Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
197 765 75
Connect ID #
197 765 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amp and steering wheel audio controls in select 2001-13 Audi models

MFR # SWRAD-55

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amp and steering wheel audio controls in select 2001-13 Audi models

MFR # SWRAD-55

32 reviews
View this product

Works, mostly.

Chris from Asheville, NC on 8/7/2022

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 2nd one works fine. First had some sort of problem with interface and rear speakers wouldn't work. Crutchfield warrantied it and sent out a replacement quickly. Does not retain factory steering wheel controls on Audi A4 though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 9/14/2021

2006 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recommend this. I had a hard time with the rating, since it worked really well to make sure I had to do nothing to my OEM harness to hookup the radio, and everything worked, including the steering wheel volume and selector controls. I marked it down a bit because there was so much to throw away (it fits many models and I did not need it all). It was also tough to spend about as much on this kit as on the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, MT on 8/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is great worked well with a hard to integrate Audi wiring system. Instructions are a little vague

Pros: Product designed well and worked as advertised.

Cons: Pins pushed out as they were misaligned but easy to fix. Instructions not great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Jeff from KENT, WA on 5/6/2021

2008 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Factory Subwoofer no longer worked after this kit was installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/13/2021
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked, but definitely not plug & play!

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the kit for my 2001 Audi A4 with Symphony head unit and Bose factory amp. Plugs were correct for my car, but the 12v accessory pin was in the wrong place, and I had to add a wire to power up the amp. Better than wiring up the amp without this, but you will need basic wiring and electrical skills for this application. Good chance to teach my kid, though. Also, I didn't use most of the harness since I don't have factory steering wheel controls. Seems like a lot to pay for all the extra work and landfill.

Pros: Works with factory amp - RCAs, etc

Cons: Diagnostics and modifications of the harness required.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Must have

Crutchfield customer from Bladenboro, NC on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have for any deck installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Cupertino, CA on 12/21/2019

2006 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The box works as advertised. Makes connecting stuff super easy (I did pay Crutchfield to join the harnesses though). The instructions are not detailed, perhaps aimed towards pro installers. I rarely do this so I felt a bit unsure but in the end everything worked out.

Pros: Harness connects to the car seamlessly, even I could do it.

Cons: I wish it would have told me explicitly where to connect each cable. Like the speakers: the stereo has pre-amp outputs for front, rear, and SW and the car only has two pairs so I wasn't sure where to connect them. In their defense, they were color coded so I could have deduced it that way. The box is somewhat bulky and I had to finagle the whole cable/box bundle to get the stereo to fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 8/15/2019

2002 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play for my Alpine ILX-W650 ina 2002 Audi A6. Easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 2/3/2019

2007 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty self explanatory..SWC work as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, NY on 5/27/2018

2007 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! And great support too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Benton from Fallbrook, CA on 4/23/2018

2003 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only ended up needing one of the wire bundles packaged. At least it was discounted with the purchase of the radio. Crutchfield has always been real good about vehicle specific needs but missed it on this one. I payed too much for a box of useless wire bundles.

Pros: Maintained vehicle audio capabilities including speed controlled volume

Cons: Too many wire bundles Price, for useless wires, not vehicle specific

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Gets the job done

Greg from Westminster, MD on 3/23/2018

2003 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had Crutchfield team do the wiring for my new receiver so the plug and play aspect was mostly clear when received. The $ spent was well worth the time connecting the various harnesses. Moreover, not having steering wheel controls wasn't a big deal for connectivity and also not having the ancient Nav system dysfunction isn't a big deal at all. A built in antenna booster would be nice as aftermarket receivers are notorious for increased interference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from New London, MN on 2/19/2018

2002 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this interface to install a Kenwood Excelon DDX9903S in my 2002 Audi A6. Connections were perfect and retained steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Hayes, VA on 2/5/2018

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I guess. Had to call customer support (excellent customer support from Crutchfield) to get the wiring correct. Not the greatest documentation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not "fully" integrate

Clayton from Vancouver, WA on 2/2/2018

2008 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works except the voice control on the steering wheel, and integration with the factory microphone. Very disappointing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not do as it claims.

Mitchell from Cedar Rapids on 1/31/2018

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does not allow you to keep your SWC.

Pros: Easy to wire and the craftsmanship is good.

Cons: Does not retain your SWC.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Chris from Fuquay Varina, NC on 11/14/2017

2008 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

didn't fully integrate with my steering wheel controls, but otherwise good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good product

Josh from Black River, NY on 11/3/2017

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: Need better rear door sound quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Seamless

Ax from Alameda, CA on 4/26/2017

2007 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So many wires but eventually understood what was needed and what was not.

Pros: Had the right connections

Cons: Instructions could be a bit clearer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire Harness

Eric from Bozeman, MT on 4/18/2017

2002 Audi A6 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Confusing directions and not very clear which parts were needed or extra. Worked in the end but lost some of my steering wheel controls. Plan on some online google time to figure it out.

Pros: Easily worked with existing harnesses once you figure out which ones to use

Cons: directions were not clear and confusing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Lake In The Hills, IL on 4/10/2017

2003 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked well but the instructions for the blue wire that turns on the amp is not clear. I had to watch online videos to figure it out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRAD-55 Wiring Interface

Tallis from Harvest, AL on 11/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Confusing, poor directions. Blocks out the K-Line for diagnostics!! You will not be able to computer diagnose the vehicle while this module is attached to the car!! I does function well though, cannot use the click wheels on my 2006 S4 though, can only scroll for volume and track forward/reverse.

Pros:

Cons: Confusing, poor directions. Blocks out the K-Line for diagnostics!! You will not be able to computer diagnose the vehicle while this module is attached to the car!!

Crutchfield response on 11/17/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Tallis to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get the interface working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fairly Complex But Works

Jon from Guilford, CT on 6/28/2016

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was fairly complex to hook it all up, mostly because it's made to fit many different car models/years. When connecting/splicing this harness to the head unit's harness, I strongly recommend temporarily twisting and taping the wires together and testing the head unit to ensure all the wires are connected where they're supposed to be, then make your final connections by soldering or crimping. The instructions could've been more clear on what some of the wires do. The kit comes with two identical SWC harnesses. I'm not sure why; you're only going to use one of them and throw the other one away. And even those harnesses are basically two separate harnesses taped together. You can cut the tape off and separate them entirely, which is what I did. One thing I don't really like about this harness is the rear speakers work, but they're at a significantly reduced volume from the front speakers. After doing some online checking, I found out this is a common problem when hooking up an aftermarket head unit and using the factory amp. You'd think a kit specifically for these Audis would have a solution for this built in, but no. I've heard of people correcting the problem with a line-out converter. Myself, I just adjusted the fader towards the rear to even it out and it sounds fine. The harness retains most of the SWC functionality. At first none of them were working, then I finally figured out they only work with the ignition on, and they don't work in the accessory position

Pros: Retains most (not all) of the steering wheel controls, overall easy integration into Audi's complex wiring.

Cons: Vague instructions, some redundant wires/harnesses, no fix for the reduced rear speaker output

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring kit for 2003 Audi A6

Mik from New Jersey on 12/25/2015

2002 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring kit made switching to the new radio a snap. All of the original functionality and speaker system worked perfectly from day one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A jumbled mess of wires

BillH from Maryland on 9/8/2015

2003 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Included with this package was a variety of harnesses which were included to cover the gamut of possible configurations of the Audi A6 (2003). The directions included as well as the directions from Crutchfield were very limited, and only because I have some experience with car stereo installations was I able to dope it out. There were also many, any wires which had to be spliced, I had hoped for a total or near total plug and play experience. All totaled, it took me two full days to install the radio (Although the back up camera took a considerable amount of that time). Other wires were poorly marked, for example the wire to the antenna booster was marked power antenna - those are two very different things!

Pros: It did work, and I was able to retain steering wheel controls.

Cons: Very poor directions, very very difficult to shove all of those wires into the dash. Crutchfield Tech support was knowledgeable, but condescending, insisting I received complete step by step instructions, even though they were only a few pages of instructions, and included instructions I was not interested in (Changing speakers for example).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy!

Easy! from New York on 6/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness worked well. Support from Crutchfield and from Crux was wonderful!

Pros: Easy

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for 2004 Audi

jc from Oregon on 6/14/2015

2004 Audi A6 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes it easy to connect to the factory harness and retain steering wheel controls.

Pros: Easy connections

Cons: A little bulky. Does require some organization and space planning.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it should.

NDude from New York on 5/11/2015

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fine with my 2005 Audi. I can use some of my steering controls. After contacting Crux they said they're working on adding more functionality. I do wish it was a programmable unit (like one of my crutchfield assistants said it was) so you could choose what to do with your steering controls. I also noticed an led is on always even when the car is off, I have some concerns about it draining my battery if I don't turn on the car regularly.

Pros: Interfaces my radio and my car correctly.

Cons: Could have more functionality or flexibility.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

crux

vinny110 from albany,ny on 8/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good product

Pros: n/a

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just a brick now

Swamprink from Wheatland, WI on 7/9/2014

2003 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was required to purchase for half price just to get switched power to the factory amp. Lots of unneeded functionality - too big to fit behind radio - failed after less than a year.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works All Except Rear Audio

MDEEZE from Vancouver, WA on 1/10/2014

2007 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works for connecting steering wheel controls - also controls rear sub but I do not have any sound coming out of my rear speakers. From what I have read on forums I will have to either rewire from the H/U or hook up an additional speaker amp, which is what I'll most likely do. 2007 Audi A3 2.0T

Pros: Works

Cons: Rear Speakers Don't Have Audio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Interface

Atomic13MJB from Boston, MA on 8/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good harness for doing what you need to get done. Had to call tech support for some clarification as the lines are not labeled that clear. Good thing I know a thing or two about wiring as the two remote wires they had labeled backwards - one for the amp, one for the antenna. Connect these in reverse and you'll have radio but when you switch to another input device you lose the amp and get nothing for sound.

Pros:

Cons: Bad instructions for the connections. Had to figure out some of the wiring issues myself.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound