Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
992 125 75
Connect ID #
992 125 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the steering wheel audio controls in select 2002-up Mazda vehicles

MFR # SWRMZ-64C

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the steering wheel audio controls in select 2002-up Mazda vehicles

MFR # SWRMZ-64C

68 reviews
View this product

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Doug from Grayson, GA on 8/12/2022

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This interface just makes the installation so much easier because of how much time it saves you. I wanted to keep my steering wheel controls so it was a must.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Leland from Pevely, MO on 7/24/2022

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Says works with a mazda 3 aaaaaaand of course it doesn't. When I called for help all I got was "oh yeah". Money wasted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/26/2022
Leland contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit like OEM

Reed from Greenwood, SC on 7/5/2022

2009 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the installation easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decently disappointed

Nathaniel from Pensacola, FL on 7/5/2022

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to put together. Only issue I had some it did not have the correct wiring diagram to get my Bluetooth phone pick up and hang up buttons to work on the steering wheel controls (SWC), kinda disappointed in that.

Pros: Simple

Cons: Incorrect diagram

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really Works!

Skyler from Brooksville, FL on 6/27/2022

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had Crutchfield do all my wiring and they "hot-wired" the steering wheel control switch into the radio's wiring harness. This leaves a "plug" hanging which I thought had to be plugged in...so I did...into the only hole it would fit (the microphone input). This was my mistake and nothing worked, until I pulled out the plug and taped it off. My error aside, the product worked flawlessly and ALL my factory steering wheel controls functioned as they should. It was installed into a 2007 Mazda Miata NC convertible.

Pros: Works as it should.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Matthew from Killeen, TX on 6/23/2022

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This my 3rd Crux interface. I love how easy they are to wire to the aftermarket radio loom. I have used them in all my vehicles. 10/10 I recommend everybody use these

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made install a snap

Antonio from Lancaster, NY on 6/9/2022

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness worked great for the head unit install in a 2006 Miata NC

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Kenneth from Bayamon, PR on 5/11/2022

2007 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Make super easy work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

James from Palmyra, PA on 3/19/2022

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crux adaptor works great on my cx5 sport. Steering wheel volume and channel up/down are retained. Only issue was like one of the other reviews stated - 1 pin needs to be moved for the dimmer to work. After that, works 100%

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 12/11/2021

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good but can be buggy on my 07 Mazda 3 used with the Jensen CAR710 at times back button causes it to exit android auto and go back to main screen from time to time.

Pros: Easy install with color instructions

Cons: Buggy at times

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Kyle, TX on 11/1/2021

2011 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to simplify the install in place of factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, OK on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding harness, easiest install ever, just olug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Kyler from SAN DIEGO, CA on 10/2/2021

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't too sure about getting this when first looking at it. The reviews seemed generally positive but I wasn't sure if I would manage to make it work right even with experience doing multiple radios prior to this. I followed all the wiring instructions provided by Crutchfield to a T and paid attention to the DIP switch diagram from Crux, ignoring their wiring instructions. Everything worked flawlessly first try. Radio works with the extra adapter I got; steering wheel controls took zero fiddling to make work. I'm very happy overall and glad that I took the plunge.

Pros: Straightforward, easy install, everything worked first try.

Cons: Appears (personally) daunting before beginning install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Purlear, NC on 10/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit my 2010 Mazda CX7 perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Mount Olive, AL on 9/26/2021

2012 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

cannot get it to work as promised yet. Will sometimes turn up and sometimes down, sometimes works by itself. Going to work on it some more today.

Pros: easy to wire up

Cons: does not work as promised

Crutchfield response on 10/1/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team and they sent out a replacement right away. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Ari from MERCER ISLAND, WA on 9/1/2021

2013 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface in my 2013 Mazda Miata GT. The steering wheel interface works very well with my Sony head unit and I can definitely recommend it. I know that Sony says this device isn't necessary for Mazda vehicles, which can be wired directly with the 3.5mm TRS pigtail included in the Sony HU box, but I didn't try this since Crutchfield had sold me the interface and harness in a single package. It's worth noting that I followed Crutchfield's wiring instructions and ignored the instructions in the Crux manual related to connecting the "SWC BT INPUT" to the wire labeled "SWC Phone". With default HU settings, the phone/voice button on my steering wheel did not work, but I was able to program the button to work by changing the Sony HU settings. Mazda MX-5 Miata owners with 2009-2015 NC models, should also note that in order to get the display dimming function to work when the headlights are turned on, they will need to move the orange pin from the harness 1L position (not used), to the 1E position (TNS+) - see attached image.

Pros: SWC interface is easy to configure

Cons: Harness requires modification for some vehicles

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad

C from Fredonia, KS on 7/30/2021

2015 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't work. The wiring is all different than indicated above. The wires fall out of the harness VERY easily. There's no security there. I do not recommend buying this product for anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2021
C. contacted our Customer Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support team right away. Lifetime support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Merriam, KS on 4/19/2021

2011 Mazda 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works great I went ahead and had crutchfield do the splicing and it was worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Albany, GA on 3/19/2021

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made hooking up my steering wheel controls a breeze. So glade I ordered this wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Straight forward to install

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward with Crutchfield's instructions. I made a YouTube video showing the process https://youtu.be/mVE8Lsval0M

Pros: Straight forward

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 12/26/2020

2011 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this in my sons Mazda 3 hatch with the Kenwood DMX970 and all the colors line up and directions easy to follow. Everything on the steering wheel worked first time, just pay attention to the DIP switch placements and you'll be good to go.

Pros: Easy to follow directions and color matches Kenwood perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 11/24/2020

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired up easily; was able to retain steering wheel controls on my 2013 Mazda 3. The only functionality lost was the station/volume display above the climate control settings on the dash. The maintenance/range/MPG display still functions the same. I was a little worried that this wouldn't be the case, so figured I'd note it in my review for anyone else who might be wondering.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions for the pin settings was easy to understand. The instructions for the jack were lacking. Once I determined where to install the jack to the radio, this ready harness add-on worked as expected with my stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works almost 100%, Dimming wire in wrong spot.

chris from BIDDEFORD, ME on 6/28/2020

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine except the illumination wire is in the completely wrong location. The necessary location doesn't even have a pin to use.

Pros: Plug and play, good audio, fast

Cons: Radio acts like the sun at night unless you manually engage the dimmer since the wire is in wrong location.

Crutchfield response on 6/30/2020
Chris contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

SWC didn't work

Crutchfield customer from Independence, MO on 4/27/2020

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions don't do well to connect to the car. I have a base Mazda 3 and set this how the instructions show and installed, but the strating wheel controls did not work. I don't have a lot of the features it is used for in my car, just the volume and such on the steering wheel. Also, I'm upset that this is the only wiring harness Crutchfield carries and they do not have an option without the steering wheel controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/4/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your steering wheel controls. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, WA on 4/18/2020

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, makes for an easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring harness

Crutchfield customer from Saint John, IN on 4/6/2020

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything as it should be, could be a bit more detailed, as its so generic in directions. Overall working as should.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Centralia, MO on 3/1/2020

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is clearly labeled with good instructions on setting up the interface to keep steering wheel controls. The steering wheel controls work exponentially better than the one that I replaced

Pros: Easy install Works great

Cons: Not really any

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Crossville, TN on 2/21/2020

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as intended. Good quality connector. Double check the wiring; I had to make a few changes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 11/6/2019

2007 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to connect and works like a charm!!

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 10/1/2019

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A real pain to get all of the steering wheel controls working but I'll blame Mazda for that. I have a fix for those that can't figure it out. This is a small instruction list on how to get the phone controls working. The instructions from Crux are definitely vague. In the end, I got all of my steering wheel controls working! 1: Remove glove box. (actually not difficult, you can even change your cabin air filter while doing this) 2: Locate bluetooth module (reference my photo). 3: Tap into pink wire as described in Crux's instructions (also in photo). 4: Leave the OEM bluetooth module unplugged (Crux makes no mention of this). Otherwise the buttons go all crazy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Totally worth the money!

Crutchfield customer from West Jordan, UT on 9/3/2019

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring harness made my installation a breeze! I've installed units without a good harness and it is a frustrating mess.

Pros: Easy to use, worked great

Cons: Finding a place to store the wires behind the radio was a little challenging.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/14/2019

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good harness. Steering wheel controls work perfectly.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions were somewhat vague, so I had to call tech support for help.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy as Pie

Tom from Crown Point on 6/7/2019

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Combine this with the ReadyHarness service and it's almost too easy. Works flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Rush, NY on 5/13/2019

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value if a newer unit

Crutchfield customer from Eclectic, AL on 5/12/2019

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installation is easy. The main issue I had was that the "older" black box control would not work with my newer Alpine receiver. After contacting Crutchfield they sent out a replacement that worked wonderfully. Over all the system is plug and play. This set up saved having to splice into the factory wiring harness. The newer unit only has one of the steering wheel control connectors, two are pictured in the product description.

Pros: Not required to splice into the factory wiring harness

Cons: First unit did not work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Clarksburg, MD on 3/7/2019

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Similar to other reviews, installation of this equipment was super easy except for the wire that's supposed to go to the factory Bluetooth module to retain the phone button on the steering wheel. Decided to forgo it. Also I only seem to have access to the volume controls and the ability to change the modes on the head-unit. Don't seem to have the ability to change the track. I'm not complaining too much because quick volume controls is ultimately what I wanted and I can use the head-unit for the rest.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Happy

Teek125 from Bristol, TN on 1/5/2019

2011 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does not allow the phone button on my steering wheel to operate the unit as advertised. I called Crutchfield tech, they said that they had no Idea where to connect the blue wire to retain steering wheel phone button and suggested that I contact Crux. The direction supplied are vague at best. None of the harnesses look like the picture. It says connect to OEM bluetooth unit. If this exist on the 2011 Mazda CX-7 no one knows where it might be located. I called Crux a few times they just tried to throw out an answer to get me off of the phone. This means that If I decide to leave the unit in the car now that I will have to put the old head inn unit back in before I can trade or sell it. I am not happy with the device, I am not happy with the help from Crutchfield or Crux. I spent a lot of money on this system I expect it to work as good as it did before I swapped it out. If you read the other reviews for this product most folks just gave up and left the phone button not working. I can not understand why they still reviewed the product favorably.

Pros:

Cons: Not all buttons work as advertised.

Crutchfield response on 1/8/2019
We were sorry to hear about Teek's experience with our Tech Support team. Our Tech Support specialist, Daniel, reached out to help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Tracy from Alexander, NC on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my daughter's Mazda 3 expecting it to be a real chore to install. The experience was quite the opposite, super easy! I highly recommend this product.

Pros: Super easy to install and works like a charm.

Cons: It was almost as much as the stereo pricewise, but it was a good purchase.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

easy interface

Gordon from Pueblo, CO on 12/24/2018

2008 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used the Metra,Scosche and now Crux interface. The Metra is self programming but did not work on a Chevy HHR SS (One Star). The Scoshe uses their web site to match your cars steering wheel controls to the head unite. Worked great on a 07 Santa Fe. (4 stars). The Crux uses dip switches and was the easiest to match a Pioneer head unite to a 07 Mazda Cx7.(5 stars)

Pros: Uses dip switches to match to your car

Cons: nome

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Jeff from Lehigh Valley PA on 10/29/2018

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upon purchasing the JVC KW-M740BT this product was suggested by a Crutchfield advisor. For some reason it was not listed as an option when I initially searched. I am quite happy with the suggestion as it made the install very easy. My only suggestion for improvement would be that they include a pin for the parking brake wire so one does not have to splice into their factory wiring with the wire from the h/u.

Pros: - Made install much easier and cut down on time.

Cons: - A pin for the parking brake wire would be a +

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Todd from Belleville, IL on 9/16/2018

2010 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected with one exception--there was one connection that was needing to be made to make the phone button on my steering wheel work with the new head unit. I tap and instructions were supplied, but the instructions were not clear as to what/where the wire was supposed to be spliced. A call to tech support yielded no clarity--they were equally confused. Ultimately, I opted to forgo the connection and just push the button on the head unit for phone functions, not a huge deal, but too bad CRUX couldn't have supplied better instructions

Pros: plug and play

Cons: additional splicing required, poor instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 8/5/2018

2009 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Things were pretty self explanatory, with the exception of a accessory wire for steering wheel controls. As my vehicle doesn't actually have steering wheel controls, my son (who installed the system) determined that this was needed for another function.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Performs as advertised at a great price.

Kent from Franksville, WI on 7/26/2018

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The interface is a nice device for those wishing to retain the factory steering wheel controls. Crutchfield is the place to go for advise and tech support. Only issue was the last wire to connect on the interface was not described in the paperwork. Turns out I did not receive the latest update for connecting to the Mazda Bluetooth interface. One call to tech support and I was e-mailed the update and was able to complete the installation.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Crofton, MD on 6/5/2018

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play assembly. I had a new stereo in my 2006 Miata in under 2 hours from start to finish. This sure beats the old days when you had to solder two completely different harnesses together. Great product and well worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Bob from Canton, MS on 5/30/2018

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't even know what this was for. Called customer service and the staff was do helpful. Btw, it works great. No issues with the car I was installing this in.

Pros: Works great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 5/27/2018

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Turned what would normally have been a 2-3 hr job, into a 20 minute job. Extremely worth it!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Chris from Virginia Beach, VA on 3/4/2018

2011 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and Works great on my pioneer head unit also good instructions with the kit. Would definitely recommend this kit it's like Factory since you get to use your steering wheel options again.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MA on 2/18/2018

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth it if you want to keep your factory steering wheel controls. Super easy install and perfect fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Paul from Mountain View, CA on 1/6/2018

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well for my mazda CX5, my steering wheel controller works like before.

Pros: works with steering wheel control and new sony head unit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Mazda

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 1/5/2018

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work on my Mazda ZX7. Save the extra bucks and just buy a basic adapter! All other features work but you can do the same thing for free or minimal money.. lol

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

John from Knoxville, TN on 1/1/2018

2011 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simplified install. Good idea

Pros: Simplified install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 11/5/2017

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the JVC ILX107 in my 2013 Mazda CX-5. Got the volume and seek <> steering wheel buttons to work, but the last wire that's supposed to be for the PTT / voice prompt button - the instructions did not list the correct wires from the harness to connect it to. There was no pink wire, and the pinout that was included was totally inaccurate... and I didn't feel like splicing by trial and error - so I just left it disconnected. Would've been nice, but 'hey siri' works, so I guess not a huge deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A+ quality

Brian from Ottawa, OH on 9/25/2017

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality product. Easy install! Works great!

Pros: Great quality. Easy Install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost Worked

Gregory from Midland, TX on 7/18/2017

2012 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In theory a wiring interface should make installing a head unit easier. This one caused trouble. The first problem I had was that there was a blue wire labelled "Antenna Power" on this wiring interface. The problem is that the wire was not documented in the diagram included with this part. I connected this wire to the head unit's antenna wire (as encouraged by a Crutchfield tech). The outcome wasn't good. This wiring caused the steering wheel control unit circuitry to get cooked. On talking to a Crux technician, this wire is actually a second steering control signal wire used on some vehicles, not mine. After installing my JVC stereo, the dimming function would not activate when the headlights were turned on. After much frustration, it turned out the that the illumination wire in the wiring interface connected to an unused pin on the vehicle stereo connector. I had to find the correct pin by using a electronic tester. These defects may depend on who assembled the interface, though I ended up with two that had incorrect wiring for the illumination wire. Hopefully this is fixed very soon, but don't count on it. Be prepared for the possibility of problem.s

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/1/2017
Gregory, we're sorry for the troubles on this one. I hope the gift card that Faith, one of our Customer Service Specialists, provided helped out with the difficulties. Our Vehicle Integration Buyer, Darren, will be contacting Crux directly to discuss their wiring and their instructions.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works like a charm, easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Redondo Beach, CA on 3/29/2017

2004 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Products were great, easy to install, great technical support when needed, I will definitely keep using Crutchfield in the future!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome

Christopher from MD on 3/23/2017

2006 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This interface is amazing! Was not pictured on the internet, but my Crutchfield helper recommended this one instead of the one listed. This one makes the use of the steering wheel stereo controls function flawlessly. it is also a plug and play affair after splicing the head unit harness into the crux interface harness (very easy to do) it just plugs into the factory wiring harness and that is it. No separate power, ground or lighting wiring to do. Those days are over with this!

Pros: Makes head unit plug and play

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 3/14/2017

2008 Lexus RX350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All those wires looked intimidating at first, but once I started at the start it was straightforward to wire. I only had to do it once! It easily fit in the space where the factory radio was installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple wiring job, works well!

Keith from Ballwin, MO on 2/10/2017

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring up my Pioneer AVH-4200 NEX to my 2006 Miata with steering wheel controls was very easy with this harness. The color codes for the wires matched the head unit harness color codes, and physically making the connection with Crutchfield's recommended screw-on wire connectors made the job simple and reversible.

Pros: Easy connections Color coded wires matched head unit plug wires Simple to position behind head unit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works once set correctly

Paul from Appleton, WI on 1/30/2017

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To work with the New Jersey, the cable and DIP switches need to be set for a Pioneer Stereo instead of a Blaupunkt Stereo. No where in the instructions is this stated. The first two Crutchfield technical support agents did not know this. The third one, Scott, told me and then it worked as it should.

Pros: Works when set correctly.

Cons: Proper settings for the Blaupunkt New Jersey not included in the installation instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great

Mitch D from Glenshaw, PA on 7/13/2016

2008 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job

Pros: Harness and steering controls in 1 unit.

Cons: Directions are lousy. Made install more difficult than needed to be.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

David from Whittier, CA on 6/7/2016

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired this up in my sons car and adjusted the switches based on the instructions and some of the steering functions didn't work properly. I decided to try toggling the different switches with other combinations and found one that was perfect. Everything works like a charm!

Pros: Easy to use, no programming necessary

Cons: had to toggle the switches to find a combination that works [I have a background in electronics and troubleshooting, might be too difficult for the average user]

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Retains OEM steering wheel buttons and LED display

Dum Long from Holland PA on 5/18/2016

2014 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty much the only choice if you want to retain OEM dashboard display use and steering wheel controls with an aftermarket stereo. Such is the current state of aftermarket integration. The electronics are getting more sophisticated but this part makes it easier to handle. I've used older PAC units before that required programming and let me tell you it was not fun trying to read LED flashes and hoping it all works. This pre-programmed unit only required selecting the dial for manufacturer and making the requisite wire connections, much like you would do with any aftermarket wiring harness anyways. The documentation is a bit outdated and confusing to read. Using this with a Kenwood unit and the dash LED panel continues to work but remains on Audio; no more bluetooth, aux, xm, etc. which is just fine. The MPG info display works fine and is correctly mapped to the steering wheel info button. Volume up/down, skip forward/backward buttons work great and I think it's actually more responsive than the OEM which always had this weird lag. The mic button for hands free is somehow mapped to Attenuation on/off, no big deal since there is no handsfree system to speak of now. Things get a little weirder with the phone answer/end buttons. The answer button is only usable to pickup a call, pressing it by itself will not bring up the phone function by itself. No idea what the hang up button does as I was not able to get it to work to hang up a call. The unit can be reprogrammed manually.

Pros: instant volume up/down, track forward/backward compatibility

Cons: outdated documentation, odd button mapping for mic and phone buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Andres from Port Huron, MI on 5/15/2016

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly plug n play.

Pros: Super easy to set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

D.West from West Alexander Pa on 3/28/2016

2008 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was what I expected but the mic. People can"t hardly understand me when I talk on the phone hooked to radio.

Pros: Wired up nice like it was suppose to. Steering wheel controls work great.

Cons: Mic not what I was hoping for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works great!

Sean from Olympia, WA on 3/4/2016

2011 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to connect. Good harness makes install easy. Steering wheel controls retained with little delay after hitting button.

Pros: Easy to use. Makes install easy.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does what it was made to do

John from worcester, MA on 2/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this along with my Sony radio for my Mazda 5. You basically wire it up to the Sony harness using the supplied wiring diagram and set the dip switches according to the instructions. I did utilize Crutchfield's fantastic technical support to make sure I made the right choices in regards to the antenna and booster connections before I put the dash back together. I word of advice; read your head units and this adapter's manual carefully. This isn't just a wire it and everything works type of deal. You have to program your head unit to work with the steering wheel control module. Make sure you have plenty of zip ties of various sizes on hand to secure this inside the dash so that you don't end up with rattles.

Pros: Fairly simple to use once you read the manual and grasp the concept of how its supposed to work.

Cons: Can be a little challenging for the novice but Crutchfield tech support can more than make up for this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRMZ-64C Wiring Interface

A.B. from Lebanon, Pa on 2/2/2016

2004 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Functions as described. Install was easy. All steering wheel controls function like OE

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound