Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
240 999 65
Connect ID #
240 999 65
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XM-GS6DSP

6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 45 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 600 watts RMS x 1 (bridged) at 2 ohms

MFR # XMGS6DSP

Sony XM-GS6DSP

Sony XM-GS6DSP

6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 45 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 600 watts RMS x 1 (bridged) at 2 ohms

MFR # XMGS6DSP

9 reviews
View this product

Bluetooth Vagaries

Colin from Pueblo, CO on 5/31/2022

2002 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth works fine with the exception that it is disabled when the amplifier is set to six channel mode. This was not clearly stated in the descriptions, nor prominently stated in the user manual. It did take a couple of re-reads before realizing this was the case. Changing the switch on the Amplifier enabled Bluetooth, and disabled the six channel setup (I had purchased with the intent to use alongside the Bluetooth). The amplifier had already been wired mind you for six channel mode requiring more effort and now redundant materials.

Pros: Bluetooth works when set and installed to correct mode. Subwoofer (bridged, not stereo) to come, but overall sound and power are fine.

Cons: Bluetooth is disabled when set to six channel operation???

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good sounding amp. Great Crutchfield support!

Orlando from Boca Raton on 1/30/2022

2000 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sounding amplifier. Not the most flexible, but enough options to meet my needs. I installed it with with a Sony XAV-AX5000 in my Porsche Boxster 987. I was able to retain the OEM Bose powered sub, surround speakers, and the 3-way woofers, mids, and tweeters. I was amazed at how good this combination sounds. Kudos to Crutchfield tech support for answering an installation question, especially since I called on a SUNDAY! This amp has an installation quirk where you have to send power to a light blue wire on the speaker level input connector. This was required even though I was using the low (RCA) inputs. If you're an experienced installer, you may miss this particular step in the instructions. Crutchfield support had the answer and waited for me on phone while I made the connection and tested the system. Awesome!

Pros: Clean and powerful.

Cons: Limited crossover settings. Watch out for wiring quirk.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So y for the win!!!

Christopher from Smyrna, DE on 1/15/2022

2003 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought to upgrade factory system and this was easy to use. The built in Bluetooth DSP allows you to really dial in the sound you prefer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didnt work

Crutchfield customer from Lahaina, HI on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had it installed and did not work at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/5/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XM-GS6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First amp I received I had to send back for it not working properly. Crutchfield sent me a new one same day I called. The only complaint I have with this amp is not really with the amp but with the app for controlling it. Every time they get in the vehicle I have to reset the volume to where I want it because the app resets it to it's default vol.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XM-GS6DSP

Ruzveh from CA on 11/26/2020

2020 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is ok but i would have expected a much better sound only if Sony would have decided to include Optiocal Input SPDIF connection. My head unit has SPDIF out so i can directly get digital signal into the amp and dsp to give me the best possible sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Sony XM-GS6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Delano, CA on 6/14/2020

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all the blue tooth only works if your phone or radio is within 3 feet of amplifier second it has no power for the subs so I'm scraping the amp and put back my old amp which hits a whole lot harder so don't waste your money on this amp

Pros: No pros

Cons: Blue tooth only works if you're within 3 feet

Crutchfield response on 6/17/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your amp. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 17 found this helpful

If probably look at something else if I were you

Dru from Lafayette, LA on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth works well, seems to be built ok. Sounds like crap, the app that you have to use is wonky, dsp seems to be useless (dsp was the main reason I bought this model). Bought this amp as an upgrade over the micro amp for my race car stereo. The Bluetooth with dsp seemed to be just what I needed, and with it being Sony I really trusted what I was buying. Well, it clearly missed the mark. I played with it, went over the install, and tried and tried to figure out what I did wrong, but in the end I just realized the amp itself is pretty much garbage. It does work every time I turn the car on, and the Bluetooth hasn't failed yet. Aside from that, it's been a complete disappointment, and it will be replaced. Unfortunately my money won't be.

Pros: It works every time I turn the car on Bluetooth works

Cons: Sound is awful Mids are nonexistent App is cumbersome DSP is a joke/doesn't work Very expensive for such poor performance

Crutchfield response on 5/19/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your amp. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

10 of 12 found this helpful

Not what it's marketed as. DSP is useless.

Andrew from Grand Rapids, MI on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Less than thrilled. The DSP feature leaves a ton to be desired. In order to use it you need to turn off the high pass filter and set the low pass filter to 50 hz. Then when you use the DSP feature in the app you literally have zero control over the crossover points on the high pass

Pros: Small footprint

Cons: DSP requires use of a quirky app. No control over crossover points. This mids are under powered.

Crutchfield response on 5/7/2019
We're sorry that you didn't completely dig the Sony DSP. One of our Tech Support gurus, Jason, tested this item and confirms that Sony did set up the DSP that way you mentioned. We're providing feedback to Sony directly, so they can evaluate it further.

110 of 112 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound