Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
240 999 65
Connect ID #
240 999 65
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-AX8100

Digital multimedia receiver

MFR # XAV-AX8100

Sony XAV-AX8100

Sony XAV-AX8100

Digital multimedia receiver

MFR # XAV-AX8100

50 reviews
View this product

Sony XAV-AX8100

Pablo from San Marcos, CA on 7/25/2022

1994 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Thomas from Winchester, VA on 7/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glare and low brightness make the screen difficult to read. These issues could be addressed if the screen could be slightly tilted to the user and the brightness increased. I'm looking forward to the day when receivers have OLED or similar screens as today's phones and tablets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2008 Lincoln MKZ

Legin from Keaau, HI on 7/5/2022

2008 Lincoln MKZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wow!!! this thing really woke up the infinity speakers I previously replaced from Crutchfield. I originally thought I would add an amp, but this Sony has my speakers playing loud and clear! for me a sub is all I need to complete this system!

Pros: nice built in power! great warranty!

Cons: a little over priced for the tech, but it is where were at right now!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need to return this

Daniel R from VENTURA, CA on 6/12/2022

2008 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Less than two months after installing this, the sound cut out completely one day. Restarting the car fixed it. Two days later the screen started "glitching", vertical white stripes appeared on the screen. It looked like a broken computer screen, however, restarting the car reset the screen. In both cases restarting the unit itself did not solve the problems. Only after cutting current completely did the problem go away. Obviously something is wrong with the internals. How do I request a replacement?

Pros: Great design and sound, when it works.

Cons: Faulty hardware or software.

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2022
Daniel contacted our Tech Support specialist, Kali, and sent Daniel a replacement right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony xav-8100

Benni from New Castle, PA on 5/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for a great head unit that has a lot of awesome options you're better off getting the - version with the resistive touchscreen. The screen on this unit is terrible. It's terrible because you can't see it during the day and it shows fingerprints like crazy. If I hadn't spent so much to have it installed I would send mine back. The double din indash model is way better than this floating screen. Dont wast your money. Plus my Apple CarPlay does not want to work without plugging in phone repeatedly.

Pros: Looks nice. Great sound. 5 volt pre outs. 10 band eq.

Cons: Price, screen sucks in daylight. Attracts fingerprints like crazy.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Rodney from PANAMA CITY, FL on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great Looks great Easy to install Easy to read and use the display/touchscreen

Pros: 5-channel pre-out 10 band eq

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Paul from Albuquerque, NM on 5/23/2022

2016 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, the only thing(s) I would mark this down for are. 1. You don't get Sirius station icons with the Sirius add on. 2. It's very heavy on bass when you start it up so make sure you change the EQ if you're not into it.

Pros: Easy, custom install, big screen

Cons: No wireless airplay, no Sirius station icons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not perfect, but good...

Kyle from Fort Myers, FL on 5/18/2022

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start by saying this is the first time ever purchasing an aftermarket receiver, so I didn't really have expectations. I wanted something with decent power to move the new door/dash speakers and provide Apple CarPlay in my 2018 Tacoma. Those 2 things, it does very well. However... it's kinda boring, which is good and bad. It's very simple and easy to use, which is a plus, but the downside is there isn't much for personalization... No moving apps/icons around. Another negative is the "anti-glare" screen. It does provide direct glare protection BUT when light hits the screen directly, it gets very cloudy and drowns out the screen, which is no better than a reflection to me. It's pretty hard to see unless you block the light with your hand. The last negative is the fact that the factory USB port was impossible to retain. I tried every cable and adapter possible to route behind the receiver to the in-dash USB port and every one gave me an error code saying "USB over current". I'm not sure if that's the receiver itself but I do know the only way I could get the USB to work is by plugging an Apple cord directly into the screen and letting it hang down to my center console (very annoying). At the end of the day, it does exactly what I wanted it to do. I'm pretty bummed about losing the USB port, since I wanted to keep as many factory features as possible but I can find a work-around. If you have dark tint and don't mind possibly losing the factory USB, I recommend

Pros: Good sound / Apple CarPlay is perfect / Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Carl from Grand Meadow, MN on 5/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect connectivity!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bring back the Headphone Jack

Carter from Shingle Springs, CA on 5/12/2022

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it so far it sounds deep, is built really solid, I just wish it had a headphone Jackson I didn't have to have so many charging cables in my car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Marc from Everett, WA on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Does everything I wanted and more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Way too bright at night!

Daniel from Poplarville on 4/25/2022

2012 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just about everything is awful. Way too bright at night and not bright enough during the day. Can't use navigation apps at night because of how overpowering the brightness is even on its lowest setting. Picture quality is pretty poor. Also not remotely impressed with sound quality. 10-10 wish I never bought it.

Pros: HDMI port and that's it.

Cons: Screen is way too bright at night and not bright enough on sunny days. Screen glares bad. Poor screen quality. Not impressed with the audio either.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Night and day from my stock unit

David from Pataskala, OH on 4/24/2022

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2013 4runner. It is basically the same truck as the newer ones minus the tech. I originally tried replacing the stock unit with a "T10" from a never heard of Cartrimhome which was shipped directly from China. I shipped it directly back after having sound issues with it but I would have kept it if it didn't. This unit is a better replacement for what I need. It just works. I bought all of the recommended parts for the truck and it was basically plug and play (you have to adjust the switches on the harness to get the steering wheel and backup camera working). I have been using it daily and I have now noticed that Carplay is a little laggy but it has never crashed (I have updated the firmware to the latest 1.31v). Now it's time to replace the 10 year old speakers!

Pros: Big screen, carplay, sound, style

Cons: Carplay is a bit laggy, non-carplay use is limited

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Bonfils from Yonkers, NY on 4/15/2022

2014 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smooth sailing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love sony

Hector from Yorkville, IL on 4/15/2022

2015 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great screen sounds great!!! I opted for the ready harness and it was totally worth it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Wesley from Grundy, VA on 4/13/2022

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got it installed but so far i love it. Apple car play works great so far. Bluetooth connection also works perfectly so far. I have not tried the hdmi connection yet because i had to order a lightening connector. I thought i could connect iphone to hdmi with cord for iphone connection to hdmi but have learned i will need lightening connector.

Pros: Screen size, looks great, screen picture, very fast start up, apple carplay, controls easy to access.

Cons: Adjustments require removal/loosening of screws, not wireless carplay, volume knob may be better than push buttons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Sean from Redmond, WA on 4/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Screen quality under sunshine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Brian from Indian Trail, NC on 4/5/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product and fit perfectly. The prewire and installation kit worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Upgrade

Teddy from Bowdon, GA on 4/4/2022

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from stock radio. Great sound and features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Victoria, TX on 3/20/2022

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My factory radio system on my 2015 Tundra went out 2 years ago. I finally decided to replace it with a high quality unit. After much searching I decided to purchase this unit. After I completed the installation I powered the unit up. Wow !!!!!! The unit made my stock speakers sound great, definitely an improvement over my factory unit. The screen is large, almost 9" and well layed out. This unit exceeded my expectations. The hands free calling was superb, the voice was crisp and clear, a big improvement from the old unit. I had to reach out to the folks at Crutchfield for information on some of the wiring harnesses and they always were eager to help me, sometimes staying on the phone for 30 minutes. If the rating system offered 10 for a level I would have given it a 10. More than happy with this purchase/product. Would definitely recommend this unit for a replacement or upgrade.

Pros: Excellent sound, good price point, fit my opening well

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best Carplay Unit I have owned

Daniel from Placentia, CA on 3/7/2022

2008 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for my Toyota. Ready harness service made the install much easier and I'm glad I purchased the 8100 vs the 5500 as the bigger screen size and screen adjustment on the 8100 is awesome.

Pros: -Screen size -HDMI port -Screen adjustment options

Cons: -Screen brightness could be better in bright light.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Richard from Morriston, FL on 3/4/2022

2021 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The head unit itself sounds great. For the amount of money I was hoping for more volume and speaker control. It's definitely an upgrade over the stock stereo but leaves a little to be desired.

Pros: Good sound quality and fit well in my car.

Cons: Limited options for sound quality and speaker control.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Chris from Greenwood, IN on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice unit. Love the large screen and the Android Auto works very well with my phone. My only "con" would be the location of the USB input. Its on the back of the screen, and in my application it would be better if it were on the back of the unit inside the dash. That would allow me to hide the cable going to my phone inside the little cubby where my phone rides.

Pros: large screen, east to use, sounds good.

Cons: poor location of USB input

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Peter from Rome, NY on 3/1/2022

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great screen real estate and excellent picture when mirroring from your phone. Seamless integration into system and great picture when mirroring!

Pros: Easy install Huge Screen Great Fetures

Cons: CarPlay a little laggy even after Firmware Update Screen is a magnet for fingerprints if that annoys you

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good! But not perfect.

Scott from New Waverly, TX on 2/23/2022

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield kit made installation a breeze. My only complaints are; 1. The screen auto dim feature at night is still quite bright, 2. The apple carplay doesn't connect to my phone sometimes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Decent HU

Matt from Canton, OH on 2/8/2022

2021 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Here's my review after 7 months of use. I prefer the sound quality of Pioneer HU's over this Sony, but the Sony isn't bad. Only reason I changed over from Pioneer is because of reliability issues I've had with them. I had 2 units die just outside of the 1 year warranty. Then I decided to try them 1 more time with the DMHWC6600NEX because of that beautiful 9" display. Well, that HU was full of issues right out of the box and I returned it after a few short days of fighting with it. Went with this Sony mainly because of the 3 year warranty and Sony's exceptional warranty service. Also, because it was one of the very few units in stock at the time of purchase. Here are the pros from my experience. It's a quality made unit and it's been reliable (so far). It's very quick to boot up and the screen is highly responsive to the touch. I'm a big fan of Android Auto and my Samsung S20 FE has worked flawlessly with this HU. With the Pioneer's, AA would crash quite often. Sometimes requiring deleting and pairing of the phone again. As far as cons go, the display is kinda pathetic in this price range. Not terrible, but come on Sony. Look at what the competition is offering for less money. I really wish it had more sound tweaking options. No time alignment or seating position tweaks. Basic 10 band EQ. I think the "Extra bass" sounds bad. I don't feel you're getting your moneys worth as far as options, but the unit has worked flawlessly since I installed it.

Pros: Has always worked flawlessly after 7 months of daily use. Fast boot. Highly responsive touch screen. 3 year warranty.

Cons: Price. Screen resolution. Lack of sound tweaking options. "Extra Bass" feature sounds bad to me. Not a fan of the floating screen look.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Lake Oswego, OR on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very intuitive interface and I didn't know how bad the sound was in my Mercedes until I installed this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but not Great

Crutchfield customer from Sneads Ferry, NC on 12/15/2021

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think Sony did a decent job with this head unit. I say decent because you are NOT getting a lot of features for the price point. The display is a resistive touch rather than a capacitive touch. It is not an HD display and only has one camera input. The display also does not get dim enough for my liking at night, it does have a feature where you can turn off the display and still have the unit working, no problem if you're not using navigation. The included steering wheels control does not come with instructions and does not work. This unit should have wireless Carplay. Now for the good stuff, it creates amazing sound. I have not yet installed my speakers, and yet, it makes my factory speakers sound great. The mounting is rock solid, some will complain about the inability to angle the display. The UI is simple, which I appreciate since I am not trying to deal with it while driving. Carplay works great. It looks great in the truck, almost factory. I choose this unit over an android one because I wanted better sound rather than features. I also enjoy the 3-year warranty. This is a good option if you want a large display with great sound and straightforward use.

Pros: Great Sound, Looks Good and Incredible Mounting

Cons: Expensive for what you're not getting.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Nice unit

Crutchfield customer from Lithonia, GA on 12/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo, better than I expected in my Freightliner semi truck, perfect fit and plays well.

Pros: Perfect fit nice sound

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Knocked it out of the park!!

Crutchfield customer from Burleson, TX on 12/4/2021

2015 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio far exceeded my expectations. The performance is unmatched from anything I have ever owned, and I have owned high end Kenwood and Alpine products. I highly recommend this product. It is definitely worth the money in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish the screen was in HD and that there was a way to control the size of the Icons - screen a little hard to see in direct sunlight

Pros: Great features (am/fm and XM Radio, backup camera, CarPlay, sound controls, etc)

Cons: Non Hd screen

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 11/23/2021

2006 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck. Gives me the ability to completely modernize and older car. Couldn't be happier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great option for tight spaces

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, NY on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent improvement over the very dated 1st gen Ford Sync system in my 2015 Fiesta. The floating screen is a great option for cars like mine that must use a single din radio because of a non-standard dash. First one had a display connection problem but Crutchfield shipped a replacement without waiting for the defective one. Glare from side windows is an issue. The anti-glare coating helps but doesn't completely eliminate it. I also wish the scrolling on menus and in CarPlay was more responsive. Sometimes you can select the wrong function or open the wrong app. Maybe a firmware update will fix it.

Pros: Big screen, CarPlay

Cons: Anti-glare coating not 100% effective. Menu, UI response a bit laggy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice!!

Muhammad from Fall City on 11/21/2021

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is everything I need in a stereo! Screen could be as littler sharper but overall I love it! Easy to use, user-friendly and the layout is perfect. With the Crutchfield ReadyHarness installation was made simple.

Pros: Everything works perfectly

Cons: Screen could be a tad better but at this price point it is perfect.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value from a reputable brand

Frank from Tamuning, GU on 9/14/2021

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is exactly what I was looking for! It does everything I need it to do and more without spending 1k+. The amount of adjustments you can do to the screen is perfect if you need to ensure that your AC vents aren't blocked (which was a need or else my wife would've told me to return it haha). The install was easy and looks great in my 4Runner! I'm glad I purchased it when I did and from Crutchfield because the Team is great!!

Pros: Easy install Great value Apple CarPlay Android Auto 9 inch floating screen Multiple adjustments

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jeep Wrangler none Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Assonet, MA on 8/9/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2017 Jeep Smoky Mountain none Alpine. Talk to the people at Crutchfield on some of the wiring easy. Just a great bunch at Crutchfield. So on the radio I also installed the Alpine backup camera. Super easy on this model to do. I like how you can adjust the angle and the up and down height and the mounting kit for the looks factory. And the Email instructions shows ever thing.

Pros: Easy radio the use. This radio is made to mirror our phone.

Cons: I would of like to have one more adjusting angle. But looking at the way it made I see why.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from New Market, MD on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So i am comparing this to the Jensen CAR8000 since i ended up with this after trying the Jensen. Nothing against the Jensen, it was 5 stars for the price. The Jensen had a larger, more detailed screen than the Sony (also better touch to the screen), but had a lot of glare - not so on the Sony. The FM is meh considering the specs say it should be way better than the Jensen. Android Auto (my main focus) is top-notch. Sound is outstanding and the 20 watts on the Sony makes a huge difference as does the 10 band EQ (with 32hz). Mounting screws on both were a pain, but that is because of my dash. 4 Stars is for price. Its a great radio, but the price is high for what you are getting. The ability to adjust the EQ any time via the option button is great. Haven't used the HDMI (honestly, i liked the DVD on the Jensen along with the volume knob.) Auto-dimming is an issue - i find since it is not in the dash (but above) i need full brightness during the day and have to set to auto at night. Or else is doesn't go to full brightness during the day. Brightness had to be adjusted on the Jensen a lot also (too bright at night without changing). So they both have issues there. Having the RCAs on the back of the Sony is a huge plus over the bundle of wires hanging out of the back of the Jensen. This is running Polk MM 6x9s along with the rest of the stock dash/rear Sienna speakers. An NVX amp is connected putting 760 watts RMS to Alpine S 12" which sounds great for a minivan

Pros: Sound is phenomenal, great EQ, great power, since is single DIN i get an extra pocket in my dash.

Cons: FM is weak compared to stock Sienna radio. (Wife still listens to FM despite having the apps on Android Auto. So do i if my phone is not connected.) Screen resolution, touch and dimming could all be better. Only 1 USB input! I like having the ability to switch between my phone or if its not connected having all my music on USB without having to find it and plug it in. At this cost, there is no reason to have both. (The Jensen had 2 USB AND MicroSD, but would not play AAC files-long story!)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 7/28/2021

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this radio in my 2015 F250 and it sounds great. Big improvement over the stock radio. Installed Kenwood speakers also. Having Android Auto is awesome. Didn't see the parking brake at first, so just connected that wire to the ground.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Joseph from Jefferson Ga on 7/27/2021

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 94 Ford f150. This is a very nice unit for the price and everything worksgreat so far.. Very simple to operate and would recommend it .. Screen is not easily visible in really bright sun, even with tinted windows..

Pros: Price,and very user friendly

Cons: Glare on screen in sun light, but this seems to be with all aftermarket units..

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound, look and feel. It brought my 2008 to 2021. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK, not great

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 7/26/2021

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony XAV-AX8100 is OK as far as car stereos go, but it's another one of those things where you have to wonder whether anyone at Sony actually uses their own product. See my Pros and Cons for details but the short version is I would not buy this unit again.

Pros: 1. HDMI input is nice. 2. Touch screen is responsive

Cons: 1. Screen is dim and it's not adjustable. 2. The anti-glare screen washes everything out. A glass screen like on any cellphone would be far better. 3. Only one USB port. If you use Carplay it requires USB which means no playing media from a thumb drive. 4. The home screen icons cannot be customized. 5. Hitting the 'Next' button on the steering wheel makes SiriusXM go to the next station, not the next present, making it fairly unusable. I was told this was a Sony thing and not change

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

If you have an iphone, dont buy this

Chris from Ft Mitchell, KY on 7/22/2021

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought this unit to replace a Sony AX-100 because the AX-100 stopped working properly with my iPhone. I just bought the latest iPhone and before that, I had an iPhone 6 that worked fine with the stereo. The symptoms were that sometimes the AX-100 wouldn't connect CarPlay, I had to unplug the USB and plug it back in several times. Once it started working, it would intermittently stop working. Sometimes after 5 minutes, sometimes not for an hour or more.I already had the latest firmware from Sony, so I tried some iPhone troubleshooting steps that I found online and could not fix the issue. I chalked it up to my stereo being too old and my iPhone too new. So I bought this stereo. What a mistake. For starters, I have a 2010 Silverado, and this stereo sticks way too far out from the dash. Like ridiculously far. It interferes with the gear selector on the steering column when putting the truck in drive. I can get around that by moving my hand position, but it is annoying to say the least. The worst part though, is that this stereo is showing the exact same symptoms as the AX-100. I have to plug the USB cable in multiple times before CarPlay will come up. It's not my charging cable either because the phone starts charging every time, but the radio just sits there and acts like nothing is plugged in. I'm extremely disappointed in this product. I'm debating returning it and just buying a normal DIN radio with Bluetooth. CarPlay is great but not

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Love the screen

Campbell from MECHANICSVILLE, VA on 7/21/2021

1994 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio I like the big screen but was hesitant about blocking the reminder of the dash but worked ok. Difficult to get all set screws due to proximity of screen to control panel So far so good though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stereo Head Unit Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Saint Michaels, MD on 7/19/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think it looks pretty good, easy install..great price...its was the best upgrade solution for what I was looking for. Installed in a Jeep Wrangler 2012

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations

Crutchfield customer from Mandeville, LA on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been into car audio since I was a teenager. Radios, amps, subs, I've lost count on how many car audio set ups I have had. This Sony head unit exceeded my expectations. By far, it is the best head unit I have ever had. If you are on the fence with this one, jump! You will not regret it.

Pros: Very intuitive. Easy to install. Best hands free / Bluetooth sound I have experienced.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from West Hollywood, CA on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great !! Very easy to use!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

It's like a whole new car again...

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When my wife and I started getting the "itch" to shop for a new kiddie hauler, we quickly realized that we were both drawn to the tech in these new vehicles more than the other amenities that they offered. We have a 2011 Toyota Sienna SE. We had an aftermarket Kenwood DNX6990HD in there already but it lacked Apple Carplay and was clucky with Bluetooth at times. This Sony XAV-AX8100 breathed new life into our minivan. The added output power made the stock speakers come to life. The Apple Carplay was fast and responsive. The bootup time of the radio was nearly immediate. There are no in-depth customization features in this radio so if you are looking to build a competition system with deep customization options look elsewhere. However, this unit is leagues above just being "average" in performance. The screen is snappy and responsive. The display is sharp. I haven't hooked up my reverse camera to this yet or tried the HDMI port as I just installed it last night with the excellent support from Crutchfield. I sat in the van for over an hour just enjoying the clarity of this system over our previous radio. This is wired CarPlay/Android Auto but it wasn't a dealbreaker for me as it also charges the phone while in use. I'm using the Axxess adaptor to retain steering controls. NOTE: Sony offers a mono subwoofer out so you'll need a mono-to-stereo adaptor if you're connecting an amp or powered subwoofer. All-in-all this was an excellent and affordable option for our family.

Pros:  Easy to install  Extremely adjustable floating panel for positioning the screen perfectly  Fast bootup time  Excellent power output  Responsive display  HDMI port is on the bottom of the head unit - not behind it  PRICE  Did I say PRICE already?

Cons: Very minor cons:  Mono sub out - needs an adapter  Not many wallpapers on-board (can upload your own though)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Peck, KS on 7/12/2021

2012 Dodge Truck 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the head unit, the only thing I wish was different is the screen brightness. When wearing sunglasses it's especially difficult to see the screen clearly. Otherwise it's a great upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 7/10/2021

1986 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Todo bien

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Sony XAV-AX8100

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 7/10/2021

2014 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit, screen size is the perfect in between size - large enough to read easily, but not so big that it dominates the dash. Sony's software is straightforward and clean, and Android Auto (my primary use) works very well. Touchscreen is very responsive, particularly for a resistive screen. I've removed one star for the lack of screen brightness - it matters only in direct sunlight.

Pros: Screen size, software, physical buttons

Cons: Dim screen, single USB

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound