Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
992 125 75
Connect ID #
992 125 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

AudioControl D-6.1200

D Series 6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 125 watts RMS x 6

MFR # D-6.1200

AudioControl D-6.1200

AudioControl D-6.1200

D Series 6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 125 watts RMS x 6

MFR # D-6.1200

26 reviews
View this product

Worth every bit! DM "Smart" DSP software is not so smart...

Karl from FREMONT, CA on 5/26/2022

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My goodness this amp is a clean, strong, powerhouse! If it has one weak point, it would have to be the DM "Smart" DSP software that you have to use. I could not get it to work on Mac (would not see the amp), and almost unusable on Win10. Luckily I was able to get through the setup on Windows.

Pros: Clean, Strong, Powerful!

Cons: DM "Smart" DSP software is not so great.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

David from Horse Cave, KY on 4/9/2022

2022 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the JL Audio VX800/8i in my 2016 Mustang GT and thought it sublime. Then I bought this unit to try out in my 2022 F-150 regular cab pickup. Once I saw that this unit works for you to adjust your EQ based on its own RTA, I was sold - just returned the JL unit to get a second one of these for that Mustang. Go to the AC website and read the manual and the How-To section. That gets you started. However, they are less clear about using this unit to accept a factory head unit signal, analyze it, and then power your speakers. No worries, I have some thoughts for you. It takes a few minutes to understand the logic of how you must set up the INPUT tab in the software. In my case I was sending just the front left and front right (stereo) 2-channel signal (me: lower row 1 and 2 only) to the unit. Hint - choose those same input channels for each and every OUTPUT channel you are about to tune. Next you set up each output channel as to crossovers and gain. Here's another hint - lower your front speaker gain by 10 or 12 db to start with, and your center channel by 14 or 15 db - leaving your subwoofer at 0 db. Play the pink noise and move the slider for center and sub left and right to just get a blend and not have it overpower or drop out entirely. Then use the "AUTO" tab in the equalizer view to allow to unit to adjust the EQ to flat based on its analysis of your incoming signal. You can watch the output RTA points all move to make a flat line. Awesome uni

Pros: RTA done for you internally Great sound Easy to add an amp using its Line Out - so up to 6 channels driven plus a separate subwoofer amp.

Cons: Cost? But it's hundreds less than the JL Audio VX800/8i.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Charles from Mountain View, CA on 1/25/2022

2017 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful Amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Amp!!

Manny from PHILADELPHIA, PA on 9/5/2021

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are interested in going active with your components, this might be the one for you. It was my first time going active with my components and wow!!!! The DSP is user friendly and reassuring. You can set the frequency range on each of your speakers and can also use the last two channels to drive a sub, if you'd like. The power is enough to drive almost any speaker. My speakers scream loud and clear now. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Power. Clean sound. Small footprint, I was able to fit it under my seat. Zero gauge power and ground terminals. DSP.

Cons: You can't use your ipad/phone unless you have the Bluetooth connector. But that's not really an issue, as long as you have a laptop.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 8 found this helpful

Overpriced, underperfoming.

David from Duluth, MN on 5/9/2021

2016 Nissan Versa SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are so many features, whether you're running from a stock oem setup or if you're going fully active. But there's a huge problem with the models that I have received. They introduced a very annoying noise to my system. I went through every connection I could to see if this was caused by something else. But it was the amplifier all along. The MILC light was very unreliable and for some strange reason you can not bypass the lpf at 20k?! Why would that not be an option?! Why would you want a filter right there?! Especially if you're listening to hi res audio that's up to 40k?! The steeper the filter the worse it sounds. The class d amplifier in this is not up to par for sound quality. It left my front sound stage sounding like a hissy mess and that's after professional tuning. Crutchfield tech support was no help when trouble shooting the issue. They would derail and would blame it on the fact that I'm running an active system. I returned it and purchased a very cheap class ab amplifier and the noise is gone! The sound quality is better and it costed lest then 1/8th of this amp. Save your money and get something else. These controls are great but it doesn't matter if you're sound is no good anyways. Plus, it's way too hard to save a tuning session on the dsp app so whatever hard work you put into making it sound somewhat better will probably be different the next time your turn on your car.

Pros: Many options for different situations.

Cons: Bad sound quality, smells like a plastic fire, introduces extreme hiss, too hard to save tuning sessions, milc indicator is unreliable and very over priced.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 29 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Crutchfield customer from Mullica Hill, NJ on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has so much ability to give you the exact tuning you are looking for. The directions were vague so it took some time but great results

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Inderstand what you are getting

Joe from Pine Grove, PA on 4/13/2021

2015 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this item to replace a Kicker Center Stage that had issues. When I first received the item, being I have been an "Analog" person, getting into the app and learning it was a little of a learning curve. Once I got the hang of it, I was able to get my settings set. Now, comes the first issue. I had a lot of practice re-setting the settings. The unit does NOT hard code the settings, it stores them in memory and if you lose power or the power drops below 10 volts or thereof, it resets to default. Where I discovered the problem is if the vehicle sits, along with it and other electronics, there's a battery draw. Or if it is cold. If my car is going to sit for a while, I hook up a battery maintainer to keep my voltage and therefore keeps its memory. Second issue. Understand this DSP is also an amp. If you do not plan to use the built-in amp, buy just the processor. I'm using the amp for my mids and tweeters but not for my subs. Using the sub-channel as a processor only makes it a waste of money. How it was explained to me was I could "group" the channels together. I understood that as I could use the amp for the subchannel on my mids/tweets. If I could have done this, I would not have to have the mids/tweets gain at 100%. That can't be done, I haven't figured it out and tech doesn't know, but the salesman said otherwise. I would buy this again understanding it better, but being as though I had amps prior, I would get the processor only.

Pros: Sounds good, easy install

Cons: Can't combine amps, no hard code memory, software learning curve.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

It's worth it, truly well thought out design

Kevin from CENTERTON, AR on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not underestimate the feature-packed workhorse that this thing is. Not pretty lights and cool stickers type of features, but USABLE stuff! This is driving my Audiofrog 3 way active front stage in my 2020 Ram Laramie with Alpine. Having distortion free signal from a PAC AP4-CH01 V2 truly helps this thing from the get go. Love being able to set input and output gain, time align, Crossover, EQ gain/Q each channel independently, and pass through an equally customized output signal has allowed me to spend less on the rear stage with just getting an ACM 2.300. I went Front/Rear input from Amp Pro (AP4 mentioned earlier), chose Front Signal only on my speaker output channels and set their individual EQ, then set my bandpass settings and time alignment on the rear input passed straight out to the Output RCA and into the ACM 2.300. The Sub channel from the Amp Pro goes straight to an LC1.800. If this helps anyone, Audiofrog front stage is below GS10 is 3.6khz and up at 24db GS25 is 350 to 3.5khz, both at 24db GS690 is 80 to 325, both at 24db If you're new to a DSP amplifier, highly recommend going to Audiofrog's website and reading their in depth white papers on how to properly tune. Andy goes to great lengths to dumb it down for us. Shoutout to Crutchfield for the points off this order - ended up getting an ACR3 to go with this amp for almost nothing.

Pros: On every channel of output (speaker and RCA) you can Time Align, EQ, Crossover Including slope, Input Gain, Output Gain, Set Q factor, and use the built in RTA if you don't have one.

Cons: RTA is a bit confusing since you don't hook a mic to it. It's trying to RTA signals as they pass through without actually "listening" to them. But it's doing a good job at getting you close.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

John from OSCEOLA, WI on 3/22/2021

2019 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for about 2 months(just past the return date), then just nothing, still powers up but no sound, can't get any of my computers to connect to it, (USB malfunction Error). Have a ticket open with AudioControl hopefully they can help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dsp lacks Crucial features

Guest from Ben, Oregon on 1/22/2021

2019 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it really is a diesel amplifier but it lacks a lot of key features a Dsp should have. Had I known this before and I would have went with a helix dsp For just a little bit more money. 1. Lack of independent crossover control 2. No independent crossovers for different presets. 3.It is a graphical eq and not parametric 5. You cannot select the individual frequency you need to adjust Audiocontrol Has superb amplifiers but DSP not so much

Pros: Very clean sound

Cons: DSP lacks crucial features

Crutchfield response on 1/25/2021
Ben, we're sorry you're having issues with your amp. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 11 found this helpful

excellent

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp with great DSP functions. I installed this in a 2017 mustang GT. I wish it had another pair of RCA outputs but worked great in this install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good amp, it is pricy, however, it has a small footprint. I had trouble saving as many other people had commented on the audiocontrol dsp sw. It seems that a file needs to be saved, either before or after pressing and holding to save the settings. May times of only pressing and holding the preset, I'd get back into my vehicle the next morning and everything sounded differently.

Pros:

Cons: Learning curve, no linux support, saving can be tricky.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp, but could be even better

Ryan from Alpharetta, GA on 10/3/2020

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly flexible install options and features. Powerful and clear sound. DSP is good, but could be better if it was parametric not graphic for more advanced tuning capabilities. The BT24 Bluetooth module is perfect for tuning via iPad app without having to plugin USB. But, the mounting of the BT24 module could have been more solid. If in a trunk mount, it could easily get bumped and damaged. If I had to do this again, I would buy the LC6.1200 and go with a Helix DSP for greater tuning control.

Pros: Excellent performance from the amp. Clean and clear sound. Lots of configuration options as your system evolves.

Cons: DSP not up to par with other options

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Like many have already said - best amp out there for factory systems!

Guest from Metairie, LA on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Believe every word you're reading in these reviews. This amp made the music in my 2013 Honda Pilot come alive. I didn't have many options b/c I have a factory amp in my car that controls a lot of other features, and replacing the head unit in a 2013 Honda Pilot with Navigation is basically not an option. I knew the AudioControl LOCs could take inputs that come after a factory amp, so that got me interested, but then I started researching this unit which does that, adds a DSP, and a 6-channel amp. An all in one unit to take things to a major next level? I'm in. Price? Well, it's not cheap. Far from it. But when I say it's worth every dollar - if you can afford to finance this thing, DO IT. So I took the outputs from the factory amp, sent them to the high-level inputs of the D-6.1200, then sent the outputs of the D-6.1200 to the all the speakers (two tweeters, four mids in the four doors - I replaced the factory speakers w/ some very affordable Kenwoods). Then I used the line output of the D-6.1200 to run to a powered subwoofer under the driver's seat. Then the tuning software - just amazing - the icing on the cake. You NEED this amp in your life if you're trying to enhance the sound of your factory system.

Pros: All-in-one unit, Tuning Software, AudioControl brand

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

warwick

Roman from warwick on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding! Seems a bit much at first, but after playing around a bit you start to appreciate the power that makes speakers come to life!

Pros: Power, delivery and flexibility!

Cons: Not cheap, but worth the money!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Brody from IDAHO FALLS, ID on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best amp I have ever owned. Crystal clear sound - excellent tuning capabilities and easy to install. Plenty of power for any type of setup. Not only can you power your components and/or coaxial speakers but it is very flexible and will allow you to run subs. Small footprint but very powerful. I am currently pushing 3 sets of components in my 96 Chevy Ext Cab C2500 with very little amperage draw. Cab is completely FILLED with sound. You can run 1 RCA from your head unit and sum this (in the software) to all other channels essentially allowing you to run 1 set of RCAs and get 6 channels of output. Plus a built in RCA out for a sub amp. So convenient!!!

Pros: Highly recommended for its quality and sound delivery. Tons of power and tuning ability. DSP Sofware is SO EASY to use!!!

Cons: Absolutely none!!! - You won't be disappointed.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Fantastic DSP

Bill C from Clearfield, UT on 3/8/2020

2016 Acura ILX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this and running it in a 2016 Acura ILX. So initially I am integrated into OEM system. This is an awesome DSP!. Great beginning for my system in my daily commuter. I am running all my stock speakers right now, After I finish applying my sound deadening, I will upgrade my factory speakers and 8" sub. Very excited, buying and installing this unit was a fantastic way to begin a system. So much power, and so many options from one small unit.

Pros: So many.... DSP. 30 band EQ. Time Alignment. Great 6 channel amp. Ability to use Bluetooth (sold separately). To log in and tune your system.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Fun to install and setup

Matthew S. from KINGSTON, TN on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup is simple. Wiring is easy for high level inputs with AC's connectors. Programming via software is much better than adjusting knobs. Tuning is fun with this DSP.

Pros: Easy and intuitive.

Cons: Ease of use and price point makes you want to buy more AC products for all your vehicles.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Alfredo M Della from Beverly Hills, FL on 1/26/2020

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best of the best

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AMAZING Control - PERFECT for factory dash radios!

James A from EL DORADO, AR on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You HAVE to hook this to a computer. You have to have some skills in setting it up. That said, once I programmed it, it is AMAZING. I had the kicker Q series amp that does about the same thing, but the user interface was horrible. It over heated and just hated it. Due to the return policy at Crutchfield, I was able to swap it out for this AudioControl unit. This one cost a little more but WELLLLL WORTH IT... The autosumming portion of the unit made the unit sound amazing. I was able to use the built in RTA to map out exactly what the headunit was giving, so it allowed me to QUICKLY adjust it to sound great! I just mapped it out using pink noise, then adjusted for taste. There are a few things they could do better, but as it sits, I could not be more happy. People who get this amp who know what they are doing will still have some changes to get used too. Gains are set via the computer. Time delay is a little simple/tricky, crossover controls could NOT be simpler, but still have to play with it to prevent blowing a tweeter. I still have a lot to learn about this amp, but after about an hour of playing with it, works like a champ. After installing it, make sure you save your configuration to Memory Slot 1. Hold the Memory button down until a popup ask if you would like to overwrite the memory. Click yes. Had some issues trying to get it to save. Not sure if I did it write, but after I did that, it never lost the configuration. VERY HAPPY

Pros: Absolutely the best way to get the best sound out of a factory radio! Hands down. User Interface is great for tinkering, The built in RTA makes life SOOO MUCH EASIER. If you know how to operate a computer, If you know how to work a crossover, if you know the difference between RTA and EQ, this AMP IS FOR YOU.

Cons: FAR from plug in play. The best features of this amp are the largest drawbacks if you do not know what your doing. There are a lot of things that can and will confuse you. READ THE MANUAL. Watch Youtube Videos BEFORE YOU INSTALL. If you do not know what you are doing, or lack the access to a laptop, you will hate this AMP. If you are a person who knows that they are doing, and loves great sound, this AMP IS AMAZING!

Crutchfield response on

27 of 30 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Crutchfield customer from Lake Preston, SD on 10/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed it yet, been working a lot

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 37 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Marcos from NYC on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp all around. I have a 2019 VW and had used the speaker level (HI-Level) inputs to make it work. Overall I had no issues. Its very small and fit under the seat. I wish there was an option to turn the LEDs off. The entire amp lights blue when on. If you're considering this amp as a stealth build for a truck I would take that into consideration. The DSP software worked great. Im running 2 FatialPro 8s up front with Hertz ML280.3 active. The rear fills are MTX SS7 and it works great no distortion. These amps are the only option with modern cars. Make sure to also get the EFX 9-Wire harness. Makes everything a breeze and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Richard from Port Deposit, MD on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp/dsp is full of features and the sound quality is excellent. I specifically selected this unit because I wanted to retain my stock head unit and due to lack of options I had to tap into the speaker level outputs of the factory amp. The factory amp has built in crossovers to the different speaker locations so I had to sum the door speakers with the factory sub to get the full spectrum of frequencies. Easy to do with the D-6.1200. I had to adjust the frequencies with the built in 30 band equalizer. I used a Windows 10 laptop and the included USB cable to configure the amp and it was very easy to use. The results are amazing! Plenty of clean power to run my Morel components. I already had an aftermarket subwoofer and amp so I utilized the RCA outputs of the AudioControl amp to run the signal to the subwoofer amp. My sub is 2 ohms otherwise I would have considered removing the sub amp and running it from the AudioControl in bridged mode.

Pros: Feature rich with excellent sound quality. Control software is easy to use.

Cons: Will not support 2 ohms when bridged.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

AudioControl D-6.1200

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm not impressed. There's a lot of potential in the amp but there's not working iOS app to control even basic audio functions. Without any control dials or smartphone control, it just seems like a dumb design. I can't even adjust the gain yet. I'd send it back if I hadn't already paid for a installation. I wrote AudioControl and they're quick to respond but without anything that will actually help in the interim.

Pros: Could be great...

Cons: Could be great or a 1k paperweight. We'll see...

Crutchfield response on

9 of 87 found this helpful

Feature packed

Todd from Arlington, TN on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Great features. 6 channels out and paired it with AC 800 sub amp. Software a little glitchy but very user friendly.

Pros: Digital EQ, hi level input. 6 ch output + RCA line out.

Cons: If there has to be one either price point or slightly glitchy tuning software on my Mac.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Shocking quality and sound at any price.

Keith from Aurora, CO on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I preordered 2 of these... several months early.... they just arrived last week....they are being installed I write this. The build quality is more than expected, size excellent and the one sided connections perfect. Only the first one is installed... but its driving 2 sets of Focal separates and 2 x 10" subs.. in a F250... sound incredible..the previous system of big amps to cover the same speakers.. JUST GOT DWARFED...(monster). still figuring out everything.. have to get connected to laptop and play with it.. for the price.. impossible to beat.

Pros: connections on one side, small size, zero heat build up, even with heavy bass play.

Cons: none so far, but need to hook up to laptop and begin tuning..not sure how difficult yet.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound