Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
819 018 04
Connect ID #
819 018 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX5500

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAV-AX5500

Sony XAV-AX5500

Sony XAV-AX5500

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # XAV-AX5500

73 reviews
View this product

2015 Wrangler Install

Crutchfield customer from Hicksville, NY on 3/2/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony xav-ax5500 worked out great for me. Everything fit nicely in my 2015 Jeep Wrangler. A very professional appearing installation. The only issue I had was the optional metra axusb to minib usb cable did not work and so I cannot re-use the console usb for this application. This was not an issue for me because I really didn't use the console port anyway.

Pros: Clean install, bright display, fast boot up, flawless Apple CarPlay, good sound

Cons: Only I backup camera port

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Alamogordo, NM on 2/27/2021

2006 Lincoln Mark LT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed 2 weeks ago. So far it's great very responsive screen as others have said it doesn't have a lot of customization but that doesn't really matter to me. Cruchfield technical support is great. Will definitely buy from them again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, MD on 2/27/2021

2006 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and Output

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent choice

Crutchfield customer from West Milford, NJ on 2/19/2021

2016 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2installers recommended Sony and I am very happy with this unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Gold Canyon, AZ on 2/18/2021

2006 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds and looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product. Easy install.

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 2/13/2021

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Crutchfield always makes it easy. The receiver is exactly what we wanted and works great.

Pros: Easy user interface. Great features. Hardware was a perfect match to replace the old radio.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Ryan from Show Low, AZ on 2/13/2021

2004 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this unit. The boot up time is almost instant. It's actually faster than the OEM unit was. My vehicle has the factory bose system.it sounded good before, but now it sounds amazing. The screen is super responsive. No lagging. No bugs. Android auto works flawlessly. My only complaint is I wish it had a 3.5 aux port instead of a second usb port.

Pros: Boot up time. No lagging or bugs. Sound quality. Looks and feels OEM.

Cons: No 3.5 aux port.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 2/13/2021

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All is working great, strong tuner, easy to use, sounds great too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 2/6/2021

2003 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! I installed this in my 2003 Yukon, I haven't driven driven it much, but I'm going on a ski vacation next week. I'm not sure if I'm more excited about skiing or playing with my new Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty great head unit

Nick from Moses Lake, WA on 2/4/2021

2011 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this in my 2011 Toyota Avalon and really like this head unit. I bout separate harness to retain my backup camera with little help of YouTube and it works perfectly. Crutchfield makes it so easy to install, took me about 45 minutes to route my microphone, USB's, and connect backup camera. Updated firmware to the latest. So much more fun to drive now compare to stock unit. I wish I have done it sooner. Local shop wanted around $500 for installation. Did it myself with Crutchfield's harness and instructions, was pretty much plug and play. Thanks guys!

Pros: Sounds great Car play Custom wallpaper Clean layout Good quality screen Looking good

Cons: Didn't really find any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from New Rochelle, NY on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice screen

Crutchfield customer from Mount Morris, MI on 1/30/2021

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I wanted in a radio for my 2013 Silverado

Pros: Easy to install, many inputs/outputs. Large screen easier to see than my last radio.

Cons: The 2 USB ports are on the back. I got used to having one on the front of my old one. Not too big of a deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Swansea, IL on 1/30/2021

2019 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2019 Nissan Frontier and it fit perfectly. The features are exactly what I was looking for. Can't find a single complaint about it.

Pros: Features Quality Ease of install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great new receiver

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, NC on 1/26/2021

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to put in my 2010 Subaru Impreza. Has been a great upgrade. Primarily use for CarPlay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Michael from Coral Springs on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great unit. Very responsive touch screen . Nice bluetooth performance , calls are clear and audio sounds great. My only complaint is the USB 2 file limitations are frustrating. The USB 1 is much better equipped to handle audio files on my usb drive. That presents the problem, USB 1 is need for android auto. this requires to remove my usb drive to use android auto. Not to sure why the file restriction is on USB 2.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Fort Rucker, AL on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo! I've been using it now for over a week and very pleased with the intuitive layout of it. Very easy to navigate through the pages and the features are great. Already attached a rear view camera with no issues. The option to designate steering wheel control buttons is a welcomed feature so you can customize it to your liking

Pros: Intuitive layout of functions Aesthetics Sound quality

Cons: Haven't found one yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield + Sony = a great package!

Michael from Deer Park, NY on 1/13/2021

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a BOSS radio which we installed in my 2008 Wrangler and the screen failed after one use. Fortunately I didn't re-assemble the dashboard so it was a snap to remove and return. I called Crutchfield, one transfer to a tech guy who confirmed screen is dead. I decided to switch to this Sony AX5500 after a couple of suggestions from Crutchfield sales guy on phone, once I decided on it he said, 'no need to waste any more of your time, I'll take care of everything else from here. Have a good night.' That was it, ended call and everything was taken care of. Return postage emailed to me, replacement ordered and all necessary parts needed were shipped. In 48hrs replacement order arrived, took me and my son about 2 hrs to wire, solder, install and close up dashboard and its FANTASTIC! Much greater volume and depth that factory Infinity radio, Apple car play is an awesome addition and the fit is factory perfect. Added a dual port USB in place of the factory cigarette lighter with just the slightest of sanding needed. NOTE - connect a dual port USB to each USB wire in back of Sony radio; if you ever want to update firmware you must plug USB stick into EACH port! Important detail to know.

Pros: Crutchfield's factory integration. Sony sound and feature set and ease of install. Fit and finish.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Do no buy, many better options

Hunter from KINSTON, NC on 1/11/2021

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While Android Auto works with this unit, it has major issues. Android Auto will connect and will not play sound due to some issue with Bluetooth. It seems they try to connect simultaneously and this causes problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/13/2021
Hunter, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome headunit. I am coming from a 4 year old Excelon. This is my first time using Android Auto and Apple Car and it was a breeze. 5 volts pre-outs, 3 year warranty plus Crutchfield's legendary service, you can not beat that!

Pros: 5 volt Pre Outs, 3 year Warranty, price and Crutchfield Service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Had to hire a pro.

Crutchfield customer from Fridley, MN on 12/23/2020

2012 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the new gear. I don't like the installation instructions. They are far too general and the times I've tried to use them they have not been comprehensive enough to enable me to install the gear properly, and calling the tech support was not really helpful either. It's a great idea, but it needs to have the bugs worked out.

Pros: Good selection tools. Great gear

Cons: Installation instructions Tech support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Bay City, MI on 12/18/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 12/15/2020

2008 Acura MDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price. Volume. Much higher and crispier that the acura mdx alpine stock (which was great but died some weeks ago). Not a fan of weblink cause it has full access to YouTube which is scary. Set up is simple, it a simple unit but does the job pretty good.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Good things are wired like carplay.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Perryville, MO on 12/12/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit has been a major improvement over the factory radio in my '03 Chevy Silverado. I thought some of my speakers were possibly going bad as everything sounded terrible. Turns out it was the head unit. Now everything sounds really enjoyable. The responsiveness of the screen is pretty good, although not phone quality. The image quality is good. The options are easy enough to navigate and the physical buttons at the bottom are what I preferred over on screen buttons. Android auto is great when it doesn't randomly disconnect and restart. But that doesn't appear to be an issue with this head unit, instead a widespread android auto issue. The addition of the Audiovox backup camera was a simple install and was a great addition with this head unit. Crutchfield did what they're known for and sent me everything I would need to make this a simple plug and play install so kiddos to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best radio ever!

Crutchfield customer from Parlin, NJ on 12/11/2020

2014 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install, very good sound and love the apple CarPlay function. Was able to keep my steering wheel controls and video backup! Thanks Crutchfield! Called TS and they were so good at informing where I went wrong.

Pros: keep SW controls keep Backup video Better sound CarPlay!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't buy if you have an Android phone

Crutchfield customer from Aldie, VA on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The head unit is made of good quality material, including the screen. I like the physical buttons for volume and rwd/fwd. Controls are straightforward and setup was a breeze. Sounds much better than the stock unit. With the supplied harness and dash kit, it's a great fit for my F150. I reduced a star because updating firmware on it requires both USB ports, you have to start with one, unplug and connect to the other port to finish. I'm not using the second USB port so to update i would need to pull the head unit out to access it. I reduced a second star because android auto will not stay connected. It continuously shuts off and goes back to the home screen. Other cars with android auto available don't drop when connected to the same phone, running the save version of the app. Apple CarPlay works fine though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect in my B6 S4 - WAY better than OEM

Crutchfield customer from BURLINGTON, CT on 12/7/2020

2004 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to upgrade the Audi Bose Symphony II in my B6 S4. This unit makes the old OEM system sound like a crappy transistor radio. Pushes the new speakers cleanly and very firmly. I paired this with 4 Infinity Reference 6.5" speakers and four JL Audio tweeters (I didn't really need to install; left the factory sub and center speakers) and the sound fit is perfect. The upgrade is like night and day. Love this unit. I am more than happy with my choice and the results. FYI, plugging the phone in and using CarPlay is at least twice as nice in terms of sound and volume as using BT. BT is fine, but once you go car play, game over. Makes me want to listen to everything all over again.

Pros: Look super sharp and fits the interior of an Audi really well - looks factory nice; Easy to get to know and use the unit; Car Play works very well and seamlessly; Calls hookup with no trouble; Great quality of audio; Screen is sharp & clean.

Cons: When the sun is in your face, you can't see anything on the screen but the reflection (prob true of any screen); Confusing use of the function of the USB connections - but it all works; the buttons (only a few though) are white light so if you are obsessed with matching the red Audi lighting, it won't; WebLink is pretty useless (not a necessary upgrade in my opinion), but since you can get Google maps and so much more to work on CarPlay, just do that.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fits Wrangler TJ without modification

Christopher from Coppell, TX on 12/7/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy and straight forward installation on my 1997 Wrangler TJ. Easily the best advantage with the smaller rear portion of the unit is that there was no need to cut into the dash to make it fit. Units been pretty solid for the past few months I've been running it and would recommend it to others looking for a low profile install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love this stereo!

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 12/7/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo seems to work wonderful using BT, radio and Apple car play. The WebLink app is slow and cuts out a lot. BT audio features are basic and my stock stereo had more functionality and use of steering wheel menus.Over all I'm very happy with the upgrade. The sound is very good and no amp required for normal listening and even if you want to crank it up a little!

Pros: Nice display Lots of power Easy to use Clean sound

Cons: WebLink app slow and stalls during use!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Poplar Bluff, MO on 12/2/2020

2010 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is awesome stereo, the menu operation is very simple. Love the built in apps for maps and radio stations.

Pros: Easy installation and setup.

Cons: You have to bypass brake switch to use the maps.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Brandon from STILLWATER, MN on 11/22/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice improvement over the stock Delphi radio in my 2005 Chevy Silverado. With the Crutchfield pre-wired kit, the install was SUPER EASY! I took my time and ran the microphone through the headliner to the original location. I also added a backup camera which pairs nicely with the Sony unit. With the PAC RP5-GM11 Wiring Interface, be sure to check its' settings to make sure it matches your head unit. It honestly was a plug and play procedure. I needed to call tech support, and Robert was extremely helpful with all the small nagging questions I probably wouldn't have gotten answers had I not called. Overall, the process was a 10/10. I knocked 1 star off the Sony unit because of the 2 USB dongles, (only 1 extention provided) and the goofy firmware update procedure.

Pros: CRUTCHFIELD SUPPORT Crutchfield ReadyHarness

Cons: 2- USB dongles at the back of the head unit Goofy firmware update procedure

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Green Mountain Falls, CO on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is definitely an upgrade from the stock radio of a 17 Wrangler. Just installed it less than 24 hrs ago and I'm overwhelmed with how it sounds. Wonderful. I did the full accessories bundle as well as the wiring completed to make it plug and play. I've wired radios myself, many times, but didn't feel like doing it this go around. Man, well worth the $ to just have Crutchfield do the work. We shall see if anything changes over the next several days. But so far I'm happy that I finally pulled the trigger on this head unit I've been creeping on over the last year.

Pros: Hand free, retained factory steering controls, large screen, and great sound.

Cons: None at the moment.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Sharpsburg, GA on 10/29/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the radio, but the datalink has some glitches. It causes it to disconnect often or get a bad status sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Merced, CA on 10/24/2020

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a nice device! If you have a Toyota Corolla 2014 don't be hesitate to have this!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2005 Mustang Install - Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 10/23/2020

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system with plenty of features and power. Replace the stock unit with the recommended dash kit and wiring harness which simplified the project. I did have to revert to Youtube a couple times to get info on trim and factory radio disassembly, but nothing too difficult popped up during the install. This unit looks like it was factory and seriously modernized this 05 Mustang!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Purchase for my Honda Accord

TJ from Winston Salem, NC on 10/22/2020

2002 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never installed a touch screen inside of a vehicle before, so I was a little worried. Let me tell you, I am so glad I went forward with it. It has all the added features that I wanted including Apple Car Play, usb, Weblink, bluetooth, etc. The most important aspect that I have been looking for in a touchscreen was the ability to turn the screen off (brightness at night) and button controls that work with the screen off. This has that!! The second most important aspect that I wanted was to keep my steering wheel audio controls. Crutchfield provided the assistance for that with the steering wheel adaptor. The third most important aspect I wanted was easy install. Crutchfield also helped out with that by offering the ReadyHarness Service. That saved so much time and best of all, no splicing of wires required on my part!! I also need to mention that it my car a clean look This is one of the best car audio buys (if not the best) I have made. Thank you Crutchfield for assisting with the order and providing great recommendations!

Pros: Responsive screen Quick turn on Usb Weblink Blutooth Apple Car Play Can turn off the screen with ease

Cons: A few times, Weblink did not connect to audio.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 10/18/2020

2010 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this radio to replace the factory one in my 2010 GMC Yukon, nothing was wrong with the factory radio I just wanted some of the new features. I opted to get the wiring harness built by Crutchfield and it was worth every penny! The radio has a nice display and easily moves through each of the different media sources. The touch screen is bright and responsive. My initial negative thought about the radio not having a Sirius tuner has changed, I play it through the app on my phone and it works great. The Android Auto will only fully function when the radio is connect (wire) to the radio, the Bluetooth connection is solid. I would definitely consider this radio if I were looking to replace or upgrade an older radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Poplar Grove

Rodney from Poplar Grove on 10/14/2020

2008 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the function of this radio is far better than its competitors, i have 2 rockford amps and a 10 farad cap, and 2 subs the crutchfield wiring harness option was awesome,and the function of mirroring your phone image to screen is great, you will be glad you chose this unit.

Pros: crutchfield support, and wiring harness option, made install, easy and the backup camera i also purchased works flawlessly and picture is crystal clear.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy to use

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, AR on 10/13/2020

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Apple car play is quick and easy to use. Radio changes screens quickly and sounds way better than the stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Is good but I have few issues

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 10/11/2020

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give this unit 5 stars but there are few things I don't like. 1. The unit has two USB ports on the back one of them is for the phone to connect so in the box there is a usb extension to place te terminal at a convenience location. If you don't get a secondary extension on your own you need to take the radio out to perform a system upgrade. 2. I've experienced issues switching from calls to radio to audiobooks. Normally I have the map on the screen while listening to something. If a calk comes in sometimes the audio turns off in the middle of the call. Maybe a problem. With my installation don't know. I found Crutchfield personnel to be very courteous friendly and helpful of course they didn't design the unit. I can't understand why the phone can't be used to upgrade the firmware. Just a lazy design by someone who doesn't use it

Pros: Good sound, good price, nice features, easy to install (except for removing the car console and dashboard)

Cons: Firmware upgrade Few glitches in operation Poor mix sound when in call

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to use. Easy to install.

Crutchfield customer from Brainerd, MN on 10/8/2020

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit and super easy to install thanks to Crutchfield's awesome service. I replaced the basic IO3 radio in my 2016 GMC work truck and couldn't be happier. I use android auto and bought a factory backup camera. Everything plugged right in and works great. I lost the use of my 2.0 USB ports and AUX in located in my center console but put in two USB ports in the dash instead. I haven't really used the Weblink part of it yet and not really sure I will need it. You can screen mirror and watch YouTube videos with it (when parking brake is applied) so it's a nice feature for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit, easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Fredonia, NY on 10/8/2020

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the SONY XAV-AX5500 to replace the stock double-DIN unit in my '07 Pontiac Solstice, loved the car but hated the OEM radio/CD. I upgraded from the 5000 to the 5500 for a future AMP install because of the 5 volt pre-amp outputs it provides. The was an easy install because of the installation kit I paired with the unit. I also purchased the pre-made wiring harness kit for ease of install. I would highly recommend purchasing both options. Total install time was around 3 hours, an hour of which was for the BoyoVTL17ir back-up camera. I'm an Apple Car Play user so this unit really fit the bill. The sound quality using my factory speakers (soon to be replaced) is much improved. The Bass Boost and equalizer enhance the listening experience. The included microphone pairs well with the unit for phone calls. There's plenty of cable to reach just about anywhere you want to mount the microphone. The HDMI extension cable was long enough to easily reach my center console. The 7" screen really updates the look of the interior. I chose the red background to match the instrument panel.

Pros: Ease of install using the installation kit and the pre-made wiring harness. Buy both!

Cons: A little pricey but well worth it for the features it provides.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Unit

Oscar from Los Angeles, CA on 10/5/2020

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife didn't wanted a larger screen unit so she decide to try this unit. It fits perfectly where the older OEM navigation used to be and it look great. This unit brought life to the dashboard of our 12 yr old car. I definitely recommend this unit.

Pros: Very easy to use

Cons: Resolution could be a little better but for the price works great.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to use

Andre from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/30/2020

2014 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Clean installation!! Definitely worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Laggy, frustrating USB inputs

Dan from Oakland on 9/28/2020

2012 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to like this unit, but it has been frustrating from start to finish and I am going to return it for something else. The touchscreen does not begin to approach the, "smooth, smartphone-like" touch interface advertised. It is slow, laggy, and buggy to use via the touch interface. It's super easy to click the wrong thing by accident as you wait for the UI to catch up to your input. The sound is ok compared to my factory unit, but the "extra bass" feature sounds horrible, especially if you are running stock speakers. It's nice to have an EQ, but the (relatively high precision) sliders are horribly frustrating to use due to the aforementioned touch input delay. My two biggest gripes have to do with the USB2 input. I'm mostly speaking out of my rear here, but it seems like sony is running two separate systems for each of the USB inputs. USB-1 is relatively fast to support AA/CP, but USB2 seems to be have come the bargainest of bins. Issue one: to do a system update, you have to format a USB drive to FAT32 (weird), plug it into USB1, then swap it over to USB2 halfway through. Issue two: this unit is advertised as support a USB mass storage device, but USB2 is so awfully slow and under-resourced that it's effectively worthless. I tried a number of drives and the unit was only able to index about 1/3 of the folders on the drive. Once it was done indexing, the scrolling was so painfully slow that it's worthless. For almost $500, I just can't justify keeping this

Pros: Looks nice, sounds better than stock radio.

Cons: Laggy touch inputs. USB2 is worthless. Believe what you read about long USB cables. You need a shorter cable to use CP/AA. Without Aux input, I was counting on mass storage as a way to play music without an internet connection, but USB2 is just not up to the task.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500 unit

Crutchfield customer from Sonoma, CA on 9/25/2020

2005 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this unit is great. I have had it now for about three weeks and it's been working seamlessly. I installed this unit on a 2005 GMC Sierra with the Bose package. I highly recommend getting the PAC RP5-GM11 Wiring interface to help retain steering wheel controls as well as retaining car chimes. Overall a great unit, only gave it four stars as I feel it is overpriced. I would still recommend this unit.

Pros: CarPlay and Bluetooth works great! Very clear screen when backup camera was hooked up

Cons: I'm not entirely sure how to update the unit or even look for updates. I want to make sure the unit is always running on current software.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Impressive unit

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, MN on 9/25/2020

2006 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit. Touchscreen is a true touchscreen with zero glitches so far. Very easy to navigate through the features whether by touch or by the remote. Videos are crystal clear and sound is very good for the price.

Pros: Easy install and setup Nice compact remote Great sound Clear video

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Park City, UT on 9/21/2020

2011 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple interface, good sound. Only downside is not being able to balance cell phone call soundlevel with other inputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice

Crutchfield customer from Raven, VA on 9/20/2020

1999 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good head unit very simple to use and put in would recommend to any one

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 9/20/2020

2009 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Bought this to put in my daughter's 2009 Honda Accord and she is thrilled.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Derby, KS on 9/10/2020

2003 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit...looks great, easy installation, snappy with android auto :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500 is AMAZING

Chris from Glen Burnie, MD on 9/10/2020

2005 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this head unit for a personal custom install in my 05 Legacy GT. It fit the special order JDM Panel Set (including my digital climate control) perfectly. Might I add the color scheme also fit the set beautifully. I must say, I was hesitant to buy a Sony HU because I'm a huge fan of Kenwood and Alpine but this stereo blew me away. The touch screen is pristine and incredibly responsive. I love the dual USB connections I have as well. Apple CarPlay on this unit is where it's at. Adding custom wallpapers from a flash drive is a nice added feature. Startup is lightning quick, and Bluetooth connectivity is effortless. WebLink Cast is fun on this stereo. I love that I can mirror my phone to the screen. It's a nice added feature for a passenger to watch Netflix or some other streaming service during the longer road trips. All in all this is an excellent head unit. I'm impressed in regards to the quality and technology that Sony added to this system. Great deal on Crutchfield too. Will continue to make any future car audio purchases here!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great head unit from Sony

Crutchfield customer from Nesbit, MS on 9/7/2020

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have no complaints, really nice unit from Sony. All features work as stated and having Apple Car Play is a huge plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Joe

Crutchfield customer from Dunmore, PA on 9/7/2020

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new radio. I wanted something with Bluetooth, Apple CarPlay and touchscreen and this fit the bill. The sound it puts out is awesome! I have connected to Apple CarPlay and love how I can use navigation. I did order the ready harness from Crutchfield and believe me it was money well spent. I was able to install from start to finish in about 1 hour. I also ordered the Metra Dash kit which finished it off.

Pros: Sounds great and I was able to upload a photo for wallpaper

Cons: I wish it came with two usb extension cables instead of one, after installing it I only left one extension cable exposed for CarPlay but to update software you have to use both USB's which doesn't make sense to me.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Chatsworth, CA on 9/7/2020

2011 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the screen .

Pros: Touch screen is fast to the touch.

Cons: The screen could've been bigger for the price.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

T

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, MA on 9/7/2020

2004 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As expected, works well

Pros: Turns on fast and Apple play beautifully

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Tazewell, TN on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install love it great sound may get better speakers later 18 presets great radio booster picking up channels I never could before easy to navigate and find stuff I added SiriusXM only con is usb cable's in rear later I'll move to front would recommend

Pros: Everything works great improved sound easy to navigate and setup

Cons: USB cables in rear

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

CHRISTOPHER from Colonial Hgts, VA on 9/4/2020

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, quick shipment, has everything I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/4/2020

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony hit this out of the park...really incredible sound and Apple CarPlay is a dream. Love this product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice unit with nice features

Crutchfield customer from Kannapolis, NC on 8/31/2020

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the features. Phone connection is easy. The sound is great, better than the Delco this replaced. Use is intuitive. It looks really good in my 2011 Sierra, the install kit gives it a professional fit and finish. The screen resolution is nice on the backup camera I installed. I would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, TN on 8/30/2020

2013 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit easy to control

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I'd give it a B+

Charlie from Milton, VT on 8/26/2020

1995 Toyota Supra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After doing a ton of research I decided to buy this for my 95 Supra. It is simple and intuitive to use. It sounds great. The touch screen is very responsive. I opted for the 5500 vs 7000 as I read the anti-glare screen on the 7000 makes the touchscreen more difficult. I figured if glare is bad I could try various aftermarket anti-glare screen protectors. Android Auto seems to work well, same with bluetooth audio. I bought an Anker Powerline + II USB C cable for my phone as I read not all cables are created equal. I'm not using the usb extension cable that came with the deck. I run a 6' Anker to my center console for my phone. I'm running an aftermarket usb cable with a built in faceplate for the memory stick. The webcast does work. The screen seems a little grainy though when using it. Maybe its the app or my phone. I like that I can turn the monitor and button lights off while driving. It does take 2 button presses to do. Then touch the screen an it's active again. I wish the screen would turn back off after X seconds of inactivity. The buttons light up white which is what I want. I could see making them changeable would benefit others. The screen also allows you to upload a background image which is good. The front corners are also very square. On my supra the opening for the stereo has corners that are much more rounded and this doesn't fit as clean as I would like. It also stuck out too far initially but I got it to sit more flush by m

Pros: Can turn off monitor and button lights Sounds good Touchscreen is great and very responsive shows cell phone signal and battery life

Cons: -Can't have it auto turn off screen after X seconds of activity -firmware update had me swap the usb stick back and forth between USB inputs part way through install. Good thing I made both accessible. - Button colors only white - Corners of screen aren't rounded as much as I'd like (ie avx-1000 was perfect) - Only 1 RCA output for sub. Had to buy a splitter - Power antenna signals when radio has power vs when radio in AM/FM mode. - Can's rearrange icons on main screen. have t

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Shayne from Louisville, KY on 8/24/2020

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for my GMC work truck to have access to hands free phone as well as android auto especially for navigation. Installed easily and is a nice looking unit. Doesn't have all of the color change abilities of other brands, but has a clean look and is easy to operate and navigate. Crutchfield provided all the right parts and a bit of tech support for an easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid Unit for Stock-like Replacement

STEVEN from VESTAVIA, AL on 8/23/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased for my 2011 Tundra while adding a back-up camera. The unit is solid and very responsive to touch, the main reason I went with this one over some others that were cheaper. Sony's interface is pretty no non-sense so if you're after some extreme amount of settings or screen widgets you won't find them here. I was looking for something as close to stock as possible and I believe this fits the bill nicely. Buttons on front are nice and not cheap feeling, FYI the back-up camera has lines already so no need to buy a camera that has them built-in.

Pros: Quality construction, responsive screen, very minimalistic that feels like it was built-in from factory.

Cons: Could have some more menu options, animation of volume control and other controls could be a little more polished.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Amelia Ct Hse, VA on 8/22/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is awesome! Fit into my 2011 Tacoma perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SONY XAV AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 8/13/2020

2010 Pontiac G6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this Sony to replace a less than stellar Pioneer head unit. I had another XAV series radio in another car, and I loved it. This unit is blazing fast, and is not overloaded with features. It's just the basics, and that's what makes it perfect. My only issue is that the unit will not always recognize my iPhone 11 when I first plug it in. I have to unplug and reconnect for CarPlay to start working. All in all, amazing display, features, and operation.

Pros: CarPlay, amp pre-outs, capacitive touch screen, subwoofer level adjustment, phone audio level adjustment.

Cons: CarPlay doesn't always connect on the first try.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Kent, OH on 8/10/2020

2006 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with Apple CarPlay. I would suggest lining the cavity in the dash opening with thin sheets of foam. That eliminated the rattling noises from the wiring harness ,steering control connector and the usb connector. It is a truly great radio for the price and install was pretty easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great screen!

Joe from Elk Grove, CA on 8/8/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always had good experience with Sony products so the new XAV-AX5500 was on my short list. The screen is bright and responds to swipes and presses immediately. It feels like i'm using my iPhone. Image and video quality are great and up to Sony's standards. The install was really easy and I had a ton of room behind the screen. Though it's a full screen the chassis is only single DIN. This leaves plenty of room behind the radio for the wiring harness, steering wheel adapter, RCA's etc... I extended the two USB ports to buttons I added in my center console where I previously had blanks. There are no issues with CarPlay or charging using this extension) The sound quality is an improvement over the factory 15-year old radio in my truck. Bluetooth and CarPlay work great, there's a setting for extra bass, an EQ, and more. This unit also has three 5V preamp outputs, which is improvement on the XAV-AX5000. Also and improvement, is the 3-year warranty, which appears to be best in the industry. I doubt I will need it, but it's nice having the added peace of mind. TL:DR This unit is great and I highly recommend it

Pros: + Great screen + Single DIN chassis + 3-year warranty

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 8/2/2020

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MS on 7/27/2020

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LOVE THIS HEAD UNIT. Its so simple and easy to use. The install could not have been easier. Sound quality is great. Apple Car Play works great as well. i would definitely recommend this to anyone looking in this price range. The pioneer and alpine equivalents do not have an easy to use and easy to the eye interface. the higher voltage preouts are also a huge plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Choctaw, OK on 7/26/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this has been a great radio. Android auto is really nice. The display is clean, crisp and easy to see even in direct sunlight. The only things that would have made this nicer are HD radio and wireless android auto.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent radio needs some Apple integration work

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 7/18/2020

2007 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, a fairly decent radio. It's a little quirky finding CarPlay. I find I have to unplug and reinsert the lightening cable to get it to recognize the phone sometimes. Sony needs to work on the voice command button to invoke Siri. It only works when the iPhone is plugged in. I had a Pioneer unit that would invoke Siri over Bluetooth.

Pros: Clear display Good sound Simple layout

Cons: Phone has to be plugged in to invoke Siri

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX5500

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 7/14/2020

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent functionality, quick start up. CarPlay works without a hitch on my iPhone 11Max,

Pros: Simple and easy to use

Cons: This may be problem specific to the Mr2 Spyder, but I found the equalizer did little to improve sibilance (tweeters are at chest level but woofers lower in the door), less harsh on my prior pioneer unit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP