Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
162 626 04
Connect ID #
162 626 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Add a rear-view camera to your factory radio in select 2012-up Toyota vehicles

MFR # RVCTY-71

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Add a rear-view camera to your factory radio in select 2012-up Toyota vehicles

MFR # RVCTY-71

75 reviews
View this product

Integrates like factory camera

Crutchfield customer from Mountain View, CA on 1/23/2021

2013 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great backup camera. Plug-in compatible to 2013 Prius radio display. Camera turns on automatically when you shift into reverse. Mounts to tailgate knock out designed for this purpose. Very good installation instructions emailed upon delivery. Advise that you always disconnect both batteries before working inside dashboard.

Pros: Great camera at a great price.

Cons: Cable passes through tailgate grommet tube with difficulty. Suggest using grease.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Idaho Falls, ID on 1/12/2021

2012 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although it took a while to install, it is awesome. Really works well as a backup camera. Wish we had installed it many thousands of miles ago. My wife loves it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 Camry SE works great

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MO on 11/23/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2012 Camry SE worked great. Wire the yellow wire from the radio plug to the red wire on the camera wire behind the radio. Factory radio recognized the camera and you can adjust the contrast and brightness under the setup page/display. Works like oem as far as I can tell. Longest part was running/hiding the wire from the trunk to the radio. They need to add the part about hard wireing the yellow and red wire. Add a connector for it to be plug and play, and add that part to the installation directions!

Pros: Factory radio recognized the camera to adjust contrast and brightness!

Cons: The directions and the video never showed wiring the yellow and red wire behind the radio!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug and play

Wilmer from CELINA, TX on 11/19/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife's prior camera that I had installed went out after 6+ years. Ordered this system to replace it since it was the same hole size for the camera itself and it worked like a charm. No issues at all and the harness makes it pretty much plug and play easy. I was hopeful that I could use the same wiring from the previous install but had to run everything new. She is very pleased with the quality of this camera saying it has a better image than the previous.

Pros: Harness, camera quality

Cons: Extra wiring not needed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Brunswick, GA on 10/26/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It would have been helpful to have a more detailed wiring diagram, but I called and the technician walked me through it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Prius

Crutchfield customer from Mooresville, NC on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2014 Prius. The backup camera was almost plug and play. The power wires and ground had to be addressed. The tech team was spot on with easy instructions. Don't attempt to "tweak" the angle of the camera because it's offset to the drivers side. Point it straight back for the most accurate picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ten star product

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 9/16/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a a great product, the ease of installation is why I give this product five stars, everyone who looks at the Image on the factory radio screen is totally amazed you can add a camera to your car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Centreville , VA on 8/26/2020

2012 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product for installers like me, everything you need to do the job right the first time, good quality camera, video cable is plenty long and the ease of installation saves me so much time and effort, overall great product, five stars all day.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 7/13/2020

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product. Works Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Great!

Crutchfield customer from Placentia, CA on 7/5/2020

2012 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect!! Good quality!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Atif from Binghamton, NY on 7/2/2020

2013 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So, I was looking for close to OEM camera for prius 2013. Stumbled upon Crutchfield camera, ordered it, recieved it in time. Pros: affordable, comes with good wiritng diagram, no special tools needed for installation other than 10mm socket and things like that. Cons: the bumper takes up 20% of lcd screen view after installation, trim removal instructions are useless (look at multiple youtube videos before starting) I started from installation from lcd pannel and than worked my way back. The hardest part was to route cables through trunk gromet-i ended up cutting thr cable, routing it through gromet and than resoldering the wires. Pro tip: remove the trunk opening button trim to get the black plastic in which the camera hole will be drilled. If you try to force that plastic out--it Will break and cost you 20 bux for replacement. All in all. Satisfied with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota Venza 2014 LE V6 Backup Camera upgrade.

Amad from BURLINGTON, NJ on 4/3/2020

2014 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Toyota Venza 2014 LE V6, took 3 hours to install, I wanted it to be a clean, and safe, install, as wires go across airbags and such, everything is provided except for zip-ties. Final Result it works with non JBL factory radio flawlessly and looks as if the camera came with the car.

Pros: 1. I can see who is behind me. 2. Parallel parking is a breeze now.

Cons: 1. Because of COVID-19 no-where to go :)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NOT Plug & Play 2013 Camry SE

Elizabeth from Stafford, VA on 2/12/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2013 Camry SE NOT Plug and Play.

Pros: Received quickly.

Cons: NOT plug and play.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lwerk

Crutchfield customer from Hays, MT on 1/28/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with this product. Makes an easy install and looks like it was put in at the factory.

Pros: Easy install!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera

dejiovanni from Hutto on 1/22/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first time installing a camera. Went very smoothly. I ran into a minor delay because I have an aftermarket Sony receiver instead of factory. This just meant the provided adapter wasnt necessary. I thought I might have to call Crutchfield for help but I spliced the red power wire on the camera in with the reverse wire connection from the receiver and the yellow video connection connected right into the back of the receiver. Wala! With removing panel, drilling holes, and running and connecting wires I was done in about an hour. Definitely worth it.

Pros: Instructional video is dead on.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent product and customer service

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera system, very easy to install, Crutchfield is fantastic with customer service and support. Very satisfied Crutchfield customer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Cupertino, CA on 1/14/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The backup camera works as it should. clear picture for day and good night view.

Pros: simple to install and good camera quality

Cons: the distance mark is a bit off. it only measure about a foot

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 12/30/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent pre-set kit, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camry Backup Cam Part 2

Guest from Oregon South Coast on 10/20/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to add that you can center the camera on the rear of a 2014 Camry. It works fine. It took awhile for my install because I was pretty particular about making sure that the wiring was done right.

Pros: Looks and acts like Factory.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Camry backup cam

Crutchfield customer from Oregon South Coast on 10/20/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fifty dollar bill, 4 1/2 hours labor, and a question for the Crutchfield tech assistant. Wow! The camera works great! It's plug & play once you disassemble your radio, the floor door molding and trunk. Definitely worth it. The install looks and works like it came from the factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, UT on 9/19/2019

2012 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this backup camera system. Compared to the Toyota dealer's quote of $700 to install their camera, this choice is a no brainer. I got excellent customer sales service from Allison and great technical support from Nathan who answered a couple installation questions I had. If your thinking about adding this backup camera to your Prius, go for it, you won't find a better deal than this. The folks at Crutchfield were top shelf all the way. Thank you Allison and Nathan for your outstanding service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Second try

Crutchfield customer from Algonquin, IL on 6/10/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second one. The first one stopped working after a year, which was out of warranty after that time. The new one work well so far, it's less than one month now. Time will show...

Pros: Simple to instal, blends perfectly with design of the car, price

Cons: First one stopped working, had to pay for the second one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Milpitas, CA on 6/2/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 Camry LE

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 5/20/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions were left me scratching my head a little but I called the support line and they were very helpful and got all of my questions answered. I am not an electrician or a mechanic and was still able to get this in within a few hours. The instructions have the camera install off center which looks weird to me so I managed to center it on the shroud which took an extra step but it fits well and everything looks nice and even. The quality of the camera is very good and I would recommend this product to anyone looking to add a back up camera to their car. Over all good product and I'm very glad I put this in my car

Pros: Good image quality, easy install, very helpful support line

Cons: Instructional video could be a little more detailed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nearly perfect

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 5/16/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked nearly perfectly with my Camery. The video is clear, it has a very sleek look and ws reasonably easy to install. The adapter for the dash makes it a lot easier and less nerve racking than splicing wires. The one and only thing that kept it from being perfect is the positioning of the backup lines it super exposes. It isn't bad but it is pretty easy to tell Toyota didn't install the camera. There is the ability to turn off the lines by cutting a particular wire which is well marked.

Pros: Incredibly cheap backup camera that works with factory dash and has a sleek- low profile look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 5/5/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 4/3/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great !!! Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very good backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 4/2/2019

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have hold my review nearly 3 months to see how the system works. And my conclusion is the system operates perfect and reliable as it said.

Pros: clear view

Cons: parking guidelines better not broken

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 3/31/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install I will just recommend someone to hook up wires... I don't know anything abou electrical.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Ardmore, OK on 3/28/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Woodmere, NY on 3/22/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Adeyami from Atlanta, GA on 3/9/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this installed. I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn't driven the 2018 Camry

Pros: Works

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job, but lines are distracting

Noel from Fairfield, CA on 3/9/2019

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works, but the guide lines are way off. The camera has to be mounted to the side a bit, so I understand why, but the guide lines give a false sense of where things are. Wish I could turn them off. Otherwise, it's great. I can see behind me, so I don't bump into things. The install was a huge pain. I have a Prius C and getting the wires through the hatch door along the factory cable route was brutal. Very tight space. Used one of those electrical fishing tape tools, and just getting that to go through was hard. After that, it was a piece of cake. I can't give it five stars because it's not perfect.

Pros: Good picture. Does it's job. Plug-n-play install.

Cons: Guide lines are distracting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Backup camera for Prius C

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 1/23/2019

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was truly plug and play. Works every time the car is shifted into reverse. Installation of camera took several hours. Running the video cable from the rear of the Prius C to the factory Nav-radio, and keeping the cable hidden behind the interior trim so as not to look unsightly.

Pros: Plug-n-play, low cost, no additional equipment needed.

Cons: Time to install if you want it down right.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

RICH from Santa Cruz, CA on 1/17/2019

2013 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great, the picture is nice and clear. but the angle of the picture is exstream so the red backup colored lines are 75% on the bumper, instead of starting at the edge of the bumper. Installation was easy, would buy again.

Pros: Great price and value

Cons: Camera angle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I love it

Roberto from Groveland, FL on 1/2/2019

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it, it was super easy to install. The quality is great and it works every single time.

Pros: Easy installation, just plug and play.And it comes with the hole saw.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Show Low, AZ on 12/9/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this RVCY-71 backup camera on a stock 2014 Camry LE radio system fairly easily, instructions were somewhat lacking, but tech support helped. Camera works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 11/19/2018

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible instructions that leave off important information and contradict the video leaving one to decide what to follow . Expected much more from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/21/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your camera. If you need our help, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Eau Claire, WI on 11/5/2018

2003 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice addition to ur car.....crystal clear image and would buy this again. Also the price was excellent. Installed this in a 2014 Camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from New Hyde Park, NY on 10/16/2018

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very lucky that I received a broken kit in the first place, but I didn't know until I've wasted 4 hours trying to figure out why the camera is not working. I've called customer service for help but they told me to bring it to professionals and ask them to install it, meaning that they don't think I can do it or they don't wanna spend more time to help me. I did tons of research and I'm confident that I did everything correctly, so the only explanation left would be the kit is broken. So I contacted online customer service and those people are very nice and sent me a replacement kit immediately. When the new kit arrived, I tried it again (only took me 10 mins) and it works perfectly! Despite the bad experience I've had, this product is awesome. The installation is really easy, and the image is good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 2012 Toyota Camry Jake From Crutchfield made the installation easy for me to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Joseph from Chesapeake, VA on 9/21/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my wifey's Camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Venza camera system

Crutchfield customer from St. Paul, MN on 9/9/2018

2013 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Review for Toyota Venza. The directions are missing one essential component. You must disconnect the 28 pin connector right next to the plug in for the wiring harness for the camera in the back of the radio. If you don't do this, the radio will not recognize the camera. This need to be the last thing you do at the end of the install. If you mess with any of the wires or grounds, the radio will forget about the camera and it won't work until you disconnect the 28 pin connector again. Picture quality is adequate. Angle is pretty good. For the money, this is a good deal. Directions were good except the one noted above. If you are having technical issues, call Crux directly. They were excellent at solving the issue above. Crutchfield Tech support could not figure it out. Couple tips for Venza install. You must have a trim removal tool, panel popper, deep and shallow 10mm sockets, wobble extension, and fish tape. If you don't know what these tool are, don't attempt this install by yourself. I ran the wires along the top of the passenger side of the car at the inside edge of the headliner. There is an excellent video on YouTube that is Russian that shows how to get the radio out, but don't use it for camera install. Rear hatch garnish has 5 nuts to remove. The 5th one is behind the wiper arm and the motor must be loosened. There's another 15 plastic clips holding the garnish on. Don't break it. It's expensive. Overall nice deal for the camera system.

Pros: Good deal. Excellent customer support from Crux

Cons: Directions missing one important step. Watch Youtube videos for radio removal. 4 hour install for first timers. Could be done in 2 hours if you're comfortable removing interior trim. Be careful not to break anything, especially the rear hatch garnish.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great picture!

Tony from Kansas City, MO on 9/8/2018

2014 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and Play

Pros: Plug and play. Easy for anyone/diy looking to save money.

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 8/15/2018

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality fuzzy just 3months in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 8/12/2018

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great plug and play system. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well Built Camera, Plug & Play Simplicity

Tu from Sacramento, CA on 8/3/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent back-up camera for my 2012 Camry. The camera is in a metal housing that seems well built but I haven't driven in the rain yet so I'm not sure about the weather sealing. This kit comes with everything I need and I love how the harness connects in between the factory wiring so it's a straight plug & play process. The difficult part is drilling into the plastic trim piece on the trunk and filing down the rough edges. If you've ran wires for car audio before then this isn't any more difficult. Once mounted the camera looks almost like an OEM unit. I highly recommend this camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for the Toyota Prius Gen 3

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/16/2018

2013 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not recommend for the Toyota Prius Generation 3. The angle is horrible. The only view you will get is the ground. Nearly a quarter of the display is the rear bumper. I had to put plastic spacers to make the angle better and still . . . I have a view of the bumper. This camera works nice. It's too bad the angle of it is too acute. What's also annoying was that I ended up breaking the plastic piece (Factory location for the rear cam) with the huge drill bit. It's a good thing the rear-camera-install video I watched on onlinee had a viewer's comment who committed the same mistake I made. The viewer wrote the broken part's toyota part number (76812-47030).

Pros: nice camera

Cons: Camera's angle is too acute.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pros and Cons

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 4/16/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera itself is okay, but the final goal is not so impressive. Here are some pros and cons which will help you decide

Pros: 1) good build quality 2) simplifies integration with no visual wires running around. Looks like factory installed

Cons: 1) the video quality of the screen is t good to begin with. So the picture looks poor quality.also noise from camera adds to the bad quality picture. Agreed I am not watching YouTube videos on it, but $20 phone looks better. 2) guidance lines are useless. That are good at measuring distance from the back, but as far as side lines go they are wrong. You have to use your judgment. 3) as others mentioned the instructions are useless. Just watch online videos. I rated it a 4 as it was cheap and it serves the purpose.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Andover, KS on 4/10/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good video. Installed on 2014 Camry and did not cut the white wire or blue wire on camera for correct orientation and guidelines. Spend some time getting a good ground at camera connector. I found one in the trunk on taillight mount and scrapped paint under mounting nut. Connected power on back of radio with adapter harness, which plugged right in. Taped up ground wire on radio end and red wire at camera connector, they are not needed.

Pros: good video, good price, good installation results

Cons: instructions a little fuzzy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 2/26/2018

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera was a perfect fit. Found the install instruction on the internet and it was a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great picture.

Brian from Olathe, KS on 1/24/2018

2014 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product gets a 5 star, the supporting literature and instructions get 1 star. There is only one other Venza review, the rest are mostly Camry's. The difference being the Venza is a hatch back. Be prepared for a several hour install to do correctly. And be very careful feeding the video cable through the rubber boots leading from the hatch to the upper body(RH photo). It is a chore but can be done. First, I installed the camera in the factory location then ran the wiring over to the hatch switch handle assembly and drilled through it instead of drilling a hole in the metal of the hatch. This device is covered within that panel. Second, to easily remove the back panel take the left and right tail light assemblies off. It will make it easier and is only two nuts and two plugs. White wire=Parking assist lines. Open removes the parking assist lines(this is how the unit came) Blue wire= This inverts the video 180degrees depending on camera location. It came connected and the video is normal for my installation.

Pros: Fairly simple interface Works great

Cons: Poor literature, lack of detail in explaining White and Blue wires near camera.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade and it was on sale!

Ken from Roanoke, VA on 1/16/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Game with everything I needed for the installation in my Camry Hybrid, including the hole saw. They only issue I had was that the guidelines came disconnected. I spliced the white wire and they worked fine. As always Crutchfield order game quickly, the next day in this case. And the instructions for the vehicle were excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera, no need to drill into metal on your trunk...

Don from GA on 1/12/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For starters this would be five stars except the grid lines didnt work, and a few minor other reasons... I want to note first, concerned for your vehicle, that the hole saw drill bit is for the plastic trunk lid trim, NOT the sheet metal. You do not NEED to drill the metal. Sure, you can... But if you remove one of the 4 mounting studs, you can run the connector and wire through the existing hole. You could also run it through the reverse light housing... This was better than expected. Picture quality is better than expected. It works well in high and low light. It seems to have digital amplification in low light. The lense is curved/fish eye so you get a wide range of view. The camera has a small heavy duty connector and a few feed of wire that connects to the main RCA feed, which makes it super easy to install and replace if ever needed. The connector is small enough that what I did was remove the left middle mounting stud, put a small 1/4" grommet in the existing hole, and run the wire through that. The harness adapter worked great. Perfect fit, and the RCA wire is just long enough to leave slack behind radio, run under dash, driver side kick panels, behind carpet in trunk, and up into trunk lid. I suggest putting wire loom over the sections behind dash and in trunk. I grounded to a bolt on left middle of trunk lid. No picture noise and it works great. Instructions say ground to harness, but you have to run extra wire to do so, as only

Pros: For the sale price point, this is a five star camera. Great picture. Fish eye/curved lense gives good range of view. Works very well in low light. Looks great and feels heavy duty. Connections at each end allow for easy replacement if ever needed. 5/8" Drill bit included to mount on plastic trim. Very good image quality considering the length of coax RCA wire... As always, Crutchfield has super fast shipping.

Cons: Grid lines did not work.... RCA cable bundle includes a power wire but no ground wire (ground at trunk). As many stated, instructions are not clear or complete, but it is easy enough to figure out. IMO, Kit should include rubber grommet, drill templet, connectors for power wires, and zip ties. Although I have all of this, you may not. It should be made clear that you do not need to damage the vehicle by drilling into the metal trunk lid! A lot of video reviews seem to think you need to.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Sam from San Diego, CA on 1/3/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product and easy to install

Pros: Good price, easy install, perfect match with as OEM.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a difference a backing up camera makes

David from Los Angeles, CA on 12/30/2017

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install time was about 4 hr with guidance from internet helping. The more you study before, the faster the actual install goes. The kit needs cable ties and a couple of wire nuts - one for the 6-volt power at the radio end and another for the parking lines enable wires grounding together at the camera end. The video guide on the Crutchfield web page is sparse and covers a different camera and cabling configuration. The updated cheat sheet - a single page - is not very clear. The new camera is also not explained well with the default is no parking lines shown. Experimentation took care of getting the parking lines to show. The parking lines are too aggressive, leaving you maybe 12 inches of clearance to the rear while objects to avoid are still in the green zone. The very wide angle (170 degrees) camera gives good view of the surroundings to the rear. Rated 4 stars for the world of difference that a backing up camera makes despite the flaws and difficulties with this install. WARNING: do not do final placement of camera without being sure that you aimed it correctly. I was luckily able to get mine right the first time.

Pros: Install is moderately challenging, but not too difficult. It can be done by any technically competent person. The camera has a wide field of view and a good picture using the stock radio display. The camera turns on a couple of seconds after engaging reverse gear (pretty quickly). Parking lines are an option.

Cons: The web site video does not tell enough to do the job since it covers an earlier configuration and is sparse. You need an extra document that is not mentioned until you call support. The standard install does not enable the parking lines. The green parking lines put your car pretty close to an object behind you.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good picture even in low light.

Tom from TX on 12/3/2017

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera arrived quickly. Very easy installation on my Camry SE 2014.5. All car parts were snap on, snap off except for radio head has 4 screws. One reviewer was right to warn careful during removing them else hard to retrieve if drop them. Pig tail came with camera made it so easy to install. I just unplug the orig cable, plug it to the plug tail, plug the plug tail into the radio where the orig cable plugged in before. One caveat. The installation came with the camera did not tell me to tie the power wire from the tail to the camera wire harness so when I threw the car into reverse, there was no picture. After tied power wire the camera showed brightly. When the car headlights came on the image brightness reduced. I can't figure that out yet but suspect out was the way I set my radio head? Before I drilled the camera hole I had my son helped holding the camera to the center then too the left of the license plate to see if the camera would look lopsided or not. When identified that it would showed lopsided when at the left position we decided to drill then install the camera in the CENTER like some other reviewers mentioned. Luckily my car doesn't have factory installed trunk open buttons access in the center. I've seen some Camry that came with push button starter also has trunk access which would prevent my installation. It took me 1.5 hours study YouTube videos, 3 hours of leisurely install the camera. There were no difficulties just took my time. Recommended!!

Pros: Good pic even in low light. Extremely easy installation. Option to reverse pic. Option to disable guide lines but who would? Good price, got my on sale. Quick shipping. Great customer service when have pre/after sales questions.

Cons: Instruction missing to tie power to camera. No option to offset the pic when install at the lopsided locations. Picture can be clearer but who's watching HD YouTube videos with it? Just need for reverse aid.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera

Hanh from San Jose, CA on 11/26/2017

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and camera very clearer than oem. The price is a lot of cheaper than hem also wife like it

Pros: Very good so far

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 10/23/2017

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My only problem with this product is that the 4 pin connector just before the camera is very flimsy. It broke apart when I tried to detach the connector. Crutchfield did promptly replace the whole system at no cost. I am still concerned about how fragile the connector is

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Bristow, VA on 10/22/2017

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy install and it was placed in the center of the trim above the license plate. No need to place it off center on my 2013 Camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice camera

Dat N from Escondido, CA on 10/3/2017

2009 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works perfectly on my 2013 Toyota Camry Le that did not have a camera installed. It took about 3 hours to install and the instruction was clear. Just keep in mind that drill the hole and mount the camera at the center of the rear trunk panel in order to get the parking guide line works correctly. Do not follow some videos on the you tube that shown some models on Camry LE and SE 2012-2013 that have the factory installed camera on the left side of the rear panel, because those OEM cameras might designed with an offset that shifted to the left.. for some reasons on some model of the cars that cannot mount the camera at the center of the panel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good camera once it's installed

Martin from Redding, CA on 10/3/2017

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this for several months now and I'm very happy with how it performs. Installation was not for the feint of heart because you have to remove a lot of fragile plastic trim pieces and a portion of the headline. The instructions that came with the camera were less than adequate with regard to which panels had to be removed and how to go about it. Fortunately there is some good info out on YouTube and elsewhere on the internet. The one thing that tripped me up is the little connector where the camera plugs into the wiring harness. It takes a good bit of force to make that connector click into locked position. The first time I installed the system, the camera operation was erratic. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. Tracing back through the wiring, I found that little connector was not fully engaged. Once I clicked it into place, all was well and has stayed that way. I like it better than the factory camera in my 2007 Prius. The picture is clearer and it has guide lines superimposed on the image to allow more accurate estimates of distance.

Pros: Good picture quality, seems well made, wiring harness plugs right into the factory display screen.

Cons: Instructions could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 9/12/2017

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I met a problem when installing it to my 2013 Camry SE. The customer service helps a lot. I really love this kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 8/27/2017

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very well put together kit! Installing it was a breeze, very easy and no wire cutting or any complex electrical work needed. Great quality too, from what I could tell so far! Recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Jeff from Laguna Niguel, CA on 6/7/2017

2014 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on 2014 Prius two. Amazing customer service by Crutchfield! I needed assistance with the final wiring connections at the head unit, and Crutchfield technical support was available on Memorial day to help right away with less than a minute hold time.

Pros: As always, great customer service

Cons: Grid lines aren't accurate since it doesn't adjust for the slight left side offset mounting of the camera, so turned off the grid lines.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great picture, Flawless integration

Sharon Tilton from Destin, FL on 6/5/2017

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera was exactly what I needed. Works great and connected flawlessly with the stock (soon to be upgraded) stereo in my 2012 Camry. As usual, Crutchfield didn't disappoint and shipped it quickly.

Pros: Great quality, great picture, seamless integration with stock stereo

Cons: Instructions could be way better, but Crutchfield is always there when you need them

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works great...pretty easy to install.

David from Springboro, OH on 6/3/2017

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a 2012 Toyota Camry SE. All went smoothly...works great! Took a few hours to complete the installation. Appears to be better camera than the one that comes in our 2016 Camry LE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Terry from Cypress, CA on 4/2/2017

2014 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for my 2014 Prius. Mfg instructions are terrible, but good thing Crutchfield was there to help! 5 Star Service! Camera is great and quality is good too.

Pros: Great quality Excellent price Plug & Play

Cons: Mfg. instructions were terrible.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great

TM from Goldsboro, NC on 3/2/2017

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered Sunday, got it Wednesday, installed it Thursday. Very easy installation, but the instructions not complete. Did not have to drill into any metal to route wire from camera into trunk. Added silicone to seal out any water. Plugged in wire and connected wire coming from camera to 6v wire on harness, connected that to the radio, and Bam! Throw the car in reverse and the image shows up on the screen nice and clear. I didn't have to reverse (or flip) the image and the lines were there, red, yellow, and green. Instructions say purple, but I'm glad purple isn't on my camera. I highly recommend this for your car. Easy upgrade to increase the safety of your car!

Pros: Cheaper than the dealer, quick install, integrated with car with no loss of functionality, increased safety.

Cons: Instructions incomplete and inaccurate, extra wires not mentioned in the instructions, holes have to be drilled.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera System

Charlie D. from Suffield, CT on 7/1/2016

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera was mounted on a 2013 Toyota Camry. The backup camera is very good and installation was straight forward. The only issue was that on this vehicle, the camera mounts towards the left side of the car, so the backup camera guide lines are shifted to the left. When using the camera to back up the car ends up close to the parking space line on the right side. You have to remember to compensate for this when backing into a spot. It would have been nice if there was a way to adjust the camera lines based upon its mounting.

Pros: -Very good camera. -Installation was relatively easy

Cons: -No way to adjust the camera backup reference lines. -Wiring instructions could be better written.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Crutchfield Back Up Camera

Ahmad R from California on 6/18/2016

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works perfectly. I installed it right at the center of the rear trunk bazel panel, not on the side, as indicated in the instructions. Watching a video on YouTube was very helpful for removing the radio and passing of the wires from the camera to the radio head unit. Thanks to Crutchfield staff for assuring the product's fit and easy returns!

Pros: Great quality!

Cons: Takes several hours to install. Be patient, if it's your first time.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Must have for 2012 Camry!

Mark K from Twinsburg, OH on 3/15/2016

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just like the factory camera! The kit came with all of the necessary wiring harnesses to connect it to the radio so it was very easy to install. On another note, the original camera sent to me was black & white, Crutchfield promptly exchanged it for a replacement which works just as described. Crutchfield supports their customers!

Pros: Great price. Easy installation. Great Crutchfield support.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very Happy

Seth from New Hampshire on 1/28/2016

2013 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this back up camera from Crutchfield - great product. Awesome service before and after the sale - thanks!

Pros: Great product, great team, super-fast shipping.

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Crux RVCTY-71 Backup Camera

Prius C Owner in Central Washington from Washington on 5/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been buying products from Crutchfield for over 20 years and have always been very satisfied as they sell top quality and have very good technical and customer support. Recently I purchased a back up camera for my 2014 Prius C (Crux RVCTY-71). It was a plug and play installation that worked great after being installed. However after going through a car wash or driving in the rain the screen turned blue. I talked with Crutchfield technical support they asked a few questions and then determined that the camera was defective. A new camera arrived in few days and I was given a shipping label to send the defective camera back. Before installing the second camera, just to be sure that water could not get into the camera, I sealed the wire on the back of the camera with a Fowable Silicon (VersaChem Part Number 75009 (from my local Auto Parts Store). The second was camera was installed and has worked perfectly. This was the first time I had a problem with one of their products but because of their top notch customer support I will continue to use them for all of my automotive electronics

Pros: Easy to install. Very good picture on Factory Screen. Contrast is adjustable on factory radio. The Crutchfield wire harness makes it an easy plug and play installation.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Crux-RVCTY-71 Backup Camera

Manuel from Oakland, CA on 1/21/2015

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item was on back order so shipping was not as fast but still it didn't took that long for it to arrive about 3 weeks.

Pros: Happy with the purchase, installation was fairly easy but some steps were left out so had to do some research on the net.

Cons: The only not so bad thing is that the parking grid feature for this camera on mine is not working, recheck all connections and nothing.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP