Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 628 23
Connect ID #
225 628 23
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony MEX-N5300BT

CD receiver

MFR # MEXN5300BT

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Sony MEX-N5300BT

CD receiver

MFR # MEXN5300BT

105 reviews
View this product

Great Upgrade From OEM

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 8/5/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio sounds and looks great. It brings my audio system in my vehicle into the 21 century. Using the Bluetooth, App, phone, adds something to my vehicle that I did not even realize I was missing. This is a good radio with lots of options at an extremely affordable price. Installation was a breeze with everything you need.

Pros: Exceptional sound, easy to use features, practical functionality, extremely easy to install

Cons: There does not seen to be as much Base as I would like at higher volume.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Koloa, HI on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install and works a advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good work Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Breeze, FL on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit from the S & D section of Crutchfield and am NOT disappointed. It arrived well packaged with everything a "brand new" unit should have. The only way to tell it was not new it the Owners Manual was a copy.

Pros: Works just as advertised.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great service Great Support Great product

Crutchfield customer from Taylor, MS on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. The wrong screws were shipped with it and had to go and purchase the right size. Company did credit account for this. Called Support, answered right away. We talked though problem and discovered wrong size screws. Excellent support staff. Very easy install. Well worth the money I spent. Will order from Crutchfield again and will recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

bogus

Douglas from NEWTON, IA on 7/5/2020

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does not play my wave files on my usb stick my old pioneer does kind of a crappy deal not happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio but major issue with CD player

David from Buena Park, CA on 7/3/2020

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio but major issue with CD player. The CD player will not take discs. I try to insert them but does not work. Very disappointed since I installed it in January 2020 and never tried to use the CD functionality until now. Hopefully Crutchfield's support will be able to resolve.

Pros: Bluetooth and Android/Apple Play works great.

Cons: CD player is not working and will not take discs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Knox City, TX on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the stereo, was easy-to-install, arrived a day early in the mail. thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio! But a few things to know..

Tiam from Cold Spring, NY on 6/29/2020

1992 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this radio as a replacement for the original radio in my 1992 Volvo 240. It works great and I am very happy with the audio quality and performance. My only complaints are about the bluetooth and the volume dial. The bluetooth can be frustrating, sometimes not connecting, and when you have both phones in the car that are connected to the radio it sometimes doesn't work. I usually just use the USB input which always works and charges the phone too, much more simple. The volume dial is also a button and is fairly sensitive. I find myself pressing the button when I want to turn up the volume a lot. Besides these two things (which are pretty minor honestly) I love this product and would recommend it!

Pros: Looks great, good sound.

Cons: Bluetooth is finicky, volume dial as a button is too sensitive.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2002 E320

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 6/20/2020

2002 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2002 E320!!! The install looks like original, picked colors to match the other instruments. Steering wheel controls still work too! Buy the wiring harness! Even though it was almost as expensive as the unit, the wiring harness made install a snap!

Pros: Easy install Easy functions, Bluetooth and phone Sounds great!!

Cons: Takes concentration to change settings or pair a phone, not something to do while driving!!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy I chose Crutchfield !

Crutchfield customer from Key West, FL on 6/11/2020

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great ! I have no complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid bang for buck

Guest from Boyce, VA on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stock 05 Volvo receiver was pretty good (when it didn't cut out) and I was concerned I'd lose audio quality with an inexpensive replacement. But Sony N5300BT sounds significantly better than stock while retaining original speakers. Plus face design is simple so the fix looks Volvo-esque. Great Crutchfield advice and service.

Pros: Excellent performance for price. Good selection of EQ settings, plus customizable option. Installation looks close to stock. Lighting can be adjusted for color and brightness.

Cons: Can't find solution to turn off annoying anti-theft beep at power shutdown.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony makes Great Products

Crutchfield customer from Lakeside, CA on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo all around. You just cant beat it for the price and quality

Pros: sounds great easy to install, blue tooth ready

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Juan from Chicago, IL on 6/8/2020

1999 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To reconnect to Bluetooth/ Sony app just press 6 on play/pause bottom, instead of having to do all that reconnecting

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Orefield, PA on 6/4/2020

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for the 2000 Jeep Wrangler. All the additional kit items made this an easy install and it sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 6/3/2020

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best head unit I have found for my 2004 Ford Ranger. The bluetooth adds functionality for my Iphone and tuner sensitivity is best I have found.

Pros: Tuner and bluetooth.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Altoona, PA on 5/31/2020

1989 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the unit fit like a glove. The sound is great. Great product, Great company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Willoughby, OH on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Multiple functions and a good sound at a value price. The removeable face an be annoying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Hines, OR on 5/31/2020

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and directions were simple to follow.

Pros: Super easy to navigate. Color choices are fantastic options.

Cons: The buttons are close together.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony Quality, Simple Unlcluttered look

Sherri from Litchfield ,CT on 5/22/2020

1994 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good !! This looks like the more expensive model non cd one . I almost bought that but I didn't want to run a power cord from the battery . This one looks classic, simple , and perfect in my 94 mustang . Almost looks like it could be stock ! Great service and shipping , installation was a breeze. I didn't need the CD player or want it, but the price was right . Sound is better than Stock was !!!

Pros: Cheap, features , 55 watts , good sound , simple use and layout , Good customization

Cons: I didn't need the CD but I can't say it's a con other than the look. No cons yet . We did have an issue with the deck sliding into the space and staying on the left side . We had to fiddle around and use some adhesive to help secure it . It wasn't the fault of the unit but a defect or imperfection in my cars dash. Looks clean and almost stock in my 1994 mustang

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I recommend!

Crutchfield customer from Sartell, MN on 5/21/2020

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thoroughly enjoy this product. The only thing about it is when I connect my phone to play my own music if I turn the volume up past 40 (50 is highest), the music becomes badly distorted. It isn't an issue with my speakers however, because when I have a CD in, the volume can be at 100% and have zero distortion. I originally bought it to upgrade from my factory stereo and because I was going to install a subwoofer and amplifier and it is a great upgrade. I had installed four new speakers before installing this and it improved the power sent to the speakers because of the built-in amplifier. This is also great because it has RCA outputs for all four speakers and for subwoofers which allow for seamless connections to an amplifier. Great product

Pros: RCA outputs for all speakers and separate ones for subwoofers

Cons: When connected to the phone at a loud volume, the sound distorts

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Florence, SC on 5/21/2020

1996 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this in my 96 Sierra and it looks great, easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied and safe driver

Crutchfield customer from Ridgefield, WA on 5/11/2020

2005 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sony MEX-N5300BT was super easy to install and sounds great. I had replaced my stock stereo in a 2005 Saturn Vue about 10 years ago. That Sony sounded good but didn't have bluetooth, and ultimately I got tired of "jerry-rigging" cords and different external devices to play music from my phone. Could never find anything that made phone conversations tolerable. All I did after purchasing this Sony is pull out the older head unit, detach the old harness and attach the new, slide the new head unit into the old chassis and waa-lah. Bluetooth works perfectly and the few calls I've made thus far have sounded way better than anything I've had before, thanks in large part to the external mic that comes with the unit. Very pleased! May have to look into replacing the speakers as those have some mileage on them as well.

Pros: Bluetooth connectivity, sound quality for calls

Cons: Haven't found any noticeable ones yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I love sony phones but hate their audio equipment.

Cat from Alaska on 5/2/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went from an awesome pioneer deck (now discontinued) to this Sony deck. Disappointed with it as I have to re-pair my device to this deck everytime I get in my vehicle. User interface is a cluster fudge. Trying to return this product but waiting on hold with customer care forever isn't getting me anywhere. I will sell this item myself and buy the newer version of my old pioneer deck.

Pros: Illumination is nice and bright even in broad daylight.

Cons: Constantly repairing my device via Bluetooth. Terrible user interface.

Crutchfield response on 5/12/2020
Cat, if you purchased this receiver from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice unit.

Crutchfield customer from Okeechobee, FL on 4/25/2020

1995 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect. EZPZ to wire up. My old unit was a Sony so the functionality was fairly easy to figure out. Purchased it to be provided with the Bluetooth. Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony steals the show!

Crutchfield customer from Prairie Village, KS on 4/20/2020

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony MEX-N5300BT is an awesome head unit, that solves all you modern needs for multiple file formats, as well mobile phone connectivity via Bluetooth. The multi color display on the face looks amazing, and when set on the red shade, makes the unit look virtually OEM! It was a breeze to install, even for the tight space provided in a BMW Z3!

Pros: Great options for the price, classic styling the will never fade away!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Poland, OH on 4/19/2020

2010 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has great features and many customization options. Gives a lot of power to sub woofers and sounds great with stock speakers. Easy to install

Pros: Single DIN

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from White Cloud, MI on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

like it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Neptune, NJ on 4/5/2020

2001 Toyota Echo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is super. Controls a bit confusing. Delivery time as promised and undamaged

Pros: Sound quality. Physical controls ( not touch screen)

Cons: Controls confusing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from West Blocton, AL on 3/30/2020

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has everything I was looking for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Brainerd, MN on 3/29/2020

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300 is great!

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 3/29/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the new Sony radio, so much better than the stock radio in my 2007 Dodge Ram.

Pros: Easy install, the parts supplied by Crutchfield were exactly what was needed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jeep stick replacement

Crutchfield customer from Portage, MI on 3/29/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward unit with good power and features for the price!

Pros: Features. Price. Removable faceplate

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 3/29/2020

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great. better than the factory radio

Pros:

Cons: hard to use all functions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superb Sony

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 3/25/2020

2008 Porsche Cayman

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive unit that sounds great!! Hard to beat the sound, both power and tone! Great radio!

Pros: Powerful, easy to install, very high quality!

Cons: The controller interface takes effort to use easily but once you understand it, it becomes 2 nd nature.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/24/2020

2012 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio and CD player. This is what needed to go hands free.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Brownsburg, IN on 3/24/2020

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio????. The support I received from Corey and Casey was exceptional

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony App really helps

mark from White lake on 3/20/2020

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2005 Camry with factory amp. This stereo has great sound. Easy install. The Sony app is very intuitive for controlling source, the tone, and lighting. Had it for a 2 months now. Easy to use . I wondered why the bluetooth wasnt connecting correctly. Finally found the only time it doesnt connect is when i use the remote start from inside the house.

Pros: Great sound. Great features. Good dimming at night. (has orange wire)

Cons: Dim display in bright lighting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good unit

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 3/19/2020

2007 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio, with more features than I will use. I'm still learning how to use most of these features. Overall the sound is good and the installation looks almost factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Mount Horeb, WI on 3/15/2020

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made a definite improvement in the sound using the original speakers. I could actually hear the intended sound from the radio over the road noise. I will have to see how much better it gets with new speakers eventually.

Pros: Sounds much better than the stock version in the car.

Cons: Could do without the changing LED colors as they do nothing for the sound. I have to study the manual when I get a chance to see if I can set it to stay at one color.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So far so good

Crutchfield customer from Van Horn, TX on 3/2/2020

1998 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to install.

Pros: Easy installation. Good sound and paired with my iPhone easily. Display colors are easy to match to existing dash lights.

Cons: Display is not as bright as I would like. Display is hard to see if sun is shining on it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Means men's.

Crutchfield customer from Cochranville, PA on 2/16/2020

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad stereo I just find all newer stuff not user friendly. It's very difficult to make simple adjustments to sound or balance due to the multi function controls. Too hard to scroll thru and find stuff then to switch and make the actual adjustment once you find it. I miss the separate balance bass and treble controls we used to have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Staunton, VA on 2/10/2020

2010 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo for the price. I haven't gotten replacement speakers yet but sounds good even with factory speakers. The bluetooth phone feature sounds great and is easy to use. The only thing I wish it had is speed dialing. I can't get the Pandora source to connect to my samsung S8, but I haven't had time to try and figure it out yet

Pros: Affordable Lots of features

Cons: Needs speed dial feature

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Carbondale, CO on 2/3/2020

1998 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit as a gift for my son who's in collage out of state Also purchased the ready harness since he dosn't have the resources to splice,solder and heat shrink wires. The install was on a 98 4runner. He said it took him about an hour to install with no problem. He is very happy with the unit.I have been a Crutchfields custemer for a long time,they have never let me down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sound for a low price unit. CD Works smoothly and quietly. Save the owners because there is lots of different features you can set up if wanted. Kurt

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Hertford, NC on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio.

Pros: bluetooth

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 1/26/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony delivered an excellent product; Crutchfield made it a breeze to install! This radio was just what the doctor ordered. The fit and install in my '03 F-150 couldn't have gone better and looks nearly factory. One of the highlights is the ability to change the LED colors for both the screen and the buttons to match the factory dash colors. This radio has the right features at the right price for any vehicle. I opted for the Crutchfield radio adapter, for the price it likely saved me an hour and several busted knuckles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Basic radio

Crutchfield customer from Browns Mills, NJ on 1/26/2020

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a basic car radio. Not as much control as some other Sony radios.

Pros: I only use Sony radios

Cons: Not much control.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Pinson, AL on 1/24/2020

1990 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantasic product (if you can learn to operate it) - but thanks to crutchfield, I'm learning

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Wenatchee, WA on 1/15/2020

1998 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit! Great features and wonderful sound quality.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: No provision to balance speakers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tune driving

Crutchfield customer from Yucca Valley, CA on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying the new receiver. Makes my commute so much better.

Pros: Many usable features

Cons: Instruction from company a little vague on settings.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice, great price

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 1/10/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm fairly old-school in preferring physical controls to touch screens, especially in the things on the dash of my vehicles. My factory radio in my truck died, so I took a good hard look at all of the units Crutchfield offered, looking for receivers that are easy to operate by feel without the need to take my eyes off of the road. The Sony MEX-N5300BT came the closest to what I was looking for and included more than enough power to make my four new Polk Audio speakers sound great. To be honest, even this Sony requires you to look at the unit unless all you are doing is turning it off or on, or selecting one of the preset radio station buttons. But this has been working well for me, as I listen almost exclusively to my local public classical music station, and when it isn't what I want to hear the blue tooth feature picks up my stored music on my smart phone, so I'm never without music if I don't want to be. This Sony has so many more capabilities than I will ever use it makes the price simply an excellent buy. Most importantly, the unit sounds wonderful. For a pick up cab it simply has more power than you can really use. The music sounds well balanced at the default settings, but you can change how it sounds if you want to take the time to go into the controls and contour the sound to your liking. There's even a button right on the front of the unit to select among three levels of bass boost if you want more in the low end. I am very happy with this Sony. Highly recommended.

Pros: Reasonably easy to operate without a lot of distraction while driving. Great sound. Plenty of power. Radio reception is excellent. Fits in a relatively small space without giving up anything a car receiver should offer. I can even listen to the CD's I still own. This may be old school, but they sound great on this Sony, and there are no interruptions or monthly fees! Also, the Bluetooth feature lets me take and place phone calls without distraction; my calls sound good in both directions.

Cons: In Fords from the 80's on up, the radio has a bracket on the back that "hangs" it from a rail so the unit is supported at the dash and the rear. The instructions said not to use the rear bracket. The factory bracket won't fit the Sony, but one's included in the Metra kit and I recommend you use it. It's very difficult to use the bracket due to how the Sony is held in the dash. I had to remove the speedo/gauges to get my hand behind the radio to attach the bracket. It's difficult, but doable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great head unit

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a simple upgrade from my factory head unit so I could have Bluetooth capabilities. While there are fancier head units that have Android Auto or Apple Car play and would give me more features this little thing works fine and didn't break the bank. My stereo sounds better and the Sony app made connecting my podcast and music apps to the head unit as well as customizing the display and button colors effortless.

Pros: Inexpensive, sounds good, easy to use.

Cons: Doesn't have the fanciest display.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic Sound With Bluetooth, USB Phone Charging & CD Player

Mike from Huntsville, AL on 12/29/2019

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to replace a 15 year old Pioneer stereo in my 2000 F150. The main features I was after were Bluetooth phone calls, XM radio ready, USB phone charging capability, and CD player. I first considered Pioneer and Kenwood, but finally settled on the Sony MEX-N5300BT due to positive reviews and $20 off special. I'm very impressed with this unit. The Sony also has a much better FM Sensitivity than comparable Kenwood and Pioneer models and there is a noticeable difference in the FM reception compared to the old Pioneer. Having driven rental cars with HD radio, I feel the standard FM transmission on this Sony sounds like it's HD! Bluetooth phone calls are very clear and USB charges iPhone 7 quickly (goes up tens of percent during 20 min drive). Remote included and is nice to have for switching between XM radio presets. I added an XM SXV300V1 tuner behind the Sony stereo.

Pros: Simple yet stylish layout, remote included, fantastic sound without amplifier, best FM reception I've ever had in a vehicle, fast USB charging of phone, clear Bluetooth phone calls, super fast scanning on FM, XM ready, and CD player

Cons: When song/artist information extends beyond main display screen, the stereo only scrolls through the info once (have to manually advance to see the remaining info a 2nd time). There isn't an auto scan while in XM mode (have to manually advance through XM channels). Crutchfield Master Sheet and American International mounting kit had conflicting instructions. Install was ultimately accomplished with DIN sleeve and main American International bracket with cubby hole on the bottom (not on the top as pictured in Crutchfield Master Sheet).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

This is the one.

Crutchfield customer from Sheffield, AL on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought about getting a new car stereo, because the radio that was in my 1997 Isuzu Trooper was from a 90's era mustang?? I had done tons of research, and ended up messaging Aaron for some help. Not only did he recommend this radio, but he also paired it up with a whole system. This is by far the best stereo ive ever had. 10/10 would recommend. BUY IT. DO IT.

Pros: BLUETOOTH, hands-free calling, color chamging screen, PREMIUM SOUND

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Always good stuff

Crutchfield customer from Iron Station, NC on 12/23/2019

2012 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, excellent quality, only use Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/21/2019

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, love all the available options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony CD-Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 12/20/2019

1997 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice with outstanding performance, installed recently with no issues everything included in the well packed kit was utilized. Could not be more happier with this purchase. Very fast shipping.

Pros: Essential items you would have to purchase separately are included. The downloaded instructions for your specific application is exceptional. Overall a great experience and trust factor when conducting business with Crutchfield.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Experience

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 12/17/2019

1993 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, great price, great service. Delivery was bit late but crutchfield service rep corrected the error and made it worth my while. Great company!

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 12/15/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better reception than original unit. Bluetooth works well for receiving calls. If Your thinking of using various programs while driving forget this radio. Programming is so difficult that you need to be parked to be able to switch between programs. Crutchfield's installation instructions are a waste of paper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Hudson Oaks, TX on 12/12/2019

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm very pleased with both the products and the service of Crutchfield. I will say this about the Sony units,it has individual station buttons that are much easier to feel and push vs.others (Kenwood/Pioneer etc.) while bouncing down the road. The installation kit and wiring adapter that came with it fit well and was an easy upgrade. Initial setup was fairly simple even though there is a lot of info that did not pertain to my circumstances/needs/devices. I did have to re-sync my iPhone once, but hasn't given me any problems since

Pros: good value

Cons: I wish there was an option for matte or satin finish instead of gloss.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, GA on 12/10/2019

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tuner. A lot of good features. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a affordable tuner.

Pros: Great features clear sound.

Cons: No so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from N Las Vegas, NV on 12/7/2019

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound, good features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Simple and Inexpensive Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Stereo with just about anything you would need...put it in 2008 Boxster Get the harness made for really simple installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 11/17/2019

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks fancy, sounds clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

New WIFI Capable CD Receiver from Sony

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is replacing a kenwood that recently started blowing fuses for overcurrent protection for the output to the speakers. This sony receiver has built in bluetooth and wifi where I can now control it with either the supplied remote control or a smartphone! I'm installing it into a moisture proof location in a jacuzzi spa to drive the factory 4 inch speakers and another set of external ones that I installed for my backyard use. I use the fader function to operate the 3-way external JBL speakers attached to my house for backyard music!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Tulare, CA on 10/30/2019

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice choice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, IN on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit with lots of features for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 10/14/2019

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for quality on a budget...I found it! Perfect fit and a great boost from my oem radio. I love the colors and the extra bass boost.

Pros: Bass boost Affordable quality Color changing display

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 10/6/2019

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade for a 2003 Ford Ranger Extended Cab FX4 Level II without emptying the wallet. The unit has all the features offering current technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for my purpose

David from Athens, GA on 10/5/2019

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this replacement for the dead factory Pioneer 6-disc changer in my 2001 Sportrac. With Crutchfield installation package fit perfectly and the sound quality is good through the original speakers and sub. Add BlueTooth and everything is good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Has it all...

Crutchfield customer from La Fayette, IL on 9/26/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was going to buy the MEX-N5200BT and happened to see this. I am so glad I stalled. The clean front panel and buttons are great for the fat fingered. Very logically laid out compared to others I looked at. Setup was very simple and it sounds great out of the box with my factory speakers. Can't wait until I get the new Rockford Fosgate speakers installed. The tuner on this stereo is incredible. The reception is great and clean. Very little static unless you get way out of range of the station. The colors are not a big deal, but kind of fun to play with. I went boring and matched the lighting in the truck. BT connected right away and does so whenever I get in the truck. I haven't had any troubles with drops at all. Phone calls sound clear. Being able to call and text without touching my phone is very nice. I am very happy with this purchase. I would recommend it highly.

Pros: Looks and sounds great Clean interface and nice button spacing BT works very well Tuner is very good Does everything I hoped it would do at a nice price

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Decent Head Unit

Mike from Thornton, CO on 9/20/2019

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 99 4Runner that still had the stock double DIN cassette & CD player. I love how Crutchfield ships an install package, including the wiring harness and cubby hole adapter to fill the double DIN hole fully with this single DIN head unit. Sound is a bit better than stock unit. Bluetooth connections to iPhone 6 and 6s is pretty slow and I had a hard time pairing The instructions that Crutchfield includes are just so-so and they left out a huge detail for a 4Runner. The wiring harness adapter they sent had 2 plug-ins, but the stock head unit only had 1. What? Darn it, they sent the wrong wiring harness. It was after hours and I wanted to make progress, so I did some Googling and some experimentation and found that my 4Runner had an external amp (factory) that was bolted-in right below the head unit. I removed this and lo and behold, there were 2 plugs on the input side to the amp that the new wiring harness adapter plugged right into! They should mention this in the instructions! Next problem. The 4Runner has a power antenna mast and used to only raise when you selected the AM/FM radio function, but not the CD or cassette. The Sony head unit does not support this, so the power antenna would raise every time the unit is on, which is basically every time your start the car. This is unacceptable since the antenna is ultra-slow and noisy. Since the 4Runner has 2 antennas, I disabled the mast and bought an adapter to hook the rear antenna

Pros: Good price point Supports two Bluetooth devices More subdued front panel and lights Good fitment Crutchfield ships a wiring harness and cubby adapter for converting double DIN to single.

Cons: Slow Bluetooth connection. Power antenna connectivity is poor.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

a great little radio

Crutchfield customer from Pennington, NJ on 9/20/2019

2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this car radio. It does everything it was advertised to do plus has more features that I hadnt even noticed it could do in its description. It works perfectly, it has a beautiful colorful lighted display. It was so easy to install, even for a person who has never installed a radio. It fits in the dash even though its a different shape than the original radio. I wish I had gotten it sooner. I waited until the original radio gave up, but I would have enjoyed the additional features like hands free calling and Pandora and blue tooth and USB and front AUX, even Sirius if one wanted to subscribe and other stuff I havent tried. For me it was important to be able to play CDs since I have many.

Pros: colorful lighted display easy to install many, many features and capabilities

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony stereo in 93 dodge w250

Crutchfield customer from Astoria, OR on 9/16/2019

1993 Dodge D Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple enough to install. Still learning operation of stereo im pretty happy with it.

Pros: Remote is a nice accessory i dont have to lean forward to opererate.

Cons: Havent found one

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice upgrade from OEM, single din do it all

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, MA on 9/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this sony after literally 5 minutes of google searches online with all positive reviews hoping to cure 1 problem I had - FM radio reception, and it did, bit it lead to.another problem - the realization that I had crappy speakers in the car :( So, dont buy this unless.you want to spend more on upgrading your existing speakers... One nit pick however, my old sony had a hard.case for the detachable faceplate and this one doesn't ship with one so, if your cautious and remove the faceplate because of crime, go buy a 3rd party case or you'll risk scratching up the front of this popping it out and transporting it (and dont leave it in the glovebox as that's the first place they look!)

Pros:

Cons: Mp3 handling limited to 255 per folder, must all be in folders to play beyond that limit No hard case from faceplate

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Device...a little tight in an e46 BMW

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 8/29/2019

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am pleased with the performance of this stereo. I installed it in a 2005 BMW 325i to replace the standard business CD/radio. The Sony is a bit of a tight fit with the BMW wiring harness. After a few attempts, I was able to get it to fit.

Pros: Sounds great, compatible with various devices both Android and IOS. USB, CD, Aux, and Bluetooth work well.

Cons: The length of the stereo makes it difficult to install in an e46 BMW...but possible

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/22/2019

1996 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Intuitive display, easy to navigate, hooks up to bluetooth easily.

Pros: easy to navigate

Cons: thin letters

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Skokie, IL on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected went in with no problem and Crutchfield helped all the way through.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SATISFIED CUSTOMER

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 8/15/2019

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my needs. Plenty of power to get great sound out of a pair of Rockford Fosgate P1683 speakers. Great FM reception. Love the AUX jack on the front. Installed in my 2002 F150. I recommend the READY HARNESS. It made installation a breeze.

Pros: Great fit and finish! Custom look!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Bartlesville, OK on 8/11/2019

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks great in my sons 02 wrangler. Has all the features you could want and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Looks good, sounds good

Cameron from Syracuse, UT on 7/25/2019

2003 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with this unit. I love the auto dim feature. This is by far the best looking Sony single din available right now. Easy to setup our Google Pixel 3s with NFC. The sound is better than my Sony from 2011 which was of a similar price point. It is really good at picking up the Bluetooth handsfree as soon as I start the car, but the Bluetooth audio takes a bit. Occasionally it never finds the audio player, maybe 1 in every 25 startups. I have to turn the unit off then back on and then it will connect.

Pros: Good sound. Clean look. Pairs well. Auto dim feature

Cons: Slow to pick up audio device

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, KS on 7/9/2019

1987 Porsche 924S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As usual the service from Crutchfield is stellar! As for this head unit I only one complaint....no mute function! I have not had it long enough to review entirely but the sound is good, better FM reception than the JVC it replaced. The phone audio was good on each end of a call but do need to up the volume in moderately noisy conditions. Overall I am pleased in exception for the inability to mute, hence 4 stars.

Pros: Good phone audio. Function to select genre/category on FM is a plus.

Cons: No mute

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Walt from Colleyville, TX on 7/1/2019

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

overall it is a good replacement for the factory radio in my 2002 4Runner

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Why didn't I get this sooner?

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 6/26/2019

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I need it to do. Great replacement for my 1.5 din in my older Silverado. Sounds great, lots of features and engineered well. Staff at Crutchfield was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Pros: Great features for the price. Styling fits with my truck

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incredible bang for the buck.

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 6/26/2019

2006 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just needed something that worked and had all the options I wanted. This was it.

Pros: Pros: Incredible bang for the buck. Options are staggering. Reasonably intuitive user interface given the number or parameters/options.

Cons: Cons: Screws provided were not suitable for installation kit provided by Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Glenshaw, PA on 6/25/2019

2007 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product, great sound quality, and more features than expected at this price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome radio

Crutchfield customer from Plainview, NY on 6/10/2019

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic radio! There was an issue with the wire interface. After fixing the wire mash' the radio sounded great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Lansdale, PA on 6/10/2019

2002 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing receiver, especially for the price. It's one of the few head units out there that doesn't look like a UFO parked in your dash. I liked it so much I purchased two of these for updating my cars to bluetooth.

Pros: Range of colors matches factory car illumination. Very clean design. Minimal logo spam all over the faceplate. Very good button placement for options. EQ and audio options allow you to finely tune levels to taste.

Cons: Don't plan on reading the faceplate text with any sunlight present.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Jesup, GA on 6/2/2019

1996 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio even with old speakers,Bluetooth was easy to setup .Installation was easy and very quick with your instructions,and wiring kits.

Pros: Good price and great instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from San Lorenzo, CA on 5/31/2019

2016 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

????Great unit, ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 5/28/2019

1994 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo sounds great, and has every feature I could want! I like how well the included microphone works to pick up my voice for voice commands. The NFC tap-to-pair is really great, too. Aesthetically, this is one of the cleanest looking units available, to my eyes. I really like how it's not so flashy and ostentatious. A lot of these products look like they were designed by Razer, but this is understated. Feels right at home in my '94 Town Car. I was having trouble picturing most of the competing products in that car. Also had a minor issue with the Metra wiring harness, and though it was no fault of Crutchfield's, they promptly replaced it for free, and when the same issue occurred, their tech support was able to give me a workaround to get everything wired properly. Really impressed with the service aspect of this experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit for a Good Price

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 5/28/2019

2007 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality and functionality of this unit is outstanding. There are a lot of options available and the unit has surprised me in terms of how well it links with apps via BT on my older phone. The sound quality is crisp at high volume. Very happy.

Pros: Does everything advertised, Sound Quality, Ease of integration

Cons: You must get used to going through the menu to get to things. It's like getting used to the MS Excel Ribbon back in '07...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My old work van just received a upgrade!

Vaughn from Murrells Inlet, SC on 5/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I'm not much of a aftermarket car stereo person, I am however a pro audio tech and a high end home audio snob so it takes a lot to impress me when it comes to audio, gadgets in general. With that said, I found myself in the need of a replacement for my stock radio in my old Ford work van. My requirements were simple. I wanted a step above stock , the best radio with CD I could find for the money that would allow me to connect my phone via bluetooth. I had lots of choices at this price point but decided on this Sony for a few reasons... #1 Its a Sony, #2 It's a newer model than most. #3 At this price point it gives good built in power and great Bluetooth connectivity. #4 Not that I will ever use it in a work van, but me being a pro audio guy I like having all the pre-outs. Some other units at this price point or almost this price point limit the pre outs. #5 The main reason I purchased this Sony is the look. I think it has a kinda close to stock, clean look that others simply do not have. The install was simple and the operation is fantastic with no issues at all. My Android phone connected great and the sound is much better than stock! lots more clean built in power than the stock radio and the FM reception is simply superb! I had no idea I had so many FM stations! With Crutchfield including the wiring harness and the tool to remove the stock Ford radio and the dash kit why would I buy anyplace else! Fantastic Sony and a fantastic company to buy f

Pros: Its a Sony, Has a classy look!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent customer service

Crutchfield customer from Lake Forest, CA on 5/24/2019

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered a Sony MEX-N5300BT single din CD player/radio receiver , ready harness and bezel kit. I had an issue with the CD player skipping tracks and the ready harness was mis-wired. Customer service was excellent. They identified the wiring problem and replaced the CD player. The wiring problem was a simple fix and the return and replacement of the CD player was easy. I do recommend ordering a ready harness. It simplifies the installation process. I'd definitely use Crutchfield for my car audio needs again.

Pros: Customer service

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from North Wales, PA on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit and affordable

Pros: Bluetooth audio streaming

Cons: Needs a dedicated on off button

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little radio

Crutchfield customer from Eaton Rapids, MI on 5/19/2019

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with a ton of features. Was pretty easy to install with a general understanding of radio installation process. I really like the Sony app that the radio pairs with and the NFC bluetooth connection worked great! Only negative thing I have to say is the volume button when pressed opens up the menu options so sometimes you think you're turning up the radio when you're actually switching to something else. That said the remote that comes with it alleviates that issue if you want to use it!

Pros: Easy install. Good sound. NFC bluetooth connection makes it easy! Sony app works seamlessly with the radio for easy phone controls.

Cons: Volume button when pressed opens a menu and is easily pushed when changing volume.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 5/12/2019

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit if you're wanting something that looks as oem as possible. Only chrome is the Sony logo, and the ability to match any color dash illumination made it blend in to my truck like it was meant to be. The bluetooth automatically pairs to my Android as soon as I turn on the truck, and will pick up the last song right where it left off when using google play music. Everything I wanted in a stereo from the price range.

Pros: Really easy to follow the setup guide

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony Still Kicking

Crutchfield customer from West Hartford, CT on 5/12/2019

2009 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System operates great and the color display is awesome. The easy connect to Bluetooth and storage of the deck when not in use is convenient. Sony still kicking.

Pros: Great Head Unit

Cons: Not suitable for all vehicles.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Close to OEM look,great upgrade in sound quality,

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 5/6/2019

1991 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver in both sound quality and subdue-ness, with an appearance close to many OEM units and not odd appearing in an otherwise 1990's interior design. The fine color adjustment allowed for a very close match to factory green illumination. And it paired easily with two galaxy S-series phones of two different generations and switched between the two effortlessly, overall I consider this a pretty good upgrade to many factory receivers while keeping the interior largely stock appearing. Highly recommended.

Pros: Close to OEM receiver appearance, especially when flush-mounted Great sound quality Bluetooth paired effortlessly and functions great

Cons: Somewhat pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Peralta, NM on 4/30/2019

2001 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Phenomenal Head Unit + Linked video of install

James from Glendale, CA on 4/27/2019

1995 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 1995 GMC Suburban and am astonished at how good this thing is. The look of it alone is fantastic but the sound... Holy moly! Gets so loud while staying crystal clear. LOVE the Bluetooth connectivity AND NFC. Just touch phone to volume knob and it connects. Easy. The installation was great. Crutchfield gave me everything I needed and more to install. Oh, and all that stuff, like the wiring harness, single din bracket, antenna cable and new lower pocket... all free. How they turn a profit is beyond me. Below is a link to the install on YouTube. Thanks Crutchfield! https://youtu.be/5uiXNsijFAA

Pros: Gets loud and stays crystal clear. The Bluetooth connectivity is super easy with NFC. The faceplate is very sleek and good looking without all the Trademarks printed all over it. The most 'factory' looking unit I could find. Brand New 2919 model. Price point is great. Get a lot for the money.

Cons: While carefully taking the one sticker off the faceplate... It left a pretty good scratch.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Kandiyohi, MN on 4/23/2019

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. I am a simple guy who wanted a stereo to replace the manufacturer's original in my 2009 vehicle that would allow me to hook up my android phone via Bluetooth and play the occasional CD if needed. this does that no problem. 2 things that bug me about the stereo though, (1) I cannot figure out how to a manual search up and down the FM dial and (2) I have to cycle through multiple options to switch between the radio and Bluetooth. Perhaps there is a simpler way that I just have not discovered yet but if there is it is not intuitive. Other than those 2 small things, I love the stereo. It does what I need it to at the right price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A Great Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Cottonwd Hts, UT on 4/22/2019

1999 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great head unit. The Bluetooth is seamless and pairs easily and automatically every-time I get into the car. I listen to a lot of radio, and this is a HUGE improvement over my stock head unit. The ability to pick up stations has increased dramatically. Stoked!

Pros: Affordable Easy to install Easy Setup

Cons: glossy screen can make it hard to view sometimes (when sunny and at a specific angle).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 4/18/2019

2005 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the dollars spent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony MEX-N5300BT

Crutchfield customer from Hope Mills, NC on 4/17/2019

1997 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Sound is awesome!! Setting can be a little difficult to use but I'm also a newbie when it comes to stereos. But I would recommend this product to anyone. The colors are also awesome and installation was a breaze!

Pros: Sound quality, multiple colors to choose from, easy install.

Cons: Setting can be a little aggravating dor someone who hasent used stereos much.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP