Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
878 652 75
Connect ID #
878 652 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 800 S

High resolution over-the-ear headphones

MFR # 506911

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Sennheiser HD 800 S

High resolution over-the-ear headphones

MFR # 506911

19 reviews
View this product

Electronics Heaven

Rodney from Lakeland, FL on 3/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is no question as to where you should purchase electronics. let's face it, electronics are not easy to buy. It takes knowledge and money. These guys are the best in both categories . ALWAYS A GOOD PRICE, ALWAYS VERY KNOWlEDGABLE. I'm never trapped in a purchase, 60 days to try it out, that's how to buy electronics.

Pros:

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

You have a customer for life great service

Crutchfield customer from Westlake Vlg, CA on 12/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely satisfied great sound great service you have a customer for life

Pros: Much better improvement over the 800

Cons: It would have been nice if it came with the four pin XLR

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser knocks it out of the park

Stephen Aaron from BIG STONE GAP, VA on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sennheiser certainly isn't a new name in the world of headphones, and there's a very good reason for that! Take a quick (or extended) listen to some of your favorite music with the HD 800 S headphones, and you'll know why. First off, these are large headphones, but they are also quite lightweight and comfortable to wear. Extended listening sessions don't leave the neck hurting, head sagging, and ears sweating. Plus, those large drivers need room! I listened to the HD 800 S with a headphone amplifier/DAC and streaming music through Qobuz. The first thought that came to mind was "spacious." Part of that is due to the open-back design, and the rest is attributed to the angled drivers. Let me tell you--this combination works! I listen to speakers far more than headphones, and this was one of the best sets of headphones that I've used as far as delivering that "speaker sound" that I'm so fond of. The detail was on-point, and the bass was full without being overpowering. Imaging was spot on and had more of that "live music" sound that headphones sometimes have difficulty reproducing due to the close proximity of the drivers to the ears. Overall, these were a pleasure to listen to on every level, and they demonstrate why Sennheiser is so well regarded for their design and--most importantly--sound. They are an excellent addition to any headphone arsenal!

Pros: Comfort Fine detail Natural reproduction Spacious sound Build quality Balanced connection/cable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 11/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellence.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

None better!

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 9/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own a pair of the original HD 800s, but decided to 'upgrade' the the 800 S. These are THE best headphones I've experienced, regardless of price. Superb build quality, and superb comfort, allowing for hours of fatigue-free listening. Perfectly balanced, transparent sound. These 'phones don't color the music, they reveal it.

Pros: Transparent, neutral sound Great clarity Wide & deep soundstage Supreme comfort Very light weight Great build quality

Cons: None Zero Nada

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

My oh My...

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have slowing worked my way up the Sennheiser chain starting with a pair of HD650's, then the HD700's, now these. They are all I have read about and more...your don't listen to music with these, you experience it, see it, feel it....been using mainly with my AK Kann Alpha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

San Diego

Randall from San Diego on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reviews on these headphones are very consistent...great sound reproduction, great soundstage, great resolution, etc. The one negative often cited is lack of bass. When I first got mine, I had a similar response, however, with 2 clicks of the equalizer, the base is outstanding. It is not that they are unable to produce bass response, it is just that they are not set up out of the box with strong base. I can't imagine a better headphone experience one you get your preferences dialed in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Ahhh! Audio heaven!

Crutchfield customer from Sun City Center, FL on 4/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the last headphones I'll ever need. Moved up from Sennheiser HD600 that I had been using for 3 years--which are not too shabby themselves. As soon as you open the case, you know you're in the big leagues. Very heavy, solid feel. I didn't adjust the cups for a few days but I should have. They were almost too heavy for comfort and didn't feel secure on my head. I moved them up one slot and that solved the problem. They seemed lighter and more secure. The sound is all I hoped it would be. Vocals seem much clearer. Good soundstage. Don't let the price deter you. Think what a great pair of speakers cost. You can hear much greater detail with these and you won't disturb anyone else. You can hear outside sounds pretty well unless you really crank these up--not a good idea if you want to keep your hearing. Thanks to my Crutchfield adviser and the quick two day delivery time.

Pros: What more could I add?

Cons: Maybe a little heavy for some people. A bit pricey but well worth it

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound of this headphones is superb with clarity and equal balance. This is great for all types of music but sounds better with guitar or strong voice. Not great for hip hops or rap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Worth the Price

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the these headphones for about month and I could not be happier with my purchase. No buyer's remorse, whatsoever. The HD800S headphones sound better and are more comfortable than any headphones I've owned, to include the Sony MDR-7506, Sennheiser HD598, Sennheiser HD600, Bose QC 35 ii, and Grado SR-325e. The difference in sound quality is not subtle, either. The first thing you'll notice is the increased sound stage and clarity. These headphones are expensive, but worth every penny if you can afford them.

Pros: Detail, sound stage, comfort, build quality.

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A tour de force of German engineering

Eric from New York, NY on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was searching for an "end-game" audiophile headphone, having enjoyed the Sennheiser HD650s (with adjustable bass) for many years. I ordered the HD 820 closed-back headphones from Sennheiser and thought they were impressive overall but sonically the closed-back design was a bottleneck at that (very) high price point. I ended up returning them and ordered the open-back HD 800S from Crutchfield. These cans are acoustically ideal- a deep, wide-open soundstage, weighty bass, textured midrange, and soaring treble. They are distortion-free and allow for a multidimensional, musically thrilling experience even at low volume. They are pretty comfortable and light considering they are gigantic in scale. I can't imagine a better pair of headphones, unless you want to drop 4K on Focal utopias or Audeze LCD-4s. No doubt they require a powerful amp and a high-end DAC to get the most out of these high-impedance phones, so be prepared to drop 2K+ on your components. However, the HD 800S is worth every penny if you value sound quality above all.

Pros: Sonic perfection Multidimensional soundstage Distortion-free Tonality is beautifully balanced Comfortable for long sessions

Cons: None, including the high price- totally worth it.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

These cans CAN!

Crutchfield customer from Whittier, NC on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wow! these cans are the clearest, most comfortable and amazing in my collection. until now i've enjoyed the oppo pm-3's, but they do clamp my head tighter than i like, making long term listening sessions impossible. these 800's's are exactly what i've wanted all along, but couldn't afford them. a great investment in my audio lifestyle.

Pros: sound quality, comfort, design, and WOW factors a solid '10'!

Cons: pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing bass and quality

Benjamin from Guyton on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it the shiny quality is amazing for everything especially music If you want anything I would go for this again

Pros: It just really sounds amazing and is also very comfortable to wear

Cons: I don't have any except that their isn't a wireless version

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Literally perfect.

Doug from Southeast USA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every time I take them off my head after listening, that's what I always say to myself. These have no flaws. OK, they're expensive. But they define endgame. Perfect sound. Everything is balanced tonally. They're the most comfortable headphones I've yet to wear, and I've worn HUNDREDS after 35 years in broadcasting, and being an audiophile longer then that. And the soundstage? Go to a live concert. Get home and put these on. Eerily similar! Listen to a binaural recording on them and be prepared to freak out. I love buying gear. But at some point you get ready to settle down with your one true love. For me, it's these. I do not believe I'll ever need to buy another pair of headphones for the rest of my life. It hurts to spend this much money on headphones, but you'll never need to again after getting these. At least, I won't need to. My flirting days are over. Also, I'd never buy anything like this from anyone other than Crutchfield.

Pros: Nothing sounds better. Nothing.

Cons: A little pricey. Sheesh. Really expensive.

Crutchfield response on

38 of 40 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

William from Los Angeles, CA on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great detail. Very authentic. That is all we need to say.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Paul P from Madison, WI on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned many different types of Head Phones. Previously owned the Sennheiser HD598, HD600, HD700 and now the endgame, HD800S. Never owned or even listened to the original HD800 but read a lot about them. Here is my set up for reference: CD, SACD, DVD-A, Blu-Ray, ALAC 96/24 files > OPPO BDP105D > balanced interconnects > Sennheiser HDVA600 > a balanced cable > HD800S. I am totally satisfied with this setup - the HD800s with the balanced cable are perfect for my tastes (light jazz, classic rock, folk, some alternative rock). The cable added a bit extra weight to the low end and smoothness to the top end - they already sounded pretty great but this is an additional enhancement. Everything you read about the wide sound stage on these HPs is true - astounding. Everything you read about them being light on bass is not true - if there is heavy bass on the recording it will be faithfully reproduced. Just like everything else on a recording, you will hear it accurately, good and bad. Some of my albums were not well recorded (muddy, harsh, compressed, etc.) and the flaws are certainly shown up by with these HPs. On the other hand, well recorded albums sound fantastic and these HPs bring that wonderful music that was well recorded, mixed and mastered to the fore in glorious fidelity. I have to believe this is the end game for me.

Pros: Excellent fidelity, accuracy, construction, comfort, sound stage. End game HPs for a reasonable price.

Cons: Need a good amplifier to be driven to their heights (but it's worth it).

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Crutchfield customer from Pearl City, HI on 2/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been running an extensive performance review of this product and have found very disappointing results. I have checked the performance against two of my audio systems and have distinct audible distortion ("chatter", "rushing wind", occasional "chirping",etc.) I have three other "good" headphones which do not show these symptoms under the same conditions, so I must assume the Sennheiser HD 800S to have a defect. I would like to have a return/exchange for this item as it does not meet my expectations. Apparently, this is a "lemon".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 115 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

don from Texas on 5/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the ultimate headphone category, the HD800S is by far the best buy. In my opinion, the HD800S still comes out on top with it's big soundstage, excellent imaging, just right bass and crystal clear treble. I may never own a BMW or a Mercedes, but I can still enjoy German engineering at it's best with the HD800S.

Pros: Build quality and comfort in a state of the art headphone.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

47 of 51 found this helpful

Awesome set of cans!

Russell from Oak Point, TX on 5/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent improvement over its predecessor. Not nearly as bright - much more well rounded sound. Great soundstage, excellent vocal rendition. Very comfortable to wear. These represent an excellent value over some of the more absurdly priced offerings from others, etc...sound quality is as good if not better.

Pros: Comfortable Great Sound Excellent value compared to other "super cans" whose prices reach into the stratosphere

Cons: Still a significant investment for a pair of headphones

Crutchfield response on

36 of 40 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound