Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
240 999 65
Connect ID #
240 999 65
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Convert speaker connections to line-level preamp connections in mobile audio applications

MFR # SLC4

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Convert speaker connections to line-level preamp connections in mobile audio applications

MFR # SLC4

283 reviews
View this product

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Celina, OH on 12/24/2021

2006 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works for most applications

Crutchfield customer from Summerfield, NC on 12/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried it, and it worked ok for my factory Miata Bose system after installing a JVC deck. However, I decided to remove it and go with a RF Punch amp and get the sound I was truly after. Works if you are trying to utilize factory Bose amp in a Miata, but I would just bypass the factory amp or upgrade to an aftermarket amp altogether. Since it was included in my package, it wasn't a loss to me.

Pros: It will allow you to run an aftermarket deck through your factory amp

Cons: If you want great sound quality, you need to ditch factory amp

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great.

Crutchfield customer from HOLLAND, MI on 11/30/2021

2007 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connects perfectly with my factory (JBL, but branded as Infinity) sound system. After adjusting the line outputs to just the right level and making sure the selector switch on the side was set correctly, it works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Navasota, TX on 11/20/2021

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not use

Pros: Didn't use

Cons: Didn't use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It just works

Crutchfield customer from Somerville, MA on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what I hoped it would! In my layman's understanding, my new head unit was sending too much "juice" to my factory amp & speakers, and it led to a ton of interference picked up from the vehicle. Using this little gizmo I was able to turn the gain way down, eliminating the interference and still get great sound out of my stereo. Setup was intimidating at first but was actually very easy to do myself.

Pros: Easy to install with the help of Crutchfield's techs. Does just what I needed it for.

Cons: Difficult to find a good spot for it behind the dashboard, turned into a bigger job.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/1/2021

2008 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

dont work whit my sistem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/15/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and was issued a refund. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Stone Mountain, GA on 10/18/2021

2005 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

adjustment buttons fell off when touched.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/20/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 10/11/2021

1995 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use and install once you understand the inputs and output connections. I was able to keep my factory preamp by using this adapter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mount Olive, AL on 9/26/2021

2012 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great easy to wire up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Nitro, WV on 9/4/2021

1995 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing to help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/6/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your LOC. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

joseph from SOUTHAMPTON, PA on 6/30/2021

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

terrible design, stripped out terminal screws

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/12/2021
Joseph, we're sorry you had issues with your LOC. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't have to use it was good quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Michael from EVERETT, WA on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item did not work for my car as expected. I had to purchase a AC Lc6i which was the better choice even tho it was $150 compared to the price of this item. For my 2013 Charger with no factory amp, keeping my head unit you will also need to get Audio Control AC-LGD 60. Yes it works for 2013 Chargers without factory amps. Without it you will get hit and miss sound on amd off at no regular time. Must have the LGD. My factory radio works and sounds so much clearer than it ever did. I fid a complete Self install for everything from new speaker wire to amp and component speakers. Thanks Crutchfield for selling Audio Control products, my Charger is now worthy of turning up the volume and won't be embarrassed about it.

Pros: Cheap price, great for super budget systems.

Cons: Item did not preformed as good as a more expensive item did.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dont buy this for a 99-00 mustang

Crutchfield customer from Pineville, WV on 4/21/2021

2000 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well on a mustang it didnt help its a waste of money and they dont send you a little screw driver to get the tiny screws lol i couldnt send it back i broke it apart to use it ended up not using it i didnt need it anyway

Pros: it works

Cons: not for a 99-00 MUSTANG

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche output is excellent

Crutchfield customer from Hampstead, NC on 4/17/2021

2015 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I understood the procedure for setting this up I found that it did a great job. I adjusted the output per instructions and I have plenty of power and no distortion. Works very well. My main challenge was how to get everything back into the cavity behind the Alpine amplifier without causing overheating or damage. It's been there for about 5 months now. The only problem I have is the song advance buttons on the steering wheel. They seem to have stopped working for some reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Woodway, TX on 4/6/2021

2015 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Evan at max output, the radio has to be set at near max volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Grest sound quailty

Crutchfield customer from Apollo Beach, FL on 4/4/2021

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Excellent sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

THIS HIGH-Z to LOW-Z CONVERTER WON'T DISAPPOINT

BA from Willow Grove, PA on 4/2/2021

2008 Smart fortwo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like all Scosche products this one does exactly as described. The audio is clean and doesn't get colored whatsoever. Has about 5 different ways to implement. Would definitely buy again if needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 3/17/2021

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

2006 Acura MDX w/ Bose

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 3/15/2021

2006 Acura MDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed per the directions and wiring diagram on the 4 speaker output of a new Sony receiver going into the factory Bose amps. Everything functioned properly - gain adjustment, independent speaker channel adjustment, etc. Sound was just plain ugly and distorted. Actually I would classify it as terrible. Volume was also knocked down so far even with the adjustment pots all the way up, I couldn't achieve proper operation. I went against recommending installation and wired the Sony receiver direct to the factory Bose through the provided Crutchfield adapters. (Just excluded this converter) System sounds terrific direct wired - crystal clear and very powerful. The factory amps are certainly running lively, but the sound is fantastic without this line output converter. I am an experienced DIY'er and was comfortable with this arrangement.

Pros:

Cons: Horrible quality sound. Lack of volume even at full gain.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very Happy! Thank you five stars Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 3/10/2021

2001 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I ordered this radio Bluetooth for my 2001 Crutchfield added all the harness equipment automatically very much appreciated. Thank you five stars

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Uniondale, NY on 2/3/2021

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good product does the job well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nifty gizmo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Little Silver, NJ on 12/8/2020

2003 BMW X5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use and install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Neat Device

Crutchfield customer from White Bear Lake, MN on 12/7/2020

2012 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, provides a load for the power output of the radio so the radio is protected while allowing you to adjust the level your power amp needs to not distort. Easy to wire and adjust

Pros: Easy to wire and adjust

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Lumberton, NJ on 11/27/2020

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

junk the adjustment screws fell out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Jensen, reached out to issue this customer a refund. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect solution for what I needed and at a great price!

Crutchfield customer from Hardy, VA on 11/3/2020

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a line output converter to tie in my powered subwoofer into the factory Harman Kardon stereo in my Forester XT. This was the perfect solution at a great price!

Pros: Form Function Price

Cons: Very small connectors for line inputs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but tabs inside breaks easy.

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CA on 11/2/2020

2008 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing works and does what its made for but the dial inside the unit is easily broken. The plastic driver that comes with it doesn't work well and it's hard to turn the dial. There's no leverage to turn the dial inside. So I ended up using a mini screwdriver which broke all the tabs inside. Crutchfield needs to find another solution and get rid of this thing in their kit.

Pros: Does what it suppose to. Instructions are fairly easy to understand.

Cons: Tabs inside breaks easy. A bit bulky and you may have a hard time stuffing it back into your radio cavity.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should

Guest from Arlington, WA on 9/25/2020

2014 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup and make the required connections.

Pros: Worked perfectly one and done.

Cons: Its big... Hard to fit in the space available in most cars.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Edwin Sierra

Crutchfield customer from Yonkers, NY on 8/24/2020

2006 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow excellent

Pros: Muy bueno me gusto

Cons: Y muy fácil de instalar

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Junk

Crutchfield customer from Hickory, NC on 8/16/2020

2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It broke once I tried to adjust one of the sound output options

Pros: It works but don't try and adjust it

Cons: Cheap made

Crutchfield response on 8/18/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your converter. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or send out a replacement right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 8/2/2020

2003 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I was not sure I even needed this but after receiving help from the great techs at Crutchfield I was able to figure it out and it saved my factory amp from being fried.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major challenge with 2012 Fiat 500

Christopher from RICHLAND, WA on 7/31/2020

2012 Fiat 500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works as intended but was insanely challenging to fit alongside the wiring harnesses in the available space in my 2012 Fiat 500 Sport. It will work and is possible to install, just be prepared for some frustration over the lack of available space! If this were smaller (or I had more room for the install), I would give it a 5 star review :)

Pros: Does what it is supposed to do

Cons: Available install space in 2012 Fiat 500 makes the install a challenge.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, MN on 7/13/2020

2005 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit 2005 Honda Element - now I'm stuck with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/22/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the converter working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Xenia, OH on 6/29/2020

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't use

Pros: Nice piece comes with package

Cons: Didn't use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Sun Valley, ID on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is working great now, but I think you need to have some more detail in the install instructions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 5/30/2020

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made product and serves perfectly for my old Mercedes w210 audio upgrade project.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 5/14/2020

2004 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to do. Speaker Level signal to Line Level signal conversion. It's pretty basic electronics.

Pros: Works

Cons: Might not be the best solution depending on your system/integration.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Line Output Wizardry

Crutchfield customer from Oxnard, CA on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nifty little devise that matched new Alpine digital media player with in car OEM amp and speakers. The sound is incredible!!

Pros: It just plain works!!

Cons: A little large to squeeze into a small space so be sure to check sizing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Walker, LA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little device was an awesome solution to my sons aftermarket stereo but only had one preamp out put connect. Are use the SLC4 for the mid range in tweeters and use the preamp output on the stereo for the subs and it came together great. It made a 25-year-old Boston acoustic pro series separates come alive again ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good LOC

Crutchfield customer from Maitland, FL on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple installation and easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons: Screws are a little flimsy

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Let me keep my factory amp.

Crutchfield customer from Yukon, OK on 4/5/2020

2008 Hyundai Veracruz

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful item. Allowed me to keep my factory amplifier that was designed for my car and speakers. Easy to adjust. Easy to install.

Pros: Allowed me to keep my amp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Belleview, FL on 3/15/2020

2005 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needs to be much smaller, I had to extend every wire to my harness to so I could get my hand behind the stereo to find a spot for this.

Pros: Works great

Cons: Size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good enough

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, NY on 3/12/2020

2006 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions are fair and could be better for newbies. It does what it should though. The plastic screw driver you can break off the side is not even mentioned in the instructions but is useless anyway. One tip though is the instructions say don't over tighten the screws, that's fine but if you don't crank them down pretty good the wires will come out during install and you'll have to pull everything apart again.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions are fair at best

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Verona, NJ on 2/13/2020

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The pros at Crutchfield know best

Crutchfield customer from Griffin, GA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little jewel helped save my factory Rockford Fosgate amp and speakers in my '04 Xterra

Pros: Works like a champ

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problem Solver

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this at the advice of the tech to retain use of the factory amp. This made installation much easier and works well

Pros: Simplified installation process

Cons: None but I suggest utilizing the free tech service as I had one wire wrong and tech support guided me through it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 1/5/2020

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

02 miata The slc4 is a must to get the best power output for bose speakers when changing from mazda-bose to aftermarket unit.

Pros: Once you find the applicable diagram in the instructions booklet, works like a charm with the crutchfield car harness. No weird extra wiring needed. No jumpers.

Cons: Figuring the correct diagram to use.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from West Milton, OH on 12/9/2019

2006 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a line output converter, not a lot to say. The instructions could be more clear, and I needed a magnifying glass to see them, but I got it hooked up no problem. The box is a little bigger than I expected, which made stuffing all the parts into the dash a little difficult.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mineral Ridge, OH on 10/16/2019

2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Out put converte

Crutchfield customer from Port Aransas, TX on 10/9/2019

2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow does this improve the sound in the car from the original Infinity system. Long wire plugs on the back gave us a struggle getting the radio in the tiny space.

Pros: Great sound improvement

Cons: Wiring plugs are too long

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, MN on 10/6/2019

2001 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well. But none of the instructions made it clear that I was such a tight fit inside the Miata dash. A tough puzzle I would have appreciated some notification and help. I worked it out eventually but not easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does the job

Crutchfield customer from Hghlnds Ranch, CO on 9/16/2019

2015 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the very worst instructions that could be included in a product

Pros: Good audio quality

Cons: poor instructions. instruction should include interface instruction to metra wiring harness

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should

AKS from Frisco TX on 8/30/2019

2008 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with a 2008 Hyundai Sonata limited with the JBL Audio system (Infinity). At first I was confused on doing the gain part but after reading the manually a few times it was simple. Adjust your head unit to the max setting then divide by 3/4 and go to that number on the head unit then adjust the gains. If you own a pioneer it is should be 60 being the max 45 is the magical number to tune the volume to before adjusting the gains various by the model you own. Also if you own a 2008 Sonata there is plenty of space to install the line out put box simply move the old radio wire to right side and move the line out put converter to the right side then push the radio in. (Also take the wire harness service by Crutchfield) as the wire's are placed in the converter box very tight so they wont come out.

Pros: Simple to install if you took the wire harness service.

Cons: adjusting the gains can be pain because you need a flash light to make sure each gain is at the same level.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice box lacking a good manual

Crutchfield customer from Lake Oswego, OR on 7/4/2019

1997 Volkswagen Jetta III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device works, and can operate in several ways, but that flexibility is not accompanied by a solid instruction manual. Specifics: - there's a detachable plastic screwdriver for pot adjustment; that's not mentioned anywhere - that unlabeled black wire? It's a ground wire - the screws in the terminal blocks need some threadlock; they're always coming loose - there's no discussion of how the three switch settings actually work; it seems to come down to "does it sound better this way?" All that aside, it works and does exactly what I need it to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Benton, IL on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't know if the converter didn't work or if it just would not work with my factory system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/19/2019

1994 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice work, order this with the ready harness and let the pro's do the wiring for you! Simply plug and play!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from North Port, FL on 6/9/2019

1994 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great with my 1995 MB factory Bose system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Ball Ground, GA on 6/4/2019

2008 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered Kenwood Dpx793BH, Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter, Metra 95-7328 Dash Kit, Metra 70-7302 Receiver Wiring Harness, iDatalink Maestro ADS-MSW Steering Wheel Control Adapter and Crutchfield ReadyHarnessT Service ..... with one call to confirm a two wire connection for iDatalink Maestro ADS-MSW . All excellent !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great to enable the system to work together

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm happy!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 5/27/2019

2006 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gives great sound, lots of features, lots of tuning capabilities. Great job hooking up to the wiring harness, Crutchfield.

Pros: lots of tuning options

Cons: the size made it a little difficult to stuff into the rear of my radio dash opening.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 5/26/2019

2002 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 5/15/2019

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation a breeze no cutting and splicing of speaker wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, NJ on 5/15/2019

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install it was a little difficult to tuck away behind the head unit but overall good stuff

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It does what it needs to do

Luis from Miramar, FL on 5/6/2019

2009 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it needs to do, I got this LOC years ago, 2009 to be exact, but didn't get to used until now. I paired it with a Sound Ordnance m350 I got from Crutchfield. I didn't make any adjustments to it, I adjusted the amplifier instead. Based on my experience with this LOC I can say that; at least for subs, it works very well. I knocked one start down for the lack of installation holes, I ended up fabricating a support out of aluminum and 3M dual sided tape, see picture.

Pros: Plug and play

Cons: No holes to use screws for installation.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product- bad instruction manual

Crutchfield customer from White Hse Sta, NJ on 4/29/2019

2004 Infiniti I35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Line output converter does what I needed it to... I must admit installation was not as simply outlined as it could have been. The small screws that hold the speaker wires are very hard to get to- I ended up modifying a small screwdriver with a grinder to have something small enough to fit in yet sturdy enough to put some hold on the wire. The instructions are confusing. If it wasn't for tech support at Crutchfield's I would not have installed the unit properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good

Paul from Sandy on 4/13/2019

2007 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this in 2016 for my first stereo in my 2007 Hyundai Sonata and it seemed to work fine all those years and still does now. Fast forward 3.5 years later and my stereo's display no longer works(don't buy a cheap Sony receiver) so I replaced it with a Kenwood KMM-B322U digital media receiver. I'm not sure how I was able to get the old receiver, the PAC steering wheel module interface and this device stuffed behind the dash because space was limited. The Kenwood is half the length of the Sony because of no CD player and while it is still tight everything fit just fine. I'd say it is a good product. It outlasted the original stereo and hopefully my new stereo outlasts this.

Pros: No crimping necessary Keeps factory sub sound

Cons: Really big, doesn't fit well behind the dash.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Lithonia, GA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good product I'm enjoy my radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 3/6/2019

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There's a bit of a learning curve initially, but once you get everything figured out you "learn" that this is an excellent product. It might be a tight fit behind certain dashes, but if you can get it to fit, you'll be glad you got this thing back there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Long Is City, NY on 2/3/2019

1987 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Sikeston, MO on 2/3/2019

2004 Hyundai XG350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bulky, but good

Dwaine from Athens, AL on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is good, does what it says, and is easy to use once you figure it out. :-) It adds a lot of bulk behind the radio. I'm having to wire about an extra foot on each side, so I can stuff it elsewhere in the dash.

Pros: Does what is needed to bypass the Bose amp in my 1999 Mazda Miata.

Cons: A little learning curve in setting up. Takes up a LOT of space behind the head unit. Should have ONE screw for left and right speaker levels instead of one each.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well.

Lawrence from Frackville, PA on 1/13/2019

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for hooking to factory amp.

Pros: Lots of options for different configurations.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Connell, WA on 1/11/2019

2001 Infiniti I30

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Armand G from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 1/2/2019

2013 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Roger from East Bank, WV on 12/29/2018

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works just as directed. Factory amp bypass was my final option thankfully this helped tremendously. Thanks guys for the suggestion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Chester, MD on 11/14/2018

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, NC on 11/8/2018

1997 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, does the job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

When needed, this is a great for speaker to line level conversion

Robert from Campbellsville, KY on 10/17/2018

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried to avoid using this, by wiring RCA connectors onto the harness adapter (since the stock amp gets line level input). This method resulted in varying levels of ground loop induced whine, based on what other devices were turned on - blower fan, AC, lights, wipers all made the noise worse. After dealing with the noise for 2 days, I pulled the radio back out, and installed this converter. Instant fix! Relatively simple to install, and in my case, I didn't need to connect the attached ground wire. In theory, down converting speaker level to line level should have an impact on the sound, but in the case of my Honda van, I could not tell any difference in the audio quality.

Pros: - Resolved ground loop noise. (whine) - Separate level adjustments for direct wire and RCA outputs.

Cons: - May not physically fit behind your radio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mars, PA on 9/10/2018

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was recommended to get this for my 2008 Silverado 1500 LT w/out Bose because I replaced my 4 door speakers with Rockford Fosgates, and my stock stereo power output wasn't enough for me so I decided to get an amp (got a Rockford Fosgate R250x4) and after pulling out my radio, I realized I didn't have any RCA plug in spots. A quick call to Crutchfield and I got this converter. It was able to fit behind my radio and has so far been a good purchase. The only downside was that it didn't have a remote turn on wire for the amp like some others, but I was able to run that wire to the fuse for the daytime running lights (trust me, I tried everywhere, including the wiper motor, and the motor for the wiper fluid). I have been using it as a line out converter, which can be changed with a little switch on the side. All the wires fit fine and now I definitely will not need a sub now that I'm actually running enough power to my speakers. I haven't had it long enough to determine whether or not it will last until I don't have my truck anymore, but it seemed like a quality piece. The reason for the four stars is because it didn't have a remote turn on wire. The installation guide was enough for me to be able to use, but I used the instruction manual from the amp and this, along with probably about an hour on the phone with Crutchfield tech to install everything. This was also my first time ever installing an amp, and it was relatively painless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Julian from Birmingham, AL on 9/3/2018

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to use and install but minimal user guide may cause new installers some hassle.

Pros:

Cons: Minimalist user guide

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great device

Jimmy from Pflugerville, TX on 8/14/2018

2003 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great device! I never new something so small could be so powerful.

Pros: Great price. Super small.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Set it and forget it.

Gregory from Orlando, FL on 7/27/2018

2005 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A necessary component when installing an Alpine CDE 172BT in a 2005 Vibe w/ the Monsoon sound system. Worth the extra money to have Crutchfield complete the initial hook-up with the pre-wired ReadyHarness. Huge time saver with guaranteed results. A few minutes of fine tuning during install completed the set-up and E-Z install. As always, Crutchfield's friendly and knowledgeable staff was there to answer any questions. Oh, by the way, the Alpine CDE 172BT sounds great too!

Pros: Easy to install with the pre-wired Advanced ReadyHarness. Only took a few minutes to fine tune the levels. Fits perfectly inside the dash. Sounds great! Set it and forget it.

Cons: Included instructions are weak.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Livonia, MI on 7/24/2018

2004 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Useless. Didn't work for my factory Bose amp. Ended up just bypassing my factory amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Bruce from Olympia, WA on 7/18/2018

2005 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not need and the first call to tech support claimed you did not send this unit. A second call said they did send it and I would need it to interface with my factory deck amp. There was no room I could find in my 2005 BMW 330CI to put it and the Alpine deck I installed works fine without it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/25/2018
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support team reached out to Bruce to issue a refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Clinton S. from Baconton, GA on 7/10/2018

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works but to me the instructions were a bit vague and unclear.

Pros: It integrates into the bose amplifier.

Cons: The gain controls are a bit crazy and the thing is huge and hard to hide behind the radio in the dash.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A necessary component, I guess...

Jim from Hoffman Estates, IL on 7/3/2018

2006 Hyundai Azera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess it does what it is supposed to do. I've installed several car stereos before, but this is the first time I've replaced a head unit with a separate amp -- this thing was included in my installation kit and wired into the harness (with Crutchfield's "Ready Harness" service). I didn't like that I had to adjust gain individually on each of the 4 speaker lines. I'm not confident that the 4 speakers are "balanced" because you can't see what level you're setting -- it's a blind screw adjustment. I tried adjusting one speaker for optimal sound without distortion, and then guesstimated how far to "back off" the others to get a similar gain. Not a very precise operation...

Pros: converts speaker outputs to line outputs for feeding external amp

Cons: difficult to "balance" each of the 4 lines to have the same gain

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Guy from Niles, OH on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall for the price not bad. A little distortion, But I think anytime you pass a music through any device that might occur. Cheap way to go if you don't want to change your whole Bose system at great expense. Crutchfield was great for selling me the right system I needed and all employees were great.

Pros: easy set up and install, good price point.

Cons: Looks and feels cheap. Speaker wire connectors seems ike they could come loose.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Very Well

Juan from Abingdon, MD on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this as part of the kit for installing a JVC KW R-935BTS to replace the factory unit of a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited with the Infinity System. Had Crutchfield build me a Ready Harness for easy connection to the car. Kudos to Joey (of Crutchfield), who recommended the Ready Harness for use with the SLC-4 Line Converter when I ordered the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Josh from Aurora, CO on 6/6/2018

2005 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, and did exactly what was needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Armond from Ft Bragg, NC on 6/2/2018

2005 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once you have all of those connections as tight as you can (without breaking it) and the gains set ,the unit works perfectly. Trying to situate it in the dash caused some of the delicate connections to come loose so be careful. Dale from customer support had to help me out with this one. I was getting lots of hiss. Turns out I has to re-strip and tighten a few of the connections to cure the problem

Pros: -Seamless integration with premium sound system once adjusted correctly

Cons: -Watch all of those connections. Might take several attempts to manipulate the unit to fit in the dash opening without loose connections -Take your time adjusting the gains. Once set you really don't want to have to remove it again(little connections failing)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Brian from Dover, OH on 5/17/2018

2007 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect after calling Crutchfield support line.

Pros: Works good and easy to wire

Cons: Instructions are kinda hard to understand at first.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Spanish Fort, AL on 4/29/2018

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent junction box for adapting existing wiring to new equipment. Great instructions from Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It just plain works.

Don from Picayune, MS on 4/25/2018

2006 Hyundai Azera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, straightforward installation and a decent instruction manual. I love the screw down terminal strips. Sounds great with no level adjustment required.

Pros: Easy installation, screw terminals

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Hilliard, OH on 4/3/2018

2003 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked well to reduce the noise due to my new radio and factory amp. I may still teak it a bit, but things are much better than without it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Doug from Kannapolis, NC on 2/15/2018

2015 Honda Civic SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job it should

Pros:

Cons: Unit could use more shielding. Has to be far away from any power wires.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another great unit that allowed the continued use of the factory installed amplifier. Easy to configure and wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 2/11/2018

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install even being a bit beefy to place behind stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 1/29/2018

2007 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was told that the Scosche SLC4 line output converter was "mandatory" to connect the Kenwood DNX693S to my factory BMW amp. It was not only not required, but actually dulled the sound quality. Direct wiring from the LC-BMRC-01 to the Kenwood yielded a perfectly matched and detailed sound quality. This might be a great product if it were actually needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Barnardsville, NC on 1/17/2018

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good line level converter, a little cheap feeling but decent pasthru austion quality. My biggest qualm being the size of the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not really sure how to review.

Ken from Gainesville, FL on 1/15/2018

2005 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

converter was mandatory for my car. only worked on one setting so i don't really know what the other options would do. not an audiophile so i cant really give an in-depth review except to say that it does work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Homosassa, FL on 12/13/2017

2006 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Four stars only because it does do its job. However again, the instructions as to how to use this item were not good. As with most of the directions they were simply too general and poorly written. They did not give enough detail. The set up for this item calls for adjusting certain aspects of the item. The directions were not clear as to what specific items were to be adjusted,. In doing the adjustments to all the items, I never experienced what the instructions said I should. The item does what it is supposed to, but again the instructions were very poor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

New head unit + existing amp + slc4= success!

Lyle from Cedar Hills, UT on 12/10/2017

2002 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to add a new head unit to a car with an existing Bose amp. Instructions were good, install was straightforward, worked like it was supposed to.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked good for amp install to factory

William from Caddo Mills, TX on 12/3/2017

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Device did great job isolating floating ground from common ground. Liked adjustments.

Pros: Liked adjustments Good for isolating grounds

Cons: Little larger than i would like

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Morgan Hill, CA on 10/24/2017

2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The converter worked fine, and was installed with the harness fine. The only shortcoming of the whole experience was the poor documentation around this device. The small manual that came with it actually advised the opposite of what I needed to do, in adjusting which side's pots. There was no explanation of how this device was used in my specific configuration, how to do the adjustments was not clear, it did not mention the attached side plastic screw driver or the switch I needed to change. I had limited time to get the install done for my daughters car, before she had to leave, and I ended up calling the Crutchfield support number. The Crutchfield support experience was superb. The support guy was great, and it was nice the number and order number came with the documentation. With support help, everything made sense and I finished the install on time. But the poor documentation around this device's deployment brought down the rating. Constructive criticism and an area for improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Use Jeweler's screw driver

Chester from Bremerton, WA on 10/23/2017

2003 Hyundai XG350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For what I used of this unit it worked fine. Did not use the Line Out adjustments and the Factory Amp adjustments were turned to the full plus settings so adjustment for my vehicle was minimal but it worked fine. Use of a suitable jeweler's screwdriver seems mandatory to me for this item.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, but fragile

Timothy from Columbia, SC on 9/25/2017

2006 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good but seems to be fragile. Broke one of the screws when adjusting the gain.

Pros: works like it should

Cons: adjustment screws are very fragile

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should.

Crutchfield customer from Cheyenne, WY on 9/18/2017

1993 Chrysler Lebaron

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it supposed to do. Instructions were easy and clear. No problems hooking it up and sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 9/5/2017

2005 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly, easy insertion, nice labeling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install

Elvis from Hewitt, NJ on 8/31/2017

2003 BMW X5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and instructions!

Pros: Easy installation and easy instructions.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rough start, smooth end

Shawn from Nashville, TN on 8/22/2017

2000 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took a while to figure out how to install it. The documentation was not the best. Once I figured it out all was well.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Installation a little difficult

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but fragile

Saengtawan from Maryville, IL on 8/4/2017

2005 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything worked as expected if set up correctly. Gain adjustment is very fragile, first one that Crutchfield sent me, I broke the gain adjustment right away. Luckily they sent a second one for free. That's always a plus.

Pros: Works as expected if set up correctly

Cons: Fragile

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Ron from Morro Bay, CA on 8/3/2017

2005 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it says it does and still sounds good. I would have given 5 stars, but the directions were a little vague.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from North Hollywood, CA on 7/23/2017

2000 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have to bypass the factory amp. Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Robert from La Verkin, UT on 7/23/2017

1997 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product to wire between old and new radio's in My Mercedes Benz SL600

Pros: Great product, great price, small enough to be mounted behind radio

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bulky - Unable to fit in 2003 Land Rover Discovery - Used 2x LOC80s

Guy from Santa Barbara, CA on 7/20/2017

2003 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked OK, but I was not able to fit this in the cavity behind the stereo in a 2003 Land Rover Discovery because of an annoying bracket in the vehicle. Instead, I used 2x LOC80s and mounted one on each side of the bracket. The SLC-4 is rather bulky, so it might be difficult or impossible to fit it in the stereo cavity.

Pros:

Cons: Bulky - Unable to fit in vehicle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Speaker to RCA

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, OR on 6/26/2017

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit itself is great, but description of where to position the unit and help from Crutchfield was basically non existent. If you wanna put this in a BMW e46, open also the vent compartment and take the AC out. At the end you put the SLC4 underneath the main vents. Just enough space to squeeze it in there! Cheers

Pros: does what it's supposed to

Cons: build in sub-optimal and support not knowledgable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 6/19/2017

1996 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

LOVING MY SOUNDS

Brian from Honolulu,HI on 6/8/2017

1997 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hook up and easy to install! Chance was the best at helping me get the right stuff for my needs! Thank you Chance!

Pros: Easy to install and use.

Cons: Rather large for its size and was a tight getting it in but it works great!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Simple

Ted from Narberth, PA on 6/1/2017

2003 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for Nissan Bose system. Keeps price done and works great.

Pros: Retain your Bose system (Bose no nav.)..

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does it's job.

Crutchfield customer from Zephyrhills, FL on 5/24/2017

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it says it does but it's bulky and very fiddly. It has it's own gain controls built in to it and if installed behind the receiver you need to make sure you get it set correctly or else you will need to yank the head unit out to make adjustments. Lastly, it says to use the attached plastic screwdriver to attach the wires and adjust the gain. After a significant amount of frustration, I went and dug out my precision jewelers screwdriver set. The 3mm flat head makes working with this thing less stressful by a vast amount.

Pros: Does exactly what it advertises.

Cons: Very fiddly to work with and adjust. Large size makes it potentially hard to stick in the dash behind your head unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Eliminated all white noise w/o comprising sound quality

Michael from Yonkers, NY on 5/22/2017

2006 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ended up having to return a head unit (which Crutchfield made very simple). They shipped me a different one, same problem - a hissing/white noise that we (legendary Crutchfield tech support and myself), could not locate. Tried every ground I could find.....nothing. Tech suggested this idea, too possibly offset my existing Jeep Commander amp.....and, just like that, noise was gone. Connection was easy, and now I am up and running, and speakers sound just as good.

Pros: Ease of hook-up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Ben from Sarasota, FL on 5/21/2017

2006 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the trick as it should. Easy to install. Just make sure you tighten down on the wires real good. I had one come loose and it was just dangling around in the dash picking up noise from the engine and apparently the A/C fan motor. Found it and reattached it (and tightened all of them) and now it works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Speaker to RCA

Jonathan from Boise, ID on 5/21/2017

2002 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This definitely does what is needed in my case. Couldn't have done the aftermarket stereo without it, unless I was doing a complete system swap. Wasn't in my budget. So this did just the trick with a few annoying issues but works just the same.

Pros: It does do what it's supposed to do, if you can figure out what wiring configuration your system requires. Instructions couldn't be more vague about it.

Cons: Wiring port screws do not hold wires very well. To get them to stay put, I thought I was gonna break it, as hard as I had to tighten each wire down. The size could be a lot smaller. I really had s tough time tucking it into dash and keeping all wires connected. Last con, making adjustments to that unit is a complete stereo removal. Do make sure the settings you want are absolutely correct.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

achieng from Edgewood, MD on 5/16/2017

2004 Nissan Pathfinder Armada

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love being able to increase the sound output

Pros: Great sound to speakers.

Cons: Finding space behind the radio was a challenge. I had to pull the radio out and squeeze it into a place to make room for the radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Mitch from Jupiter, FL on 4/25/2017

2000 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed this part to connect a modern Sony radio head unit to the Bose amplifier in a 2000 Audi TT. And it does the job well, with the gain adjusted, the system is working as it should. I give high marks to the Crutchfield team for helping me through the replacement. I had zero experience or knowledge going into this project and without their expertise, in providing the necessary parts to get a modern radio to work with 17-year-old speakers and amplifier, the printed instructions and the telephone support, I would never have succeeded. I am only giving this converter three stars for two reasons, both of which have been noted in earlier reviews. First, it is bulky and getting it to fit, behind (actually under) the head unit was very tricky. Second and more serious, getting the wires to stay in the terminal block is a losing proposition, especially when trying to fit the converter into a tight space. The twisted wire ends pulled out four times while trying to get everything into position. I strongly recommend you get wire ferrules/end connectors and crimp them onto the ends of the wires. The screw terminals did a far better job holding onto the ferrules, and I have far less concern that they will come loose and detach over time. Getting the ferrules and crimping tool cost about an extra $30, money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Don't bother

Kevin from Covington, KY on 4/17/2017

2007 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to program, but only works with Windows PC's, but worst of all, the unit doesn't control my steering wheel controls, so a lot of time and effort for nothing.

Pros: Easy to program

Cons: Only works with Windows PC's, hard to wire, didn't work after install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Joe from Alabama on 4/12/2017

2006 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does it's job.

Pros: Does the thing it was intended for.

Cons: My con is this... it's bulky and it's bulky in a tight spot. That's the only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars... I will say that there are limited options to do what this does in the space it has to do it in. Nature of the beast kinda thing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Joe from Dry Ridge, KY on 4/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does it work yes. However it is very very sensitive. I had to use this due to my factory amp. I have a 10 speaker system including a sub. Thus product only has four ins and four outs. So it was difficult to get the sound to sound balanced and I still don't feel like it's right. But yes it works in the sense that when you turn the screws the amplified power moves up and down.

Pros: Works

Cons: Very hard to tune

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 3/26/2017

1999 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

like the ease of useing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 3/14/2017

2003 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it is supposed to do.

Robert from Lincolnton, NC on 3/13/2017

2008 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The SLC4 was required to interface between my 2008 Nissan 350Z Bose factory amp and speakers.

Pros: Works as designed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Installer had no clue

Jerry from Phoenix, AZ on 3/4/2017

2007 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Make sure that you call around to other audio installation stores and ask them if they can install this before you order it.

Pros: N/A

Cons: Make sure that you call around to other audio installation stores and ask them if they can install this before you order it. The local installer had no clue on how to make this work with my radio.

Crutchfield response on 3/8/2017
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield or have questions about your installation, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you get this installed or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 2/14/2017

1987 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an expert by any stretch on this stuff and to be honest didn't really understand what function this device performs. However, it's working so I guess it's doing it's job. The hold-down screws are weak - I had wires come loose after securing them "tight" (numerous warnings about over-tightening so I heeded those). Also, access to the Gain controls is a challenge - they're recessed and difficult to gauge where they're set. Oh, and the plastic tool is attached to the product but you have to just notice that, it's not in the instructions.

Pros: Seems to do the job it was designed to do. Compact size

Cons: Hold-down screws for wiring not very stable. Gain controls hard to adjust or visualize where they're set.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Tom from Cranston, RI on 2/8/2017

2008 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as designed easy hook up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

works well

Sean from Orange County NY on 2/5/2017

2006 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well constructed, bare wire terminals robust. Easy installation. I would recommend twisting and tinning bare wire before making final connections.

Pros: Does what is supposed to do.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Springs, CO on 2/1/2017

2011 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and instructions provided were helpful!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Minor Issues

Timothy from Lexington, SC on 1/30/2017

1998 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected.

Pros: Working

Cons: Diagram did not match the actual part. I/O for RCA jacks. Size is bulky.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 12/31/2016

2002 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This box came as part of the kit to convert the aftermarket stereo I ordered to the Boise system in my daughter's car. It was very assembly friendly for someone not so inclined. I called the help line to clarify a couple of things and they were very quick and helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Speaker to RCA

Crutchfield customer from Sierra Vista, AZ on 12/31/2016

1998 Lexus SC300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

instructions are self contradictory page 3 says use "factory amp gain"; page 4 says use "line out gain" Had to call tech to get it right Fits OK on left side of radio in vertical orientation Wish Crutchfield would have told me to get head unit with pre-amp outputs instead of speaker level outputs, instead they were silent and let me make this mistake right up front

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works good

Frank from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/28/2016

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little bulky making it hard to fit behind the radio head. The wires slipped out from the clamps a couple of times. Could use a better way to secure the wires to the unit. Works good though.

Pros: Good adapter

Cons: Little bulky, wires pull out of their clamps even after tightening the set screws quite tightly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 12/26/2016

2000 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, good instructions, kind of big and hard to jam into the space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 12/13/2016

1998 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Bulky! Easy instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 11/20/2016

2004 Kia Amanti

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Other than being bulky in an otherwise tight compartment, the SLC4 was relatively easy to install. However, making changes to it was not as easy as advertised. Regardless, I figured it out with the help of Crutchfield. It was a necessary evil.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

jon from Lake Zurich, IL on 10/25/2016

2003 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as expected especially since it came pre attached only could have done a better job of securing the wires in their respective locations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works just fine

Tom from Folsom, CA on 10/20/2016

1999 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Application: 1999 Mercedes Benz SL500. I read many of the reviews about this product before I purchased and was a little concerned about the durability of the unit. It's true that you need to take care not to over-tighten the wire connection screws but, if you're careful and take your time, you shouldn't have any problems. A couple of tips: 1) after you've connected the speaker wires to the unit, put a zip-tie or 2 around those wires for added stability. 2) if you're putting this on a Benz, remove the climate control module above the stereo cavity to give yourself more room in maneuvering the unit into a safe place back behind the receiver/stereo unit. I was able to get my hand back in the cavity to guide this unit to a "safe place" behind the receiver/stereo 3) there is a selector switch on the side of the unit (line out, factory amp, common ground); ONCE YOU'VE DETERMINED THE CORRECT SETTING FOR YOUR VEHICLE, apply some duct tape or clear silicon caulk to keep that selector switch in it's appropriate position because it's a tight fit behind the receiver/stereo and it could move from the correct setting.

Pros: does what it's supposed to do. Just read the directions carefully and call Crutchfield Tech support if you have any questions

Cons: not the most sturdy or durable unit in the world; take your time connecting the wires and installing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Necessary evil

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 10/16/2016

2004 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in my 2004 BMW with HK sound system between new headunit and factory amp & speakers. I'm not sure of an alternative to work with this old set up, so it is a necessary evil. In general, it works and is inexpensive. Things to keep in mind: * This thing is Huge (relatively speaking). I could not fit it behind my headunit so it took hours of extra time and wiring to find it a new home. * Wiring connections for speakers are fragile and insecure. * Adjusting the gain pots is imprecise at best. * Sound quality from it is marginal. That all said, I'm not sure of an alternative for this setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

David from Springfield, VA on 9/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great....I'd like to thank my product advisor from Crutchfield.

Pros: Very easy instruction. Visual a plus.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Arnie from Chicago, IL on 9/19/2016

2002 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I i bought this converter to use on my car that doesnt have an aftermarket head unit. Im using it with an amp and sub and it does the job it was built for and it does it very well. It's price is cheap bit its built well. Great product!

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Little Device

Ben S from Thomasville, NC on 9/13/2016

2002 Saab 9-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was originally one of those add-on items I really didn't know what was for. After installing the radio by directly connecting the wiring harness to the stereo, I noticed that I was getting some mild distortion at higher volumes. I called Crutchfield support, and this little device (which I previously wasn't sure what was for) solved all of my problems. It connects between the two wiring harnesses, and allows the user to adjust the gain sent to the factory amp.

Pros: Solved my distortion problems after installing a new stereo by controlling the gains to my factory amp.

Cons: Kind of large. I wish it was smaller. Made everything behind my stereo a very tight fit with little room for adjustment due to to lengths of the wires on my wiring harness. Also, flipping between manuals and writing down wire colors/functions was a little confusing, but well worth it in the end.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Even Worth It For Free

Kevin from Pittsboro, NC on 9/12/2016

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Scosche SLC4 cannot do what it was intended to do. This is solely the fault of the connection scheme, which cannot stay fastened no matter how hard you tighten the screws. If you think you have it tightened enough, you don't: it can't survive being smushed in to the dash cavity without something coming loose. Cars by definition move and twist and bump, they have forces that act on them in all directions. You can't use a product that you can't rely on staying connected once you've reassembled the dash. Don't be fooled by the low price; it still isn't worth it if was free. In its place I used the Posi-Products Connector Kit from Crutchfield, and two PAC SNI-35 Two Channel LOCs with two Rockford Fosgate RFI2SW RCA to Speaker Wire Adapters from another vendor. The PAC product I think sounds better (for the minute or two I had the Scoshce connected properly), but the bottom line is it has a reliable connection, and that is what matters most. The Scosche product could solve its problem entirely by skipping the screw connectors and going with hard wired internal connections that you can twist connect with products like the Posi connectors or other crimping or soldering methods.

Pros: Sounded OK for the minute or so that it could stay connected

Cons: Connections are completely unreliable; the most incredible sound in the world doesn't matter if it can't stay connected.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works fine - easy to install

EngineerBill from Los Altos, CA on 9/12/2016

1997 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter works just fine to connect my new JVC radio to the existing Bose system in a 97 Mercedes C280. The screw connectors for the input wires are just fine if you pay attention to how they work before you start turning the screws too much. The screws push down on a metal strip that grips the wire very firmly. Make sure the screw is backed off enough to open up the space for the wire then insert wire and tighten down the screw until you can't pull the wire out of the jack.

Pros: Easy straight forward installation and adjustment. I ended up using a full volume setting on all 4 channels going to the Bose amp.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Albany, NY on 8/24/2016

2008 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Sisters, OR on 8/12/2016

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does the job. The instructions are confusing. I had to work with tech support for some time to figure out why it wouldn't work at first. Compression fittings are not supposed to be over tightened but if you don't, they pull out. It's also hard to find a space in the dash to fit something as large as a pack of cigarettes with a double DIN head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great LOC

Justin from Brunswick, ME on 7/31/2016

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This LOC did what it was designed to do and then some. Converted the high level outputs from my aftermarket head unit to feel the factory Bose amp. Really cleaned up the signal without losing too much voltage.

Pros: Versatile. Can accept 4 channels of high level speaker wire inputs. Outputs up to 4 channels as speaker wires or RCAs.

Cons: A little big, but then it can do a lot.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Waste of time

Rick from Akron ohio on 7/18/2016

2005 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it supposed to do but good luck getting it to fit behind your radio. Also pay attention to the wires. Unit will not hold the wires from the radio. The wires consistently come out when trying to stuff unit in the dash. I ended up not using it

Pros: Does what it is supposed to do

Cons: Doesn't fit, wires come out

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Gregory from Antioch, CA on 7/12/2016

2000 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is working very nice in my car after reading the instructions I got it together

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Fine

James from Carlsbad, CA on 6/20/2016

2002 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no audio expert, and the instructions leave something to be desired, so it took me a while to figure out that I didn't need to locate the amplifier in my car to hook this up. The SLC4 goes in the dash between the radio and the vehicle's wiring. If you take your time and make sure each wire is screwed in tightly, then the wires won't pull out when you're installing the SLC4. This is important because if you have limited dash space you'll most likely be doing a lot of contorting of the wires during installation. It was a real challenge getting this unit to fit in there with the radio. I had to take more of the dash apart to find a place to tuck the SLC4. I ended up cramming it above the radio, in a small space below the air vents. The radio sounds great, so the SLC4 is doing its job.

Pros: Does the job it's supposed to do.

Cons: Much too big, making it very difficult to fit. Unclear instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

J from Philadelphia, PA on 6/5/2016

2000 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Scoche SLC-4 is a mistake. It's very large, so it will be a struggle to jam behind the radio in the dash. But that's not the worst part... It is so cheaply made, that once you take the time to connect both harnesses, you've got to turn these very delicate, yet hard to turn gain screws. Then the screws just shattered. So, it's now behind my dash, and my radio needs to be cranked to 35-40 until you get listenable sound. I'll uninstall it once I get the time. I'm likely to send it back.

Pros:

Cons: cheap plastic, so LARGE, impossible screws.

Crutchfield response on 6/7/2016
Our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get this working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does what it says on the box

Daniel from Nashville, TN on 6/2/2016

2004 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it's supposed to do, and does it very well as far as I'm concerned. Yes, it is a bit on the bulky side, but I was able to fit it in my dash without too much hassle.

Pros: Good sound, several different setup options, reasonable build quality.

Cons: Pretty large, but that should be expected given all of the connections it supports.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awful

Seelall B. from Clermont, FL on 5/11/2016

2008 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awful gain control. Poorly made.

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Danville, IN on 5/9/2016

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Low quality

Pros:

Cons: Difficult to hook up. Wires don't want to stay connected. Low quality.

Crutchfield response on 5/10/2016
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scorched slc4

Josh d. from New Ulm, MN on 4/27/2016

1987 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item was kinda big for in the dash and the wires wanted to keep pulling out and kinda noisy think this could of been a little better quality part or atleast have the option to purchase a better one only disappointment I have ever had from you guys keep up the good work

Pros: It worked as expected

Cons: To big to put in dash and wires kept wanting to pull out

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Jerry B from San Jose, CA on 4/25/2016

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor instructions and to large to fit into my Dash. This product, I am told, is to turn down some of the voltage so your factory amp does not get overwhelmed by the input from the head unit. So you are supposed to hood it up inline between the factory pigtail converter and the headunit pigtail. You turn on the new head unit and set it to a volume setting of 27, then dial back the screws on this unit until no distortion is heard in the speakers. All of this is done with the blue box is outside your dash and the head unit is dangling from its wiring. Very cumbersome. Then you have to try to push all this back into the recesses of the Dash. This blue box is pretty big. And new cars have very little room any more (at least my bmw e46 is really tight). While pushing the box back into the nether regions of the dash, some of the wires pulled out of this unit, and require further messing around to get that fixed.

Pros: I guess it is needed so as to not harm your factory Amp

Cons: to large to fit modern cars. Not a good wiring connection.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Todd from San Diego, CA on 4/23/2016

1990 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple to use but can take up space in AN E30 325i BMW

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great

David from Milwaukee, WI on 4/19/2016

2002 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

only 4 stars due to size. it worked perfectly, but getting that thing in the dash of a BMW 325xi was a bit of a magic trick. Bottom line--i didn't know i needed it, the sales guy knew i would. I called tech support a few times to go over the hookup, as always the tech support is hands-down the best in any industry. Another successful installation - thank you Crutchfield!!

Pros: worked as prescribed

Cons: just a tad large to get in the dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

SLC4

Zach from Muskegon, MI on 3/31/2016

1996 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect, plug in and adjust the gain.

Pros: Easy to figure out and set up

Cons: Directions could be better but like I said it's pretty easy to figure out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

tomd from albany, OR on 3/29/2016

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flawless install and operation. Works exactly described

Pros: A passive device. Nice easy big terminations. documentation was easy to understand.

Cons: Foot print and form factor; Adds big section to harness, too big difficult to conceal in dash space. output trim pots need to be closer to surface improved access.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better product out there

Jared from Texas on 3/1/2016

2003 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to... Really deminishes sound quality

Pros: It came with Head unit purchase

Cons: Poor sound quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great.

1m from Glen Cove, NY on 2/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes the factory speakers sound amazing!

Pros: Hooks up real easy. Makes the factory speakers sound amazing! Already pre-set.

Cons: There's one black wire that comes off the unit. Instructions don't say what it's for. I found out that it's the ground wire. Just connect that to the ground in the wire harness ground. I had to call Crutchfield to find that out. It's not really a bad thing, but I figured I would post this to save somebody a phone call.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great product, look at dimensions

DanM from Illinois on 1/17/2016

2002 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I neglected to check out the dimensions until the converter arrived, it is big. When installation is in a larger car its no big deal but this was going into a Miata. With a little wire added to the wiring harness adaptors the unit can be slid off to the side after the level adjustments have been made.

Pros: easily adjusted and works as advertised

Cons: its big

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche SLC4 Line Output Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mississippi on 1/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good converter for the price. I have used this on a few systems with no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

BobS from New Hampshire on 12/14/2015

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works as advertised. Crutchfield rep helped me understand which configuration to use from the extensive instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works fine, no complaints

Jared H from California on 12/3/2015

1995 BMW 540I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fine on my 1995 BMW 540i to drop the levels for the factory amp. The unit is bigger than it seems in the pictures and I had a hard time fitting it into the dash.I had to extend the wires off of my harness so I could fit it behind the radio.

Pros: Works as advertised, many different configurations

Cons: bigger than expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not needed

Max from Alabama on 10/15/2015

1991 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

E30 w/o external amp has no use. Shipped as recommended part

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/19/2015
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Flimsy

Syd from Milford, CT on 10/6/2015

2002 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Difficult to connect / adjust. adjustment screws broke right away - couldn't adjust - wound up not using altogether

Pros: none

Cons: very poorly made

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful