Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
286 696 04
Connect ID #
286 696 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony BDP-S1700

Blu-ray player with networking

MFR # BDPS1700

Sony BDP-S1700

Sony BDP-S1700

Blu-ray player with networking

MFR # BDPS1700

101 reviews
View this product

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to view some old blue ray and DVD movies while I am stuck at home. The service was excellent. I was able to assemble it easily. However, I then had to drive 20 miles to get a cable to connect it to the TV. I wish that the description had indicated that a cable was required.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Performance at a Great Price

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, IL on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Your advisor steered me correctly. This unit does everything I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Avon, CT on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid performing blu-ray player at an entry price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Eagle, ID on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noisy disc drive. Does not have wireless WIFI access, must be wired with LAN cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/27/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your Blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well priced, easy to use, installation was easy, enjoying movies on blueray now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect base model player

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, works exactly as I had hoped it would.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, KS on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For me and my system it is good. The Sony BDP-S1700 plays all my old DVD s and CDs and sounds and looks great during playback.

Pros: Video and audio clean and clear. I like what I see and hear.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Fuquay Varina, NC on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Blue ray is awesome. Perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, VA on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Links and communicates beautifully with my Samsung 4k tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, VA on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great, compact, simple blu ray player! So far, I don't see how I could have made a better choice. Lightning fast shipping!!

Pros: Simple Set-up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Plug and Play

Crutchfield customer from North Syracuse, NY on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sampling software upgrades old DVDs nicely. Small footprint. Attractive price. Typically fast delivery from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Amesbury, MA on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple product. Simple to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a bargain

Darryl from SEATTLE, WA on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price this Blu-Ray DVD is just killer! Switching between scenes was incredibly fast and seamless. The apps that are installed worked fast without stuttering or freezing like my 2 previous Samsung DVD's did. So far I am very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Speed. scene switching, networking and quick eject and load.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Kents Store, VA on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple, easy and cheap. no frills just a standard blue ray player that works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great basic value unit

Crutchfield customer from Estes Park, CO on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great basic unit for watching blueray discs. We don't use this unit for streaming content. We do have a Sony unit with wireless functionality at another location that works well for both streaming and disc play. Hard to beat this unit for function and value.

Pros: Price, function.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Levelland, TX on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service, great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Customer Service

Crutchfield customer from Farmville, VA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had three other Sony Blu-Ray players and believed that my BDP-S6500 had problems as I could not get HDMI audio to my receiver/amp. Since I didn't need Wi-Fi streaming for the theater system, I purchased the BDP-S1700 to replace the S6500. When I installed it, same problem, so I ordered a replacement receiver/amp which was back ordered for several weeks. I called Crutchfield Tech Support to see if I had missed something and determined that I had reset the receiver earlier and missed one of the custom settings in the amp section. As soon as I entered the setting, all worked perfectly again. Crutchfield cancelled the replacement amp order and offered to take back the BDP-S1700. I decided to keep it to upgrade an older player and can't say enough good about Crutchfield and their care for their customers.

Pros: GREAT customer service.

Cons: Not a one!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A well-engineered DVD player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Staatsburg, NY on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good unit, not high end. a little slow on the start up but is good quality. Picture and sound good. for the price it is good.

Pros: inexpensive, decent sound and video

Cons: a little slow on the start up

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blu ray doesn't work

Crutchfield customer from Floyd, VA on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked initially but then wouldn't play my Wallander blu ray discs. DVD discs worked fine. I set it up and although I usually hold on to the original package in this case I discarded the box - I took a chance and lost. Good price though and Crutchfield as always provides excellent service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works

Crutchfield customer from Jamestown, TN on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little blu ray player. I use it mostly to broadcast Pandora around my 10 acres, in the ca bin, shop, greenhouse and gardens. A little slow on power saving start up, but I'm retired and happy with it.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Slow start up on power saving mode

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Basic in a good way!

Crutchfield customer from Traverse City, MI on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic in a good way. Great picture and playback. What I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, GA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Blu-ray player. Does exactly what it's supposed to. I have used Sony products for years and they never let me down. Thanks again CRUTCHFIELD for the speedy shipping and service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great player!

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, SC on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a small, inexpensive Blu-Ray player for our bedroom. Read the reviews on this Sony BDP-S1700 and decided to order one. Install was simple enough and in no time I was watching a movie. Unit runs very quiet and smooth. DVD ran flawlessly and remote was simple and easy to use. I have not connected this to my internet, so I cannot speak to that feature of the unit. Overall, I am very satisfied with the function, options and value of this product.

Pros: Easy install Quick set up Quiet

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Aguadilla, PR on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact, easy to use, great price.

Pros: Compact, easy to use, great price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

price and quality

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price. Good quality and the unit runs nice and quiet.

Pros: small, quiet will run usb movies.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very good with 1 reservation.

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The jury is still out but so far I'll give it 4 stars; Setup was easy and the picture is very good. However it froze a couple of days ago, it wouldn't respond to the remote or the manual on/off switch. I unplugged it for 15 seconds, plugged it back in and it's been good since. I'll update this if it goes wonkey again.

Pros: Set up, Picture quality, ease of use.

Cons: Unsure of reliability.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little unit.

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little unit. I will probably get one for the bedroom.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Bryan, OH on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is a great piece of equipment, it is easy to install and even easier to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent low priced Blue Ray player for kids room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Still Kicking

Crutchfield customer from Highland, CA on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony worked as expected and appears to be doing the job it was built for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Blu-ray DVD player

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony products have always treated me well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good product

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I played the DVD player and worked prefect. I have no complaints. The devise was easy to setup and the instructions was very easy to follow.

Pros: The pros are all positive there was negative about this product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good choice for those who do not want complex tools

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a simple and direct blue tooth and DVD player. Clear image and good read. Enjoy using this tool

Pros: East to use and reads discs well

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect for price

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sorry,giving it 4 because I thought it really had 300+ apps and also PS Now.Haven't had it long enough, but so far picture is excellent and reg. DVDs are greatly improved.

Pros: Excellent picture quality and quiet.

Cons: No 300 apps n PS Now.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Medford, NJ on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hello my name is Dan L I have had no problems with my CD DVD player it knows if it is a DVD or a CD as soon as I put it in my player also came with batteries for the remote it is easy to hook up it only takes a few minutes I was watching movies that same night it is easy to ff or rewind if you need any kind of help Crutchfield will help you understand I have had no problems with any staff I have spoke to be sure to make your questions clear Dan L

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Purchase!

Rusty from Sisters, OR on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My purchase was from the "scratch and dent" inventory. The BluRay player was inexpensive, but fit the bill for my needs. I was looking for an inexpensive player for my TV viewing room and it works perfectly. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to Use and Great Quality!

Crutchfield customer from New Milford, NJ on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to set-up and exceptional quality in a small package. Easy to use at a great price.

Pros: Many functions and easy to use.

Cons: None to speak of...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good basic blu-ray player

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony BDP-S1700 is a basic unit that was easy to set up, performs very well and starts quickly. It has only four inputs on the back panel (one is for the AC adapter, another is for the HDMI cable). It is a very good unit for being a basic player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received this product quickly, easy to install and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Spouse DVD player

Guest from Penn Laird, VA on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what the spouse wanted. Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Canovanas, PR on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not take a lot space. Awesome sound and image output. I like the small control.

Pros: Good sound and image outpot

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Hurst, TX on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GOOD PRODUCT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small size and quick start up time. Very simple and compact remote.

Pros: Good size and simple to operate.

Cons: It is a base unit and it is limited on features included in higher end units.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

DVD that has enhanced our viewing pleasure

Crutchfield customer from Deland, FL on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Player enhanced a standard DVD. I am impressed.

Pros: Works wonderful.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Buy this

Crutchfield customer from Harpers Ferry, WV on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price. Easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Bark River, MI on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, I don't know how you can go wrong with the Sony BDP-S1700 blue ray player. The picture is clear and the remote is easy to use. The only thing I hate about these modern players is that there's no right/left RCA outputs to connect to a receiver. Shipping was extremely fast, arriving in Michigan in a day and a half!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Martin from Gowanda, NY on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture quality in a nice compact unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Westland, MI on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product,good service, good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

James from Palm Coast, FL on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony unit works perfect with my new Polk system !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Adel, GA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good prouct

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Nice design. Easy setup.

Gary from Coarsegold, CA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great design. Compact, uncluttered, mat black. DVD loads onto a table that slides in/out, which seems more reliable than players that have a slot for loading. Remote was very easy to program to operate my Samsung TV, and gives me control of volume, input source, and on/off. The remote is also compatible with most major brand TV's. Also easy to program unit to access my Pandora, Hulu, Netflix accounts. Purchased the Eagles Farewell 1 concert Blu-Ray DVD to christen this new unit, and found the images to be nicely detailed with sharp contrasts and beautiful coloring. Sound quality is superb with great detail and dynamic range, but does become overwhelmed when trying to reproduce heavily textured sounds, like brass harmonies. I'm sending the audio signal through the HDMI cable to my Samsung TV, which converts it to analog for my NAD/PSB stereo. Perhaps connecting the DVD player's digital audio output directly to an audio system would eliminate the very minor flaw. I researched this purchase fairly thoroughly, and because my TV is 1080p, and my internet router sits in my entertainment cabinet and can be connected by an ethernet cable, I found this unit to be ideal, and I also trust the Sony trademark and so expected great performance and longevity.

Pros: Compact. Uncluttered design. Easy remote and internet setup. Excellent picture and audio. Quick response to remote commands.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Richard E. from Sun City Center, FL on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's inexpensive and very easy to operate. Very compact and light, so by all means don't be rough with it! I don't have a newer model TV that would necessitate a more expensive feature-laden DVD player, so this player suits my needs perfectly. And, per usual, I got it in two days after ordering it!

Pros: easy to use and it works well thus far. If you have an older TV, this is all you really need.

Cons: The build doesn't feel very solid, so handle it carefully. If you have a new TV, I doubt you would be totally with it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Ukiah, CA on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job just fine. Only comment really is that the unit is so light (and small) that if you press the button to shut off or open/close the disc tray the unit moves from the finger pressure. They need to put a bit more weight on the thing to keep it from shifting. Otherwise no complaints so far, though was horrified at all the personal info/potential data you sign over to Sony if you "agree" to their conditions in setup. I rejected all that as don't need the hoopla online stuff - just wanted a DVD player. **update 12/11/2018** Since writing my initial review above I have realized that the clicking and processing sounds (like when Windows does a big update on my computer) I was hearing at quiet moments in movies were from this player! On mute it is really easy to determine that it is almost continually making electronic clicks and chirps - or however one would describe that - and that it is not just my player from Crutchfield. I got one from local Walmart to see if mine was faulty and it did the exact same thing! So it is part of the player design platform and very hard to imagine how Sony let such a cheapo thing through, as this hardware base is used on a huge number of their players which look identical except for more features, etc. And no, it is not a 'mechanical' issue, as on Pause it is just a quiet hum with usual disc spinning sound alone . I am returning it and have bought a cheaper Sony version of different design (DVP-SR510H) but has no networking - which I don't need. It is totally silent even when put movie sound on mute. So heads up to Sony! How on earth could you design a player so poorly??? One star for that reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from San Bernardino, CA on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far everything is good. I went from a 5 disk player so it was a shock pulling out of the box. Small and compact works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Lonnie from Millersburg, OH on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good little player. i like the small size.just what we were looking for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Epimachus from Koror, PW on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a nice little player to watch your discs as well as stream videos. I would have liked a front time-display but probably doesn't matter for most people. Overall, happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from South Hadley, MA on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and the small form fact was exactly what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Canton, OH on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hook up and operation via remote. I consulted with the Crutchfield techs, and was fortunate to obtain a "scratch and dent" unit at discount to list. I like the direct "subtitle" key on the remote. Provides a great pic, via my DVDs, to my 1080 Samsung 55" TV--esp. in Blue-Ray mode.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Barbara J from Townsend, DE on 7/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and perfect fit for our space

Pros: Size Ease of set up Great price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice DVD player

KENNETH from Rome, GA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great little DVD player for the money. The picture is as good as many more expensive players. It's more compact than I thought before I ordered, but this is a plus. It is very easy to set up and paired easily with the Samsung 40" 4K TV I'm using in my home office. The compact size allows it to sit next to the cable box and clock underneath the TV.

Pros: Great picture, easy setup, inexpensive

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Castro Valley, CA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

small basic DVD player. Has limited interconnects. No slots for camera memory cards. Price was good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Cleves, OH on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works perfect and I like the small size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Elmore, AL on 6/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

E-Z hook up. good pix. Arrived as promised.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Picture, Easy Setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fastest shipping ever.

Robin from Deering, NH on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the BluRay player on Tues. and it was at my house on Thursday. I have never had so fast a shipping. No extra charge on top of that. I would recommend this company to everyone. I got an Email the same day saying that the item shipped out on the same day that I purchased it. Amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Small profile - big performance

Nick from Topeka, KS on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small profile, big performance. It does exactly what I want it to do - play DVDs. The fact that it takes up much less shelf space than my previous DVD player is a plus. The price was really good - and free shipping? What more could one ask for. This is a no frills product - although it does have the netflix button on it. Since I have that and others on my tv, I didn't need one of the players with all the bells and whistles. The good people at Crutchfield didn't try to sell me something I didn't need.

Pros: Performance, price, size

Cons: No HDMI cable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Small Blu-Ray DVD - great performance !

George from Boulder, CO on 4/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this SONY BDP-S1700 Blu-Ray DVD player to link with a 42" SONY TV in our kitchen. Great unit, compact size (we actually mounted it on top of the SONY TV with a small shelf attachment) plus an intuitive remote control and the unit powers up quickly operates and works well - plus excellent playback quality on all of the Blu-Ray DVDs that we have played in the DVD player so far. Very happy with purchasing it - also received it quickly (ordered on Saturday and received on Tuesday) - thanks Crutchfield !!!!

Pros: Strong performance + small, compact size + value price + VG remote + links with our SONY TV

Cons: None .....................

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Wernersville, PA on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money it is a great product. Starts up quickly, great picture. Turns on my Sony receiver and selects DVD with the push of power button on remote

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Blue Ray player

Eric from Ohio on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works good I only played one movie on it and hope to play a lot more

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Pennsauken, NJ on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup and easy to use and Great Picture, All is Good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Daleville, VA on 2/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Units was a breeze to set up and works wonderful. A perfect upgrade to my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ease of use

John from MA on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great DVD player. I had an old dvd with the 5 disc turntable and it was always a pain to deal with plus it took up a lot of space. This new model is so much easier to use and it's so much smaller it doesn't take up much space at all. We had just bought a sony 49" smart tv bought it wouldn't take the coaxial cables from the old dvd player. No more switching back inputs on the front of the tv every time we want to use the dvd It automatically switches. Life is good!!

Pros: It's all good

Cons: There are none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Rich from Palmyra, VA on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice simple unit for a great price. Picture and sound quality as as good as any DVD player I've had and equal to my more expensive Samsung unit. I also like the small size of this Sony!

Pros: Great Price. Great picture. Great sound. Easy to use. Small footprint.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Player

David from WV on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product. I love having the choice of DVD & Blue ray. I recommend this player.

Pros: Small, Affordable & great video player

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Inexpensive No-Frills Player

Krikor from Pleasant Ridge, MI on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed an inexpensive, no-frills Blu-Ray/DVD player and this fit the bill perfectly. Our older Samsung had an utterly useless remote control in terms of range/angle (granted the unit is behind a perforated metal door) and an excruciatingly slow start up time. This Sony unit starts up quick and the remote is responsive and fast from anywhere in the room at just about any angle... I can even point it at the ceiling and it still works! Also, the tiny half-width size of the player is nice. We can use the other half of the shelf for the current in-rotation kids movies that are constantly cycling through our home. The only negative, not even worth knocking a star off, is the wall-wart power supply. Works fine on our powerstrip, but may block some outlets on other strips. Couldn't be more pleased!

Pros: Fast startup Responsive remote Space-saving half-width size

Cons: Wall-wart power supply may block some outlets Wish there was an even less expensive non-streaming version

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bright Detailed Picture

Bruce from FL on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little unit with excellent Blu Ray picture. The only problems I have are that my older DVDs play very grainy - I'm guessing this is due to upsampling and is inherent to all bluray players. So, it's the old DVD player for that portion of my disc library. And, every once in awhile my screen goes black during playback. But other than that, great bang for the back.

Pros: Beautiful colors, easy to use.

Cons: Older DVDs are very grainy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, FL on 10/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tech who we spoke with was very informative really new the product. We had no trouble installing the DVD, will definitely shopped here again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Angela from Alexandria, VA on 10/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well even though it does not have Wifi. This wasn't an issue for me since my DVD player is next to my router so hooking it up via ethernet was easy. The picture looks great and using the DVD player is easy. I hooked it up to my Vizio TV without an issue. The awesome thing was I was able to pair the player to my Bose universal remote so that helps reduces clutter in my living room. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple and inexpensive. With the new tv's if a player is needed, this is for me

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best Blu Ray player we've owned

Bailey from Thorne Bay, AK on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works even better than we expected! Thanks!!

Pros: Easy to set up and plays Blu Ray discs that our last player stopped playing.

Cons: Starts slow and power button doesn't recognize all of Vizio TV needs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

good player

Jaime from Rio Grande, PR on 6/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it starts slow but overall a nice product..

Pros: price and easy to use

Cons: it starts slow when you turned on

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Jeremy from Columbus, OH on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome picture. And my daughter loves watching netflix on it.

Pros: None

Cons: No built in wifi. But that was my fault

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice basic unit.

Darlene from Johnson City, TN on 5/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little unit. Has Netflix, usb port, power light, and connection for internet. No Wi-Fi.

Pros: Has power lights, apps such as NetFlix, RJ-45 internet port connection, USB port for viewing movie files, etc.

Cons: No wi-fi, will have to pay more for the next model if this is needed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Manti, UT on 5/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars because it is just what I wanted. Inexpensive and easy to use and the viewing is good. Don

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

LEONARD from Millbrae, CA on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for a basic Blue ray player. Nice picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 4/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and easy to use. Takes up very little room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Guest from Nelson county on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to operate- everything is very intuitive. Good clarity and sound for a very affordable DVD and Blue Tooth player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Bradford R from Lagrange, GA on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good quality for the money. could be wifi enabled.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Blu-Ray Player!

Joseph from La Vergne, TN on 2/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Love the compact size of the unit. Fits perfectly under the TV for a clean look on my stand. Great device for the money!

Pros: Compact size. Built in Ethernet. Ease of use. Built in apps.

Cons: None experienced so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Knox Indiana on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small size,great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Grand Junction, CO on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, you can't beat this player. Super easy to set up, super easy to use, picture is awesome, you just can't beat it, plus it's a Sony. The other A+ factor is I bought it from Crutchfield and it was on sale. You guys are the best, I mean it. Your customer service and support is amazing. Other companies should look at how you do things, you are the gold standard. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice DVD player. Hookup very simple. Very reasonably priced and competes well with more costly similar devices. Small and has lighted on/off indicator. I would not hesitate to recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

Crutchfield customer from Milan, IL on 1/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice player. Smaller than the last player I had making it easier place. Wasn't sure if this unit had a lighted power button. Happy to report it does..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent quality player from Sony

Emily from Harrisonburg, VA on 12/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Sony player. Excellent picture and sound.

Pros: Plays well. Good quality player. Easy to use.

Cons: Cables should have come with the player. A disappointment.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice unit

L.E. from Hazleton, PA on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice basic blu-ray player at an affordable price.

Pros: Easy set up, easy to use, great price.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Jason M from Clermont, FL on 8/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good bluray player and streaming media device. The strongest positive statement is that I have bought another one for each TV in the house.

Pros: Small footprint, rapid device boot-up, good range of streaming channels, easy controls.

Cons: The streaming channels load slower than Roku or AppleTV.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Buy

Squirrel Whisper from Atlanta, GA on 7/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Considering the low price you can't beat this. I have DVD players purchased years ago that cost much more and were larger than a bread box. Recommend. Unless you want to impress visitors with your wealth. The first thing you need to do is update the software (Sony calls it software rather than firmware).

Pros: Small, Tiny. Cheap. All kinds of network apps. If you open most audio gear it's mostly empty space. This has tightly spaced electronics. You'd better not lose the remote because it's the only way to communicate with it.

Cons: The USB port is only an input. My DAC accepts USB input. So a tad disappointed. There are two ways to get audio out, HDMI and coax digital. I use HDMI for the video but coax for the audio. The default setting for the audio is "AUTO" which works for the network but with a DVD (Blu Ray or Standard) has a hissing sound like a reticulated python with its tail stuck in a garbage disposal. Had to switch audio from AUTO to PCM. The power comes from a brick which is so wide it takes up more than 2 slots

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony BDP-S1700

J Mike from Spokane, WA on 6/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The player works fine, simple to hook up to T.V. and receiver. I keep purchasing Sony for quality electronics. The remote is small for my large hands other than that it's easy to use. I would recomend this product to friends and family.

Pros: Easy to hook up, ease of use, remote ease of use.

Cons: remote is small in my hands otherwise it's fine.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT FOR THE MONEY

Tony from Brooklyn, NY on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this Blu Ray player strictly for playing Blu Ray and DVD's.. If you do want to use the "Smart" features like Netflix etc, you must use an Ethernet Cable since this play does not have WiFi. .I have a smart TV and a Roku and therefore have no use for those features. So, after TONS of research, I finally narrowed my search to this unit and the lowest priced LG unit which only plays discs and has no "Smart" features. Between the two, this unit has a better reliability rating so I chose this one. I only received it about about two weeks ago so I cannot attest to longevity. At this time, I've played many Blu Ray and DVD disks and they play perfectly. Great if you just want a low priced Blu Ray player with no WiFi and want it to just play your DVD's and Blu Ray disks. I prefer separate components so have have this low priced player and a Roku for streaming my Netflix, Amazon and other video. .Great player at a great price!

Pros: Plays DVD's, CD's and Blu Ray disks perfectly

Cons: No Wifi. You must use an Ethernet cable for "Smart" features such as Netflix and Amazon streaming etc.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony Blue-ray player

Bambi from St Clair Shores, MI on 5/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this Blue Ray Player because it plays CDs & DVDs perfectly

Pros: It plays from my stereo receiver and/or TV speaker. I can use my receiver and TV remotes to control the volume as well

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP