Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 197 14
Connect ID #
803 197 14
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Open-back wired over-ear headphones

MFR # 508826

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Open-back wired over-ear headphones

MFR # 508826

46 reviews
View this product

HD 660s (Awesome)

Crutchfield customer from Kings Park, NY on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of tight, quick, articulate bass. Clear, accurate, articulate midrange. Clean, open highs. Excellent imaging. The 660s do what it does with confidence and authority and to top it off these phones are very comfortable. My rig consists of a Schiit Asgard 3, and Modi DAC. I am very happy with my purchase. As always purchasing through Crutchfield couldn't be better. This item I purchased as open box. Arrived fast and in like new condition.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great headphones

Crutchfield customer from Shorewood, WI on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Music reproduction is top notch. Fit is great (and I've a large noggin). Unit feels solid. I paired with an amp, DAC, and my favorite HD streaming service. I put them on and I'm in my happy place.

Pros: Sound and fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

First Love

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first set of higher end headphones so I don't have anything to compare to but these Sennheisers have a nicely balanced sound with plenty of low end. I'm using them with an iFi Zen DAC which includes a bass boost function but I find I rarely need it. The headphones were on sale and still a little pricey but worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wont find a more comfortable and lightweight audiophile headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Quality Headphone

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm able to hear a lot more detailed sound. I would rate the sound stage as excellent. The headphones have a tight fit, but are still comfortable with the built in padding. I also like the ability to change the cord and also use mini plugs for tablets.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds good but needs a bit of EQ

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, TN on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these for a couple of weeks and have enjoyed listening to music with them. They didn't sound good through the headphone jack on my Cambridge stereo amp but really came alive with a desktop amp and DAC, a Magni / Modi combo. They are pretty anemic when it comes to bass extension and definition but you can help that a bit with some free EQ software if you look up "oratory1990 eq" on Reddit. Using the EQ software improved the performance of these headphones a lot for me. Out of the box, mids and highs sound good, to my ear. The 660 lends a little silk to vocals and overdriven guitar amps have a good, warm crunch whether I am listening to Mellencamp or Radiohead. I'm picky about how cymbals and hi hat come across and the 660 has pretty good detail without any harshness I can detect. Again, EQ can make a big difference here. Build quality seems good for the price. I think these headphones will last 20+ years but I have read the all the 600 series headphones need the pads replaced often, every year or so with daily use or otherwise, audio quality can suffer. I got these on sale but a more appropriate every day price would probably be in the $300 - $350 range, in line with the Hifiman Sundara. I don't want to put anybody off these but I want to be honest. I'm going to keep them and enjoy music with them but you do need to try the 660 with a decent amp/dac. And they do have some shortcomings, especially if you like to hear a go

Pros: Good comfort, materials and build quality have a good track record, 2 year warranty, Overall sound is pleasing, slightly warm side of neutral. Nice vocals, guitars and percussion. Rarely veers into harshness over a wide variety of genres.

Cons: Lacks bass extension, energy and clarity. What low end you can hear sounds a little weak and lacking in definition without EQ. Very mid focused, could be a Pro, depending on what you like. Soundstage and imaging are mediocre, almost no 3D width or depth.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Some of best, but not for everyone...

LBrize from LYBURN on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I extensively compared the 660 S headphones to a wide range of others, priced as low as $79 and up to a similar range as the 660S. The least expensive headphone was Sennheiser's 280 Pro, which I picked up for a great price. Bar none, these are the best headphones I have heard for the cost. The sound is undoubtedly powerful and high-end at the same time. Sound isolation is fantastic, quite simply these are my "go-to" for every day listening. Also compared were Bowers & Wilkins P3 and P5, and Bose Quiet Comfort 35. Just to rank overall sound quality, I would put the 660S on top, followed by the 280pro, then Bose Quiet Comfort (surprised me too), the P5, and finally the P3. What's so great about the 660s? They are so open, and accurate. Very sweet sounding units that demand to be considered "high-end." They offer a refined sound that just sound terrific. That said, the 660s do not have the punch of the others, save maybe for the P3, so if you prefer hard hitting bass that goes super deep, look elsewhere. A check of frequency response indicated that the 660S drops off below around 55Hz, definitely a bit of a disappointment, considering that a lot of current music goes well below this frequency. Another issue that could be considered; since these are open back headphones, you can still hear the room, although this is in the design. Very good headphones, build quality is good & best sounding overall, but not the best for everyone for the price.

Pros: Open, beautiful refined sound that will let you hear things you may have never heard. The sound quality of the instruments, drums, and especially vocals sound more realistic than perhaps any headphone I have heard! Also, the packaging indicates a quality product...quite nice.

Cons: A bit power hungry (use a headphone amp or very good section of a receiver), open air design means you will hear cats meow, people talking, etc., and they will hear your music at higher volumes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HD 660S

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I started with the Grado RS2Es and liked them very much, but a crisp at times. The HD 660S has more bottom end and to me a better soundstage. Also I will be keeping the Grados for now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Enjoyable

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good soundstage but bass could be better. They go down to 10 hz but bass volume could be better. My first set of open back headphones. Overall I really enjoy them and I am very happy I got them on sale.

Pros: Nice soundstage, comfortable, and lightweight I think I'll hang on to them, I'm sure my neighbors will appreciate not hearing my Martin Logan Motion 60 XT's after 9:00PM

Cons: Bass could be a little stronger but not a deal breaker.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hear what youve been missing!

Crutchfield customer from Mount Airy, MD on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With these headphones, music is no IN my head - no longer 'out there' coming from my speakers to my ears. It is an immersive experience. I am hearing subtleties unnoticed for a long time and enjoying every bit of music I listen to

Pros: Sound, comfort

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Maestro

Crutchfield customer from Salem, MA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did much research before purchasing the 660 S headphones. The video review presented by Crutchfield was the convincer. My only regret is that I didn't purchase a Sennheiser years ago. I'm a 77 year old audiophile with a particular passion for Classical music. Obviously my hearing isn't as profound as years past. However, with these headphones I can hear sounds from a full orchestra I haven't heard in years from a subtle oboe to a splashing full crescendo.

Pros: Crutchfield is the place to go for audio equipment. I purchased a Harman Kardon years ago from them. They set a high bar when it comes to customer service and timely delivery.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good bang for the buck.

Crutchfield customer from Lewes, DE on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased my HD 660S headphones in "open-box". I would do so again without hesitation. The earcups are uncovered soft foam. They are comfortable, but look cheap, and will surely attract dust, detritus, and soak up perspiration if used in a warm/humid room. Perhaps they provide better sound quality, but I like, better, the look and feel of soft leather-like earcup skins on my Sennheiser HDR-195s. Otherwise, the 660s look well made. I first plugged them into a nonbalanced headphone jack on the front of a PD-F19 multi disk player. The right channel made scratching noises. I then plugged them into the jack on the front of my Pioneer Elite VSX-79Txi surround-sound receiver with the PD-F19 being the source, and heard no noise. I first listened to classical CDs, including some that were "digitally remastered". I was a bit unimpressed with the sound (as I listened, I compared the sound with that from M&L Vantage electrostatic speakers. The 660's seem to have more treble than the Vantages. I listened to a couple of hours 660's started sounding better and better (or maybe my ears adjusted to them). The PD-F19's DAC is 24 bit and I believe upsamples to 192k, but I look forward to trying them with a good new headphone amp. I think the 660s are a great bang for the buck. I don't want to spend $1.2k for the next better model, so I'll keep them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent cans, have really enhanced my listening experience

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Best!

Eric from Summit, NJ on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are amazing cans! The detail and accuracy are very clear. They are also very easy to drive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

new clarity

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These new headphones have awakened details and clarity in music that I have been missing. In addition, they fit my (large) head and large ears. Recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, WA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding and very comfortable headphones

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built, good sounding, comfortable fitting headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from S Glastonbury, CT on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the fit and comfort of these headphones. I have an older, less expensive pair from Sennheiser and find these to be a nice upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Van Dyne, WI on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head phones. Sound is very accurate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Selbyville, DE on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was not sure about open back headphones, but these sound amazing. I use them for both music and home theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First let me say I've never listened to $3000 headphones. But these are the best headphones I've heard. With my current set up and HD streaming they sounded great. I found out lots of recordings aren't all that great. But that made things more interesting.

Pros: Cheap if they're the last headphones you'll ever buy

Cons: Expensive if you're chasing perfection because there are way more expensive options that you will eventually buy. So why not buy them first.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of headphones for someone new to audiophile world

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What I was looking for

Crutchfield customer from El Cerrito, CA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Started by auditioning some bluetooth headphones and quickly discovered they wouldn't work at all. I'm an audiophile interested in classical music. I subscribe to 2 classical streaming services that stream the Lossless FLAC format so I'm looking for a full spectrum of sound with a large sound stage. Finally with Sennheiser HD 660S I've found what I was looking for...at least for now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Hayden, ID on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is excellent! They are very comfortable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Albion, CA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice set nice price nice folks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

HD 660s are a keeper

Tony from Guam, USA on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am just really breaking in to the high end headphone world. I have an old pair of Sennheiser HD599 open backs. I will say they sound great. However, I wanted to go to the next level. So, I got a pair of Audio Technica MSR7b closed backs. They were a bit too forward in the mids and made my ears heat up. I sent them back. Got the HD 660s..I really like them and are next level for sure.....wide sound stage.good bass.relaxed mids and smooth highs...I can listen for hours no fatigue!! I guess I am just partial to the Sennheiser signature sound. I will keep these.

Pros: Look feel and sound of this product feels high-end. Lets you know you leveled up.

Cons: Cost a lot if you are used to $200.oo headphones. But, if you have the cash they are worth it!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Headphones and a fair Price $$

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica Plain, MA on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After considering many headphones and sorting out the variables and prices I landed very happily on the Sennheiser HD660S. I was specifically looking for open back, over the ears, not wireless and lighter weight. I also bought and auditioned the Aduze LCD 1 which are also very good headphones but in an A/B comparison these won out. They have a fuller range and bigger wider sound stage and interestingly when I switched from the Sennheisers to the Audize I had to pump up the volume for the Audize but with no increase in quality of sound. And on balance the Sennheisers are more comfortable with better padding. I'm an almost entirely classical music listener and my audition including big orchestral and choral works, violin and piano concertos, chamber music, opera and listening to music from the baroque right up through the 20th century these won!! Also: I listen through my NAD integrated amplifier and just as a test I tried these on my IPhone and I was very impressive with that as well and that without a headphone amplifier!! I'm curious how much better the headphones that break $1000 could possibly be against these very fine headphones... but for now here is where I will stay!

Pros: Great Sound and comfortable with good padding and not too heavy

Cons: All good. No cons!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

If they're on sale, Buy 'em

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones were an upgrade from my Sennheiser HD599's. Not a huge improvement, but noticeably better nevertheless. I got them to complete my recent move to HD listening: Amazon Music HD tunes- played through Bluesound Node 2i- played through Schiit Magni Heresy amp- out to Sennheiser HD 660s. So far I'm a happy Listener!

Pros: Quality build Vocals, midrange and soundstage superb, depending on source remastering

Cons: Pricey- don't pay retail Snug fit to your head (will loosen I imagine) Bass not as booming as some might like

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Top-notch headphones

Crutchfield customer from Westmont, IL on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent headphones and a great value. The headphones are very comfortable, even after wearing for a long time. Because of the lower impedance, I can take full advantage of the high-res digital recordings I have purchased and downloaded to my high-end digital players (FiiO and Hidizs). Most important to me, the sound quality is warm and immediate. I can hear details, such as musicians shifting in their chairs, that I did missed before. If you want to listen to recordings and experience a realistic, full-range sound palette, these headphones are for you. As a bonus, you get both a 3.5mm adapter, along with a separate 4.4 mm balanced stereo plug.

Pros: Very comfortable, even after wearing for hours. Lower impedance allows good sound from hi-res personal digital players.

Cons: If you are looking for heavy bass output, these might not be for you.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for music, overkill for gaming

Crutchfield customer from Johnston, RI on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great phones! They sou nd and feel great. I've kept them on for hours at a time. I use mine for gaming which I believe to be over kill. An obvious thing with these are they are not noise cancelation. I like this feature personally because I can speak to people around me and still hear with headphones when on my ears. I would say, if you are gaming like myself these may cost more then you'll get out of them. As for music, I hear instruments I did t before. Great product!

Pros: Comfortable for long periods of time, incredible sound quality, high quality made,

Cons: Open ears (no noise cancelation), over priced if using for gaming, may need a DAC/ headphone amplifier to achieve max performance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from River Pines, CA on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am still in the break-in period. Simply put, these headphones are great. I am hearing instruments with a clarity that previously was not there. I am loving rediscovering songs that I thought I knew. Great sound for the price point.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little tight, but, sound really good. Hopefully they'll stretch out a little. Definitely worth 499.99. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser rules

FIelding from Nashville, TN on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm on a sennheiser binge - since I moved into a condo and can't blast my Macintosh powered Magnapan's at 95db I've fallen into the wonderful world of headphones!!! - now it's the quest of finding the cans that are the most realistic with the least amount of distortion right on top of the ears for the least $$$. I've tried hifiman, Sony, audeze, monolith, a few others under $500. sennheiser sound signature is my favorite. It must be that legendary German engineering that spawns brands line BMW and Mercedes. Sennheiser is right up there for attention to detail and build quality for long lasting performance. I sold most of my Maggie's and amps to bankroll my headphones so I've had a bit of fun running through the sennheiser line. I've had the 100's, the 350bt, hd 280 pro, hd25, momentum earbuds, momentum overear, and the 660s. The 100's, for the price are ridiculously good with phone and even better with amp. (I could actually live with these with their solid bass and clear vocals and light as a feather) The momentum's are excellent. But the 660's are perfect. Separation of and realism of instruments and soundstage are phenomenal. With the phone they are exceptional. With a good amp/dac they are other worldly. Crutchfield has em on sale right now!!! Omg I just missed that sale! Don't wait. (I use a Cambridge Soundworks Dac magic plus from Crutchfield streaming from Mac book pro using the internal 12 band equalizer when not on the phone)

Pros: Realism Separation of instruments soundstage Clarity Lack of distortion

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to the Sennheiser HD 660 S headphones per recommendation from knowledgeable Crutchfield staff member. They haven't disappointed. Comfortable, stable and offer a total sonic immersion experience. Worth the upgrade price for anyone serious about audiophile sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SO happy with these HD 660 S headphones. Total winner!

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE these headphones! So happy I made the decision to buy this model. I spent a lot of time researching this price range and once I decided on Sennheiser, then the struggle was, which model. The primary struggle was many reviews I read, reviewers felt the previous HD 650 model was still superior in sound to this newer HD 660 S updated model. I should say I am using it primarily with an ifi Black Label DAC / amplifier. The older HD 650 model requires more power to drive them vs the newer HD 660 S so I could save on my battery capacity a bit with the HD 660 S, but it wasn't a deal breaker. After calling and comparing specs with Sennheiser , as well as sharing the feedback and reviews I'd read, I was convinced the HD 660 S was the one to buy. As I said .....I LOVE the sound! I'm hearing parts and depth of my music in familiar songs I've never heard before! The secondary concern you may read about is some reviewers felt the headband was tight out of the box on the HD 660 S vs the older model HD 650. I will tell you I didn't find this to be true at all. Mine felt totally comfortable from the first time I put them on. In summary, The HD 660 S is an outstanding headphone that I think you'd be hard pressed to beat with anything up to the $ 1000.00 price range. They're that good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent for classical music

Crutchfield customer from Providence, RI on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent headphones. The sound quality for classical music is crisp and sharp with a fine balance between high, e.g. violin and low, e.g. bassoon... especially when coupled with a Dragonfly USB attachment as recommended by Crutchfield staff. Even popular music has a surprising zing to it.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality

Cons: Weight, but this was only after 2 hours+ and even then was only slightly bothersome.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my HD 660s

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound of these headphones, imagine is perfect, instrument separation is awesome and I like the soundstage. I love the fact it comes with Balanced cables and normal cables, this is a great feature.

Pros: Súper confortable, sound is amazing, excellent quality build with no screws

Cons: Lacks bass given is open back but just a little adjustment is needed on your amo is needed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional buy. Money well spent

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was impress with the separation and quality of their sound right out of the box. But after running them through a quality DAC. WOW! These cans came alive.

Pros: Exceptional sound right of the box.

Cons: None that I have encountered. Maybe the only minor thing. To have a volume control on the cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Accurate, detailed, non-fatiguing

Joachim from BOZEMAN, MT on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upfront and honest, I am a bit biased in favor of Sennheiser headphones. To put things in perspective, my first decent audiophile headphones were the HD 560 that I purchased around 1990. Those days I was a student on a budget in Germany. The HD 560 gave me the best listening experience for the money among the options that my local dealer had at that time. I don't consider myself being a headphone audiophile at all. I prefer listening to an audiophile stereo speaker system anytime! But once in a while I want to have the headphone listening experience. About 10 years ago I suffered some hearing loss and felt tempted to get more serious about headphones. I auditioned several high-end cans and headphone amps - up to the HD/V 800 combo. Again, Sennheiser was my winner. Considering that I am using headphones only occasionally I however hesitated dropping $$$$ for a DAC/amp and head phones. Most important to me are accuracy of instrumental timbre and detailed musical representation without being fatiguing. In that regard, and 30 years later, Sennheiser again provides me with a very satisfying listening experience at a reasonable $$$ price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Bass of the Sennheiser 600 series

Crutchfield customer from Shaker Hts, OH on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared several in this price range. Open back is more "open" sounding. Can be driven by IBASSO DX 160 well. Sounds crisp. Bass not overwhelming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hi-res heaven

Crutchfield customer from Grain Valley, MO on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sennheiser 660s are my first set of Hi-Res headphones. I am running them through an Onkyo DP--X1A mp3 player which has twin dac's and both balanced(2.5 mm jack) and unbalanced(3.5 mm) outputs. With the help of Crutchfields tech service I also had to order an adaptor for the balanced output jack which did not come with the 660's and Crutchfield did not carry. This was a slight inconvenience, but not a problem. When I received the cans I listened to them briefly to hear them before I started the break-in period. Out of the box they were surprisingly light. The fit was perfect. The music I tried was alt-rock at 88/24 then some long-hair music of the Kansas City Symphony at 176/24. In both cases I was blown away by the sound. After the 6-day 24-7 break-in period, I again listened to the same music-WOW! In hind-sight I wished I had made the move to hi-res long ago. These cans are a fantastic addition to that endeavor. I strongly endorse these headphones for those looking to enter a whole new world of Hi-Res listening.

Pros: Fantastic sound, very detailed music reproduction, not tiresome for long listening times, light weight, very comfortable fit, storage box, Crutchfield Technical Service help and advice

Cons: Had to order from another source a 2.5 mm jack adaptor to use the cans with my mp3 player with the balanced output.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good but not as good as I anticipated

Robert from Olympia, WA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I'm somewhat disappointed because I was expecting a little more after reading reviews. They are certainly better than a much cheaper pair I bought several years ago. The headphones do sound good. They handle the bass and treble well, and the tone is mostly balanced with some muddy emphasis in mid-bass. They will handle more volume than is pleasant but quickly become too loud. The sound is blended together (compressed?) and loses detail compared to speakers. I certainly don't feel like I'm actually there. Perhaps a dedicated headphone amp would make a difference? I listened to the headphones on a PrimaLuna Dialogue HP and also on a Marantz PM8005. The Marantz has tone controls so I was able to adjust for better tone. Among the songs I listened to was ZZ Top "Fool for Your Stockings" on vinyl. This is a very good recording that makes you feel the band is there with you. With the headphones it just really seemed like a pair of headphones if that says anything to you - mason jaresque. 5 Stars as always for Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 14 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comfortable fit and outstanding sound quality. Pairs well with the headphone amp in my McIntosh integrated amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic Performers!

Dan from Ballwin, MO on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never owned, but based on some excellent reviews I thought that I might like these headphones. These headphones are standouts. I listened to all types of material, rock, jazz, classical, a capella. On all material these were the best headphones I have heard (yet). They are very transparent and image amazingly good. I would like to better understand the technology behind these headphones. I compared them to Grado RS1E cans and expected the Grados to beat them handily. And, while I would say the Grados were stunning these Senns were better. They had better bass and better highs. Recordings sounded live with these cans. Vocals were not chesty, just natural. On several recordings, I couldn't imagine them sounding better. Kick drums have excellent impact, high hats sounds clear and natural, voices excel, strings sound very light and natural. You can really listen into a recording. When you turn up some headphones, they do not sound good the tones gets coarse. These sound great loud. They sound great soft too. One time, I pulled them off because a voice startled me and I thought my wife was trying to talk to me. It turns out someone talked during the recording. Another time, I pulled them off because I heard a dog barking. There was no dog in the neighborhood - it was in the recording. I didn't expect to like the HD 660s headphones, but they are freaky good. I found all sorts of treasures in recordings. They are extremely lifelike. I couldn't find their limit.

Pros: Extremely transparent Lifelike Good, deep bass, excellent highs

Cons: Clamping force is high (but still comfortable) Let in ambient sounds in

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Improvement

Martin from Marshall, MI on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the Sennheiser HD650 for about a decade and have enjoyed it greatly. Even though this new headphone is not yet broken-in, I could still hear a noticeable improvement over the HD650. The 650 had a somewhat veiled sound and the high frequencies were somewhat muted. Both of those shortcomings seemed to have been corrected in this new model. I look forward to even better sound once I rack up more hours of listening.

Pros: Clean sound Excellent dynamics Highly detailed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Love the Sound!

James from Seattle, WA on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am amazed with the sound and comfort of this headphone. This is my first higher end headphone, but I have had a Grado SR80 and Sennheiser HD 280 pro. The clarity and presence is amazing. I listen through a Schiit stack of Modi/Magni to lossless files - but it took these headphones to really bring them to life. Listening through un-amped (iPad/iPod) sources does not shine as well, but still superb. The sweet spot seems to be in the midrange - vocals on some tracks are so much clearer in the mix. Some reviews mention the treble is brittle, but i'm not hearing it. But I'm also at the age where that might not be a problem :-). Very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Midrange clarity, great sound balance. Comfortable fit.

Cons: Best with amplification due to higher impedance.

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

TOP