Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
192 158 04
Connect ID #
192 158 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers

MFR # XT-68

XTC 6

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers

MFR # XT-68

70 reviews
View this product

Small things make a difference.

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 12/30/2020

1998 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More of an afterthought, thanks for the recommendation. Noticeable decrease in vibration in the door panels

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Webberville, MI on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure about these. They might be smothering the speaker response. The new rear deck JBL speakers installed with these sound dead and muffled. I think I may try to cut the basket off these from under the deck to see if I can get more air and movement to the speaker. The Mustang has a steel deck and I think a better solution is to provide isolation matting on the deck to reduce the resonant vibration of the steel deck. Speaker cones need some air to move.

Pros: ?

Cons: Seem to deaden sound and speaker cone movement.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

kevin from Owensboro, KY on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally worthless a waste of money. Bought these on the advice of a Crutchfield Rep. Had to modify them for all speakers on my 2012 F-150. They were way to deep and after I modified them and installed the speakers I turned on the radio and they sounded horrible. So I took the speakers out and threw the baffles in the trash. Reinstalled the speakers and they sound awesome. Save yourself a whole lot of time and don't purchase these. They should be made for specific vehicles and not one size fits all. Could not give a zero rating. That is the rating these deserve.

Pros: None

Cons: Do not work

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Anne-Marie, reached out to Kevin to issue a refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Southampton, PA on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap and easy to install

Pros: Help speaker

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, helped with protecting my speakers plus improved the sound. Worth the money spent

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Could interfere with your windows but not on my vehicle ( Mazda 3 )

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too deep

Kim from LIVONIA, MI on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Intentions were good, however, product is too deep and interfered with my window moving up and down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good protection

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good protection for the speakers from the moisture that's common for the inside of a door. Full size fits nicely in an '04 Ranger door.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They did not fit and we had to modify them. They were to deep for the front window frame.

Pros: We did make them work with cutting and shaping.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Larry from Saint Louis, MO on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

provides insulation from door metal and protects backside of speaker from dirt or moisture but product is very deep, need to cut backside down and cut access for speaker wires. make sure you clear room for windows to operate with out hitting baffle or speaker wires.

Pros: provides insulation from door metal

Cons: very deep/need to cut backside to fit and provide wire access

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, TN on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The depth extends into the path of the window's travel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Charles from SC on 9/13/2019

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Are these a bit overpriced . . .maybe. That being said, we installed one speaker with and one speaker without the baffle and the sound was better with the baffle. Bass was punchier and the sound overall was much clearer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Zanesville, OH on 4/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a lot to review, simple foam baffles. Do exactly what they are designed for. Be sure to pre mark and cut holes for your screws .

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Protect the speaker from dust and moisture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Chris from Idaho Falls, ID on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked excellent- maybe too well for one location. Used with Kicker 680's. Worked so well it made one of my doors rattle quite a bit. Tried to stop the rattle, but to no avail, had to leave it out of that location to stop the rattle. Will need some dynamat to stop the rattle. Definitely helped the low end bass response. I will use them again when I do another stereo. I could have used ones with a bit less depth, so check with Crutchfield on the depth that is needed for your speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Safety for your speakers

Richard from Beltsville, MD on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit my truck with minor trimming and no water worries!

Pros: Great sound improvement and protection

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did the trick!

John from Hatboro,Pa on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect. I have no protection from the trunk for the speakers located on the rear speaker deck. this did the trick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Baffles

William S. from Findlay, OH on 8/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Where a lot draper than the speaker I was using but I made it work. Came very fast from Crutchfield.... Was a great experience and would recommend to anyone else. Thanks for the fast shipment.... And even though my order was baffles the still shipped in a larger box full of packing material.

Pros: Easy to work with....

Cons: Where about a inch to an inch and a half to deep. But I bade it work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

speaker baffle xtc 6x8

jester from west covina ca on 6/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice product good fit

Pros: easy to install, you could precut to fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do not work

Felix from San Antonio, TX on 5/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I replaced all four speakers in my 2013 F150 with some Infinity Reference 6x8s and ordered me 2 pairs of these to protect them. After getting distorted audio from front door speakers, I did some reading and read some reports of the door speakers getting wet. Well I pulled the driver side speaker and after undoing a few screws , quite a bit of water poured out.

Pros: Keeps speakers from rattling.

Cons: Does not keep speakers dry.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Baffles

Denis from Hamilton, NJ on 3/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not use these do to the fact they would interfere with my power windows. I do recommend them if you have the room to use them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Should come with back cut off

SageWexford from Stephens City, VA on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install protector, but one has to wonder if there are any installations where the installer would not cut out the back of the baffle to enhance bass response of the installed speaker. Easy to do, but manufacturer could sell them already cut for about a dollar more.

Pros: Flexible, thick foam piece, easy to pierce for screw holes.

Cons: Some installer modification required for most installs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good idea

rico95993 from California on 12/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure these will work great, but somehow I ended up with 6x8s when my speakers are 5x7. I think I just used the recommended installation parts with out looking at what I was getting

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Philip Gibson from Virginia on 12/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not fit front speakers because of window.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

right parts

El Mando from Fresno CA on 11/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it is refreshing to order a part, and actually have it sooner than you expected, also the right part for the application, thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: right part!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Virginia on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

don't buy, they are to deep for the door the window drags them. at least on the 2013 ford f150

Pros: good design just didn't work in my truck

Cons: wasted money

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Works as advertised, but I need to read better

Jason M from San Joaquin valley, California on 10/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These work exactly as advertised. Unfortunately, I didn't read the description well enough to notice the depth listed. At that deep, they interfered with my windows as I rolled them down- in all 4 doors. I bought them for water drip protection, not perfect acoustic isolation. I adapted them to my fit ['08 F150 SCrew] by setting the speaker in them, cutting the 'end' off, behind the magnet, and THEN inserting that end inside the cut off part to create a 2-piece baffle, and using gasket maker to hold the parts together. Yes, there is air leakage, but, again, I didn't do this for acoustic reasons. I did this for splash/drip prevention. And now, except for the hole cut for the speaker leads, water leaking from the window will hit it and run off. Plus, it does provide some of the original acoustic benefits-just not as much as if I hadn't had to trim them.

Pros: Work as advertised. relatively cheap. actual dimensions equal those listed Able to trim to fit.

Cons: Too deep for '08 F150 SCrew, and interferes with window motion.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Sevierville, TN on 4/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Works Great

Spyder from Wisconsin on 4/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These babies let all the sound out of my doors ..

Pros: Well done..easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Helps speakers

Brett from Alabama on 4/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These definitely help the speakers performance. I installed them in the doors at the recommendation of Crutchfield. Will use them again if needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

world of difference

Frankenstizzle from Abilene TX on 4/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes a world of difference once you install them creating almost a small subwoofer enclosure in your door panel. Love it.

Pros: Easy to install, simple design and great response.

Cons: No cons at this point.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

Randy M from Columbus,Georgia on 3/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered 4 of the baffles for my 2004 F150. The 2 in the front fit and I really like them. On the other hand I could not use the 2 in the back because my power window would not go up and down with them installed. So I have 2 baffles I can't use. Would like to have a refund on the 1 set.

Pros: Gives the speakers more bass and a fuller sound.

Cons: Don't order them for a 2004 Super Cab F150 for the rear. Ur power windows won't go up and down.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Seemed to work well

Alex E. from Stuttgart, Germany on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cut the back portion out and left some meat on the top of the speaker for water protection. It seemed like the main function of the baffle was to provide insulation between the part of the speaker that meets the door. I feel like it prevents rattling. I tested this by installing one rear spekaer without and one with a baffle. It didnt sound hollow as some people stated. If yoyu dont like the way oit sounds on your install, worst case is you lose a few bucks.

Pros: Cheap and relatively effective.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Mike F from Philadelphia PA on 2/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a bit deep for my doors but I was able to trim them and make them work.

Pros: Helps with the speaker sound

Cons: Too deep for doors

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

speaker baffles

mike from michigan on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these baffles are great to keep your speakers clean in doors and trunks, but they can baffle the sound as well in some speaker setups. i ended up cutting half the back out of them. that allowed them to keep water off the speakers in the front doors yet still not muffle the sound. worked nice.

Pros: cheap protection for speakers.

Cons: can baffle the sound of the speakers in some installations.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great improvement

RTG from Oak RIdge, TN on 1/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound improvement, I've installed door speakers with and with out the baffles. Never again with out.

Pros: SImple and easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Made the Speakers Rattle, counter-effective

txstangchic from Texas on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instead of quieting any rattle, these baffles actually caused rattle in my 2010 F-150. Removed them and the speakers sound great. Waste of money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nope

Jesse from Portland, OR on 10/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want to take the life out of your sound they're perfect. They would protect from moisture though. If you must try them, install on one speaker and one speaker without. Give it a listen there's a difference.

Pros: water proof

Cons: kills sound

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

baffles

fbogoni from Goshen, KY on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles work excellent for my f-150!! They help bring out bass and stop vibration.

Pros: Stop vibration and bring out bass

Cons: Fit tightly

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Baffles are worth it!!!

Scarpace from Austin, Texas on 9/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why use a baffle? These help protect your speakers from the back side moisture and dust. They also can help muffle out unwanted vibrations or sound from behind the speaker as well. These are super simple to use, just don't squeeze them in such a way that touch the actual back of the speaker cone. I am using 6 of these on my door and mid panel speakers in my Ford Excursion. It's worth the price to help make your speakers last longer. I also believe it helps improve sound quality.

Pros: Low price for extra speaker protection! Easy to install! Helps muffle out other sounds!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 8/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's to review. They work great, and you can't beat the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Useful baffles

C Weaver from Harker Heights, TX on 7/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffles themselves are fairly malliable which allowed me to pull them closer to the speaker in my doors so they wouldn't rub my windows. It may only be my perception but the sound seems fuller, with a less "hollow" sound to it.

Pros: -Bendable, Formable

Cons: -Slightly oversized for the uses I had for the product.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not For Me

momule from Rural Eastern Missouri on 6/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item did not come close to fitting in the space available in my 2002 Ranger regular cab...neither in the doors or behind seats. They are too deep. And while one review discusses cutting them and glueing them to be less deep I'm going to go the dynamat route and not try to make this "iffy" product work.

Pros: none

Cons: Ya get what ya pay for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

They work!

Geo Eak from St. Louis, Mo on 6/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They help keep the lows inside my ride instead of having it going to anyone outside. Easy to install just remember which end works the best to put your holes for the speakers. Good for the price.

Pros: easy to add and work good for my ride.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles Review

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 6/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield advisor I spoke to recommended speaker baffles while I was purchasing new speakers. The baffles reduce/eliminate vibration and improve speaker sound.

Pros: Improved sound, reduced speaker vibration, easy to install

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Lu from Moreno Valley, CA on 4/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffles are quality built and provide a punch to the bass. The old speakers had a lot of dust on them which won't happen with these baffles and the speakers are protected from moisture too. The only thing is they are about 6" deep. I had to cut them and glue them to shorten them so the windows don't rub against them. Alpine said the baffles could touch the back of the SR speakers with no problems.

Pros: Quality accurate bass and dust and water protection.

Cons: Too long (6") deep.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Waste of money.

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 2/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are waste of money. Don't buy them.

Pros: None.

Cons: Don't fit the F150

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Rob from Jupiter on 2/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect in the speakers that I bought from Crutchfield.

Pros: Helps protect speaker from any moisture or rain that may seep down the window. Also improves bass performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Speaker baffles

MrGNY from Middletown, NY on 1/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, easy to install, no rattles from the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Product works as expected

Zane M from SLC, UT on 12/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A pretty simple item that filled a need in my case to enclose a speaker in a open air situation.

Pros: Fits well, and had extra material on the face to trim to desired pattern.

Cons: Kind of expensive for what they are

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

F150 04

James from VA on 10/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked great when installing my new door speakers!!

Pros: Keeps speakers protected, and sound facing forward

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

They Work Well

Robert from Knoxville, TN on 9/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work well for me. On the rear, kept my rear deck speakers from popping due to the 5000 watts of power in my trunk. I had to make a small hole in the bottom to keep my speakers from heating up though. I will be ordering more for my doors as well.

Pros: Protects your speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

6x8 baffles

mrblunt from here on 9/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

grey, foam, works as it should,, what else can u say about a baffle,,,lol great 2 day shipping as always with Crutchfield

Pros: yes

Cons: no

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

RC from Richmond, VA on 8/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used these 6x8 baffles in several of my ford vehicles over the years. They serve their intended purpose well. They are cheap insurance for moisture, and help isolate the speaker from the door sheet metal. A good buy for sure.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: A bit too deep, in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did the job

Timn from Jacksonville fl on 8/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these baffles to keep my speakers from getting wet in the door. Easy to work with . no problems

Pros: Easy to cut. Keeps speakers dry.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just What I Wanted!

JAB from OK on 8/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a new Pioneer stereo system for my hubbies (new) 1993 Ford E150 XL econoline van. I knew I wanted to purchase these and install them with his new speakers. Somewhere I had read that someone thought they were a bit flimsy. I did not think that for a moment! They have a nice weight to them and if you treat them a little bit nicely when you install them you won't have any problems with ripping them or atleast we didn't! The only thing we had to do was to trim a little bit of the material off the flange after the speakers were installed. You might not have to do this but we wanted to make sure the door panels easily reinstalled. I really like these! If/when I ever replace factory speakers again in a vehicle I will definitely buy them again and I would recommend them to others!

Pros: Good weight to the material. Easy to use!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

good water protection

Don from Agawam, MA on 7/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good water protection in door mount

Pros: seal out water, keep from resonating

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from South Bend, IN on 7/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

They REALLY do work

Al L. from Calumet City IL. on 5/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not only do they protect your investment. They also help keep the speaket from flatting out on the hi power low notes area. Well worth the price add per speaker.

Pros: They work great and are easy to install.

Cons: Nothing.....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Uselss

Ace from Naples, FL on 1/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even after trimming the material was ineffective

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worthy addition

ScottABQ from Albuquerque, NM on 10/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed a pair of the XTC 6x8 oval speaker baffles with new Pioneer TS-G6844R spekers in my 2002 Ford Ranger and they work well. Of course I also installed FatMat in the doors as well, but I think the speaker baffles were worth the minor cost. I was unable to install speaker baffles for the rear speakers and I can hear the difference. I also believe that the XTC speaker baffles will protect the Pioneer speakers in the doors. The factory speakers were coated in dust when I removed them. Regarding the subwoofer, which I don't have in my Ranger, I cut a generous hole in the bottom of the baffle and use the whole door as an enclosure. They work well without a sub, but I think the FatMat (similar to DynaMat) in the doors also aided the sound.

Pros: They DO improve sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Work like they should

John from Metter, GA on 5/26/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No problems with installation, work as they are described.

Pros: Perfect fit, better sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Wade from Kernersville, NC on 4/11/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, tried them, but was not getting good bass with my Pioneer 3-way speakers. Took them out after reading the review that says "If you do not have a sub then don't buy them." I get better bass without them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The Shipping, I will also review baffles once I get them...

Collin2000Watt from Madison, WI on 1/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I selected the basic UPS ground shipping for these, and Ive tracked them since I made the order 2 days ago, and I have to say, these puppies deliver fast! I should be getting them either tomorrow or the next, at a total of 4 days, and I was expecting them to take at least a week to ship from North Carolina To Madison, Wisconsin. I have read other reviews, and an equal mix of good and bad reviews made me think a few times before I ordered. I have a few ideas of my own to make these work, and Ill explain it once I receive my package. If all goes well, I will without a doubt order the small depth version of the 6.5 inch baffles once I get my matching pair of pioneer 6.5 three ways. I have a good feeling about these so far, lets hope my judgement isnt wrong...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Good quality/Bad fit

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 1/26/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not buy these for your front speakers on an F-150 they will not fit. If you have a sub they work great for the rear. If you do not have a sub then don't buy them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

depends on your goal

enrique from fayetteville, NC on 6/18/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in my 2005 F150 supercab with kicker (KS68- 6x8's) and I'm pushing them with a pioneer DEH-4800 head unit. These really tightened up the bass. They got rid of the muttered sounding lows at high volumes. I was really hectic buying these after all the bad reviews but i thought to myself "they're only 8 bucks a pair even if they suck". I bought two pairs for the front and the back but could only use the rears because the window rails in the door hit them when you roll it down which really disappointed me. The rear worked great but i think only because those windows don't roll down. These are great if you have a sub for the low bass. If you are trying to get low,long bass out of your mids these are not for you. I haven't bought a sub yet but am enjoying a major improvement in responsiveness and tightness. I listen to mostly alternative and rock and these are perfect for that genre of music (short tight bass). Definately not rap/hip hop. I only give a 4 star because of the front door fitments issue but all in all totally worth 8 dollars a pair.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Works well now

D-Man from Grand Rapids, Mich on 2/22/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in a 1999 Ford Explorer Sport. After reading all the reviews of what worked and what didn't. I made my own plan. I first installed the baffles as they came, and the sound had less bass then without them. As shown to work, I cut a quarter size hole in the bottom of each baffle for air and to also run the wires through. I then glued to the inside bottom of each baffle a 1 inch thick layer of fiber fill, still leaving the hole open. Now the bass is as deep as before, but a lot tighter without the muddy sound to it. Thanks for all the feedback.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Ver y Good

Nikhil from Dallas, TX on 9/10/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My car has 6x8 speakers from Factory, but I upgraded to 5-1/4 component speakers. At the same time I wanted something that would give better sound quality from the woofers and make the door vibrate less. I looked at the XTC baffles, read the negative reviews and was concerned. But then I thought about it logically and looked around me and all the speakers that I have in the house. My mini component stereo in my house also has 5-1/4" speakers and has excellent Bass. So I decided to buy a baffle that was about as big as the speaker enclosure at home for the 5-1/4" woofer. The 6x8x4.5" baffle was a good approximate to that and I ordered it. Fits perfect in the factory 6x8 opening and being that it is made out of foam, also fits easily around the objects in the door frame, and when the window rolls down too. The sound is definitely better too! Not tinny like so many others have complained. I guess they have complained because they have used a baffle that fits like a glove around their speaker allowing no "air space" for the speaker driver to move easily, and in control fashion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

XTC 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

ecclissiass from Houston, TX on 11/11/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I was extremely hesitant about making this small purchase due mainly from bad reviews. I gotta tell you, these baffles work really well at both confining your speakers (6x8 in my case)and improving sound quality. I am presently runing two Kappa Series 6x8 in my 1998 ford explorer sport. I have them pushed by a 4 channel amp at 100x4 to the front and rear. I am extremely impressed by the "tightness" of the sound in the midranges of my rear speakers. I bought them beacuse I wanted definition in my rear speakers and not for protection. After looking behind the speakers I found the area to be bone dry. However, I found that with those spaekers in that area there was alot of resonance emitting from the spaces inbetween the panal and the cars exterior. I am well aware that sound dampening is preferred but this was an inexpensive resolution to my problem(s).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Unnecessary

Patrick from Richmond, VA on 1/30/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

XTC makes sure that they point out that these "improve sound quality" while they really don't. If you look around at reviews of other size baffles, you'll see a few people say that they took theirs out and realized that they were really hurting their speakers' performance. Trust these people, they're completely right. I did the same exact thing after reading their reviews, and had the same results for my Pioneer 6x8's. These not only don't improve the sound quality, they're completely unnecessary. I looked around the area where the speakers were, and it was completely clean; so protecting your speakers from dirt is no biggie. These were also extremely difficult to install. I had to stab a hole in them to run the speaker wire, then cut the edges to fit inside the grilles. After all of that, the baffles pushed the mounting depth out 1/4", and the tweeter cover rattled like crazy on the inside of the grille.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 26 found this helpful

Tighter Sound

brian from Greater Boston on 9/15/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well i haven't installed a head unit or a speaker for 30 years and i was/still am/will forever be/ out of the loop but i know a good investment when i hear it. I installed 4 speakers with these baffles and could not believe how tight they sounded so i uninstalled the baffles & cranked my new modestly priced install back up & sure enough it WAS the baffles. What a dramatic difference they make in my wifes full-sized ford! The bass is so much more present and each speaker sounds alot tighter with this low-priced add-on. If you are installing new speakers ESPECIALLY without a sub/amp in your trunk you need this item. (btw, i installed over 100 systems in the early 70's & i ain't just blowin smoke:))

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

38 of 44 found this helpful

TOP