Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
375 696 43
Connect ID #
375 696 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SRAMCQ09

Custom-fit powered subwoofer for 2009-19 Dodge Ram Crew and Quad Cab

MFR # SRAMCQ09

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SRAMCQ09

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SRAMCQ09

Custom-fit powered subwoofer for 2009-19 Dodge Ram Crew and Quad Cab

MFR # SRAMCQ09

15 reviews
View this product

Kicker VSS SubStage SRAMCQ09

Crutchfield customer from Lanse, MI on 8/9/2020

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Very easy to install and sounds awesome

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: No adjustment for bass level

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound yet hidden well.

Brandon from Okawville, il on 6/23/2020

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kicker VSS gave my truck ( 19' GMC 2500) the extra bass I was wanting without sacrificing space. I also greatly enjoy how it's downward facing in a study box that my 4 year old can't get to. Very clean installation that isn't noticeable. Matches the interior well. If your looking for a clean and easy install, with bass that will not rattle your vehicle apart yet will fill the void of non existent factory bass. This is for you.

Pros: smooth bass, hidden and bolted down, not obnoxious.

Cons: Sometimes I want bigger system but that may be hearing loss... lol

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent addition

Crutchfield customer from El Mirage, AZ on 4/30/2020

2019 Ram 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own 2019 Ram 1500 Classis Midnight addition, and was looking to add just the right amount of bass. I couldn't be happier with the clean install and it's definitely add the bass I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker VSS SubStage SRAMCQ09

Crutchfield customer from Irwin, ID on 4/7/2019

2018 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub was a perfect fit and the install went very fast. The sound is good but wish the sub volume could be independently adjusted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Product

JIM from Colby Kansas on 3/24/2018

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product. Install time was about 2 hours. Directions where very easy to follow. Puts out very nice crisp sound. I am using this with stock speakers in my 2017 ram. It will sound amazing when I do my speaker upgrade. Well worth the money.

Pros: Great sound and fit. Super easy install. Plug and play.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kicker SubStage...for those who want plug and play

Jonathan from MA on 6/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give the SubStage for my Ram 1500 4 stars. The reason for not being lower than 4 stars is because I purchased it for a specific purpose/concern. I did not want to upgrade wiring and do a full install, and Kicker provides the only plug and play option for the Ram. In hindsight the install isn't too difficult, but it was hot and I took my time (3+ hours). The most difficult part of the install was running the power wire through the firewall. As suggested on the instructions I made an incision on the grommet to the left of the steering column, but it's double walled and it was difficult to get it through both walls. Other than that, it's fairly straightforward. The sub itself drops in underneath the rear seat drivers side. The brackets on the sub did not line up perfectly with the seat screws, but I was able to get it in. The sound is what I expected based on it's installation point. With a shallow box, and up-firing to the seat, I was not expecting pounding bass like I had with a 12" JL Audio sub in a box in the trunk of my Chrysler 300. The Kicker sub definitely rounds out the sound of the non-Alpine stock system, but I highly suggest to replace the stock speakers which I did. The price is a little steep, but I understand why the premium as it's the only plug and play option. For the price, I think a glaring omission is the lack of a bass level control knob. I see no reason why a connection to the sub amp under the seat isn't an option. Still, serves my purpose

Pros: Plug & play Warranty safe (only 2 connectors to attach to existing wires) Fills out sound in pickup (mine - 2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab)

Cons: Rolls off earlier than more robust subs No bass level control knob (I feel a bad omission) I feel slightly overpriced

Crutchfield response on

22 of 22 found this helpful

Kicker VSS SubStage SRAMCQ09

Adam from Massachusetts on 5/26/2017

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub however be prepared for a lengthy install. I have installed audio equipment before and this still took me over 3+ hours getting the power line through the engine firewall, pulling off trim pieces, pulling up carpeting, mounting amp, etc, etc. Kicker does a great job packaging it with everything you need and the instructions are decent however tapping into the signal with the crimp clamp connectors could be a little better documented as I had to call Kicker as the instructions show the wiring under the dash but don't mention the quick clamp connectors. Sounds is a good upgrade especially if you have the base system however again this is 100% not a plug and play quick installation. The people claiming it took them less than an hour either have had many years experience installing sound systems or they had already tore apart their vehicle so didn't factor that into the install time. To be honest for the time spent I would consider just buying a monoblock amp and say a JL Audio 10W3 or so sub instead.

Pros: Great package and sound

Cons: install

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Perfect not to much or to little.

Joe from San Antonio Texas on 4/19/2017

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First I was in doubt. It took me several months to finally order it. Price had a lot to do with it. Finally I did it I ordered it. Received it as scheduled went over instructions and the next day after work I installed it. Very easy install. My ram has just a CD player no premium radio just basic. Well this sub and little amp brought all the factory speakers to life. Every time I get in and drive the more and more I appreciate the sound. I love it!!!!!!!

Pros: Space saving with great sound

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker VSS SubStage SRAMCQ09

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City ok. on 4/6/2017

2016 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be nice to be able to adjust the amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker VSS SubStage SRAMCQ09

joe from Glen Burnie, MD on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice subs

Pros: Excellent bass thumpers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Kicker Sub

Greg from Lexington, TN on 4/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound and easy install. Would highly recommend this product.

Pros: Easy custom install, looks factory

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Crisp, clean thumper

Ewok from Central Valley, California on 4/16/2016

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect design, fits right in factory bolts. Great sound at a low levels and thumping level, crisp and clean. I just wanted a little 10 for the truck and I feel I got way too much now, which is a good thing with only one.

Pros: Custom fit, works great, hidden well, bolts to factory bolts, sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

So-so

Ramsey from New Braunfels, TX on 5/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just finished installing his sub and amp in my 2012 ram crew cab (premium audio). If I could have, I would have given it 2.5 stars. The install wasn't too bad but there could have been more pictures, especially in regards to securing the ground wire and tapping into the factory wires. It took me about 3 hours to install and that includes taking out the factory "sub" and enclosure. I really like that the wiring is all plug and play and the perfect length. Now to sound quality. This is where I'm disappointed. For the money, I expected better sound quality. The sub bottoms out easily with really low bass frequencies and just sounds bad. It might have something to do with the size on the enclosure. Also, the bass that isn't distorted is not crystal clear. It isn't bad, but it's not crystal clear. So if you're listening to hip hop or dub step, it's not going to sound all that great. However, it sounds pretty good with something not as demanding. I played my normal audiophile CD tracks from Bob Marley and Dire Straights and they both sounded good and balanced. The most disappointing thing is the problems I have with the sound quality could likely be solved with a smarter amp. Cut the really low bass frequencies out and cut higher frequencies out. The low frequencies is most important because I'd rather hear no bass instead of muffled bass. Knowing what I know now, I would probably save up a little more and buy the JL loaded enclosure and a JL amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

47 of 52 found this helpful

Simplicity at its Best!!!

John from Wyoming on 2/8/2015

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing difficult follow the instructions wham bam your done!! Simply Awesome!!! Always great sound from Kicker! love it!!

Pros: Simple easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 16 found this helpful

Awesome Fit & Awesome Sound

Ram 1500 from Minnesota on 8/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is designed for the Ram 1500 to fit under the rear passenger seat and does so awesomely. And the bass is clear and crisp. Highly recommend this sub for your Ram 1500.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 26 found this helpful

TOP