little more trouble than it's worth. A week after getting it the stereo fell out of the adapter and i had to super glue the little clips back into the adapter...so that ended that problem. Also the plastic tabs that the metal tips screw onto are very thin and breakable. The light also looks of very poor quality...but it does work. I loved the adapter that they made for the 99' taurus, it was very well built with thick, durable plastic. Scosche is an ok adapter...if your not planning on taking it out again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Justin

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 4/26/2010

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have no problem with this piece until the sun goes down. it works for the purpose its made for but when it lights up it looks very low end. During the day I have no complaints, it looks good. It installed nicely and everything fit as it should. I actualy have the illumination wire disconnected now because i would rather have the radio be the focal point instead of the poor quality lighting comming from this piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

It's ok

Matthew from Cheyenne, WY on 4/28/2009

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was happy to finally get a new stereo for my car and went and had it installed by a local business that specializes in car stereos. Every thing works great but the new dash piece looks tacky and cheap. It also doesn't fit perfectly and is to shallow. The stereo sticks out about a half inch to far. When I get the money I will probably replace it with a piece from a different manufacturer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

It's OK

Samuel from Washington,NC on 4/19/2009

2001 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was kinda worried about getting this product for my son's car after reading quit a few negative reviews. But I notice that if you FOLLOW the instructions,take your TIME and be PATIENT it'll work just fine and you'll be satisfied with the results. USE the trim that comes with the kit and no light will come through the gap around the radio. Also I too have a problem using the DIN tool to remove the radio that I have installed (was trying it out) but if everything goes according to plan there's no need to take the radio back out. DO IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME and you'll be satified.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Gonzalo from DFW, TX on 2/23/2009

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It gets the job done, but the DIN tools dont remove it. I had to work my hand into the radio opening to get it out. The plastic that the clips mount to are so-so. Dont get me wrong it works, just the Metra Kit that I installed in my 05 works 10 times better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Find the Metra Kit

jon611 from Iowa on 1/31/2009

2002 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit looks and feels cheap. The plastic tabs broke during installation and I had to superglue and support the cheap plastic with metal strips. The Metra kit is supposed to look better and be generally better designed. I'll be looking for that kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Gets the job done

Earl from Seattle Wa. on 1/22/2009

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit gets the job done,but I would prefer that the edge of the panel be rolled or finished in some way so that if the fit is not exact no gaps will show. The closest fit I could get was with a slight gap along the top edge,and looking at it with just the right angle you can see through the gap. There is some light bleeding from the heat/AC mode switch into the rear window defroster "on" light. This makes it appear that the defroster is always on.The defogger pushbutton switch is cheap looking,and mine had the icon crooked . On the plus side the dash panel is very tight and does not move or rattle.the wiring kit was at least 3' longer than it needed to be,and the antenna wire did not need the extra adaptor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Paris from Florence, Al. on 1/17/2009

2001 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good product & is satisfactory. Fits well & it was not difficult to install. The installation does take a little time but the results of good sound quality is worth it. I like green lights instead of yellow, but to be able to play my mp3 cd's I'll easily live with them. As for looks, ok, the blank space around the head is lacking but can't be helped. As for me, I would have liked it better without the pocket, but it will hold a cd or two & pencels & pens. Overall, this is a good product & the instructions form Crutchfield were very helpful & filled in where the kit's instructions were lacking. I like it, & I'm glad it was available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche

Becky from Pensacola, Florida on 11/18/2008

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase this to replaced a factory radio with a Kenwood head unit. Quite satisfied with the look and the fit was perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

jim from Wisconsin on 8/8/2008

2003 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was easy to install, but does not fit snugly in my 2003 Taurus wagon. It is almost impossible to remove with the DIN tools. It is adequate, but I expected more for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Hilbilly from Union Star, MO on 4/9/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In spite of reviews, i have very little problems with this product. The kit had everything that i needed, and detailed instructions. i did NOT need the radio coax adapter even though the tech I spoke with sad that I did. all you need is the kit, nothing else. the replacement din was not quite to my likings, the factory one was nice and shiny, the new one was more of a rough finish, which makes it stand out more (not in a good way). as far as fit and sturdyness it was fine. Of course you have to take stuff off the factory din, but it was not a problem. Overall I was fairly satisfied, mainly because of the din appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good product inspite of other reviews

Chad from Hanford, CA on 1/19/2008

2001 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inspite of the other reviews I chose to purchase this kit and take my chances. Kit arived with everything needed. The instructions were great even if for a sedan and I have a wagon. Fits very nice in dash. Looks like it belongs there. Kit doesn't feel or look cheap at all. Would say it's a ok in my book.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good product, suprised at other reviews

Evan from Clermont, FL on 8/22/2007

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

so i was iffy on if this kit would be a good one because of the previous reviews. so i had to get the kit though if i was going to install my new radio. i just got done installing it and i am surprised. i dont know if the design was changed, or if i just got lucky, but my results challenge that of the other reviews. my kit fits perfect in my dash, and didnt chip or break as happpened in the reviews i read. it is a little cheap or flimsy. it could be a little sturdier, but it seemed to be stiff enough for my liking. again, im not sure if i just got lucky but my kit is a good one. easy to install. just use crutchfields directions because the ones that come with the kit from scosche are not descriptive. and i hid the wire bundle that bypasses the factory amp under the driver side kick panels if that helps anyone. thanks crutchfield, Evan

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Cheap-O

Zembower from Lafayette, Louisiana on 5/27/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a premium Alpine Head Unit, 4 channel Alpine Amp, and 4 Infinity Reference series speakers for my Ford Taurus, along with a 12 sub and amp for the trunk. The sound is all that I could have dreamed of. The fly in the ointment is the Scosche installation kit. Instead of your eyes going to the deck, they go to the dash kit. There are uneven gaps around it. The plastic that it's made out of says "cheap". When it's dark and the parking / headlights are on, the area around the air conditioning controls bleed light through. I spent a lot of time on this install to make it as professional as possible, but there's nothing more that I can do with this dash unit. ZEM

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

Christopher from Kansas City, MO on 12/23/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Up till this product Crutchfield has never never steered me wrong. My consultant has helped me build exactly what I wanted in a car stereo however this dash kit is not worth half of what retail price of it is here. I don't blame my consultant for this, I doubt he has ever even seen this kit in real life but please, for your own sake get a different kit. This thing is so thin at night you can see through all the plastic where your temperature controls are. What others have said is true to, I had a professional install everything for me so I know they got it in and aligned best as possible and there are still gaps all around the kit. Edges are jagged and rough and you could literally cut yourself on the top edge of the plastic on the kit I bought. I intend on replacing mine with better quality one later down the road. Save yourself some cash and avoid this dashkit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

An OK product

Brye from Sells, AZ on 11/2/2006

2003 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well to be honest when reading the other reviews of this product, I had my doubt's but it was too late because I had placed my order already, so too, I counldn't really say if I was going to be satisfied with the product or not. When the product arrrived it had everything on the list with it, thanks CRUTCHFIELD. It took me a couple of days to decide weather or not to install it. My 2003 Taurus has a black interior so the color of the product would match perfectly, that was the good part about it. So when I made my decision to go ahead and install it, I was alittle weary at first. I know I couldn't install the thing myself, so I asked my brother-n-law to install it for me. He has alot of experience putting in these kinds of things and plus he's one of those types that likes to mess with wires and take things apart and put them back together (a hobby for him I would say). Anyway, it took him a couple of hours but he managed to get the product in and when he was finished it looked as if it was professionally done. I must say I was impressed and glad that I made the decision to have it installed. However my b-n-l was not all to thrilled with the way it looked. Although I did tell him about the reviews that I read and told him that it's not the only one that looked like that but that didn't matter to me, I was satisfied with the product because now I have a new car stereo. Thanks again CRUTCHFIELD. P.S. I will be looking for a bass package sometime soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

If you have another option - use it.

Master from Oregon on 9/22/2005

2000 Ford Taurus SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this adaptor to install a CD player in a 2000 Ford Taurus SE Station Wagon. When my order first arrived, the Scosche FD1380 OEM Adapter Package sent to me was missing the 18 foot wiring harness needed to bypass the factory amplifier and power the speakers. In addition, the driver side mounting tab for the adaptor was already broken. Frustrating, but easily fixed by calling Customer Service (thanks again, AJ). When the replacement adaptor arrived it had the wiring harness, but the drivers side mounting tab was again damaged. It already had a stress mark due to bending (the tabs are made of a cheap, clear plastic - so the damage was clearly visible). After performing the usual meticulous install - I sat back to admire the fruits of my labor. Unfortunately the Scosche FD1380 OEM Adapter looks and feels CHEAP. It is made from a single sheet of plastic that is a drastically different finish than the rest of the interior. The edges are not finished, and the fit was lousy (the gap around the panel is not uniform). I used the DIN removal tools (included for free, thanks Crutchfield) to remove it and adjust the retention springs on the mounting tabs. This was my feeble attempt to make the fit as best as possible. The passenger side disengaged, but the drivers side would not. I contorted myself to look under the dash only to see that the drivers side mounting tab had broken upon installation. The illumination is not uniform. The climate control lights are right next to the rear defrost indicator light - so when the headlights are on it looks as though your rear defroster is on. The rear defroster switch looks and feels cheap too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 30 found this helpful

Scosche FD1380B Dash and Wiring Kit

JT from Kingsville, TX on 5/26/2005

2002 Ford Taurus SES

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I agree with Mark429, this unit is below the quality I expected from Crutchfield. The only aditional thing I will add to Mark429s review is this: I do a lot of night time driving and this panel's illumination is too bright around the defrost "On" indicator, and not even around the hot/cold adjustment knob. I can't wait to see the Metra unit Mark429 mentioned since I will be looking to upgrade!! I rated this panel a 3 since I have not seen the Metra unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Functional but flimsy

Mark from Binghamton, NY on 4/14/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit works as advertised and is a pretty straight install but it is cheap in quality, it looks out of place in the smooth taurus dash. Crutchfield should switch to the Metra kit, I first saw these stationed in Germany but was pleased to find that a local major electronics store carried them for the same price. I switched on the spot! Now my ride looks nice and clean on the dash! It's notable that I'm still using the scosche wiring and aerial adapter. Mark429

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

66 of 75 found this helpful

TOP