Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
399 591 75
Connect ID #
399 591 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XAV-9500ES

Mobile ES Series digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # XAV-9500ES

Sony XAV-9500ES

Sony XAV-9500ES

Mobile ES Series digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # XAV-9500ES

34 reviews
View this product

Sony XAV-9500ES

Blake from Fairhope, AL on 8/1/2022

1989 Volkswagen Vanagon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic unit. Made my existing speakers sound way better.

Pros: Easy install, giant screen in old Volkswagen vanagon.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Chris from Caryville, TN on 7/22/2022

2009 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound and performance! This is the most incredible touchscreen stereo I've ever used. The capacitive HD display is beautiful and responsive. It feels like using an iPad, yeah that kinda fast. Wireless CarPlay is straight up magical, no wires needed! Get in and a moment later your music is playing without the need to even pull your phone out of your pocket. The sound is very clean, 5v pre-outs and DAC blow my 5 year old Pioneer sph-da120 away. To save a couple hundred dollars I bought a scratch and dent, but couldn't find a flaw anywhere. If your looking for something for multimedia use, this isn't the head unit for you, as there are no hdmi inputs. A recent firmware upgrade will allow you to play video files through the usb c port.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay, capacitive touch screen is fast, great sound quality, interface is fast and easy to use. 3 camera inputs with triggers.

Cons: I haven't found one yet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Jeremiah from CHARLOTTE, NC on 7/7/2022

2018 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this radio/multi media unit. The sound is so much better than the factory unit with the same factory speakers. There was almost nothing to the configuration and it was easy to use. I wish that Sony had made this unit adjustable on the fly instead of having screws in the tilt adjustment and if they made a unit specifically to fit in the Silverado/Sierra DIN slot where the factory radio resides but that's not relevant to this unit really. I just hate cutting on my truck. Also Android auto is laggy but from my research, it looks like it's an AA bug not a head unit issue.

Pros: Large screen, nice feel, easy to use, great sound from the factory speakers.

Cons: Cannot adjust floating screen easily (though it shouldn't need to be adjusted on the fly). Had a lot of issues trying to do firmware update through USB tethering. Had to update via USB drive (which I should have done anyway, but I thought it's be cool to do it over wireless. It didn't work)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony ES

Shawn from miami on 4/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This headunit is Unbelievable, upgraded from the Sony Xav8100 and the Pioneer NEX series. This is by far the best and fastest headunit i have ever owned. I'm in love with the speeds, the best part is the clarity, it is much better than the others i've had. Tuned to perfection! Highly recommend this headunit. The price is just right for the clarity and Quality you get.

Pros: IN LOVE with ES series

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Nice radio

Ibrahim from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 4/22/2022

2017 Kia Rio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it . The screen incredibly clear and the high res audio quality is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Omar from Novi, MI on 4/21/2022

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice looking an elegant unit by Sony..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lacking and frustrating

Dylan from Chicago,IL on 4/18/2022

2012 Nissan Rogue S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always used Sony units for the simplicity of the screen and the audio quality. I wish I would have went with the pioneer, I will definitely be swapping over. Updating software has been a nightmare and only worked once. The audio lags so I can't watch any videos on my phone while connected CarPlay has refused to connect at least 10 times no matter if I restart my phone or car. No HD radio , I feel like at least HD radio is pretty standard for a higher end unit but I guess not. No HDMI in definitely is a waste of screen space without Screen completely froze twice No pause button, not even an option for the programmable buttons.

Pros: Simple Home Screen layout

Cons: No pause button Connectivity issues Software issues No HDMI or HD radio Audio Lag

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 9 found this helpful

Looks fantastic

Xavier from Kearny nj on 4/5/2022

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really happy with this deck Looks great and sounds great

Pros: It has a beautiful look Everyone says wow that's nice The sounds is exceptional

Cons: No music videos or any other videos No internet engine And a glitch. When ever is very cold meaning around 20*F or less the unit glitches for about 3 to 5 minutes or until it warms up

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Chore to use

brandon from Dickson, TN on 4/3/2022

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality was good over the factory system in my truck. I knew this radio was going to have major GUI & feature limitations before I ordered it but because Crutchfield is awesome and their use it for 60 days love it or return it a policy. I thought I would try it and get used to it. Well, I did not and it only made it easier to get it out of my truck and send it back when an RCA plug went bad on me and had to take the radio out anyways. If you were only going to use it for Android Auto or car play I do say it has a nice display on it. But that is where it ends and also after installing another brand of radio I don't even think this unit's sound quality is even that good, but I guess that's up to the user. My biggest issue is all the wasted space on this beautiful screen and needing to click 5 times just to do anything. I give it 3 stars only because it may fit some people's needs and the pros below.

Pros: -Beautiful Screen -3 camera inputs -3-year warranty -Awesome screen mounting to the main unit (better than my replacement unit)

Cons: -User interface lacking -Wasted screen (lots of places for shortcuts or that information could be Displayed. -Not many features compared to other units in this price range -Backup Camera video lag (it does not on my replacement unit) -Sound quality is not as good for me as my replacement unit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Jeremy from Fairview, OR on 4/3/2022

2018 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome response, easy install in my 2018 Mustang, went from 4" screen to 10.1". Incredible sound, wireless Android is the best.!

Pros: Beautiful screen, solid mounting, very responsive,!

Cons: $

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Head Unit!

Justin from Denver, CO on 3/28/2022

2012 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to install in my 2012 F350 and I could not be more happy with the results. The entire buying process with Crutchfield was incredibly smooth and every questions I had was answered. The biggest surprise to me was the pre-wiring service that they offer. This was a dream as all of the wire connections between the harnesses were complete on arrival making the installations essentially plug and play. Great piece of equipment, great buying experience, and great result. 100% would buy again.

Pros: - Simple and clean user interface - Very quick boot time - Crisp screen that does not collect finger prints like others - Sound quality is amazing with internal DAC - Large amount of adjustment in EQ

Cons: - My only wish on this is to have the bezel around the screen a bit smaller, however, I realize this is done for strength and rigidity for the floating screen

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

XAV 9500ES is Awesome!

Michael from Spring, TX on 3/22/2022

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to replace a 2013 factory radio with ANYTHING that had Apple Car play. Looking through Crutchfield's selection and what I saw available where not brands that I had been familiar with. I have been replacing radios for literally decades... (a couple) and I never heard of BOSS and I wasn't keen on Jensen. Sony had a super nice one that had raving reviews so I went with the 9500ES. I chose the option of having Crutchfield do the wiring for me (first time). Getting up there in age and not too keen on doing the wiring myself. Thanks guys for a great job by the way. Plugged in the wires I was familiar with and BAMB, spectacular sound from the receiver. Can't say enough about the 9500ES. If you have the money and the room around your dash, get it!!! Won't regret it! That being said, I had allot of trouble with the Maestro car/steering wheel adapter. Called the Support Line and the nice people at Crutchfield tried to help and make suggestions. I have been having problems with air bag warning light on and steering wheel controls not working. I was frustrated because wires that had come with the kit seemingly as extra parts weren't labeled so I didn't know where they went. I finally went through the whole harness and if it looked like the plug fit the factory plug, I plugged it in and then searched for the corresponding plug in the head unit. By doing this I got the unit to actually works, the air bag light went away, and the steering wheel controls work. Take your time.

Pros: Large touch screen Quick start up Plenty of adjustability Spectacular sound quality Crutchfield Support

Cons: Installation can be tough Price

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Incredible but a couple annoyances

Mark from Twin Falls , ID on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Please read my pros and cons first to learn about the radio itself. If you're still here, this was the most difficult installation I've ever done due to the vehicle it went in which is a 2007 Chevy Express van. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: Make certain the large screen will not cover up vehicle controls and send it back if it does and buy something else or be prepared to do some additional work. You don't want a very expensive radio looking like it was installed incorrectly and inconveniently. This radio "fits" this vehicle like a round peg fits a square hole. The issue is metal bits that need to be cut away under the dash to make the radio fit properly which all has to do with a longer single DIN radio replacing a shorter double DIN radio. Crutchfield provided a mounting kit that allows you to install the radio above the metal bits along with a pocket but this covers up the environmental controls. I cut out the metal (which turned out to be very soft) with a Dremel and drilled new holes in the mounting kit to properly mount the radio. None of this is "hard" but I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to figure out how to get this radio to fit in the dash. Crutchfield's technical support recommended I NOT cut out the metal bits but I found a YouTube video that mentioned that that's what needed to happen and it turned out to be simple after I bought metal cutting wheels for my Dremel.

Pros: Stunning, huge "floating" display. Floating means that it plugs into the unit and sits about an inch from the dash. This is somewhat adjustable. Fast booting Fast response time to key presses Menus are simple and well organized Sound is terrific Buttons on top are terrific Two programmable "soft keys" are very nice. Default is Home and Mute which work well Android Auto works wired AND wirelessly. Apple CarPlay is wireless only. My Android is more reliable with wired AND it c

Cons: No left/right tilt adjustment Display cannot be removed for storage (anti-theft concern) Needs a protective display cover Dash mount USB-A to USB-C cable not currently available requiring a USB-C male to USB-A female adapter No selection to remove SiriusXM icon from home screen Android Auto doesn't work as seamlessly as I'd like but probably a combination of operator error and new technology How the WiFi connection interacts with various functions is not at all clear

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony 9500 ES

Lee from Craig Colorado on 2/12/2022

2016 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Sony 9500 ES to replace the factory head unit in my 2016 GMC 2500 pickup with Bose. Installation was very involved, but Crutchfield reps helped with all of my issues. The stereo looks and sounds amazing, and fit the truck perfectly. All the functions work smoothly, including the backup camera. My only complaint is the backup camera image quality is not as good as the factory head unit, but not a huge deal. The parametric EQ really helped with dialing in the sound, and even brought out the sub-35hertz deep bass I was lacking with the factory head unit feeding my subs. The Sony is an expensive unit, but for strictly top notch audio I highly recommend.

Pros: Excellent sound and sound shaping, excellent screen response.

Cons: Back up camera image quality not as good as factory

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Support Help!

Shane from Colorado Spgs, CO on 2/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok - think it could be really good. Will write more as I get some things figured out. Putting this here as I'm having a tough time getting customer support management involvement. Having issue with CarPlay volume during calls and static. Hope to get someone who can give me some definitive info on fox or will have to return. Help please! I've been waiting for a manager or one of the reps I've worked with to reach back out.

Pros: Great screen and very responsive

Cons: CarPlay call volume and loud static/popping

Crutchfield response on 2/15/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Shane to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 6 found this helpful

2015 Chrysler 200

Eric from Sicklerville, NJ on 2/9/2022

2015 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan of Sony forever. This radio is only lacking a HDMI input. The sound is great. I was told this would not fit my car that's why I submitted so many pictures. This was the upgrade I was waiting for! Crutchfield is the best!

Pros: Wireless AppleCar Play, beautiful screen, easy touch screen, speaker volume and clarity, EQ settings

Cons: No HDMI input

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic large screen radio

Nathan Tyler from Cromona, KY on 2/9/2022

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Literally one of the best "Floating Screen" radios on the market, a lot of adjustability in the audio settings responsive fantastic looking touch screen, physical volume buttons! So great. Wireless Android Auto and Carplay were smooth no hiccups, worth noting and it's on the info for the radio but when using Carplay it is wireless Carplay only, but Android Auto can be used both Wired and Wireless. Although, to be fair once you go wireless you'll never go back, sounds pretty good too even with just the internal amp. Almost forgot, insanely fast boot up time, like a few seconds after receiving power and this thing is up and running.

Pros: Fast, responsive, lots of audio adjustments, nice screen.

Cons: I personally like the analog clock on the home screen but considering the digital time readout in the upper right hand corner the ability to remove it would be welcome.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2020 Civic Type R

Jon from El Paso, TX on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of mounting adjustability. Screen is big!, almost too big. I wish there was a 9" version like Pioneer makes. Very fast start up and excellent feedback.

Pros: Excellent response to touch. Matte finish works well against sun glare. You can also change the default steering wheel control to what they can control

Cons: No optical out or HDMI in.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful screen with excellent responsiveness

Ethan from Kent, WA on 2/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a large screen for wireless Android Auto - the Sony XAV-9500ES delivers that and more. The clarity and responsiveness of the screen is exceptional. Animations and swiping through menus are buttery smooth. Combined with fantastic audio quality, easy integration with your car with the use of a Maestro RR, excellent build quality, and a 3 year warranty from Sony, what more could you want?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You Get What Pay For

David from St. Louis, MO on 1/25/2022

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgrade my truck to a Jensen CAR710W. The features on that head unit made me realize how dated my stock 4Runner's 2015 head unit was. I wanted a solution that was compatible with the JBL sound system my vehicle already has, maintains the integrated backup camera, wireless Android Auto and Apple Carplay, and idata link integration for all of the sweet custom guages and diagnostics that idata link can provide. This Sony delivers on all of those fronts, and the execution is the best I've ever seen in a car stereo. The touchscreen is crisp, responsive, and has no noticable input lag. Wireless Android Auto and Carplay are both awesome and they work incredibly well. The sound this unit provides is incredible, and blows the stock Toyota head unit out of the water. The price tag is steep, but if you can afford it in your budget I'd say it's money well spent on a unit that is surely future proof for 8-10 years as well.

Pros: Industry leading touchscreen Wireless Android Auto and Apple Carplay Incredible sound Awesome idata link integration Maintains factory backup camera Lag-free display Adjustable floating display Fast boot time

Cons: None that I have encountered

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Top-teir Stereo!

GARRY from INDIO, CA on 1/22/2022

2017 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2017 VW Passat Sony R&D created an exceptional head unit. The stereo's OS is very intuitive and simple to use. Audiophiles have the option to dial-in individual speakers to their liking via the crossover and parametric EQ settings. The display is large and superior in quality. Aesthetically, it sports a clean, minimalist look. This stereo is clearly one of best on the market.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Landy from BRIGHTON, CO on 1/14/2022

2014 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio! Audio quality is top notch. Wireless CarPlay is super quick. Everything works as expected. Installed in a 2014 4Runner and I had to customize the dash kit to get it to fit without blocking the air vents too much. I ended up cutting the divider in the dash kit and using the double DIN brackets, then custom cutting the pocket so it could fit above the radio. It ended up working out nicely, but not out of the box ready to go for sure. My AC controls are accessible but out of my field of view with the screen in the way, but I have 90% airflow from the vents this way!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

SQ DECK

Jose from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing deck. Super responsive. Coming from the kenwood ddx9904s, this deck was a major upgrade. The wireless carplay is fast and responsive.

Pros: First stereo with such quality DSP. SQ is very good. Wireless carplay

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Eureka, IL on 1/3/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! If your primary source is CarPlay there is no better option. The screen is gigantic but manageable. Very responsive, little to no lag. Sound quality is great with tons of adjustment available but also has presets for easy use. Installed in a Jeep Wrangler and everything works exactly as I expected. No fit issues at all.

Pros: CarPlay that works like you always wanted it to! Responsive - great screen.

Cons: None- price is matched with quality

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great choice for a high end upgrade.

ALFRED from LAREDO, TX on 12/22/2021

2015 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, this is the way to go...all in! This is a premier product, easy to operate, integrates with your phone, provides seamless app mgt . The interface is user friendly, you can get deep into your sound settings or take the pre programming options. Huge display (yes it can be adjusted to uncover the air vents, just picked it up from installer). 5 line outs allowed me to run 2 pair of 6x9s off a small amp, 2 midrange pairs off another small amp, and a pair of subs off a dedicated sub amp. Crutchfield got me everything I needed to do it right the first time. I originally ordered a AudioControl line output converter to retain the factory head unit but worried about potential issues with feedback from the factory phone Mic and space to mount 3 amps and the LC8i. Happy with this product and look forward to miles of great sound.

Pros: Huge screen, simple interface, easy to use while driving, perfect for upgrading factory head unit and retaining integrated features. It is designed to work with Maestro integration modules.

Cons: Have not found an issue yet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Audio !

Phillip from Detroit Lakes, MN on 12/21/2021

2019 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Total control to individual speakers , wireless CarPlay , great screen not glossy , it's the best unit I've had to date , if you like good sounding music and ability to control sound get this !!

Pros: Wireless CarPlay , full control to individual speaker, quick touch screen response , 0-60 and 1/4 mile timer with the gauge setting , ability to add up to 2 cameras plus factory camera port , 14 band eq, sub control , parametric , slope , crossover front rear and sub, so much more !!

Cons: Reverse cam image is not that great ,

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointed

Juan from Fayetteville, NC on 12/16/2021

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feel like it is overpriced for the lack of features and playback support. No HDMI port, so I can't really call it a "multimedia" receiver. Wireless carplay works great, but the Maestro integration needs work. The backup camera doesn't always work, but to be fair I am not sure if it is a problem with this unit or the Maestro iDatalink. The anti-glare screen is almost flawless, and the sound quality is outstanding. I am not happy with this purchase, I was hoping for a true "multimedia" receiver where on such a large screen my kids could enjoy some videos while I'm parked somewhere.

Pros: large anti-glare screen Wireless CarPlay Sound quality

Cons: No HDMI support no video input support

Crutchfield response on 12/21/2021
Juan, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 11 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 12/15/2021

2017 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me preface this review by saying that I have not and will not use any advanced sound features. My car has the factory speakers, so I can't speak to this radio's ability to do anything beyond changing the EQ presets and volume control. For all intents and purposes, I consider myself a very basic car operator. The Sony XAV-9500ES has been installed in my car for about a week now, replacing the JVC KW-Z1000W that was newly installed for about a month before. For my personal use, the Sony is an upgrade in every way. The company finally decided to make an oversized model with modern features; namely, the capacitive touchscreen. It does a fantastic job of retaining visibility regardless of sunlight levels, and feels great to touch. Fingerprint smudges are almost nonexistent. This unit finishes booting and reaches the warning/home screen in under four seconds. Menu navigation is crisp and responsive. I was warned that the UI is simple, but this is exactly what I wanted - no cheap, flashy buttons or effects. Buttons on top are easy to access and useful. The two customizable touchscreen buttons have proven to be surprisingly useful. The main reason why I got a higher end receiver is for wireless CarPlay. It is extremely quick to connect on launch, and I can easily switch between the two associated users through the devices menu. The wireless aspect has proven to be reliable with no disconnects or reboots in many hours of use so far. Beyond happy with

Pros:  Wireless CarPlay  Responsive capacitive touchscreen  Fast processor for speedy start up times and menu navigation  Simple, clean, and quick operating system  Two customizable buttons

Cons: None for me personally

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

No AIFF support!

Mark from Atlanta, GA on 12/2/2021

2004 Porsche Cayenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't like posting negative reviews about such an awesome piece of equipment. This really is a great head unit. However, THERE IS NO SUPPORT FOR AIFF! I don't understand why. I have 7,491 tracks, 627 albums, several purchased from HDTracks over the years that can be downloaded in AIFF or FLAC format. They don't offer ALAC for download. At least they didn't when I purchased my albums in the past. All of my digital source files are AIFF, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Even the RSX-GS9 supports AIFF. Also, why offer such high-quality digital processing and not allow a wired CarPlay connection to feed high-definition files? I can play 24/192 from Apple Music that comes through lightning adapter as 24/48, which is 2,304 kbps. That's over twice what LDAC can provide. No, I'm not sending this unit back because I really like it. All of the other reviews are spot on about its positives. If Sony provides a software update to address these issues, I'll change it to 5-stars in a heartbeat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

The best on the market, nearly flawless

Crutchfield customer from St Louis, MO on 11/28/2021

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, I love this head unit. I previously had the Sony AX210 and the 9500es offers a ton of worthwhile updates. The 9500es has an updated version of Sony's operating system, which I think is the best. It's clean, simple, intuitive, easy to use, and aesthetically pleasing. The screen is of course larger, but also much easier to see in the sun with significantly higher resolution and quality. It is also FAR more responsive; it's cleared they beefed up the processing hardware quite a bit. The wireless Carplay works flawlessly and I cannot imagine going back to wired. The EQ is basically endlessly adjustable, and the sound is great. I've used it both off the head unit directly and amplified, no complaints on either. iDatalink Maestro works equally well on both units, no complaints there. I would highly recommend this head unit and believe it is the best on the market. So why only 4 stars? It does have a couple of areas with room for improvement. The good news is that some of them could probably be addressed via software updates: - No wired Carplay option despite having a USB-C high amp port. Why does this matter? Wireless Carplay uses a lot of battery, so you end up plugging your phone in any way on longer trips. It's also an easy way for friends to play their phones in your car without fully linking with the system. - The customizable buttons don't have an option for the equalizer. - No line in

Pros: Screen, anti-glare, operating system, wireless Carplay, sound quality

Cons: no line-in, no wired Carplay

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great radio!

Crutchfield customer from Warrington, PA on 11/27/2021

2013 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got this installed and so far I love it, I use wireless CarPlay exclusively and it works great on this unit, I just get in the car and it works. Love the big screen but it is big, in my car it covers the buttons that change the clock and I was okay with that but just expect it to cover something. I'm coming from a Pioneer stereo that had more features but things were slow on it and I was having issues with it, the new Sony is a much more simpler radio bit it works great.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay, simple to use and big screen..and it's a Sony.

Cons: Big screen will probably cover something on the dash.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Almost the complete package

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 11/27/2021

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Preordered after shopping for a larger display, replacing a Kenwood Excelon unit (DDX9906xr). My comments are based on my experience with that Kenwood HU. User Interface: easily navigable, clean, simple. This aspect is much better than most aftermarket systems but that may also be due to the fact that there is less to navigate on the Sony. Biggest gripe is the usb file system. There is no library creation or the like, no ID tag organization. You navigate via folders and songs are played in that order (alphabetical). You can shuffle all, but playing albums is easier done via Carplay/AA. Screen: I'm torn on the screen. The anti-glare coat doesn't really work, which wouldn't be a big deal except it mutes the vibrancy of the display. So you have a display where the richness and fidelity is sacrificed for a feature that, in my experience thus far, doesn't provide a benefit. The screen feels great - touch is excellent, no lag. Kenwood had better resolution, better color depth and better viewing angle. Sound: The sound is excellent. No noticeable difference from the Kenwood. I'm not an expert audio tech so I do miss the preset sound effects of the Kenwood (sound stage height, cabin size, etc.). The Sony of course offers seemingly endless eq-ability but it's not easy for the average car audio consumer to dial in. I am enjoying the Sony and have no plans to return it. If you live in Carplay and are willing to learn/tinker with the eq options, this is a

Pros: Build quality, materials/form, adjustability, sound quality, user interface, touch screen, warranty, boot speed, connectivity

Cons: Usb file system, color depth/display vibrancy, choppy backup cam feed, lack of built in 'sound effects'

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sony XAV-9500ES

Jason from NY on 11/20/2021

2014 Mitsubishi Lancer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality receiver with a super clear screen. I would've thought it was a 4K display if I didn't already know the specs. Wireless CarPlay works flawlessly. The user interface is so simple and easy to use, perfect for a minimalist. A volume knob would've been the cherry on top, but the buttons on top aren't horrible. Overall, this receiver really does feel top of the line.

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay, crystal clear screen, a lot of adjustability options.

Cons: No volume knob

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Just buy it

Jason from Nashville, TN on 11/18/2021

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, I was hesitant to spend the money on this beast but I have been WAITING for Sony to release something like this in this league. But it's really in a league of its own. The same features from the XAV series like fast boot are all here. And that screen is just gorgeous. Anti-glare and feels like silk. UI is modernized and so fast. Wireless CarPlay loads in the same time the wired takes to load. Parametric EQ has each speaker in my truck now tuned exactly as needed. It's perfect. If you have the money and are reading this, just buy it. You won't regret it

Pros: Best-in-class Hi-Res DAC, Parametric EQ, wireless CarPlay, Touch shortcut buttons on front of display, screen size

Cons: The only thing I would say is the bezel is pretty large, but that's a very small complaint. The bezel also houses two programmable touch shortcut buttons which make the bezel easier to deal with

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound