Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
240 999 65
Connect ID #
240 999 65
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audiovox ACA800

License-plate-mount backup camera with parking lines

MFR # ACA800

Audiovox ACA800

Audiovox ACA800

License-plate-mount backup camera with parking lines

MFR # ACA800

181 reviews
View this product

Audiovox ACA800

James from Bloxom, VA on 8/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Runting from El Monte, CA on 7/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantasitic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Fred from Covington, IN on 7/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a head unit and two cameras. Had "fun" trying to make all three play together because each wanted a different wiring connection. Went with the head units description and it worked.

Pros: Not bad but not as clear or bright as a factory model

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Adam from Chula Vista, CA on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean Krisp camera

Pros: Nice to attach above plate

Cons: The screw that holds the camera at an angle should be tighter.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

August from Tulsa, OK on 6/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera

Robert from Fort Worth, TX on 5/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

must have

Dennis from Avilla, IN on 5/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product, Crutchfield is great to work with. I called with questions and they had the answers.

Pros: plug and play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Anthony from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great for price

Joseph from Marion, OH on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great so far. Camera is clear and install was fairly easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Ashton from Florence, SC on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up quality looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Broken easily by automatic car washes.

Stephen from SANDY, UT on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera worked as promised. However, the design (small camera box hanging over the license plate) was not ideal. The camera is easily battered and knocked apart by automatic car washes. It's easy to put back together, but the wires inside finally broke. I'm now looking for a camera that has the camera integrated into the frame, not just hanging free.

Pros: Great picture.

Cons: Broken easily due to design.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Dan from Cedar Rapids, IA on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions to mount this to my vehicle blow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Steve from Ionia, MI on 2/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Keeps me from backing up into or over things but the picture is not quite what I was expecting. It was pretty inexpensive and I can see well enough for now. I did tweak the bracket as my license plate light is in the top center of the pocket. I tried under the plate but after a trip thru the car wash, was watching the sky. Put it back on top but moved over to miss the light and the car wash didn't catch it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Robert from Port Angeles, WA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

James from Mountain Home, ID on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems noisy...cables are suspect.have to keep pressing them together. Need a more positive lock when connected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back Up Camera

Robert from Staten Island, NY on 2/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install back up camera, no need to drill holes to mount to body, reasonably priced with grid lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

James from Vinton, VA on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

10/10 recommend, clear and brilliant picture

Pros: Beautiful picture

Cons: Distance portrayed in camera takes time getting used to. Objects closer than appear

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Ralph from Marion, OH on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really high resolution and worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Camera

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, NC on 12/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great, easy to connect to my Alpine head unit, daytime is crystal clear. night time is a little less clear & it shows two circles in the middle of the display, which I think are sensors, it is livable for me.

Pros:

Cons: odd circles in the display at night.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wires too short for mid-SUV

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera seems to work fine. My issue is that the supplied wires were about 7 feet too short for my 2009 Highlander, which is only a mid-size SUV. Had to buy an extension and solder on more wire for power.

Pros: Camera works well once installed

Cons: Supplied wires probably not adequate for most SUVs or large sedans

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Norristown PA on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid camera, great picture and guide lines. Plenty of cable length, reached all the way to the front of my F150 Supercrew with extra to spare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rear Camera

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good picture and easy hook up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, AL on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera does ok. It could be a little better on video quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rear view camera

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent equipment

Pros: Very good quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Norman, OK on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it is doing the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Coral Springs, FL on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good video quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, SD on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to improve an older car (2005 Buick LaSabre) It was connecting two wires and plugging it into the receiver. The hardest part was routing the cable from the stereo to the rear license plate. Clear picture. I will purchase another one for my older truck for easier trailer hook up.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: I had to drill one small hole into plastic near the license plate to run the cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but not great

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was a challenge given my license plate is located on my hatchback. Routing wires from the camera through the hatchback, then to the reverse light, then to the front of the car was an all day project. Found a Youtube video that showed installation tricks on a similar car, so that made things a bit easier. Colors are pretty distorted, and overall image is only fair, I guess what you could expect from a $70 camera. Certainly helpful, and the wide angle lens gives a comprehensive view behind and to the side of the car. Three stars, no better, no worse.

Pros: Economical, easy to mount on license plate

Cons: Distorted colors, image quality is only fair

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Tuttle, OK on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Working great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Indian Trail, NC on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it works as expected so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Port Angeles, WA on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera, easy install. I'd like to add that if you have a 4 door extended bed truck the video wire will most likely not reach to your dash

Pros: Easy install, good picture

Cons: Video wire may may be short for longer vehicles. Limits wiring to reverse tail light

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Urbanna, VA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and easy connection with the help of the Crutchfield team of course!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Scott from Warner Robins on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Slightly more than most but it lasts. Great image.

Pros: Great image Lasts a while Mounting options

Cons: Slightly more pricy but with it for quality.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good camera and picture quality. Extension cable has very cheap connectors that bend easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Voxx cam

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a fan of the instructions but it's ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good deal for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very good but still could be better in low light situations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lillington, NC on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera resolution, brightness, and response were all very nice. The bracket doesn't deal well with license plate frames and could be more adjustable, mine was a little crooked (minor complaint) but to fix that would have required bending the bracket which I didn't want to risk. Overall it works fine and I especially liked the modular design which gives different options for tapping into power and routing the cabling. Would buy again.

Pros: clear, bright, quick, modular connections

Cons: slightly crooked bracket

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hook up was straight forward and it has a very good view of the rear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Extention video cable too short

Crutchfield customer from Palmer Lake, CO on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality of the camera itself is good. Video output is as expected for the price. The install instructions are simple enough. The video out extention cable was about 6ft too short for my vehicle so I had to buy a 12ft RCA and female to female adapter and cut off the L/R audio cables. Even if I went the l shortest distance (maybe straight back through the headliner) and kept the cable very tight, I still would have been too short. Subaru Outback

Pros: Instructions and video quality are good

Cons: Extention video cable too short

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Chris from Loveland, CO on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear picture, plenty of cable left on a double cab SR5 Tundra. It will make backing up to a trailer so much easier when doing by myself. Instructions were not clear but Jacob at Crutchfield provided a wiring schematic that was easier to understand as there was no instruction on where the red wires should go and also drew two different ways to wire it.

Pros: Great picture and adjustable.

Cons: Instructions need improvement.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ramsey

Scott from ramsey on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera seems to work fine and has a good picture, although not as good as a factory camera. Biggest issue is that things looked far away and it was difficult to judge distance. It will take some getting used to, and its better than not having one. Have not tested at night, so not sure how that will work. Used with Boyo VTM43TC and connected up fine after I figured out the auto trigger hookup. The true test is how the camera will withstand weather. My factory camera in my Dodge got water in it after 4 years, so pretty disappointed in that. Also, the adjustment was limited, i have it fully pushed up and it could go higher to get the exact right spot.

Pros: It works, and hopefully will survive the elements

Cons: Power and ground wires are very small gauge, but i think that is typical

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Opelika, AL on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent for an add on camera

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Power leads are a little short for my liking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

added benefit

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, GA on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera is easy to install and provides an added benefit to my daughter who is just starting to drive. the picture quality is good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Springville, AL on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nicer camera than the one that came in our Toyota

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install clear picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Gold Canyon, AZ on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great but the video cable was about 6 feet to short for my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, GA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome set up with my Bose speakers in my 2003 2500hd! Instructions good just eager to get it in and had to go back over the wiring to get speakers going! Backup camera is good but want another one to show gooseneck hitch in truck bed and be able to switch back when done! Over all so far love it! Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for the money. I would buy another one if I had the need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Yale, VA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install and works just as it should. Makes hooking to a trailer by yourself much easier,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear picture, pretty straight forward instructions for install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Price, Clearer Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Statesboro, GA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good picture, guidelines seem disproportionate. Plenty of wire, clear pic, average nighttime pic. Will definitely meet my needs for price. Wired all the colors as diagrammed but there is a purple wire (?) that has to connect to 12v power or camera won't override unit when in reverse. So that wasn't super clear and is going to cost me on install. Once wire fixed going to be perfect for my needs.

Pros: Clear Pic Night Pic

Cons: Guidelines Wiring Instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lewisberry, PA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a great addition to my daughters vehicle. The install was very easy. The image quality is great and is very bright even at night. I would definitely recommend this backup camera to anyone who is looking to add this feature to their vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Be careful with the cable ends though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera with a very good picture when it works. This was the second time I bought this camera because the first one I bought just a few months earlier stopped working. I have no idea why and can only suspect maybe water got inside it from a car wash. Once I replaced it with a new one I broke open the old one and the inside did not look water damaged. Guess that means it was a fault with the camera. The hardest part about installing these cameras is all the trim removal necessary for running the cables. I have a large SUV and there was a lot of trim to remove. When I bought it the second time I did not realize I was buying the same one again so now my fingers are crossed it does not fail again. I had forgotten which model and brand I bought the first time so when I searched the website somehow I picked this one again. I guess that says something but I'm not sure what but I do know if it fails again that will be the last time I buy anything from that manufacturer.

Pros: Price and picture quality

Cons: First one stopped working

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from West Columbia, TX on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install intructions are well laid out and simple to follow. Shows a great image on the head unit display, even in low light. Nice camera for the price.

Pros: Low cost, easy to install following instructions, great picture even in low light.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Moncks Corner, SC on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Okay picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Floresville, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Steven from Valencia, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very low profile and clear image. Looks great at night and love that it's adjustable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty nice camera i purchased this to go along with my stereo and it works great. Installation directions could be a little more detailed but was not difficult to figure out. Installation was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, KY on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lares, PR on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very easy to install good quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the clearest , but serves the purpose

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent camera with clear picture

Crutchfield customer from Milford, OH on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this installed with the wires run through an access hole in the rear bumper of my 2003 Ford F-150. Due to cold and damp weather I haven't run the wiring up into the cabin yet, but I did test it by connecting temporarily and it provided a crystal clear picture (in daytime). The installation instructions are ambiguous at best, and at worst are worthless. I contacted Crutchfield's tech support and left my number for a call back. In about 5 minutes I received a call back and my questions were answered. The tech that helped me was very polite and knowledgeable and had received similar calls so knew exactly how to help me. The gist of it is the LONG cable contains a 6" red wire on both of the yellow connector ends. There are no instructions on what to do with it. The tech explained that the red wire connects to the reverse sensor wire on the radio harness side, (I got the ready harness with my system and it was clearly labeled) and on the rear end it connects to the power feed for the reverse light bulb. There is also a red and black wire from the camera that is a solid pair. Just pull it apart a bit and the red wire connects to the SAME red wire for the reverse light power, and the black wire just goes to a convenient ground. Will do a permanent installation and wire run once temps warm up and it dries out a bit. I have completed the radio side of the installation and have the LONG wire with the yellow plug and 6" wire for the camera side tucked away for now.

Pros: Crystal clear picture and fully adjustable camera. Bracket fit perfect behind my "FLY NAVY" license plate frame and camera is barely visible.

Cons: Very confusing installation instructions. Contact tech support if what I stated above doesn't make sense. They explained it very simply. Lack of lights will determine how effective it is at night.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worked finally but too finnecky.

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent picture but extremely flakey during install. Had to get replacement after first install and camera stopped working 24hrs later. Seems to need very delicate hands and slightest touch of camera wires can cause video feed to fail.

Pros: Price

Cons: Durability

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Maybe a fluke...

Matthew from FRANKLIN, KY on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great while it worked. Housing came apart and water ingress causes camera to not function. When it dried out, it worked but the image was distorted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, NM on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade to my 2004 F-150

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Joseph Edward from Cheshire, CT on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine, still trying to figure out how to remove the Giant Orange Cones from view. After two trips to fix it, they keep coming back like some kind of spectral force... Update 12.04.2020 - Works great. It turns out that the large orange cones that showed up on my screen were actually a default setting created by the Alpine head unit. Audiovoxx support was very responsive just like at Crutchfield. To remove the cones if you have alpine, just go into settings and choose the second tab for the camera page. The picture is sharp and I give the product five stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovix Excellence

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely well made product!

Pros: Ease of install and use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good backup camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Ringwood, NJ on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera is ok. Should be sold (or include) a $5 power filter (which you absolutely need to remove the multiple horizontal lines on screen).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible directions

Crutchfield customer from Salem, VA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera

Pros: Tech support was great

Cons: Directions are not very well had to call tech support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product but very basic instructions

Crutchfield customer from Petal, MS on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good purchase and quality. The instructions weren't great and Crutchfield provided no instructions. But, I got it done from watching some videos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Madison Lake, MN on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as promised. clear picture. reasonably priced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little camera for a great price

Crutchfield customer from Newburyport, MA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera was an add on to the Alpine ILX W650. Installation of the camera was simple. Running the wires from the rear of the car into the cabin was easy. Harness was long enough to accommodate a crew cab pick up truck.

Pros: Ease of installation. Works really well. Picture quality is high. The modes for guidance are either cones or lines for backing up. Can select either or none. Pricing was good for the value.

Cons: Wiring diagram is missing details for the red tracer wire in the long cable with the RCA jacks on either end that connect to the ACCY power for energizing the camera. It took some research to get to the details.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Price Unit

Oscar from Los Angeles, CA on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and does what it suppose to do. Definitely worth the money!!

Pros: Price Easy to install

Cons: Resolution (good for the price)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent for price

Andre from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good picture. Easy to adjust.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent product, possibly defective

Brax from Pleasant Grove, UT on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The packaging was cool, but the lack of instructions made it sort of tricky to install. The red wire for example is used to send the reverse signal to the head unit. I give it one star because I fired it up and it worked great the first day, but it has been a black screen ever since and I have tried troubleshooting all of it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/5/2020
Brax, we're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera does a good job at this price point and works great for seeing the hitch ball and attaching my boat or trailer along with just backing up. I installed this on a 2007 Silverado crew cab and had about 10 inches of cord left from the radio to the tag mounting. The reason for 4 stars is the poor directions for installation especially the 2 red pigtails. I also ran a designated ground to the body which helped a lot.

Pros: Works great, good price point and the tag mount bracket for installation makes it easy

Cons: Terrible directions for hookup, had to youtube to figure out.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Fairchild Afb, WA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great kit

Michael Anthony from Kennewick, WA on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my f-150 supercab. Came with plenty of cable to run from the back of the stereo all the way to the rear license plate.

Pros: Placement Size Cable length Video quality

Cons: Thin wire

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox AVA800

Crutchfield customer from Everett , WA on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is great. The installation was simple and straight forward. The only complaint the wiring was18 inches to short. I have a 4-door pickup with 8 foot bed. I just used a RCA cord I had laying around the house. Works great with my new Kenwood navigation system.

Pros: Good picture and easy to install.

Cons: Wiring was to short for my large pickup.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acceptable with one detractor

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent camera with good daytime clarity and so-so for night time. (*maybe as good or a bit less than my factory one) Active parking lines work fine and operate well. One detractor is that the manufacturer includes a really cheap camera wire for external routing on a truck but only time will tell there. Happy with it currently

Pros:

Cons: Camera wire is really cheap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, still early

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well, good price

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with the JVC head unit purchased with it. Warning lines in the image are helpful as-is, no need to use the ones from the head unit. Good low-light capability. Makes my Ridgeline a lot safer going backwards- well worth the price!

Pros: Price Ready to go out of the box

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great back up cam

Crutchfield customer from Texarkana, TX on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, great picture!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera.

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera, very easy to install. I love the view.

Pros: Easy install, great picture.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality camera at a good price

Crutchfield customer from East Wenatchee, WA on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install and the cords have plenty of length for any vehicle your installing the camera in. Picture looks good is super helpful.

Pros: -HD picture quality -active backup lines -easy to install -brackets for license plate mount or bumper -can be inverted for front facing camera

Cons: -no IR / LED lights for night driving

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great price for the quality!

Crutchfield customer from Valrico, FL on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When installing make sure you have a way to make sure the yellow connection doesn't come loose. This will result in a fuzzy video feed that looks like your watching a fuzzy channel on an analog television set.

Pros:

Cons: Connection can easily come loose if not secured properly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Towanda, PA on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good camera for the price. I would have liked the mounting screws a little bit more robust but, overall pretty happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install. Why didn't I get one of these sooner?

Pros: easy mount, easy wiring,great picture

Cons: none,what can I say

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wire was a little short so I had to tap into it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wide field of view without distortion

Michael from Paulina on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely pleased with the video quality and the highly visible colored grid. The 150 degree view angle gives a wide field of view without distortion. It's been mounted on our 2004 GMC Yukon for ~1-1/2 years and has worked flawlessly.

Pros: Quality video. Highly visible colored grid. Easy to install. Reasonably priced.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap-o Camera

David from Haverhill, MA on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, this camera comes in a really nice, sturdy box with the fancy magnetic closure. I think it was the most expensive component of the purchase. Too bad it just gets thrown out and the money didn't go into something useful to the buyer like better parts or a better manual. I wouldn't say the unit was not what I ordered, but don't be surprised to not find the Audiovox name or logo anywhere on the box. The included hardware is cheap, flimsy, and missing parts. The instructions describe a grommet, not something one normally has laying around, so I assume it was missing. But, there wasn't a parts list, so who knows? And, the supplemental bracket was not machined well and I had to bend it in a vise to get the camera to sit true. The instructions stink because they do not mention how the red wire on the RCA cable is to be connected. I had to waste time researching its purpose and then call Crutchfield to verify. Trying to find information on the AVX web site was futile, so don't bother. I hope this piece of junk makes it a year, but am not holding out hope. At least I've run the wires.

Pros: Inexpensive Gets the job done

Cons: Cheap Flimsy Poor Manual I expected better from Crutchfield

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Alamosa, CO on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not enough RCA cable

Travis from SOUTH WEBER, UT on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried to install this today and the RCA cable that it comes with is not long enough for a 2006 Silverado crew cab short bed..This isn't a very long truck and you would think they would consider the size of regular sized trucks. I might send this back.

Pros:

Cons: RCA cable is manufactured too short for most trucks

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Lousy Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason I'm giving this 3 starts is because they didn't explain in their installation instructions what the red wires were at the ends of the video cable. I had to call Crutchfield which instantly knew what I was talking about, but why didn't the manufacturer indicate what the red wires were for. Experienced installers probably know, but if you are doing it for the first time, you have to figure out yourself. Otherwise the camera works fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, works great. Good price for the quality. All in all, the perfect balance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, TX on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and great camera. I love the back up lines too!

Pros: Easy in install and looks OEM

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks great. Running below vehicle was a challenge but doable with a little patience. Took a while to figure out how to connect the power to a circuit that only comes on when in reverse. Only negative is the video quality gets a little grainy at night due to license plate lights near the camera. However, it's a great value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great camera

Crutchfield customer from Fort Benning, GA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install camera and the picture is a good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Alvin, TX on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera has a nice clear picture, and the wiring was of good quality. Video cable was long enough to fit a Suburban.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backing up

Crutchfield customer from Niles, OH on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Looks almost factory!

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Waycross, GA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is great overall but the instructions kind of sucked. Self installation is not very easy with the given instructions. I had to watch a few YouTube videos. Once I got it installed it is a great product with a clear picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Dale, TX on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well.

Pros: easy install

Cons: camera is vulnerable attatched to license plate. I was able to modify bfacket to recess camera between bomper and tailgate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install good picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800 with Sony XAV-AX1000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera give a good picture. The licence plate mounting is easy to use and makes the installation look like it came out of the factory. Paired it with the Sony XAV-AX1000. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, better picture than some OEMs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from St Paris, OH on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, TN on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good backup camera with a small profile. Bracket fits behind the license plate with just the small camera showing over the center of the tag. comes with a LONG cable that was plenty long enough to reach from the camera to the radio in my Dodge Ram 2500 quad cab truck with an 8ft bed. Clear picture day and night with a big field of view.

Pros: Comes with and extra long cable for installing on larger vehicles. Small profile.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to wire up and install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Anaconda, MT on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Descent picture quality for the price, easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear good picture.

Crutchfield customer from Allen, OK on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, easy to install. Just make sure you make a good connection on your power wire (in my case the reverse light power wire) only down fall, I could not figure out how to take the reverse lines off. I pared it to a JVC head unit and it looks amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really nice backup camera for the price. It's low profile and unobtrusive on the exterior and the connection between the RCA cable and the camera is super skinny and well designed. Video quality is good even at night. The only issue with it is that where the RCA hooks up to your head unit, there is no "pigtail" power wire to hook up to your head unit reverse sensor. This requires you to run a power wire from your backup lamp to the head unit or tap into the reverse lights under your dash. Not a huge deal though I just used a second T-tap to pull signal from under the kick panel in my truck.

Pros: Low profile

Cons: No power wire pigtail at head unit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good backup camera easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from North Dartmouth, MA on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Removing panels then reinstalling them took the longest. Actual install was about 2 minutes. Great field of view, nice addition

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera with great picture. Added to a 2012 Expedition that took some work (no fault of the camera), but has added a great rear view!

Pros: Greta picture, would buy again.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good view

Crutchfield customer from Corrales, NM on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear video image. Embedded marker lines pretty good green is about 8 foot back, red is about 2 foot back for my installation. The hardest part was routing the cable to the back of a extended cab long bed truck

Pros: Pretty goo image in day time, haven't tried night yet. Cabel is long enough fot a extended cab long bed pickup.

Cons: The camera with its mount bracket looks vulnerable just above the trailer hitch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Image is very nice and works like it should. Install was fairly straight forward however routing cables was not not (but that's not a fault of the camera). Power cables are long enough to reach tail light area. Video cable plenty of length to reach front dash area. Glad my advisor recommended it.

Pros: Clear image

Cons: No grommet included for running cable through rear door in my case.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Camera

Crutchfield customer from Baraboo, WI on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my Sony head unit. Excellent clarity and field of view.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Placerville, CA on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions and install took a while, as I wanted a complete OEM look with no visible wires. Works as advertised with great resolution on my Honda Element paired with a JVC KW-75BT. Very happy with purchase for the quality and price and as always Crutchfield there when I needed them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Ridgeway, SC on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with the camera.

Pros: Gives a clear image.

Cons: Installation instructions are a little confusing. Don't cut the blue wires unless you are using it for a front camera.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Alachua, FL on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Update older vehicle with safety priceless

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 2/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The backup camera works great. Very clear picture and easy to mount on licence plate.

Pros: High quality and looks great.

Cons: It came with a lot of extra hardware for various mounting configurations, but a couple of (very low cost items) were not included: a 1/2 rubber grommet to run the cable through the bumper per the instructions, a wire tap to connect to the reverse light wire, and a wire lug & self-taping screw to secure the ground wire-again per the instructions. Since these come in large packages, I have a bunch of spare parts that I will never use. Add 50 cents to the price and include.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, MA on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. The install could be simplified with a plug harnes to the backup light. I would have paid extra for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple install. Hardest part was locating the reverse wire to tap into. ( you can lookup your car wiring diagram online or remove a taillight to see the wire color). Took longer to run the wire from the back of the car to the front than to mount due to all the mounding.

Pros: Simple install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As with any camera, these take some time and patience to install properly but the end result is fantastic. This was paired with a Sony head unit and everything works wonderfully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, TN on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camara was easy to install and is very clear. Impressed with this camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was simple and easy and has good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Latham, OH on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are far better cameras, but for the price, I'm satisfied with this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear

Crutchfield customer from Atchison , KS on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So it mounts easy and the picture is good. But the instructions say to use the security screws and included wrench for installation. But it only came with standard Phillips head screws and no tool

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Union, OH on 11/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to put in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy and strait forward installation. Camera has a great pick and seems to be well made

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, SC on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real clear but not wide enough view for my wife

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and has great picture.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Lack of features

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great clear camera

Crutchfield customer from Fallon, NV on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hard to beat at this price point

Robert from Mount Pleasant, SC on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works flawlessly. I am very happy with the quality of this camera.

Pros: Straight forward installation and it works great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

One to Buy

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke Rapids, NC on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good camera for the price

Pros: Great video

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Gary from Boston, MA on 10/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this backup camera after installing a Sony XAV-AX1000 in my 2018 Subaru WRX. I didn't realize the stock backup camera wasn't compatible with the Sony system. I mounted this camera into the previous location the stock backup camera was in. I didn't want to drill any holes in the trunk door or alter my vehicle in any way just to install this. I cable tied the wiring down along the hinge of the trunk door. The wiring to the stereo system I put behind the weatherstrips/head liner along the left roof rail. I only wanted the camera lines from the Sony to show, so I cut the green wire & taped it with insulating tape. Install was pretty simple. Only issue I'm currently experiencing is the screen flickering to blue, then to "no video signal" once taken out of reverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clear picture

Michael from Elk Grove, CA on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up cam. Very clear picture.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Sligo, PA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed camera very clear love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, NC on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my sons 94 mustang. Picture is very clear. Haven't used at night yet but give it 5 stars even without knowing how it does at night. Installation was very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well. Would have been nicer to have better instructions. I ran all of the wires up to the driverside door, only to find out I really should have kept the ground and reversing wire in the trunk. If you have a 2010 Chevy Malibu if you drop the interior of the trunk lid you will see a bundle connection that goes into the trunk lid. Use a Posi-Tap to connect the reverse wire from the camera to the solid lime green wire in the bundle connection. To get the wire from the camera into the interior of the 2010 Chevy Malibu if you remove the left taillight there is a rubber bladder that the car wires pass through. Work your wire through there and then there is no need for drilling a hole into anything.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2002 Toyota Sequoia Install

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great. Has a great image night and day. My only complaint is that there are no good instructions from Crutchfield for camera install on a vehicle with a lift gate. This is surprising as I have 3 vehicles with lift gates -Toyota Sequoia, Honda Pilot, Honda CR-V. It took hours of searching to find where to connect the reverse signal to the receiver. Crutchfield should have more vehicle specific instructions if they are going to sell backup cameras. The camera is great and works flawlessly, but took a lot of extra time to install.

Pros: Great image.

Cons: No good instructional help from Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Searcy, AR on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality even in low light. Super easy to install! I wish the field of view was wider but certainly bwas not a deal breaker for me.

Pros: Great image quality. Works well in low light. Easy to install.

Cons: Narrow field of view.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as advertised! Plenty of wire for the install, nice clear picture. very pleased!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crisp Image

Nick from Mount Calvary, WI on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera is installed on my Chevy 2500 for hooking up to trailers. The image is bright and clear, and mounts nicely behind the license plate. My truck is a regular cab with an 8 foot box and the included wire is long enough to run under the truck, through the firewall, to my radio (Kenwood Excelon DDX396). I would have preferred a disconnect for the RCA cable near the camera so it could be easily replaced if it fails, rather than have to re-run the wire and fish it up though the dash again. Here's to hoping it holds up in Wisconsin winters!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Does the job

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely clear camera. Camera installation is pretty straightforward.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't get it to work In reverse We hooked it up correctly Works intermio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/20/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your rear-view camera. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Round Lake, IL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Hampden, ME on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, crisp image, color looks good, night time vision is good and form factor is nice and small. Works great on the back of my 1/2 ton truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Worley, ID on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear view and easy to install. Good option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Linden, NC on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this camera installed for a couple of weeks but so far I really like it. I was a little sceptical about going with a Audiovox but the picture is very clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice and cheap

Crutchfield customer from Dundee, IL on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, plenty of wire, and the ability to turn off the parking guides. Image is clear and bright - better than many OEMs. Ditched the license plate bracket and used the included surface mount bracket under the rear bumper (pickup truck) where it would be less likely to get kicked or stepped on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very happy

Crutchfield customer from Usaf Academy, CO on 6/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, awesome color, massive field of view

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really nice camera and was easy to install. I would suggest two things. 1. I wouldn't power the camera from your reverse lights. On our Sony head unit, doing this prevented us from adjusting the parking guides while the camera feed was active. So if you can, use an alternate power source. 2. I would wait to cut the camera parking guide wires until you test which you like best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Frederiksted, VI on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect inexpensive products

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, MA on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think the instructions could have been a bit clearer. Also I think there should have been some sort of disconnect in the line after you've run it inside the car, in case you needed to replace the camera for any reason you wouldn't have to completely re-run the wire. The display is clear, which is what you are looking for. Also, they have you drill a 1/2" hole in your vehicle and then tell you, oh, you need to go buy a rubber grommet before running your wire through. How about including it?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wide angle backing camera

Crutchfield customer from Intl Falls, MN on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera has a very wide angle with crisp focus. You can see the ball on your class III bumper and yet have a clear view of what is parked several car lengths away.

Pros: Thin wires install in very tight spaces

Cons: Thin wires are hard to splice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality and easy install!

Robert from Westfield, MA on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, quality, well-packaged. Another great Crutchfield purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works perfect. Better than the original car radio. We love it.

Pros: Very easy to operate.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera, easy install.

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for me. No complains.

Pros: Easy install. Good quality image. Decent night view.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Peachtree Cor, GA on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sure, why not?

Crutchfield customer from Passaic, NJ on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give it five stars. It works well at night and is adjustable. The cables are long and it's well made. My only minor gripe is I wish the ground and power had a thicker gauge. Comes with a few accessories as well but I didn't use it. Also I haven't figured out if you can turn off the guides for the camera, I turned it off for the head unit.

Pros: Easy install Good accessories

Cons: Unsure if I can turn off the guides...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from North Bellmore, NY on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear picture with a wide view

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good image quality and low light performance.

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The license plate bracket makes install much easier. The wire from the camera is a small diameter minimizing the hole size required. Length was perfect for my 2010 Civic to reach the backup light for power. Low light sensitivity is good as well. I disabled the parking lines because the head unit had its own, and those were adjustable. Very happy with this tech update for my vehicle!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job.

Crutchfield customer from Pace, FL on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really clear in the daytime. At night its grainy. My factory back up cam in my Chrysler blows it away as far as night vision goes.

Pros: Has guidelines that are selectable. Really nice picture in the day.

Cons: Grainy at night.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

A cost-effective rear camera with amazing clarity

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shockingly crystal-clear rear backup camera. When I first tested it, I was blown away by the clarity sitting in my garage, backed up against the wall. Going outside just confirmed it. This camera is very clear. Nice integration into plate and the cord is long enough to go to my friend's car next store if needed.

Pros: Easy to install, crystal clear image, helpful guide lines built in that can be removed with a wire clip (if desired).

Cons: None. It is a remarkable value. Love it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Crutchfield customer from Vacaville, CA on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Paul R from Hot Springs, AR on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product that has the backup lines built in. Only difficulty was running wires from rear door on 2003 expedition to the front of the car. Not a product issue just involved because it is an SUV. Works very well. Used with Pioneer AVH 1440nex.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome picture

michael from Tinley Park, IL on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome picture. Easy to install. Install instructions could have been better. Had to U tube about the reverse wire from the stereo. I know that not this product but it could have been explained better

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Not enough info about the install

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid choice.

Fred from Charlotte, NC on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great backup camera. Good video resolution. Like the lane lines.

Pros: Good video resolution. Backup lane lines.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audiovox ACA800

Lee from Cumming, GA on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward installation, works as expected. Don't know what else to say.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great camera.

Crutchfield customer from Belton, TX on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Found this camera to do everything I needed. Great picture, day or night. Installation pretty tedious but easy enough.

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful