Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
358 037 03

Our hours

Connect ID #
358 037 03
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser RS 5000

Wireless TV listening system with in-ear headphones

MFR # 506820

Sennheiser RS 5000

Sennheiser RS 5000

Wireless TV listening system with in-ear headphones

MFR # 506820

29 reviews
View this product

Well worth the money!

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this product for my boss and his wife. He is 84 and she is 74. He is slightly hard of hearing and his wife is almost deaf. We'very tried multiple brands and styles in the past 15 years with no success. This particular brand and model have saved their life and likely their marriage. The quality of this product is exceptional. The tone is crisp and clear. Each one can adjust their own headset to their specific setting. They like the slim design and comfortable ear pieces. However, I think one of my favorite parts is that they stay charged so long. Their old set had to be charged every 30 mins. These last more than 12 hours. Well worth the cost. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Battery stays charged for over 12 hours. Clear, crops sound. Slim design. Comfortable ear pieces. Wide range of settings.

Cons: Non yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hearing impaired user. Works great for watching TV. Hand down element sometimes snags on shirt when I turn my head and becomes irritating but that is a minor issue. Good coverage while roaming in the house. Rubber ear pieces some times will block the sound and I have to adjust headpiece to overcome. Works better than bluetooth version for this application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Sandston, VA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, upgraded from an old Sennheiser headset I had for years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

performance good, comfort lousy

Crutchfield customer from Sierra Vista, AZ on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

while the sound is great and range is better than expected, i'm kinda disappointed in the weight of the headset - i bought this as a replacement for the disk on a neck rope style, having used that one for many years and loving it. this headset would be fine if i was just sitting in front of the tv and using it only there, but the whole reason i bought this RF system is because i wanted something i could walk around the house with. I would really love it if i could hang the receiver on my neck and then have an earplug set that would cord up to my ears. As i'm walking around the set swivels on my ears which is good in some ways, but then it very quickly becomes rough and uncomfortable on my ears. Its not the rubber fittings, as i 've tried all three sizes provided and see no difference.... it is the weight. After only a 1/2 hour of walking around, the unit is annoying. Its all well and good that the performance is excellent, but when i don't want to wear it anymore, after just a 1/2 hour, that performance doesn't mean much.

Pros: excellent range, sound

Cons: weight on ears becomes uncomfortable very quickly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Park, NJ on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Purchased for my parents. Sound quality is excellent, they are light weight and very comfortable to wear. Easy setup as well. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Woodridge, IL on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is good, but after a few minutes my ears started hurting from the weight.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Caused ear pain

Crutchfield response on 5/7/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product and experience

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried TV ears, Unisair products, but neither compares to thr Sennheiser!! I am impressed with how well made the ear piece is! Sound quality is very good! Easy to install and a pleasure to use! Hopefully they last for years!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Improve dialogbut are very hard on the ears

Crutchfield customer from Chestnut Hill, MA on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While these Digital wireless TV Sennheiser headphones improve the dialog emanating from the TV measurably, the weight of the headphones causes extreme pain in my ears. Coupled with both sets of rubber ear tips, (which do not fit comfortably) in the ear I have to remove the entire device from my ears from time to time because of the pain. It is for this reason that I cannot rate this device better than two stars. In conclusion, for those of your customers who are hearing impaired as I am at best using this device is a tradeoff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

claire l. from Kirkland, WA on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall its OK. Kind of hard on the ears. Biggest issue is requirement that it only supports PCM in digital mode. Seems to require too much "FIDDLING" of volume when you remove the ear buds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Discovery Bay, CA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. Easy set up. Comfortable to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great audio

Luther from Stonewood, WV on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Use for watching movies on TV so the wife doesn't tell me to turn it down. Perfect for me. Good sound level control and the speech enhancement function really helps.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Geneva from Owens X Rds, AL on 5/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a tremendous product! We have a 92-year old living with us and she does not hear well. Previously, she had her tv turned up so loud, you could hear it all over the house. Now with this stethoset, she enjoys all her programs and the tv is silent to us! And Crutchfield technical support helped me so much in deciding which system we should buy! Thank you Crutchfield and Sennheiser!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Carmichael, CA on 5/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Really clears up the voice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are wonderful headphones. Very comfortable and excellent sound. One of the best features is that company can listen to the tv and control volume to their needs while we are not disturbed using our headphones. It's literally like magic. Another wonderful aspect is the help dept. they really do help. I definitely recommend these headphones

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Athens , TX on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just excellent. Good quality sound, easy to use. More importantly hooking up to the 4K Sony was extremely simple. One wire and you are done, no other connections needed and with the RF instead of Infrared moving around does not stop the sound even in another room. Manual lacks a lot. - better instructions and small tips would be helpful. To many languages in a small manual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RS 5000 for hearing impaired

Sam from Mountville, PA on 4/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am hearing impaired and I previously used a Sennheiser RR840 system. The RS 5000 has more available volume and a better sound quality. Would prefer that the balance control was on the headset like the RR840. The other item that is annoying is that when you take off the headset you have to completely reset the volume when you put it back on.

Pros: Ample volume, good sound quality

Cons: Balance control not on the headset. Volume needs to be reset whenever you remove the headset.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

HAPPY MOTHER IN LAW

Crutchfield customer from Marlborough, CT on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

MY 87 YEAR OLD MOTHER IN LAW THAT JUST MOVED IN WITH US CAN HEAR THE TV AGAIN .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Private listening

Orrin from Rapid City, SD on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 1 1/2 wks of use.

Pros: Pros; Unit arrived as promised. Easy setup right out of the box. Good reception facing and not facing the source walking around house.

Cons: Cons; Design of unit lacking. Unit hurts ears 15 to 20 minutes of use. Talked to the catalog store which pointed me to Sennheiser, both offered no real fix. Sennheiser sent some foam tips which do not fit the unit. Maybe its just me but for the money I would think there would be a fix.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Newfoundland, NJ on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is remarkable. It makes watching tv so much more enjoyable. You can hear what's being said clearly and without distortion. The earbuds are light so you can watch tv for hours without feeling confined under large headphones. I would definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mixed review

Diane from Arlington Heights, IL on 9/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is very good, but the earpieces become uncomfortable after awhile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Love Sennheiser!

Roger from Bowling Green, KY on 8/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At age 68, my hearing in one ear is not good. Turning the volume up was not a good option since my wife hears very well. The Sennheiser is great! I can now hear ALL voices on TV. Before the Sennheiser, I was at about 50% on the Hallmark channel and even less on PBS movies. A couple of things you should be aware of. If use a receiver/amplifier as part of your system, the headphone jack you need to power the Sennheiser will probably turn off the other speakers when you connect the Sennheiser headphones. Since my wife watches TV with me, that is a problem. I tried running a audio from my TiVo to an amplifier for Sennheiser only, but that did not work. Apparently, the signal was not compatible with the Sennheiser. I now use two receivers. One for the speakers and one for my Sennheiser.

Pros: Ever voice is crystal clear

Cons: If you are not the only person listening to the TV, making Sennheiser work can be complex. Not the best for ear comfort.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Bob Sheffield from Lynn Haven, FL on 8/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to return the first one because it would not provide any sound. Second one worked great.

Pros: Provides great sound and has long battery life.

Cons: Manual likes a lot. - instructions should tell you that a delay should be anticipated before sounds begins when first connect is made. Other small tips would be helpful. To manny languages in a small manual.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wife had over-the-ear headphones for TV, but said they were uncomfortable after an hour or so. She couldn't hear anything I might say to her, either. Sennheiser headphones have solved those problems! Excellent product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Much better than my hearing aids. Unfortunately they were not comfortable on my ears. As far as ease of use and sound quality , they are at the top.

Pros: Great sound. Ease of set up and use. I liked the adjustment to suit each ear.

Cons: Uncomfortable pressure on my ear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Traded Surround Sound for Dialog

Richard from Heber Springs, AR on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace my Sennheiser RS 195 wireless headphones, which were fantastic simulated surround sound but the "Voice Boost" circuitry wasn't as dedicated as the RS 5000 and I was starting to miss a lot of dialog. Good sound on the RS 5000. I compared to my brothers TV Ears and the sound is slightly better but at a much higher price. I found that like his headphones, these cause me considerable ear pain. After 3 weeks now the pain is less and I can wear them for a longer period of time. I tried the smaller set of ear plugs but they were worse. Hopefully the pain will go away eventually. Good battery, last a long time. The three different sound frequency settings don't seem to work as well as the sound when it is not used. If the ear pain subsides I am very satisfied with the ability to hear dialog again although I do miss the surround sound abilities when watching movies.

Pros: Good clean dialog, long lasting battery.

Cons: Ear Pain.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS5000 wireless headphones

Crutchfield customer from Prince Frederick, Md on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this headset. Can hear dialogue much better with the speech intelligibility function. Easy to set up and use, comfortable. Would recommend these to others.

Pros: Easy set-up Great sound, dialogue easier to hear Always charged & ready when needed due to docking station Comfortable

Cons: Don't have any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS5000 wireless headphones

Eddie R from Raleigh, NC on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had several sets of the Sennheiser head sets in this style in the past and have been happy with them but this new unit has some great features. Love the style and the way the sound fades in and the bass is much improved without interfering with the voice quality, fiber optic is great for my application was always frustrated that the old units only had composite inputs if you have the older unit you will love this one

Pros: connections (fiber optic) bass quality volume fades in when it connects tighter fit doesn't feel like it is going to fall out

Cons: none that I can say

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Molokai HI on 6/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, and good sound with light weight but it would be good to be able to get the advertised alternative ear plugs - no one seems to have them....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 5000

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been working out great for me.........I haven't had to ask my wife "What did they say" ever since I started using these headphones. I do agree with a previous review that I read, that with how the unit lays on you chest you do hear some back round noise when you move around, but the benefit of being able to hear all dialogue more that offsets this minor item.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP