Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
878 652 75
Connect ID #
878 652 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 559

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # 506828

Sennheiser HD 559

Sennheiser HD 559

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # 506828

32 reviews
View this product

Sennheiser HD 559

Jimmy from Milwaukee, WI on 6/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice headphones!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Juan from Guaynabo, PR on 1/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, comfortable and excellent sound. Doesn't sofocante my ears or head.

Pros: Light, breathable

Cons: Which cable has the 6.3 jack was removable with a 3.5 jack inside to use with other devices, just bought a separate cable with the feature.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All day comfort and smooth sound.

Justin from BRISTOL, VA on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The HD 599 are a great headphone if you love smooth warm sound. As a open back headphone maintaining warmth is very nice. If you are looking for a headphone you can wear for long sessions HD 559 is a great choice! The treble is definitely cut back. Not to the point where sound is jumbled up and muddy. More of a ride in a Cadillac. Smooth and clean. Again, a great headphone for me because to much presence in the top end can get fatiguing on long sessions. A fantastic work headphone that keeps your ears cool, hear your surroundings just enough and sounds like butter. You can power them with anything. A dedicated AMP/DAC will open them up. A sound that grows on you in the best of ways!

Pros: Comfort, Great for long sessions, Smooth & not fatiguing sound signature.

Cons: Can sound a bit dark at first.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have axr 100 receiver onkyo c -7030 CD player keff q 150 speakers and sennheiser h d 559 over ear headphones they sound great together . Beginners luck Crutchfield recommended the axr 100 love it turn table and cassette sound excellent too very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb earphones reproducing details well, but a little too much base

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing headphones for the price

Tyler from Auburn Hills, MI on 7/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile, but I was blown away with these when as soon as I received them I plugged them into my receiver and queued up some jams. They were so comfortable on my ears that I actually fell asleep while listening and napped comfortably for almost 1.5 hrs. When I woke up ears were not sore and sweaty. I have never worn headphones this comfortable on my big ol' elephant ears before. Almost every pair of headphones starts to give me a headache/sore ears after a couple hours, but I could wear these all day long, and do, since they sound so good.

Pros: -Great sound quality, super clean mids and highs -Very comfortable, even for me with massive ears -Price is unbeatable for the sound quality -Open back design provides large soundstage

Cons: -Included cable only has 1/4" plug, a 3.5mm plug w/ 1/4" adapter would have made a lot more sense in my opinion. -Bass is slightly heavier than I'd like

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Plain and simple headphones

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Old fashion unit, no Bluetooth, no isolation, no telephone access or volume and 1/4 terminal, no fancy form or color, just plain and simple headphones. Sennheiser focus on sound and they get it, articulate and balance high quality musical reproduction. no gimmick , pure sound quality, they are not perfect in some music the bass in overwhelming for my taste, tendency to be bass heavy, they are big, light and comfortable , removable cable and pads, so is build for the long run in high fi environment.

Pros: just music, no fancy wannabe.

Cons: 1/4 to 1/8 adapter missing or 1/8 cable with 1/4 adapter. Bass heavy with some music.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mids and treble are very good. Brass, guitar, drums, piano, and female vocals sound realistic. Bass, however, is somewhat overemphasized. At low volume levels, bass has a satisfying thump. At higher volume levels, the bass overwhelms the mids and treble. Good low volume headphones.

Pros: Nice mids and treble. Guitar, piano, and female vocals sound really good. Very comfortable for longer listening sessions.

Cons: Bass at higher volume levels is disappointing and overwhelming. They sound best at lower volume listening levels.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

jim from WALTHAM on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently bought Denon dp 300f TT and quality of sound varies from record to record due to blah included cartridge. As i wasnt up for selecting a new cartridge and need 'phones anyhow to keep peace w/ neighbors, I bought these 559s and they do both jobs: discretion and avoiding shopping for a new cartridge right away. You can hear everything on these and not in an obnoxious way. It is heavy on bass but as the blah cartridge is too light on bass, Sennheiser saves the day. Only reservation is that they are a tight fit w/ my glasses on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Greenbackville, VA on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones sound very good considering. I also have a pair of Denon in ear phones that I can sort of compare these to. The Denon in ear phones sound way better. Probably because the drivers are so much closer to the ear drum. So that is really not a fair comparison. However, I do also have a pair of Beats Solo Pro and these Sennheiser HD 559's sound better than the Beats in my opinion and are so much more comfortable in every way.

Pros: Comfortable, Crisp Sound, Long Cord, Detachable Cord

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Senheiser Headphones: Class, Ease, Sounds Delite

Laurence from Trumbull, CT on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sennheiser HD559 brings to a special place for listening to some great sounds. Easy to use and powerful with audio output and sound inputs. What a delete for young, middle and old, such as this 76 year young senior.S.HD559 is so comfortable on my ears, so lite in its weight but its a warrior for what it does to amplify, to clarify and to share great musical experiences

Pros: great sounds, easy to use, quality is mar-fee-lus. Musical moments are the best and conversations with friends, are clear, strong and well delivered

Cons: Like it to be a little smaller for use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound for the price. Bass heavy, but I knew that when I bought it. What I didn't like was the very long cable (which I replaced).

Pros: Good for the price. Comfortable

Cons: Long cable. Bass heavy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyvale, CA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got it to replace old ones. Works much better than previous model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Headphones for A/V Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Gloucester, MA on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed headphones to plug into A/V receiver to listen to both cable and blu-ray player late at night so not to disturbed neighbors in apartment building. Just plug-n-play with 10ft cord. Feel comfortable on head and can still hear things in room like phone ringing.

Pros: Comfortable to wear, can still hear room noises, plug-n-play and 10ft cord.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Tannersville, NY on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was always a Bose person but , the Sennheiser 559's have Changed the way I Hear ?????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Irving, TX on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good dollar value. Comfortable. Broad range of sound. Very nice until you are ready multiply your investment several times.

Pros: Comfort and sound clarity. Affordable

Cons: None for this price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksbrg, VA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value and sound

Pros: Comfortable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Windber, PA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great accustics. Very comfortable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Guitar

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these with a practice guitar amp. They are great sounding "cans"!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Pikesville, MD on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones have excellent sound quality and are very comfortable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jacksonville

William from Jacksonville on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received these headphones today, and I have been listening to them for over two hours, playing anything from orchestral, to rock, to coutry, and both male and female vocals. These are excellent headphones, especially for the price, with clean, clear highs and mids, and bass that is balanced and more than sufficient for all but those who want to be overwhelmed by bass. I wear a large hat size, and these are moderately comfortable, as good as or better than most full-size over ears I have worn. The cord is long enough to get the job done for any use I'll have for them. I debated between a 4* and 5*, but for the price I think they deserve a 5.

Pros: Soft ear cups and padded headband, good cord length, excellent sound quality.

Cons: For folks with large ears and heads (like me!) they may get somewhat uncomfortable if you listen for a very extended period (2 1/2 hours or more), but anyone else should be fine.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Longview, WA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound, tight fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MO on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and very comfortable especially considering the price. I would have preferred a longer coiled cord but the one that was included is sufficient.

Pros: Price, good sound quality, comfortable

Cons: Cord

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Bang for Buck!

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After looking around for a decent entry-level headphone to use at home with my analog stereo system, I settled on the Sennheiser HD 559. The open-back headphones allow some sound to spill out, so if you are listening close to your significant other at a high volume they will be able to hear your music. However, I found the open back headphones to sound better than the closed headphones I have used in the past. The open back allows you to feel as if you are in the room with the music as opposed to it being contained and concentrated right into your ear. These are nearly broken in now, and the sound quality is high. They are also noticeably comfortable to wear for extended listening sessions.

Pros: - Affordable Cost - Great Sound for Price - Comfortable to Wear

Cons: - Open Back Allows for Sound to Leak Out, If That is a Concern For You

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Nevis, MN on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for nice set of direct wired headphones for my new audio system. This is one of those areas where the choices are many....so I think for me it came down to purchasing a headphone that seemed to match what I was looking for. Like everything else in the audio video world the sky is the limit to what you want to spend .For me it came down to a nice set of headphones for a reasonable amount of money yet were comfortable and deliver a good sound.

Pros: Nice headphones for the money....I know that there are better ones out there in the audio world, but these are a nice set of comfortable good sounding headphones for what I was looking to spend on a piece of equipment that I only occasionally.

Cons: I would have liked to have a bit longer cord on the headphones .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Walter R. from Massachusetts on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this is an amazing set of headphones. They provide an open, spacious interpretation of the music, with a very precise soundstage. They are comfortable for long periods, which is good because they inspire exploration of my music library. From Punk to New Age, I'm finding nuance and hearing what the singer is really saying. I actually bought them for TV late at night, and they excel in that space as well. Step one is get a 1/4 - 3.5mm converter so you can plug them into more source devices.

Pros: Price, spacious, different from closed-backs, comfortable, pleasant musicality that does not tire the ears.

Cons: Should have come with a 1/4 - 3.5mm converter

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Gene from Placerville, CA on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I wanted. Great sound and the highs come in great. Great sound quality overall. Also, I can hear the phone if it rings in the other room. I really like the simplicity, no Bluetooth, Siri or alexia, no other gadgets except the quarter inch jack plug.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

garth from Punta Gorda, FL on 2/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for reasonably priced headphones and these fit the bill. Very smooth, even sounding without being overly bass heavy. They fit well, though I have small ears and are comfortable enough to use for hours at a time. Happy with them to be sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

High end sound

Calvin from San Bernardino, CA on 6/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is difficult to rate high end headphones. I've listened to the Bose wireless and it is very good. I have a good collection of high end headphones. The Sennheiser HD559 is definite high end. It has a soft sound but reproduces all frequencies very well. One can listen to it for an extended time. I like the HD559 especially with classical music, popular instrumental bands and orchestras. If you listen to rap, I would prefer not to use the HD559. But this is all my opinion. You have to decide for yourself. The listening test should last for weeks. Listen to well recorded music and from good headphone amplifiers. If you use it to listen on the computer, you need a better sound card and realize not all computer generated music is well recorded. For this price point, you can't go wrong unless you prefer rap.

Pros: comfortable fitting, high frequencies are soft but easily heard, a good bargain

Cons: first opinions of the sound quality is deceiving.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Listen and Relax

Danny from Tipp City, OH on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these headphones to replace a pair I had used for about 25 years. The old pair was getting rather uncomfortable and unimpressive in sound. These HD559 headphones are amazing. One thing I really like about them is the open back design. I seldom (if ever) listen to music in a noisy environment. So the noise-cancelling and blocking design of many headphones is something I really don't need. In fact, I like the open back design because I can relax better. If something unexpected does occur, such as the door bell ringing, I will not be sealed away and unable to hear. I really do not like being closed off from my environment. And the sound? Just great! I have been listening to music and movies in amazement with these HD559s. I am completely satisfied.

Pros: Open back plus good sound

Cons: My speakers might feel neglected

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 559

Crutchfield customer from Scarborough, ME on 11/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and nice to have a long cord. Only slight negative is that headphones are somewhat large and heavy, but not uncomfortable.

Pros: Great sound and very good quality.

Cons: Large size and slightly heavy.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

super equipment

Kordian from Fanwood, NJ on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super equipment, very good sound, comfort, and useful long cable.

Pros: ergonomics, quality of sound

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound