Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
509 132 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
509 132 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony HT-CT800

Powered sound bar with 4K/HDR video passthrough, Wi-Fi®, and Chromecast built-in audio

MFR # HTCT800

Sony HT-CT800

Sony HT-CT800

Powered sound bar with 4K/HDR video passthrough, Wi-Fi®, and Chromecast built-in audio

MFR # HTCT800

33 reviews
View this product

Singapore

AMIT from Singapore on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely stunning voice and clarity for this price range. I tried all other known options and this simply trumped others hands down. Works easy, connectsbeasy, subwoofer is fantastic. Has made movie watching and music exp just wow. Recommend to buy a sony.

Pros: Very good soubd quality, rich exp. the sound drivers are great

Cons: No dolby atmos

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great soundbar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pounding bass

Carolyn from Little Rock, AR on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG!!! Truly amazing I return the Bose 500 bar for this was a little apprehensive because it's a 2.1 channel, a music lover especially rainy jazz.

Pros: Can adjust the bass, music sounds great love it.

Cons: Wish the remote was visible at night.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Frustrating

Seth from Minneapolis, MN on 3/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set it up so when I turn on the Shield TV it automatically changes to that input. Which it does but then 5-10 seconds later it brings up the screen to select which HDMI input I want. The only two sources I use are chrome cast and HDMI1. The built in chrome cast is nice when it works. I can only voice control the playback from the device initially used to instruct playback. Sometimes if I say, "next on sound bar" from a different google home it will do it and sometimes it won't. Not sure if that's a google problem or this device. The remote does not have CEC capabilities with controlling my Shield TV. I have to use two remotes. Not sure if I will send it back or not. Anything is an improvement over TV speakers but this is a clunky solution.

Pros: Sounds good Sleek and unimposing

Cons: Clunky operation

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Christopher from Ashburn, VA on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This soundbar has more power than it looks. The sub is deep for a large kitchen and living room combo. The sound is clear and loud, along with good dialogue functionality. Totally recommend for an average room or living room. Crutchfield is great with delivery and never had a problem with their service!

Pros: All good!

Cons: None at this moment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Kenn from Salisbury, MA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was a "scratch & dent" and it was the first time I could actually see scratches. It's connected to my XBR-55X800E. It sometimes drops audio and I have to unplug and plug back in the HDMI on the unit to regain sound. It also looses audio for a second or two then regains. I'm hoping a firmware update will resolve problem. The sound is ok. But the price was right in the outlet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Guest from Planet Earth on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure what to expect with only 2 drivers in the bar, but wow! After watching James Bond and Ready Player One, I can now say that its the quality of the hardware that matters, not the quantity. I came from a low end 5.1 system and this is a lot better. The use of better codecs really shows and brings the best out of this hardware. You won't believe the low end on this set either if you watch a lot of action movies. At 50% I could feel the sound in my whole body and had to shout to talk to someone sitting right next to me. The build quality is exceptional and it looks slick. I really like how well the Bluetooth and wifi work not to mention that I can now use my Sony Bluetooth headphones (WH1000XM3) to listen to games or movies wirelessly. The only complaints I have is that I feel it could have included apple airplay, and the menus sometimes seem to glitch as it won't let me select a certain input without a few tries for example. All in all its very recommendable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Gary from Pensacola, FL on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been a Sony Fan, this product did not disappoint, it was easy to set up and operate. My direct tv remote works great with it. The sound was better than I expected. I am using this in a medium size bedroom. Crutchfield delivered it as promised. No complaints.

Pros: Easy to set up, sound better than expected easy to operate

Cons: HDMI imputs are very close together and a little hard to plug in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Crutchfield customer from Bluffton, SC on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good but not great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Andre from Houston, TX on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound bar. Features are exactly what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, great price!

Tim from Dracut, MA on 10/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier. I needed to downsize from a full 5.1 setup. We rearranged a couple rooms and didn't have the space for an entertainment center anymore. This thing did the trick. The flat sound bar mounted on the wall under the TV and there are no visible wires, the sub is behind the couch and literally doesn't miss a beat. It paired up imediately and perfectly with my Bravia TV. (Something the existing system did not do well). And the sound is great! It's not a surround system. But the sub packs a punch and the sound bar is WAAAYYYY better than the tv speakers. I run it with my tv remote, and the ARC function. And it works great with my Apple TV. Great solution and sound for the price!

Pros: Size, sound, ez setup, works great, can pair rear surround speakers if needed, wall mount.

Cons: None for what it is.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamesburg

Stephen from Jamesburg, NJ on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a hard time listening to Verizon DVR recordings (audio is poor). I was using headphones. After installing the Sony HT-CT800, I was amazed how much it improved the quality of the audio (no more headphones).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Crutchfield customer from Olmstedville, NY on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty much all we needed to enhance our tv sound. Very good sound for the price, thank you?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, AR on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely great speaker, super easy set up and great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another Quality Sony Product!

Jake from Dalton, MA on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this soundbar to go with my Sony 4K TV that I also purchased from Crutchfield. Before this I had a Yamaha surround sound setup, and was looking for something lower key. Setup was a breeze, connected the Roku and DVD player (also a Sony) via USB. Turned the sound bar on and everything connected and I had sound coming out. Definitely not a 6 speaker setup like I had, but this has some really nice sound coming from it. Nice and clear for movies, sports and music. The sub is tucked in a corner and offers just enough thump for movie nights. Picture is nice and clear. My old Yamaha no 4K setup didn't show the true clarity of 4K and sometimes my DVD's audio was not synced to the actors (picture an old Godzilla movie!) Definitely worth getting components that match, everything works together seamlessly.

Pros: Easy connection and simply setup. Works seamlessly with other Sony components. And little things, like when I wake my Roku up, the soundbar turns on. And when I turn the TV off, the soundbar turns off. I only touch the remote for volume control!

Cons: Remote looks similar to the TV remote, so I sometimes find myself grabbing the wrong one.....and yes that's my biggest complaint.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Delivers the sound

Randolph from Prairieville, LA on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs as expected Needed a few updates to get everything synchronized and I still need the remote (was hoping to use the TV remote for everything..??

Pros: Works well due to size and design and wireless subwoofer

Cons: Easier setup and synchronization

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound at last

F C from Isle, MN on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After figuring out the idiosyncrasies of connecting several items, this sound bar is a pleasure!

Pros: Quick and easy customizable sound for different needs. Wireless woofer!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound from this sound bar

Pete from Wheatfield, IN on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and very easy set up. Very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Easy set up Sounds great Sleek looking

Cons: Bass could be a little better

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Osvaldo from Bayamon, PR on 4/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound!

Pros: Excellent Sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Has great sound and features

William from Yoakum, TX on 1/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a higher dollar soundbar that would not pass the sound through the HDMI input to the TV. It would only work with a optical cable. So the 3 HDMI inputs where not usable to my new Sony XBR-55X930E . The sound is way better than the TV and all functions work very well. So I say do not mix your TV with another brand are you will have bought a lot of functions you can't use. Crutchfield took the other one back with no problems. Also this unit does not block the TV eye,

Pros: Worked as expected

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

ronald E from Pottsboro, TX on 12/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound bar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Very Happy!

D from Powell Butte, OR on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased a <$100 soundbar thinking that would be enough for my non-audiophile listening needs. I was wrong. It was basically just a louder version of the TV speakers, was troublesome getting the hookups to work properly and was pretty unimpressive overall. I decided to exchange it and pair up my new Bravia TV with a Sony soundbar so it would be more likely to pair up seamlessly and the reviews were high. I am blown away. The sound is deep and rich with a solid punch for movie scenes that need it. It's not quite the surround sound I had previously with a full Bose setup but it's surprisingly close and very satisfying. I would highly recommend this soundbar.

Pros: Deep, rich, full sound/bass. Very cool looking low profile in front of the TV.

Cons: Really none.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound at affordable price

Seth from Newmarket, NH on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound system is really good complement to the Sony 4K TV that I bought from Crutchfield as well. I had originally not bought the sound bar thinking that I would use an old sound bar that I had for my previous TV. It became clear that my old sound bar would not do a good enough job and so I called Crutchfield and spoke with sales person who really helped me out in picking this sound bar. I had a budget and I had features that I was looking for and the sound bar fit all the criteria. The only negative I can say is that it is not easy to mount on the wall by yourself as the mounting equipment is not as user-friendly as other sound bar mount kit I have used in the past.

Pros: Lightweight, great sound, easy to connect.

Cons: Not easy to mount on wall.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound bar

Gary from Centralia, IL on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound system! Easy hookup and use. Great price. Subwoofer is great.

Pros: Great sound, Powerful subwoofer, Easy setup and great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Some good, some bad

Mark from New York, NY on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I find this somewhat disappointing. Pros: nicely designed. Fairly easy hook-up. Bluetooth/wireless work well. Subwoofer pretty good. Enjoy using IPhone/IPad as sources. Cons: I find this system very lacking in midrange sounds. The two tweeter-like speakers embedded at either end of the soundbar miss out on a wide range of sounds. (The total sound is certainly different from my previous unit, a ZVox base that lacked subwoofer, but really not necessarily significantly better). Sound synch issue is troublesome: lip-synch is not good with certain inputs, such as Netflix. Requires lots of on/off and remote adjustments to make this tolerable. So far, this is a slightly disappointing purchase.

Pros: Good bluetooth; good design; easy hookup

Cons: Sound synch issues. Lacking midrange.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Michael from Ossining, NY on 12/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sound bar. so much better than the sound out of the tv. Can't compare it to a full home theater system, but I?t worked for my needs. Imay try the wireless surrounds too. Set your was very easy, would like to be able to change the HDMI names but oh well. My only reason for taking off one star is the included hdmi cable. When using with my 4K Apple TV it would not play in full HDR. Switched out for a crutchfield cable and everything worked fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds great

Robert from North Carolina on 11/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound bar. Simple and easy to use without a ton of wires hanging from the back of the TV. Clear sound with a variety of different settings to suit your needs. Dialogue clarity was the most important thing to me and this Sony sound bar delivers and the base sounds very good as well. Works well with my Sony TV and Blu Ray player. One remote powers everything. So far, very happy.

Pros: Dialogue clarity Base Ease of setup and use Variety of sound settings Love the flat look/design

Cons: Sometimes doesn't turn on/off, have to do it manually, which is not a big deal to me, but something to take note of.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

All Aroundo Awesome Soundbar and Subwoofer Combo!!!

Alex from Gambrills, MD on 11/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll caveat this review by saying that I am an old school 5.1 surround guy, so when I was shopping for a soundbar I was somewhat hesitant. When shopping for a soundbar I did not have high expectations for a soundbar at the price point I was aiming for. I didn't want to spend a ton of money, but at the same time I'm a firm believer in the saying "you get what you pay for." I initially bought another sound bar from Crutchfield. Aside from the unit being defective, it just didn't sound good. The good folks at Crutchfield made the return painless. I ended up buying this Sony HT-CT800, which cost a little more than the other soundbar but I'm glad I spent the extra money. I am highly impressed with this soundbar! It has a nice balanced sound complimented by the wireless subwoofer. It doesn't sound "tinny" or washed out like other sound bars. The subwoofer is not overwhelming--like a home theater subwoofer should be. I have 11" ceilings in the room and it sounds great! Pop in a blu ray or a 4K disc in the player and prepared to get blown away!

Pros: Awesome balanced sound. Deceivingly thin profile with a big sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Crutchfield customer from Stoneham, MA on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar is good and on top of it Crutchfield tech support helped to look at the issue and replaced the product so quickly.

Pros: Simple and easy to mount or install Works great if you are new to sound system

Cons: Wish price is little low

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great soundbar

Eric from Traverse City, MI on 8/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from TV and Bluetooth. Easy to install and connect.

Pros: Sound quality and wireless subwoofer

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

full theater sound and more

jonathan from Smithfield, UT on 7/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice sound and paired great with my 55 inch Samsung TV from Crutchfield. Would highly recommend this for any home theater system.

Pros: great sound, thin profile, wireless sub is awesome, very well made and solid system

Cons: none, price is somewhat high, but well worth it for the sound and quality

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony HT-CT800

Jag from Sydney on 7/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony HT-CT800 is value for money and has excellent sound quality. Was almost going to buy the Boss soundbar and listening the same track on the Sony soundbar was awesome.

Pros: Easy to connect Wireless speakers and sub woofer

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great buy!

Derek from Sherwood, OR on 7/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great product! Came Rome yahama 103 sound bar great soundbar but missing the bass of a sub. Came across this sound bar it is a great sound bar for the prices and after a little tweaking I am happy with the sound mids seemed a little washed out at first but like I said a little tweaking and this thing sounds great hooked up to my tv with arc input and it couldn't be easier!!! Would by this again sound amazing and even though subs only 6in it hits hard like a 10 in car sub!

Pros: Great sound Great price Nice sub

Cons: A little tweaking needed... great buy no big cons!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP