Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
463 323 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
463 323 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony HT-Z9F

Powered sound bar with wireless subwoofer, Dolby Atmos®, and Wi-Fi®

MFR # HTZ9F

Sony HT-Z9F

Sony HT-Z9F

Powered sound bar with wireless subwoofer, Dolby Atmos®, and Wi-Fi®

MFR # HTZ9F

27 reviews
View this product

Big improvement in sound

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds simply wonderful in a big room! We have a great room that is 24' x 14.5' leaving our 15yr old receiver, Bose 120 stand speakers, Polk 10" sub, and Polk center not up to the job of delivering good movie or TV dialogue nor room filling sound in this age of streaming content. The difference this soundbar and sub make is just amazing. Dialogue is clear now, sub provides rich lows without the punchiness of the old sub, and plenty of sound settings out-of-the-box makes for plenty of happiness for the whole family depending on the listening we're doing. I highly recommend this product.

Pros: Dolby Atmos sounds good in big room Great integration with Sony XBR75-900F Truly plug-and-play

Cons: Would like more speakers, but really isn't a problem

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Average setup with many faults

Crutchfield customer from E Stroudsburg, PA on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most importantly, the enclosed HDMI is a joke and not to be used. It cuts the quality of the sound and picture down by 50%, at least. You WILL be seeing picture issues, such as picture flickers, picture cutoff and a an average sound. You will need 16G HDMI cable that allows high speeds (get 4K or 8K support cables). Secondly, the Atmos feature is yet to be experienced on my end. I don't feel any immersion whatsoever when watching Atmos content. Not even closed. The Vertical Sound feature always makes the sound worse. It's really weird. There is no way to have Dolby surround on and switch to any other custom genre of sound, you will have to go to settings every time you would want to switch between "Music", "Sport" and all others vs. Dolby Surround. For the last negative, this system at dull retail price is extremely expensive for what you get. I think the $499 I paid for it with discount is the ceiling I would ever pay for it. As for the good: This is system is loud. Very loud. The Bluetooth has a BT Codec so you get High Definition audio. There is many ways to connect to this system, including USB that you can load with songs, Digital, Analog, BT, WiFi. Pandora is preinstalled. If I ever feel the immersion I was expecting I will add another star. For now it's just a 3 star product. If it lasts for 10 years, it was a good investment. Let's see...

Pros: Loud, HD BT, sleek, easy setup

Cons: Included HDMI is a joke; can't feel any Atmos or 3D experience; difficult mode changes, expensive at full retail price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

It won't work unless you put in a lot of time and effort.

Lior from DAVIE, FL on 2/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this with Sony 65" 950G TV for HDR and Atmos. Posting this review on both, since I'm confident best video & audio is the combination we're all looking for. Tried to configure it to work for the past 3 weeks and soon giving up. There's never a situation where I'm getting both 4K HDR and Atmos (on content that supports it). It's either one without the other or general issues like the sounds cutting out until I restart. Sony referred me to Netflix who referred me back to Sony. Amazon referred me to Sony and Sony claims it might be an Android app issue. Crutchfield support told me it should work and I should "play around with it". I've dealt with audio systems before, I'm a computer engineer and I don't think it's the consumer's job to work so hard to get the result he's been promised. It's not the TV, it's not the soundbar, it's not the HDMI cable, it's not my internet connection. Everything is supposed to work and after resetting the TV, the soundbar, the fire stick 4k, the fire cube 4k to factory settings and back to the latest version, testing everything and cross-testing, it's either one or the other. Tech should work, and if it doesn't, don't advertise it as is. It's not my job to post on forums and guide the tech support in 3 different services while each try to throw the blame somewhere else.

Pros: Atmos is great when it works.

Cons: Atmos audio cuts out from TV's Netlifx and Amazon Video apps randomly and doesn't return unless you restart the TV\Soundbar.

Crutchfield response on 2/4/2020
We're sorry Lior is still having issues with his TV and soundbar. Once we saw his review, our Tech Support specialist, Jason, reached out to Lior to help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Crutchfield customer from Tujunga, CA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, OH on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound with lots of options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

kevin from Darien, CT on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Pomeroy, OH on 12/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's good. Sound not what I expected. But still a good purchase

Pros: Easy set up.

Cons: Not full enough sound.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent - simple setup & integration - sounds great.

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, GA on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great fit with my Sony XBR-55A8G. I mounted the TV's to its stand in the optional raised position to accommodate the soundbar, and it all looks neat and tidy, with the bass unit tucked out of sight in the back. Connection and setup is super-easy - be sure to use the HDMI ARC port. The sound is terrific, bass is clean and "non-boomy," and I love the different modes that can be selected for say sports, or music. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

GOOD SOUNDBAR SYSTEM

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony HT-Z9F is a very nice soundbar system. It mates very well with other Sony products such as, 4K televisions and 4k blu ray players.When combined, all units turn off and on with one remote control unit. Now that makes things a lot easier!!! The optional rear surround speakers are also a nice feature. No soundbar will match a home theater system but, if you're looking for a full,rich room filling sound without all the wiring and added expense, this is the one for you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

This is awesome

Crutchfield customer from Spanaway, WA on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the Sony HT-Z9F about 2 weeks ago. The sound from this unit is awesome. I can't wait to get the surround speakers to complete the entire experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sweet good upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way better than the $600 bars. Super happy. My budget was 600 but this was worth the extra.

Pros: Quality part system. Sounds fantastic real quality remote, rear additional speakers

Cons: Priced high, but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is good, but not mind-blowing, especially for the price. Easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

John from Grapevine, TX on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just as advertised. Very nice sound. Using with a Sony TV so integration is very good.

Pros: Sound quality. Fit and finish. Integration. Operation. Options. Inputs.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Crutchfield customer from Lake St Louis, MO on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive sound for a sound bar!!!

Pros: Voice level Atmos

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

John from Overland Park, KS on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We recently purchased a new Sony X900F tv and wanted to enhance the sound with a nice soundbar. I did the usual research as per online reviews, seemingly endless trips to some Big Box stores to hear what was available, etc, etc, etc. Mostly, what we wanted was a clear/precise sound. We were not interested in "feeling" the sound, but we do appreciate clean highs, clear mids and a nice full bass. I think we hit a home run with the Z9F! First of all, set-up was a breeze. We have a cable box, Blu-ray player, X900F tv, and of course the soundbar (and sub) which all needed to be connected. Simple. We attached the tv and soundbar via the HDMI ARC connection on each. Then, we plugged the cable box into HDMI-1 on the soundbar, and the Blu-ray player into HDMI-2 on the soundbar. When we plugged it all in, the subwoofer instantly sync'd with the soundbar and presto -- nice, pure sound! As per the sound, I cannot stress enough how happy we are with the sound. Whether you set the volume high or low, the sound is very, very clear. I always had the feeling that Sony soundbars, what with their sophisticated sound technology, had added color to the sound. Never liked that sound. But that's simply not true with the Z9F. The sound is amazingly accurate. The highs are crisp without being sharp, the mids are very clear and there's just enough bass to provide nice, warm lows without being muddy. All in all, the Z9F is precisely what we were looking for!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

32 of 32 found this helpful

Nice Rich Sound, Solid Bass

Tom from North Texas on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a sound bar to improve the sound from our new Sony Bravia 4K TV, but did not want to mess around with a lot of speakers or a complex set-up. I also had hopes that the sound might be good enough to enjoy listening to music with the sound bar. Other reviews were mostly positive, and so I bit the bullet. So glad I did! The sound coming from this Sony sound bar is excellent! I like watching music performances on TV as well as just listening to music from my phone, etc. Whatever "magic" Sony has built into this sound bar system really works. My compressed MP3 files from my phone never sounded better! TV programming sound is top notch. Could not be happier. It's a chunk of cash, but it's hard to put a price on enjoyment...hopefully years of it! I think our home stereo will be seeing much less use.

Pros: Easy set up (1 cable). Looks nice and sleek. Sound is excellent both movies and music alone.

Cons: On the pricey side (to me). But you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Crutchfield customer from Dickson, TN on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been a Sony fan. I feel this sound bar is quite overpriced. Setup is easy enough but I needed fiber optic digital audio cable that was another $25. I also bought the $300 matching rear speakers. These speakers are about the size of a box of poptarts. Yes they are bluetooth like the subwoofer but again I feel way overpriced. However the soundbar and sub without these rear speakers would be a real disappointment. This is for watching movies on TV, that is the most redeeming experience. For music my 20 yo receiver and 4 small JBLs way outperform it. This is a good setup for an apartment - no way could your neighbors be annoyed. I spent $1000. I feel $600 would be more appropriate. I would return it all except my wife is happy with it and the hassle of packing it all up and then buying something else is not something I want to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 15 found this helpful

Nice sound.

Cynthia from Oviedo, FL on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound of this Sony sound system is so much better than my TV speakers. I can listen to music channels and turn up the volume for a better sound.

Pros: Sound system is small and doesn't take up too much room.

Cons: I would like to get the surround (rear) speakers for an enen better stereo sound.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound and bass!

William from BRANDON, VT on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my purchase. I was worried, but this product is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Upgrade over my present sound bar

Edward from Castleton, NY on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would like to say I agree with the other positive reviews that this was a very worth while purchase and when I listen to my concert dvd's you would almost swear you were there when it was recorded. Once again It was a pleasure dealing with Crutchfield and my advisor Bob.

Pros: Great sound, easy to set up

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Works great out of the box

Rusty from San Diego, CA on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It just works!! Wife was nagging me about better sound after buying a new 4k tv. I didn't want a big tuner, wires, and speakers on the floor. Also wanted Dolby Atmos so a sound bar fit the bill, the question was which one! Many if not most sound bars have upward firing speakers designed to bounce sound off the ceiling to get the vertical sound. Only problem is, they are all designed for flat ceilings, but mine isn't flat. I needed a sound bar that wasn't dependent on a flat ceiling and this Sony fits the bill. It doesn't depend on upward firing speakers, rather it can simulate the affects of an upward firing speakers and does it very well. Paired with the 2 wireless rears, it fills the room with 360 sound and I don't have a bunch of wires and speakers strewn around the living room.

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: only 2 hdmi inputs

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

the best sound bar !!

jetsy61 from Lancaster, PA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound easy set up explained this is what I was looking for, if your looking for a great sounding and easy sound bar this is what you want. beats bose 300 easy !

Pros: sound setup

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Sony sound bar

Mark from Jamison, PA on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound. Awesome quality and easy to set up.

Pros: Sound and set up

Cons: No cons!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Eric from Leesburg, FL on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound. Much better then I thought it would be. Very easy to set up.

Pros: Great sound. Easy set up.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Tony from New Orleans, LA on 10/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product. Paired with the SA-Z9R speakers you have movie theater sound at home. The Dolby Atmos experience is INCREDIBLE!

Pros: Movie theater sound at home

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

James from Kernersville, NC on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At the present time, my frustrations prevent me from offering any good news about the product. This unit fell short of my expectations. Extremely difficult to set-up and use. Cannot get the Soundbar to pair with my DirecTv remote. Sometimes it works and other times it does not. Roadblock when trying to use Advanced set-up. Volume level is 1 to 48 which is Max, however, sound is not detected until the volume level is set at 27 to 29. In other words, more than half of the volume power is required just to hear the sound. Disappointed.

Pros: Delivery was prompt. Support Technician was knowledgeable and helpful.

Cons: Attempted to call the technician several times using the number and extension offered. Unable to reach him.

Crutchfield response on 10/29/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Daniel, reached out to James to help him further. We'll either help him get the soundbar working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

14 of 18 found this helpful

Sony HT-Z9F

Allen from Charlotte, NC on 7/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, much better than any other I have heard.

Pros: Great sound on all programs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 17 found this helpful

TOP