Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
932 738 43
Connect ID #
932 738 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers (Slim-line: 2-1/2" depth)

MFR # XT52

XTC 5-1/4

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers (Slim-line: 2-1/2" depth)

MFR # XT52

111 reviews
View this product

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Dade City, FL on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these baffles not only for better sound, but also to keep the magnets more dry. Fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Fairless Hills, PA on 8/15/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little better than the factory ones. Seem to work good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Bellefontaine, OH on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ups sent my order back to you and I talked to Chip and he said that you will send it back to me .but I haven't heard anything yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Mena, AR on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in a John Deere Gator 835r. Worked as needed to direct sound better into cab. Helped reduce speaker vibration and speaker cut out. Shipping was fast and well packaged.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Use it!!

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I always use these for my installs they are great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Martinez, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and trim to fit. Helps to limit exterior noise and channel the sound of your speakers into the cabin. Very easy to trim/modify as needed.

Pros: Exterior sound deadening. Affordable. Easy to trim/modify.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality at a fair price

Pros: Directs the sound back into the car

Cons: Can't find any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Just cut the outside edge to fit. Makes a big difference in sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethville, PA on 2/2/2020

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to put on

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would buy again

Crutchfield customer from Spanaway, WA on 1/1/2020

2008 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great idea

Pros: Great for protection from the elements

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Denison, IA on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big improvement in sound quality

Pros: Good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Candler, NC on 9/22/2019

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the baffles fit perfect, really helped with the sound in the doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Rising Star, TX on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trim to fit and enjoy the protection and sound improvement. Great product.

Pros: Plenty of material. Sized to fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Placed in a motorcycle , trimmed to fit , really enhanced sound of the Polk speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Burton, MI on 6/25/2019

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad this was suggested!!! Sounds wonderful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Manistee, MI on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good baffles, work great

Pros: Good cheap protection for your speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Laurinburg, NC on 4/7/2019

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the costs, used with the MTX terminator5 in the back of a 98 Ram single cab.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Rogersville, AL on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not great.

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not waste money on these again.

Pros: None

Cons: Was talked into purchase by my advisor (Crutchfield). In the first place they were WAY too deep; scrunched up to a wrinkled mess in the limited area I had (behind the speakers). There was narrower version (upon investigating) that I should have been sold. I chatted with Tech support (who insisted that it's okay if they get smashed (behind the speakers, really?; and I was supposed to hear from C.S. but never did. Not a lot of money but I feel taken a bit.

Crutchfield response on 4/1/2019
Our Customer Support specialist, Tylaher, reached out to this customer for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really help direct the sound up instead of going into large dash cavity of my Freightliner

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap insurance

Louis from St Augustine, FL on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Keeps dirt and water out of new speakers, closed the air gap around the mounting hole, acts as a gasket for mounting surface. Good stuff

Pros: Keeps everything clean & dry, and acts like a gasket for the speaker

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

nice job

domenic e from Ulster Park, NY on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good stuff here,another way to help out with sound quality,keep stuff like this coming...

Pros: easy install and cheap price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Tehachapi, CA on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was recommended to install these in the door , will not fit at all. Now I have to return them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/10/2018
Our Customer Support specialist, Bryan, reached out to this customer to arrange a refund. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Connor from Zanesville, OH on 9/24/2018

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really does help!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great baffle

Michael from Greenville, NC on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these every time that I install speakers in a door. These went into the read extended cab doors in a 2004 Silverado.

Pros: Excellent quality, price, quick delivery

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Shannon from Fruita, CO on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these bafflesh for my infinity 5 1/4" kappas, th replace the speakers in my camper, an they helped with vibration in the ceiling, and gave me a full Mello bass sound. My speakers no longer sound like a tin can....Thank you for the expert recommendations on all of my equipment, you nailed it Crutchfield!

Pros: Easy installation, great sound, excellent service!

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 4/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, price, and fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kills the bass

Caleb from Louisville, KY on 4/2/2018

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can see how these might be useful to protect your speakers or reduce rattle but they also restrict air movement and KILLED the bass in my door speakers! I took them out and I'm much happier. Waste of money.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: Restricts air movement and kills the bass response.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/2/2018

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool wish I knew about this product along time ago

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Millerstown, PA on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must to any speaker install. Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fitment and quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Monclova, OH on 11/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is great that they fit perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth it!

Malique from Miami, FL on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent! They protect the speakers, and enhance the quality of them.

Pros: Inexpensive, protects and brings out the speaker's true potential.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Gray Court, SC on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Keeps the speakers from the moisture in the car door, and helps block unwanted noise and vibration - great idea.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

David from Rome, Georgia on 7/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. I think it muffles a lot of the noise from the truck. Wish it would have came with more clear instructions to use them in the rear.

Pros: Reduced rattling

Cons: No clear instructions and to which location to be installed. Front or rear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Kenneth from Bridgeview, Illinois on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like described. Installed easily. Good product

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Springville, CA on 4/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These simple foam speaker covers really made a hugh difference on my crutchfield polk audio speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from High Springs, FL on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I was not going to install these baffles thinking they would restrict the movement of the speaker cone, after a conversation with the helpful Crutchfield tech, in my install 1995 Dodge Ram in the rear, it was explained that they seal the outside edge of the speaker and the factory hole was in fact bigger then the 5 ¼ speaker. The baffle it self has no encaustic value; ultimately I installed them, changed the sound for the better for sure!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, IL on 12/22/2016

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always use these for door speakers to protect your speaker from getting wet and destroyed! I've had it happen and use these ever since. They work great and tighten up the sound a bit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Why not for the $$$?

Scott from Charlotte, NC on 12/7/2016

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick, easy way to protect my replacement speakers and help out on sound quality somewhat. Why not add/install them while everything is apart anyway?

Pros: Good fit Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Rolla, MO on 9/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

1995 evc

PLUG N PLAY from Aspen, CO on 9/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

duhh

Pros: great period

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not worth it

lvaz from New York on 10/30/2015

2013 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I actually haven't found these useful at all.

Pros:

Cons: Difficult to install.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

5.25 inch speaker baffles

chongobongo from California on 8/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, well fitting baffles. Easy to install, just needed a small slit at bottom to install speaker wires. Will effectively keep out dirt and moisture

Pros: Good fit, and reasonably priced

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte TN on 6/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brings speaker to life

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome addition

Obi-Swan from Washington on 3/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these. They really help. No issues w/ fitment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Xtc baffles

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 3/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Must have for any speaker install

Pros: Good fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Helps with the sound!

chanson from Hope, RI on 2/20/2015

2002 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helps keep the sound in the car!

Pros: Helps with the sound.

Cons: Can make speaker installation a pain tryjng to screw through foam

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

EN from CA on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could see the use of these if the location of install was wet or the speakers were exposed to possible damage. I didn't like the sound when used so I removed them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Foam speaker baffles.

KassidyK from Oklahoma on 12/29/2014

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with the speakers and easily installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Vance from California on 12/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are going into a 1990 VW Westfalia. There mounted in the rear deck next to the A/C. Helped protect against moisture and enhanced the sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Foam baffles

B from Minneapolis mn on 11/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Review on foam speaker baffle

Pros: Excellent. Easy install, increase sound clarity, minimizes water getting to back of speaker.

Cons: No cons yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

GMan from 49048 on 10/6/2014

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice thick material.

Pros: Easy to run line by poking hole thru material. Flexible yet thick barrier.

Cons: Was extra deep set, so a little oversized for the 5 1/4 " speakers I bought.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Waste of money

Jim from Shawnee, KS on 9/29/2014

2009 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy, but after turning on some music, I had to turn the volume up about twice as high as I used to just to get it to a comfortable listening level. There was also zero bass. Hoping it wasn't my new Focal speakers, I took one of the baffles out and it sounded like it should....loud with crisp highs and perfect bass. I proceeded to take the rest out and the music sounded great. I thought about cutting the back off as others have said in reviews, but I didn't bother. I can see the advantage of protecting your speakers, but if it makes your music sound dull and lifeless, is it really worth it? I may try cutting the back off one at some point and see how the speaker performs, but it's not high on my priority list. I regret spending money on this suggested accessory.

Pros: Ease of install Protects speakers

Cons: Reduced volume Completely kills bass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, OK on 7/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These do what they're supposed to

Pros: Focuses sound in pointing direction

Cons: Hard to install, dampens higher frequencies

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good add-on

Ron H from Houston, TX on 7/15/2014

2014 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good add-on for the disappointing Sony 3-way speakers

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffles

corronamj from Green Cove Springs, FL on 6/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice fit really helped reduce vibration in my door speakers.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

They work great

Steve3513 from Phoenix, AZ on 5/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles work great for tightening up the bass of smaller drivers. add a bit of fiber fill before seating the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

XTC 5.25

Jay from Rocklin ca on 4/24/2014

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seem to do their job, almost a little too well, I have been debating removing these, if you think they're a necessity go for it! But I'd skip this product.

Pros:

Cons: Cuts sound quality quite a bit, very baffling.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

a "must have" extra

clean music from Peoria on 4/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are pretty simple foam baffles. No need to be fancy but they work great! Just poke a small hole to pass the speaker wire through tighten speakers down and presto! Made a HUGE difference in the sound quality of all my speakers! My bro has been telling me for years to get baffles. I was redoing my system so I took advantage of the opportunity since the door panels would be off anyway. I was seriously surprised at the difference these made!

Pros: Speakers don't distort as easy and sound much better! For just a few dollars these make a huge difference!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

speaker baffles fit

treya3 from McKinney, TX on 3/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles seem to fit the speakers and my car well. I am new to using baffles with my speakers and hoped these would come with instructions. They didn't, and I couldn't find any online. Hope I installed them correctly.

Pros: fit well

Cons: no instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Baffles

DS from Chagrin Falls, Oh on 1/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

keep the speakers clean and dry, seem to improve the sound

Pros: fit snuggly, work to improve sound in my estimation.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4 Speaker baffles

Patty from Boonville, NY on 12/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install, highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from texas on 12/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a little bulky and slightly awkward to mount with the speaker but should work well for the intended use and I would imagine should increase sound quality as well as protect the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Sam from Allentown PA on 12/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was very pleased with sound enhancement

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not sure why these were recommended

Nate from Las Vegas, NV on 11/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles were recommended for my front speakers when I added Kicker 40CS54 5-1/4 two ways to my cart. I assumed that they were meant to reduce rattle and vibration and protect the speaker from moisture. Fair enough. Installation was easy, but when I first fired up the system, the sound was... Disappointing. Highs had a definite hiss and bass was washed out and distorted. Songs I was very familiar with sounded almost unrecognizable. Fiddling with settings and EQ helped, but I was beginning to think id chosen poorly on speakers and was going to have to add a sub. I don't know what made me think of it, but after about a week I started looking up info on the baffles and many people said that they had a definite affect on bass. I opened my doors back up and reinstalled the baffles in the garbage can. A world of difference. Bass finally appear, highs and mids sounded better mixed. I don't think there is anything wrong with these baffles. If used with a component system or a sub, I think they would be great. I just think crutchfield needs to be more informative about the proper use of the baffles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Not sold on usefulness

TheTraveler from Waterville, ME on 10/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these wih my Polk component speakers, and am not sold on their usefulness. I cut a port in the bottom of them as another review suggested, but still think I'm losing bass on them. They'll protect the speakers, sure, but if you sacrifice sound, hmmmmm....

Pros: Easy to install/modify

Cons: Potentially losing bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does what it should

Ben from Evergreen, CO on 10/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles fit well, are easy to install (if you know how to remove your car door panels) and appear to be fairly durable. Since they are medium density foam, it is easy to glue or mount then into whatever existing mounting locations you have. Just screw straight through it. My only recommendation is to triple check the dimensions and ensure you have enough cavity space in the door to accommodate it. The fit was a bit tight in my Subaru Impreza.

Pros: Durable Universal Easy to install

Cons: Deep

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

review

Bill D from Yorktown Va on 10/10/2013

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice item no issue with installation

Pros: improved sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Product

T H from St Charles, MO on 10/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these in my front doors and my MB Quart components sound ten times better than the premium Mark Levison factory system that came in my Lexus Gs. Thanks for a great price Crutchfield, you were better than ebay!

Pros: It protects your speakers, what else do you want them to do?

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Xtc speaker baffles

Crutchfield customer from Washington on 9/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Xtc speaker baffles offer good protection around the backside of the speakers some sound deadening also.

Pros: Good speaker protection/ added sound dampening which makes for less rattles.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffle's

Jose from Paterson NJ on 9/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good investment to keep your expensive speakers in good shape and dry. Plus you get good sound out of your speakers. I give this product A+++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Helpful, but not necessary

LucasC from Tulsa,OK on 8/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed my new speakers first without these baffles then with them, they seemed to reduce the overall volume, but made for tighter, more accurate sound. Kind of like the difference between a sub in a sealed or a ported enclosure.

Pros: Better, tight sound

Cons: Reduced overall volume

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffles

fshnfool from nc on 8/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

don't know would not work

Pros: non

Cons: won't fit,to deep ,catch on window

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5 1/4 speaker baffles

Nate from Solway, MN on 8/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used correctly these are a quality baffle.

Pros: Great sound dampening and quality materials used.

Cons: Need enough room in my opinion for 1/4-1/2 inch behind magnet imho.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must Haves

Rose33090 from Montgomery, AL on 8/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are refurbing your car stereo system and think you won't need to worry about needing baffles, you'd be wrong. They not only protect your new speakers from moisture (or worse), but they allow your speakers' deep sounds to reflect into your car instead of into your steel car door. Spend the extra money!!

Pros: Enrich the sound of the speakers for such a low price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just what i needed.

JC from FL on 7/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in my Jeep Wrangler dash to help with sound and protection from the elements. Works great!

Pros: Good protection.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Ryang from Sarasota, FL on 7/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit and will protect the speaker. Easy to cut small hole for wires to get out. Hole is almost self-sealing.

Pros: Low cost, easy fit that will protect the speaker.

Cons: Foam is not a high quality material.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good product

MikeK from San Diego, CA on 6/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well made good sound easy to mold.

Pros: easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good depth and easy to work with

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 5/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best to cut out undeside in doors to allow for better soy nd

Pros: Easy to work with

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC speaker baffles

Scott from Norfolk, NY on 5/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cut the bottom off of these baffles and I am using them with the 6x8 to 5 1/4 speaker adaptor plate. Prevents my speakers from rattling when my music is turned up. Easy to cut.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

5 1/4 speaker baffles

charles from louisa, va on 3/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Used them on my Boston acoustic dash speaker. After cutting out the bottom and installing it improve sound quality greatly

Pros: Helped sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Jwilly74 from Mesquite, TX on 3/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product it shipped same day, makes speakers sound better and prevents them from rattling. I recommend everyone to purchase these if installing speakers. Front or rear door.

Pros: Cheap, easy to install, makes sound better,

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet

Tony from Florence Az on 9/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these work great with my new pioneer speakers makes the bass hit harder and makes the speakers sound so much better

Pros: sweet bass sweet sound

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Kingmo from Atlanta, GA on 9/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these to help reduce the road noise on my 5 1/4 aftermarket speakers in my F150. Installation took about 5 minutes for both front door speakers and they do their job just fine - reducing the road noise.

Pros: Perfect fit, easy to install.

Cons: nothing negative to say.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

John from Jackson, MI on 5/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased Sound Ordinance 5-1/4" and 5" x 7" speakers for my 95 Dodge Dakota and was recommended by Crutchfield to buy the baffles for at least the front to help keep moisture out. I bought baffles for front and rear and installed the rear first. It's a little difficult to install the speakers into the baffles and then into the speaker mount while contending with the speaker wires but not to bad. I tested the sound of just the rear and it sounded really good so I went on to the front. Thats when I started have issues with the front 5-1/4" speakers and baffles. The speakers mounted loosely in the baffles where the speakers were not very snug in the baffle and had just a small cap between the magnet and the back of the baffle. I installed anyway's and tested the sound. It sounded horrible. There was a severe rattle or distortion in the doors & looked like the speakers were struggling to function especially with the bass. I got my hand behind the speaker and lightly pressed against the baffle so that it was touching the magnet; the rattle sound went away! The back of the baffle was vibrating against the speaker badly. So I tried cutting some ports on the side of baffle to free the air but didn't eliminate all the vibration. I then cut almost the entire back of the baffle out & the vibrations completely stopped & sounded great. I'm really baffled about the baffles. Why they work great for rear & not front is unknown.So I guess don't buy for smaller speakers!

Pros: Keep moisture and dirt/dust out. Made my 5 x 7 speakers sound good and still had very good bass

Cons: Smaller speakers really struggle when in the baffles. They vibrated against speakers causing a lot of distortion

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

random man from indy on 2/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

still not convinced on this product i think it hampers bass even with hole cut in rear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Helps the Sound

Jahbello from Irvine, CA on 11/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good to use if you can. Helps shallow speakers to sound better.

Pros: Helps the speakers to sound better. Gives them a richer sound and more bass.

Cons: Kind of tricky to fit and install. I did not have much extra space to fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Tiny air space turns a woofer into a midrange.. OK if that's what you

Audiophile from ATL, GA on 8/28/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the 5.25 inch size and it was not more than 1/8 inch larger than the speaker magnet. Putting a woofer in an extremely small cabinet damps out the motion of the cone and prevents it from vibrating below a certain frequency. I tested these in my shop with soundeasy digital testing system and calibrated microphone accurate + or - half dB from 20hz to 20k hz. The driver I tested was an audiophile driver with an FS of 50 hz and measured response to 40 hz in my car. With the baffle.. in my shop, response stopped at 300hz and dropped like a rock below that at 18 dB per octave... so no usable output at all below 300hz. It would be great to use on your rear door speakers... even better than bass blockers.. but if you want anything lower than midrange, you do not want these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

First time

T.L. from P.A. on 7/10/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time purchasing the baffles no problems or complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Gary from Cedar Bluffs NE on 6/30/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the sound in the front 2 doors allot btter. Good add on by the Crutchfeid rep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty Good Product, Helps With Noise, Protects Speakers

LeeM from corinth, ms on 2/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these front and rear in my 05 silverado ext. cab. The rear factory speakers were pretty dirty when i took them out so i think they will help protect the new speakers there, the front door speakers were pretty clean, but I do think they will help with noise and vibration as well. I played the new speakers with and without the baffles and they seem to sound sllightly better with the baffles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bad Idea

jpin from Crossville, TN on 12/24/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these baffles because Crutfield rep said they would help with bass response. Wow where they wrong it decreased bass response by 75%. So i tried it without the baffles and wow just one speaker sounded better than both (in phase) with the baffles. So removed both baffles now everything sounds awesome. Don't wast your money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

They do work

ksa from Chicago, il on 10/14/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As an audio engineer, system designer and installer for 21 years, you cannot shove any speaker in any opening with any amp and expect it to work. If you have learned about crossovers, frequencies and slopes, as well as the impedance of the speakers to match them with the amp, then go one step further and learn about Thiele/Small numbers. The lower the frequency to be produced, the more air space required to produce it. In small spaces, this can be manipulated with vented boxes and port design, but if you install these baffles behind a full range speaker, you are losing the open air space of the door or rear quarter panel, and therefore lowering the ability to produce lower frequencies. These are great products when used as part of a whole system design. They will clean up the lower mids, reduce unwanted vibrations, focus the higher mids and protect your speakers. Do not use them if you do not have a component system with separate subs and still expect decent low end.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

Pointless

HowdyPete from Los Angeles on 9/11/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As many have reported, installing these baffles with my new speakers wiped out the bass. I wish Crutchfield Tech Support would have read these reviews and helped me figure out what had gone wrong. It took returns, new and different speakers, many hours and much frustration to figure out it was just these simple pieces of foam. If your speakers need protection in the back, fix the door. Don't sacrifice sound quality for protection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

im really confused on this review page

kyle from kingwood,wv on 6/7/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

im shocked in that everyone in this review page is bashing a wonderful product. let me ask a question did anyone lower there x-over freq to allow for the baffles? my bet is no. its not taking anything away but "controling" the speaker, meaning if your still using the setting as you did when they were free air, your way off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Kinda big but still great

Lee from Dearborn, MI on 2/18/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in my doors and they rub on my windows even after i put a spacer in there. They still make my cheap speakers sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bad for sound good for protection

Garry from Newport News, VA on 10/21/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I first installed my speakers without these baffles. I have four 51/4" kickers. I isolated each speaker and listened to it with and without the baffle. I lost a lot of bass with the baffle the s[eakers began distorting much sooner. Unfortunately my door seals leak, so I need them. I just got a sub and some bass blockers to fix the bass problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Good investment for you speakers

mike from Seminole, FL on 3/14/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even with my factory speakers, my truck had that infamous rattling noise when the volume was turned all the way up. These baffles will not get rid of all the vibrations, but do make a big difference. They also protect your speakers from the elements, so including these in your installation is a good idea.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not as Easy as I Thought

Frank from SF Bay on 2/28/2009

1995 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these with my new door speakers on Crutchfield's recommendation. They come without instructions, which isn't so great for a total amateur like myself. As far as I can tell for my 95 Honda Civic, I'd have to take the door apart to get them in there, so I left them off. My new speakers sound fine without them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Instructions on how to mount would be helpful

Roger from Walnut Creek, CA on 2/12/2009

2003 Honda Civic Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're like me, a step-by-step guide is necessary. I had to call Crutchfield twice, first to ask about how / where the harness is supposed to exit, and then to inquire if the baffles go in front or behind the plastic mounts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

so-so

magnaman from king william va on 1/17/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't fit 6x9's in my 1996 Dodge ram so I bought these baffels to boost the bass in my 6 1/2's and 5 1/4's. Hard to say how much diff it made since I didn't try it w/o them. I wouldn't bother with them for 6x9's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

keepin it clean

Michael from Philly burbs on 10/30/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this was the first time i put in speakers and used the baffles. they make the install nice and clean while keeping the speaker protected too. worth the extra few $ in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

ken from stockton,New York on 7/28/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

definelty baffles bass but they will keep them from debris and possible damage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product. I guess.

greg from Some place, U.S.A. on 11/17/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I invested into a pair of these, because I had some rattles in my doors. It fixed the rattles, but I lost any bass response below 150hz. so I went ahead and trimmed off the foam, everything except what covers the basket and motor. It is a cheap rattle fixer, but there will be no noticeable improvement on your bass response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Interesting.....

Matmoh from Flagstaff, AZ on 8/5/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this pair for my Pioneer 3-ways located in the door panel of my '94 Ford Escort. I mainly got the baffles to keep the moisture out of the speakers, but I did notice a difference with the bass, though I had to cut a hole in the baffle for air flow. Not a bad investment if you wish to take care of your speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

One of the components I used for my system

B-rad from Akron, Ohio on 7/21/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a rattle in the drivers door of my Jeep Cherokee. Once I installed the new speakers with these behind them, the rattle was gone and the new speakers, Polk Audio db 525's with bass blockers installed sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nice Product

Nicholas from Derby, KS on 2/23/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like these things. I installed them when i installed my new Audiobahn AS50Q 5-1/4" 2-way Speakers. I didnt really care about bass response since i have two 12" MTX Thunder 6000's. I mainly got them to keep dirt and water off the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

dancro86 from St. Aug, FL on 2/16/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these for my Jeep Cherokee front door speakers. I have weak Pioneers that are basically good for the mids and the highs, but the lows are missing, so I put a bass filter on them, so they only hit the mids and the highs. When I would be on the outside of my car, I could here these speakers just as well as when I was inside the car, so I figured these would keep all the sound inside the car and maybe improve the mid bass. At first, I only installed it on one side, just to hear the difference. It sounded as if I had just taken that speaker I put the baffle on and turned it into a tweeter. The mid bass was completely gone, and the little power that these speakers had was completely obliterated. Basically, don't buy these, even if you are thinking what I was thinking. Bass wasn't something i cared about, but after these sucked everything below 15k, I realize how big a rip these are. Great advertising for them though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 24 found this helpful

XTC 5-1/4" Speaker Baffles

Kenneth from Skamokawa, WA on 8/17/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sure makes a lot more sense to use these. I'm definently getting a pair for my 4 inch speakers in the front. I did noticed a little more bass from the rears. But I'm getting a subwoofer anyway. So that doesn't matter. These things seal up the rears of the speakers so they'll sound much cleaner and keep them protected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

bad for sound good for protection

fernando from maryland on 5/23/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

dont get these if you think they will improve the bass response of your speakers. it only hinders them becasue it doesnt provide enough air behind the speakers creating a sort of vaccum when they are on the outward movement. when i tried them out the bass was completely eliminated form my setup. i am running the pioneer 3-ways but i like my friend's polks better. the main reason i got these baffles is I have a problem with water splashing up through a hole in the bottom of my door. what i am gonna do is cut the top of the cup off and leave the bottom there to keep the water off and leave the lip around the hole so my speakers are well cusioned. sounds like a plan

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

74 of 100 found this helpful

TOP