Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
131 958 04
Connect ID #
131 958 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Tempo Ultra Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # 350176-200

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Tempo Ultra Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # 350176-200

25 reviews
View this product

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the tweeters were great, crisp, clean, clear. the woofers were clean and loud, good base but a little on the dull side ,some people call it warm.they need to be brighter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Warm and lifelike. An excellent choice!

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/4/2020

2018 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent components for this price range. Solid mid-bass and clear highs produce beautifully articulate and lifelike sound. The tweeters are smooth and not harsh, as some can be, allowing for listening without fatigue. The tweeters perform best on-axis and this should be a consideration of your install - various pods are included for this purpose. Mine are powered with a JL Audio HD 900/5. The speakers sound very nice on their own, but dialing in the sound with a JL Audio Twk 88 DSP really sets them off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mid bass, depth of stage (L to R and front to back), and laid back but accurate high frequency presentation were the obvious improvements to me over the infinity 60.11 that were in the doors before. Happy with my choice.

Pros: Accuracy, mid bass, depth of stage, transparency

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Crutchfield customer from Douglas, MA on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic. All around fantastic. They really warmed up after a few days of working them. Very clear and enjoyable.

Pros: Warm tweeter Excellent mids

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Quality

zeb from SWANNANOA, NC on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality speaker. Very clear, and a great improvement over the Polk Audio MM components these replaced. The only negative is the highs are almost too mellow.

Pros: crystal clear sound

Cons: Highs are a little too mellow

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from New Fairfield, CT on 11/27/2019

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, the power and clarity are the best I've owned. I upgraded from Focals that I thought had no mods and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Clarity Power Build quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 6/3/2019

2006 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Favorite speakers I've owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 5/1/2019

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound stage!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

Noel from Hackensack, NJ on 3/26/2019

2019 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi all, Wanted to put my two cent on this speaker as it is extremely powerful and clear. I have the JL audio hd/900 5 and audio control processor along with hertz coaxial and sound is amazing I did purchase the hertz component first but was not to happy with the harsh treble sound which is why i uograded to these morel tempo ultras 602 Recommended

Pros: Very clear and loud and takes bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Overpriced

Ron from Franklin, NC on 10/17/2018

2015 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed. I am using the crossovers and 6.5 mid speakers only. I have a pair of tweeters from an old pair of Image Dynamics that are phenomenal. Using a RF Punch 2-Channel class A/B Amplifier P400X2. 125 watts RMS per Channel @ 14.4 volts, (My car runs @ 13.8 volts). The mid speaker cannot handle this, if the Crossover is set below 80HZ. With Said Rockford Fosgate amp (P400X2) the crossover must be set at 100HZ or higher. I am running a pair of Skar Audio FSX65-4 6.5 mids($40) on deck power that have better bass response. In my opinion these are overpriced for what they can really do. I think that better can be gotten cheaper. If you like jazz and classical music these would be fine. Stick with 100 Watts or less if you have no more than 13.8 volts to you're amps, or run them on deck power.

Pros: The supplied crossover is well designed. Do sound nice in there real world power range.

Cons: lack ability to reproduce bass below 80-100HZ over 75 watts RMS real world power.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 35 found this helpful

Simply Outstanding!

Andrew from Darien, IL on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been in car audio for years and finally gave morel a go. All I can say is wow! Buy these! They truly transform the musical experience. I got goosebumps listening to all my favorite track from the depth, warmth and rich detail these speakers offer! Equipment ran are hertz h8 processor into jl audio hd900/5, and ddaudio subwoofer. Oh and these dont mind bass! I was able to get them to blend with my sub unlike any other set of speakers I've owned before. Love these speakers. Thank you Jeff for the recommendation!

Pros: Smooth, balanced, detailed sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

impressive midbass with lots of detail

Sean from Falls Church, VA on 9/10/2018

2009 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

impressive just how good these sound. deadened the doors first. PDX-V9 amp providing power. time correction, Auto-EQ, and some graphic EQ from a Pioneer NEX head unit. all of this really brought out the potential of these speakers. without time correction and EQ they still sounded pretty good but not special. take the time to fiddle with the tuning. I ended up with these set at 40hz 18dB crossover in the head unit. a bit of a bump on the low end and upper end of the graphic EQ along with the Auto-EQ. they sound excellent with the stereo crossover and amp crossover turned off but rolling off at 40hz took out just a bit of mudiness bringing the 100-800hz range alive even more also have a Morel 10" sub but the Tempo Ultra midbass drivers hit so hard and go so low that they are easily carrying the lion's share of the workload and bass just pops. I tried crossing these over higher at 80hz and 62hz but everything just locked at 40hz. passive crossover is set at negative attenuation for the tweeters. 0dB was a bit brighter than I liked. negative is smooth. I gave a slight bump on the upper end of the graphic EQ though because negative attenuation was just a smidge too low while 0dB was way too much. they are pretty dialed now they are rated to 120 watts RMS and I never get close to putting that much power to them. the PDX V-9 has about that much power available if I turned the head unit all the way up but I am usually at about 15-17 out of 40 on the volume. lots

Pros: midbass response compete with speakers in the next price range up high power handling for headroom many different tweeter mounts included stickers in the box. oh yeah. stickers expose nuances in your other gear and in source material due to their high resolution

Cons: although as good as speakers in the next price range up these are still not cheap might need a bigger amp to bring them alive. over 75 watts full potential like most higher end speakers only comes out with a proper install including deadening, proper power, and tuning expose flaws in your other gear and in source material due to their high resolution

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Guest from Winchester, Va on 4/22/2018

2007 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Much better than my factory speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Edward from New Baltimore, MI on 4/8/2018

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I almost spent the extra money and stepped up the the Virtus. After reading so many positive reviews of the Tempo Ultra, i decided to give them a try. I'm glad I did. Very natural sounding, smooth silky highs, not shrill or harsh, LOTS of midbass and can get fairly low, without distortion, for a 6 1/2" speaker. I'm driving mine with a JL XD700/5 sourced from a JL FIX86 in my F150. I'm running passive with the supplied crossovers and have the high pass on the amp set at 60hz to roll the bottom of a bit because I have a sub for the low end. Even with the sub turned all the way down, these components in the front with the matching Tempo Ultra Integra 6 1/2" coaxials in the rear doors are mighty impressive. Very musical, very clear, punchy mid bass with respectable low end and very natural. Anything above this (cost) would be well into the point of diminishing returns. I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Outstanding quality at a bargain!

Bill from South, NJ on 3/31/2018

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound reproduction at a relatively great price. While I know there are other "over the counter" brands that, even their top of the line model, would be cheaper; none will be better. Morel makes one of the finest speakers on the market and the Tempo Ultras are no exception. Run them active for the truest SQ experience or rest assure and be confident in running them passive with the included crossovers, as they are very well designed and built. At this price point, this set will play up there with other Audiophile brands that are far more expensive. Overall, this is an outstanding component set for anyone from the DIY'er looking for a good system in their daily all the way to the audiophile junky looking for a true SQ system. Feed them plenty of CLEAN power and if you really want to appreciate them, get good quality music samples like FLAC files and you'll hear things you never knew existed in your favorite songs.

Pros: Outstaing value for your dollar. True SQ / Audiophile components at a OTC price point. VERY well built and designed for a true fit and sturdy constuction.

Cons: None that I can find

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Crutchfield customer from Port Vue, PA on 3/19/2018

2009 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi everyone, My fiancé and I love music but nothing's worse than listening to one of your favorite songs with speakers that don't allow you to feel it. Speakers that fall flat and have no punch. I purchased a set of alpine type r 6.5" and they were powered off the alpine F300 amp bridged. They are terrible compared to these beauties. The morel tempo ultras have way more mid bass and I didn't do anything except install them. The doors were already sound deadened, the processor was setup nicely using an RTA and the amps weren't clipping so it was just a speaker change. What a difference! One note to add is the morel tweeters like to play on-axis. We tried a few locations but anything off-axis lost a lot of sound. I haven't played around with the processor yet but I don't think I need to. The tweeters aren't harsh at all. I have them set at 0db and the mids sound nice. Kick drums have a nice punch without getting muddy and bass guitars come through clear and confident. I'm very please with these and so is my fiancé. She likes driving her car now lol even takes the long way home just so she can listen to them more. Another note, give these speakers at least 100rms. I'm sending 150rms to each and they take it and ask for more so don't be afraid to push them. Thanks again Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Morel tempo ultra 602

Ryan from San Jose on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have two different vehicles with these. One in a 2017 tacoma and the other in a 2014 Accord. These are awesome components. One thing for these is that perform best when the tweeters are on axis and giving them atleast 100rms. Best set of components I have heard. One set is being powered with a pdx v9 and an audiocontrol lc 4.800 for the other. I would recommend these. Definitely worth the money.

Pros: Very good bass for a 6.5, great mids and highs

Cons: Tweeter needs to be on axis to get the best performance.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

An overachiever in this price range

B. from Harrisonburg, VA on 7/26/2017

1993 Toyota T100

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these from Scott at the Harrisonburg Retail store, based upon his recommendation. I did a little research after talking with him, and was blown away by reviews on the web. I worked in the industry quite a few years, have owned a decent number of car speaker brands, and listened to quite a few more. In this application, the mids were installed in the front doors, and the tweeters in the front dash. I'm using a 4 channel JL amp running 75w RMS per channel. I have older components in the rear, dialed back just to add rear fill. The lows are handled by another JL amp and a JL 10w7. I figured these speakers would sound good, but they easily exceeded all expectations. Wonderful clarity, without the all too common harshness in today's speakers. Wonderful midbass punch as well. I'm running the mids crossed over at 80Hz, but a quick test tells me those who identify as audiophiles but are averse to a subwoofer would like these as well. With a live recording of Dustin O'Halloran playing piano, I was able to hear what I think was him shifting slightly, and other background noises I had never noticed. With Lonestar by Norah Jones, I had noticed the sound of fingers on frets around 1:30, but never with such defined detail. What I didn't expect was great sound with both heavy metal and R&B. With those, I tend to like it much louder, and the Morels kept up without flinching. Perhaps most surprising is they sounded best with the EQ completely flat.

Pros: Detailed, smooth tweeters, great mid bass!

Cons: Woofers may not fit some vehicles due to size.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

good midbass, easy to install

Bryce from USA on 6/27/2017

2016 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in a '16 Honda Accord EX. Woofers slip right into the doors with the adapters supplied by Crutchfield. The tweeters required a very slight modification to the sail panel to open up the diameter of the hole for the stock tweeter. I can still put the stock tweeter in if I need to. If your sail panels don't have stock tweeters the included surface mount brackets will work great. I deadened my doors thoroughly and I'm happy with the midbass response.

Pros: sound great warm, rich mids

Cons: highs can sound a little on the bright side, but nothing a slight EQ tweak doesn't solve.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Pete from Woodinville, WA on 1/31/2017

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Extremely high quality, just what I was looking for and you can't beat the service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointed

Dan from Martinez, CA on 12/31/2016

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in the doors of my 2002 f250 with the tweeter and cross over with out the tweeter and cross over and was disappointed with their performance. The bass and highs are much better in a set of 6X9 pioneer speakers I was going to remove for these morels

Pros: None

Cons: Poor performance

Crutchfield response on 1/3/2017
Dan, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 55 found this helpful

very, very satisfied with these

Herminio from Alexandria, VA on 9/30/2016

2016 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had this component speakers together with the Tempo Ultra Integra installed about 1 month ago. These speakers are being powered by an Alpine 100x4 amp. The first time I heard these, I was completely blown away. When I was looking for speakers, I was comparing these with JL Audio coax and components. I am very glad that I went with these Morels. Crystal clear high and plenty of bass(for a 6.5 speakers). If I have another car needing a set of speakers, I would definitely buy these again. Even the installer was blown away by these. That was the first time he installed Morels. They carry Alpine, JL Audio, Focal....You can not go wrong with these speakers. One of my friends who listened at it for the first time thought I had a subwoofer in the back.

Pros: Crystal clear mid and highs. Plenty of bass. Not everybody has one.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Terrific Sound Quality and Great Value!

Alan from Rochester, NY on 8/28/2016

2003 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A friend in Europe recommended Morel speakers, mainly for the "sublime" tweeter. I installed these in my Honda minivan and after a couple of weeks' running in, the sound is terrific. Sounds and individual instruments are clearly articulated from high to low frequencies. The bass is tight and well controlled, and the mid range is full, and the tweeters are open and detailed. Most importantly, the sound is rich without being fatiguing after extended listening periods. I also download a lot of BBC podcasts and spoken voice sounds very natural. I chose to omit the Morel crossover and run the main driver full range, and use the Polk Audio in-line tweeter crossover (db1001 tweeters have a 4kHz, 12dB/octave in-line passive crossover with an Electronic Tweeter Protection circuit for long term reliability). I drive these speakers with a Pioneer AVH-4100NEX and there is plenty of power. Quality is particularly good when playing high resolution audio files (up to 1192kHz/24 bit FLAC or WAV files). I wasn't sure how easily I could install a component system in my Honda minivan, but after a practice run with Polk Audio DB6501 I thought I would try the Morel's. The main driver units are substantial, and I had to cut away some of the factory speaker enclosure to accommodate them.

Pros: Solid Bass, clear mids and highs Controlled and articulated sound Easily driven by head unit without additional amplifier Great value!

Cons: Slightly larger than standard 6.5" speakers, so require some customization effort.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

Preston from Milwaukee WI on 6/3/2016

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed a set of Morel Tempo Ultra 602 components in my front doors and dash. These speakers are far and away the best I have ever heard. Clean smooth highs and the bass is incredible. I have a 100 watt / chanel amp behind them. I recommend they be amped. All of my mirrors shake without a sub. Unbelievable! Dynamat is also recommended for the doors. An investment that pays large dividends in sound quality. I had Alpine spr 6.5 components before and they are not even in the same category. Check the Morel maximos if you cant afford these. Great value.

Pros: Best speakers I have ever heard in a car.

Cons: Pricey. But in the grand scheme of things, worth every penny.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Absolutely amazing speakers!

D. Scott from Ohio on 5/16/2016

1991 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these before Crutchfield became an authroized Morel dealer (now I wish I would have waited a few months). THESE SPEAKERS ROCK!!!! Morel is known for their ultra smooth tweeters and the tweeters of these speakers are so smooth. And, how do I know this: By turning up the volume for long periods of time. And when I finally turn off my system, my ears ARE NOT ringing! I couldn't say that with my Kappas I had prior to these. The biggest surprise to the Ultra 602s is the bass response. I don't have a sub in my car and with these speakers, I don't think I will be getting one. It's, now, almost like I have a sub. These speakers pump out a surprising amount of bass for their 6 1/2" size (or is it 6 3/4"?). I am not saying the bass response goes as deep as a 15" sub, but the bass response is deep, punchy and noticeable. The mids and highs are clear and detailed. I, now, notice details of music that I have been listening to for years that I was not hearing in the past. My car audio system has been greatly improved with the installation of these speakers. If you are considering these speakers, I highly recommend you buy these. There is a build log on diymobilaudio.com of a complete car system that includes the Morel Tempo Ultra 602 two way components and the author talks pretty long on these spkeakers. Here is that link: http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/build-logs-project-install-gallery/164115-basic-sq-install-14-sti-review-morel-tem

Pros: Punchy, deep bass Super smooth highs (no ringing in the ears after prolonged high volume listening) Great imaging Impressive detail

Cons: Crutchfield says they don't fit in a 1991 Honda Accord, but I have them in mine with little extra effort (just need an adapter).

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

TOP