Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
399 591 75
Connect ID #
399 591 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XS-160ES

Mobile ES Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # XS-160ES

Sony XS-160ES

Sony XS-160ES

Mobile ES Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # XS-160ES

10 reviews
View this product

High end standards

larry from Irving TX on 7/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After they "broke in" they sounded great! The tweeters are the best I've ever heard. They do lack bottom end. I have 10" sub for that. High end quality feel. Fed 19volts at 1% thd. -5 over lap On a active set up. Tweeter was tuned by ear on a 50 watt amp

Pros: Sound Materials Cost

Cons: Terrified I was going to damage it while installing it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Batman Z

Michael from Gonzales, LA on 3/7/2022

1988 Nissan 300ZX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good crisp sound, was hoping for a bit more low end but overall excellent sound.

Pros: Crisp

Cons: Little weak on lows

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like them

Justin from Crescent City, FL on 2/8/2022

2022 Ford F-250 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crispy details. Emphasis on the high end of range rather than mids or vocals. Tweeters outshine the mids. Could be just my setup. 2 channels of 400xd jl and cleansweep with stock head.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great soundstage and detail

Ronald from Fremont, CA on 10/29/2021

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using these for fronts and Sony XS-690ES for rears powered by an Alpine KTA-450 amp coupled to an Alpine iLX-407 receiver. Altogether the sound is accurate, well-defined, effortless, and smooth. These speakers are, to my ears, very much like reference speakers - faithfully reproducing the source without coloring tone or shifting dynamics - crappy source sounds meh and excellent source sounds excellent. I ~really~ enjoy how well-defined each instrument is; it's more than just great soundstage, it's the precise detail I hear in transients and musical harmonics. These speakers bring great zing to my ears! In terms of installation, my vehicle doors have a somewhat shallow depth and these speakers fit in front (using Metra 82-8152 speaker mounting brackets) without interfering with rolled-down windows. I did line the doors with Dynamat Xtreme and I'm sure that's making a difference in sound. These XS-160ES don't hit crunching lows; I knew that going into it, and although the Sony XS-690ES admirably fill in some of that bass territory I plan to add a subwoofer in the near future. Overall I am pleased with these speakers in my system.

Pros: Excellent sound from a shallower depth speaker

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Fine sound.

Crutchfield customer from Maple Valley, WA on 10/23/2021

2000 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best car speakers I've ever installed. You won;t be disappointed!

Pros: Everything about Sony is as planned.

Cons: Hand to hand drill at attach locations.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XS-160ES

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/6/2021

2012 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm Pleased With My Purchase From Crutchfield.Com Excellent Quality Products & Costumer Service Agents Are Super Helpful With Any Installation Question Definitely Will Shop Again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound!

Sam K from N/A on 9/21/2021

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm by no means an audiophile. I own a 2015 WRX (base model) and was looking to upgrade speakers These speakers are loud, crisp and provide great notes. No real fitment issues.

Pros: Quality material Great sound quality 3 year warranty

Cons: Zero brackets. For the price, you'd presume it would have mounting brackets. I used a roadkill kit to securely mount and seal them in the rear.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XS-160ES

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, WI on 9/14/2021

2017 Tesla Model S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes these will fit in a Tesla (front not back) but you will need to use some washers or different brackets to do so but it is totally worth it if handy. LOVE LOVE LOVE these speakers!!

Pros: Quality built Sound awesome for vocals and bass. Today's country R&B Hip Hop and rock all sound good

Cons: Could use a little more super low end bass but after a few weeks of having them and logged 10hrs it's getting better. I think the speaker just need to break in. Best speaker out there I believe for front Doors on tesla

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XS-160ES

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 8/26/2021

1996 Dodge Stratus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great..But the depth profile of the speaker would not fit my doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XS-160ES

Guest from 192 vzcr 4912 on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speakers in the market right now!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound