Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
499 615 23

Our hours

Connect ID #
499 615 23
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amp and steering wheel audio controls in select 1999-2012 Volvo models

MFR # SWRVL-54

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the factory amp and steering wheel audio controls in select 1999-2012 Volvo models

MFR # SWRVL-54

22 reviews
View this product

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 6/3/2020

2006 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great on my 2006 Volvo S60, easy to wire and retained the stock steering wheel controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Taylors, SC on 5/31/2020

2002 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This interface is awesome does everything it's suppose to do steering wheel controls work great everything works great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Calabash, NC on 12/8/2019

2005 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked fine. would have been tad easier to install if the wires were little longer. No big deal, just took some time getting all of the wires stuffed away so the radio could slide in to the back stops.

Pros: instructions were good. photos were good. radio sounds awesome.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made install easy and keep steering wheel control functionality

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from South Barre, MA on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface works great on my 2003 Volvo V70. BB was installing a Kenwood A/V head and tried two other interfaces that did not work to give me the steering wheel controls. I searched hard and found this Crux unit. Works great and gives full steering wheel controls. The BB installer said it was easy to install and has since used it on two other Volvos with great results! Highly recommend for Volvos Crux lists!!

Pros: Works great where others Didn't!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/20/2018

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2004 s60 Volvo with a kenwood aftermarket radio and now with the crux installed ( did the installation my self ) the steering wheel controls now work again. The wiring harness it came with to aftermarket radio was so easy to marry. Then just plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Wyoming, MN on 9/13/2018

2007 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son loves his new system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Dave B from Templeton,Ma on 2/9/2018

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another confirmation that this CRUX SWRVL-54 interface works with a 2004 Volvo Xc70 . with (CAN) data factory radio was an HU-613. installed a non listed Android radio with 3 wires for steering wheel control input. I worked with Paul in Customer Support, he spent a good mount of time looking into my specific questions on my install, very Satisfied customer. thanks again Paul! key 1 key 2 and ground. easy to install radio lights work with headlamp switch, but do not dim. radio will stay powered up until key is removed from ignition. a few attempts were needed to set dip switches for this particular radio.

Pros: Worked, even though not specifically listed

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worked Perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 2/27/2017

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer AVH-4200NEX install in 2004 Volvo XC70 with HU-613 and steering wheel controls maintained (even though it's not listed as a supported item for my vehicle)! I loved being able to prewire outside of the car in a comfortable environment first. Then just plug in and the wiring is done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easiest way to install a radio into a Volvo

Det from Seattle, WA on 1/23/2017

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It doesn't get any easier than this. I used the CRUX SWRVL-54 to install a SONY XAV-AX100 Android Auto/Apple Carplay head unit in my daughter's 2007 Volvo XC70. It's like a whole new car. Matched up the colors and everything just worked -- can't say that about other steering wheel control interfaces. I wish that such a simple option was available for my other vehicles. It was frustration free experience. Best of all -- you don't have to cut/tap/splice any of the wires in your car's harness to use this adapter.

Pros: No cut/tap/splice of your existing harness, steering wheel controls work magically

Cons: Spoils you as options this simple don't exist for other makes

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CT on 12/22/2016

2005 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fit exactly as promised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Peter from Bayfield, CO on 5/18/2016

2006 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, works just like it's supposed to.

Pros:

Cons: No mounting method, so unit just kind of floats around inside the dash. would be nice if it had mounting tabs or someway to keep it in place

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

CRUX SWRVL-54 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from ashland oh on 3/16/2016

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works, even though the site says it does not. Follow the manufacturers documentation and not Crutchfield. I do wish that I could remap the buttons to different functions, but there's a limited market for Volvo SWC adapter boxes, and this one is far more reasonably priced than the alternative. I'm happy, my wife is happy, everyone wins.

Pros: excellent wiring harness included. retained power until key removal.

Cons: backup trigger wire did not work 100%, wired backup trigger to reverse light where I tapped into it for camera power. minor issue.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works with 2002 V70 and Kenwood KDC-BT362U

Tony C from Gilbert, SC on 3/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Critchfield tried not to sell Thad to me. They kept saying that it wouldn't work on my 2002 Volvo V70. But I read the instructions and they said it should work for P26 type, 2nd Gen vehicle. So after talking with customer support to try to confirm this, it finally boiled down to try it, you have 60 days to return it if you aren't satisfied... So it's installed, and the steering wheel controls work controlling my new Kenwood BT362U. I'd give it 5 stars except for the poor documentation on what vehicles it actually works with.

Pros: The only adapter that could be found that works with the 2002 V70.

Cons: Poor information on what vehicles it works with.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another successful install on 2004 XC70

David from Maine on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm writing to reiterate that this works for another 2004 Volvo XC70. The outgoing unit was an HU-613. Incoming was KDC-X500. Everything works including steering wheel controls. I've confirmed through Crux, and it's worked for others as evidenced by reviews. Installation was straightforward. Highly recommended.

Pros: Maintains Volvo steering controls. Works as advertised.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux adapter kit.

Cody T from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma city on 11/16/2015

2005 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy component for installiation. Straight forward on the wiring diagram. Good product manufacting also. Would use again.

Pros: If you're installing a stereo on your newer model Volvo this is the kit for you. Very easy to use.

Cons: No cons here

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Abhishek from North Carolina on 8/9/2015

2006 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect. But requires patience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Part

Jacob P from Oregon on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was skeptical to try this part out as Crutchfield's vehicle fitguide said that this wouldn't fit my '04 XC70 but it fit perfectly and this was the only part I've found out of a few that would interface with the steering wheel controls! Hooray! I had tried two other CAN adaptors and none would read or work with the car. This part also had a lot nicer wiring harness than what I had put in it previously, so that was a plus as well and it more than cleaned up a lot of my wiring mess.

Pros: Pretty much plug and play and provides SWC and a few other awesome functions for fancier stereos.

Cons: Couldn't drive and pick this up the same day I ordered it! :P Crutchfield's Vehicle Fitguide lies and says that this isn't compatible with a lot of Volvos but you should trust the item description more since that's what I did and it worked like a charm just as the description had said.

Crutchfield response on 2/23/2015
Thanks for the info. We'll confirm with Crux that the SWRVL-54 is supposed to work with the XC70 and then correct our database. Glad to hear it worked out for you!

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worked!

Rick from Wisconsin on 1/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for a pioneer system for the wifes Vlovo

Pros: Workes great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Volvo Xc70 solution

Rich in FL from West Palm Beach, Fl on 5/30/2014

2005 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great solution -works like a champ!

Pros: All original SWC features work flawlessly! Was easy to do all the connections with the aftermarket Stereo's wiring harness in the house on the table before going out and installing it all in the car.. everything was clearly marked - didn't use the auto antenna wire or the illumination wire as not an option with this vehicle.

Cons: I could find no real cons...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2005 XC70

Tom B from St. Louis, MO on 5/27/2014

2005 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solved a long time problem for my 2005 XC70- was able to restore original steering wheel volume and scan control to aftermarket HU

Pros: Easy to install- Immediately recognized vehicle and HU

Cons: Only basic controls are supported but this is all that was originally offered in the car

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good solution for Volvo owners

SteveM from Tucson, AZ on 1/10/2014

2004 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this adapter for my 2004 Volvo S80 to be used with a Pioneer AVH-X8500BHS receiver. It does a great job of enabling the factory steering wheel controls. In my vehicle I only have track advance and volume controls. It appears to be the only product currently on the market that will interpret Volvo's CANBUS signals for this purpose. The signals provided by the converter include speed sensor and illumination, which are not listed in the manual. I was unable to check the functionality of the speed sensor because the Pioneer head unit does not use it. The illumination wire is supposed to be tied to the vehicle's day/night auto-dim sensor but it always output 12 volts regardless of ambient lighting conditions. It is convenient that this assembly is a plug in solution to the factory harness and picks up the needed power, ground, and signal wires. I removed the gray connector as I was using preamp RCA lines on the head unit. I also removed unneeded wires from the radio connector to minimize the wire bundle thickness. The unit is small enough so I could tuck it out of the way. Upon powering up the head unit I was glad to see the steering wheel controls working as expected. The only shortcomings I could find were that the lack of information in the manual about the actual wires that need to be hooked up, and how they are implemented. I also had difficulty with the small 3.5mm plug harness being too short compared to the rest of the wiring during installation.

Pros: Nearly a plug and play solution to an otherwise impossible SWC challenge with VOLVO's unusual CANBUS wiring.

Cons: Documentation is doable but lacking in detail, and does not depict all wires in the harness. Functionality of illumination wire appears to be dependent on model and year of vehicle - this is not described in product documentation.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP