Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
553 766 04
Connect ID #
553 766 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panamax M5300-PM

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # M5300-PM

Panamax M5300-PM

Panamax M5300-PM

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # M5300-PM

46 reviews
View this product

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, IN on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the past, I always used surge protectors for all my electronics. What I found out is that they really don't protect your investment. My electrical supply to my house is very dirty in that it drops out frequently, so I researched other products to protect my investments. I found Panamax to provide the safety comfort I was looking for and also filter out transients. Panamax monitors incoming power and it trips on both over and under voltage. I started with my audio system and it improved the sound quality. I have been very pleased with the performance and decided to run all my electronics through it, TV, DVD, CD, Apple TV, sub, and amp with no issues. I am planning to buy a second unit to protect other expensive sound gear that I own.

Pros: Panamax displays incoming voltage and amps consumed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice hardware at a good price point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax 5300 pm

Crutchfield customer from Westhampton, MA on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a real good picture on my lg oled 77" tv before I installed panamax 5300pm. After installing it the picture was crystal clear. Would recommend this product highly to anyone. Seeing the incomming voltage is a real nice feature, and also the amp gauge to see what all connected units are drawing. Go with crutchfield, you can't go wrong.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5300

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, WA on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a Panamax fan for several years. I have a 4300 that has performed flawlessly for years and I expect the 5300 to do the same. Easy to set up and having the ability to dim the front panel is a very nice feature. This unit has stopped the speaker thump when powering off so it is doing what it advertises.

Pros: Dimming feature, system power stability, cost.

Cons: Non as of this writing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound degradation

Dave from Santa Rosa Valley, CA on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This power conditioner degraded the sound of my stereo system. System details are part of my review of the Revel F228Be floor standing loudspeakers. After moving the power plug for my ParaSound Halo A21+ amplifier from one of the M5300-PM's high current outlets to the wall outlet, the sound was much more dynamic and open. My speculation is that the power conditioner wasn't able to provide the required power to this amplifier fast enough. This may not be an issue for a low to medium powered amplifier. I returned this power conditioner.

Pros: Manufacturer surge protection warranty

Cons: Sound degradation Circular blue lights make it difficult to read voltage and amp values

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Panamax 5300 thoughts

BRANDON from Kent, WA on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like TONY THE TIGER SAID ITS GRRRREAT!!!!!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

One of the best Add on Audio Investments

Jon from Wayzata, MN on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It really made a noticeable difference in the sound quality of my audio sources. Very Impressed. Replaced an old monster power surge protector. (Now using that for lights and meters in the entrainment center) All my Audio and Video components now plug into the back of the Panamax. Get quality protection and improved sound/ video. This is a really good investment if you are serious about the quality of your sound and video in your system. Plenty of rear outlets, another reason I chose this one. I would highly recommend

Pros: A heavy piece of equipment, well made. Lots of rear plug-in outlets. (10 rear, 1 Front)

Cons: Lights are a little too bright when watching a movie, but you can dim them way down or turn off. So really NO cons.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Guest from San Marcos, CA on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We use to live in a mobile home park and the electric supply there was old and sometimes unreliable. Power to different areas would shut off and on at different times. Not good for anything electronics. So we bought this for peace of mind and it's well worth it. Thankfully we bought a real house and moved out of that area but this has been a lifesaver for my pride and joy, very expensive Home theater system.

Pros: The front lights can be dimmed and it's very simple to set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

How could I have waited so long to add this component to my home system? I've long heard/read about the benefits of power conditioning, but frankly I didn't believe the hype. After recently upgrading from a Marantz home theater receiver to a separate Marantz home theater pre-amp and Marantz 7 channel amplifier I decided it was time to modernize my surge protection. I liked the reviews of the Panamax product, as well as the replacement coverage...so I purchased the unit. Most of what I read said that while there would be benefits to audio from the conditioning, all reviews suggested the return on investment would really be evident in the improvements to video quality. With a SONY 85 4K UHD tv, I was skeptical that it could get any better. But...it did. Quite a bit in fact. To say I was (pleasantly) shocked would be an understatement, but I soon got over the surprise and have been enjoying the improvements every time I fire up the system. Can't say enough good about it...there should be a law requiring this component for all home theaters!!

Pros: Easy to set up and was pleased to learn that the "switched" outlets could be easily converted to unswitched...which based on my particular selection of equipment and setup was beneficial. Really like the blue indicator lights, and I'm curious if Panamax and Marantz are owned by the same parent company based on the similar blue circle LED's styling cues.

Cons: No cons at all.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Panamax M5300

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

working on a Home Theater with high equipment and the Panamax M5300-PM fits perfect

Pros: Keeps my high-end equipment safe

Cons: There is no Cons

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from White Lake, NY on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little pricey did notice some improvement in picture quality the real test will be during the next lighting storm

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Stephen from Bremerton, WA on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Gives me peace of mind knowing my equipment is protected. I like that the front display lights can be dimmed. Overall very happy with my purchase

Pros: Lights dim

Cons: Rather large

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, IL on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Consistent power support for all my equipment. Also, a nice, clean look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Zachary from San Antonio, TX on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance at a reasonable price. Reasonable enough to protect an expensive setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Jeff from Rockledge, FL on 3/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, works fine so far. We'll see what happens when lightning season arrives.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Joseph A. from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good -- fits in my cabinet -- a good deal neater than my previous set-up -- steady power during a couple of recent neighborhood electrical hiccups.

Pros: Works well.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from Wynnewood, PA on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

had to call about what lines should be plugged in and where; all sounds great as done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from Weeki Wachee, FL on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build and great piece of mind. Can't say it helped picture quality any but I purchased it more for the protection features. I Especially like the accuracy of the amperage display and how it increases and decreases with a bright or dim image on my plasma TV. Overall very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works well

Norris from Roanoke, VA on 10/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cleaned up my video signal to my 4k TV. Also keeps the voltage perfect on my anthem MRX 720. I can see and hear the difference from my old surge protector. Build quality is excellent. Real time display to let you know how much amperage and voltage connected equipment is using. Dimmers are a nice touch. Includes rack mount.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great product and a perfect solution

Curt from Moorhead, MN on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My system (Sony STR-ZA2100ES receiver, Bower & Wilkes speakers in a 7.2 setup with duel Velodyne subwoofers) had slight noise when we moved into the new house. We replaced our old PureAV power condition with this Panamax and everything is fixed. Surround sounds great now :)

Pros: Great price for a quality product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Thomas from Brentwood, TN on 8/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this entirely for aesthetics. I have my surge protector in clear view in my console, and this thing doesn't look like a horrific rats nest when viewed from the couch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

I feel safer now

James from Anderson, SC on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product and seems to be working well. Wish it was a little clearer as to what should be plugged into what but I got it figured out. I feel like my mega bucks are much safer and protected now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

very nice

maria from Canyon Country, CA on 12/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this,looks nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

Manuel from Washington, UT on 8/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one well made product. I purchase it to clean up the power for home theater set up but especially to get rid of hum from my moving coil cartridge turn table & this unit did cure it ! Wonder if Panamax ever thought of having remote control to turn unit on/off could be a plus.

Pros: Excellent quality & delivered

Cons: zip !

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Crutchfield customer from Kentucky on 1/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the panamax works great.glad i ordered it

Pros: you can turn off

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Panamax Protection

Eddie from Honokaa, HI on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The M5300-PM replaced a MAX 5500 Regenerator I had purchased many years ago. The 5500 had begun "humming" loudly and per Panamax - it was too old to repair. So far I'm please with M5300-PM. Easy to set-up and operate. I like the Power Button feature that allows you to "turn-off" Banks 3, 4 and 5 outlets in order to save power. The LED Dimmer control button is an excellent feature for controlling light level in my living room. I use the "High Current" outlets for my Receiver and AMP and would have preferred the "VCR/AUX" outlet be another "High Current" switched delay outlet for use with my sub-woofer. But really - not an issue. I hope to receive as many years of reliable Home Theater audio/video equipment protection as I did with the MAX 5500.

Pros: Excellent Panamax protection, performance and reliability.

Cons: I would have like another "High Current" outlet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Does what it needs to and runs cool!

Kirby from Indiana on 9/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaces an older Monster unit that tended to run warm. I am trying to lower the heat of my rack so this was a good choice. I also like that this protects agains brown outs where the Monster did not. The USB on the front comes in handy for running a cooling fan as well.

Pros: nicely built and runs cool

Cons: cannot dim the front panel lights which can be overly bright

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Panamax M5300

Donm from Missouri on 9/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I had bought a refurbished unit on Amazon, and it worked flawlessy for several years. The old one shorted out somehow, and I decided it was worth it, because of the old ones performance. And as of yet I have not been dissapointed.

Pros: Excellent protection for an Audio or TV system

Cons: A bit pricey, but well worth it in the long run.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax 5300-PM

Panamax Review from New Jersey on 7/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be working as my entertainment center has survived several electrical storms. It appears to dealing with voltage changes but without test gear or more instruments it is hard to say.

Pros: Easy to install and use out of the box. The various displays keep you informed about the electrical current situations.

Cons: The unit almost did not fit in the entertainment center cabinet from side to side. I had the benefit of installing it on a pull out shelf. This makes moving it out for electrical plug changes much easier.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Looks good

Bioll from West Virginia on 6/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of outlets and it looks good. It is hard to tell if it works as advertised, but with my luck it won't be long; lost everything to lightning for the second time in 3 years.

Pros: Looks, number of outlets

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

typongtive from Oregon on 5/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I have noticed a difference on my two PCs that I have on and with the constant power, things stay running smoothly.

Pros: Runs perfect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax M5300

Lann from Wyoming, PA on 10/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly as advertised. Protects equipment. Cleans current and also offers a ground connection for your other components.

Pros: Easy hook-up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Ryan from Panama on 7/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I conduct acoustic research and found that my amplifiers would "drift" generating higher or lower amplitudes during the night.a huge problem for my experiments. I suspect this is due to poor grounding and lots of voltage fluctuations in the electrical system. After plugging my amps into this unit, they have remained absolutely steady! I'm very impressed with this unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

panamax m5300-pm

MC from ga on 7/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

my sound and pic is much cleaner

Pros: it had every thing in needed and no problem to hook up. very pleased

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PM5300

tpop from NE PA on 6/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great features for the price

Pros: room for all componnents; front plug -ins; amp and volt gauges; high level of protection

Cons: if I have to come up with one - large size

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

TERENCE from FLORENCE,SC on 1/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the very best surge protector/line conditioners i've ever used.

Pros: controls voltage swings

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent product

Crutchfield customer from Portland Oregon on 9/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I have an APC power conditioner and it is really good and I would recommend it. But the Panamax is a cut above. We had a tree fall and take out three power lines on Saturday and no issues with a surge with either the Panamax or APC. I subjectively feel that the Panamax does give a better pix then the APC. also I have all the plugs I would ever need. One knock is it seems like the Comcast cable box will not play well with the Panamax coax connection but I figure that Comcast owns that box so I don't care. My APC did not have coax connection.

Pros: Plenty of connections. Eithernet front and back. Cool look. Easy set up. Bottom line if you have high end gear you need this protection and improves picture.

Cons: Does not play well with Comcast box. Also not a con but be sure to measure the width, it did fit in my place but it was tight.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Just what the doctor ordered

Big Daddy from toledo on 1/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking unit. Replaces an older monster one. Compared quite a few, decided on the 5300. Not sure of the audio improvement yet, but can see a noticable improvement in video. Waiting on a pair of def tech 8060 s , will be able to try the high current outlets then. Really like the ability to dim the front display. By the way the blue lights match all of my componets, cool. Very well made and feels like it. Would highly recommend.

Pros: Love the 11 outlets! Nice to protect ethernet connections. Seperate power banks.

Cons: NOTHING

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product

James R. from Orlando, FL on 9/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a good deal of research, I landed on Panamax ... many reviewers stated that it was a solid product, comparing it to more expensive products and having the same features. I looked at both user, and professional reviewers, and when I learned that Panamax was a sister to Furman, it sold me. I've been using Furman equipment as a live performer for years, and their products have always been rock solid ... so this was a great selling point. The only thing left was to choose which of their lineup was appropriate for my application. The 5300 was a great choice for my AV system at home, and after using it for a couple weeks, I have noticed a marked difference in my video, as well as the way my system units operate.

Pros: Flexible, solidly built and straightforward in its use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5300-PM

Scipio.V. from Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico on 2/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have constant lighting problems in rural area for many years. The Panamax worked like a charm, cutting off the power when the latest brown outs which would've easily damaged my electronics. I had 2 of them working at the same time when this happened and am satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love it, but have a wish...

Lesio from San Jose, CA on 9/15/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is great product, the switched outlets switch great on 12V DC control, the round blue dispay windows complement my Marantz receiver almost perfectly... one wish: the brightness of the display to be auto-sensitive to the ambient light, I am not kidding, for that much money today, I think that is a small feature to ask for... Note: DC controls specifically say 3.5 mm mono cable, stereo cable does NOT work here.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Nice piece of equipment

Tom from Rochester NY on 7/5/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I moved a component rack to the corner in the living room. That, of course, necessitated a second power conditioner/surge protector for the components (Denon 3311, Sony BR, CD Jukebox, Cable Box, Ethernet Switch, and Zone 2 amp). Wanted a component-style unit so didn't have to mess with squeezing a strip-type behind components on a shelf or on the floor behind the rack. The direction of the outlets was also an issue, because I have a block plug (Ethernet switch), and that ruled out a few which have sideways outlets. After some indecision, finally settled on the 5300, so I'd be set if I do ever bring everything back together on one stand/rack. And the block plug is no issue. It is well-built, obviously quality construction, and I have no doubts that from the protection perspective, I'm good to go. Which leaves the age-old "does it really improve performance?" question. Because of my setup, I can't really determine if video is improved, since the TV is on a separate conditioner. Picture does seem a bit clearer, though that may be my imagination (we all see/hear what we want to when we buy new toys). But for audio, yeah there is a definite improvement. Clarity is better overall, both for CD stereo and surround sound -- and most noticeable is the bass on DefTech 7004s, much cleaner and defined. I would definitely recommend this unit, well worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Superb Power Conditioner

Tom K. from Mission Viejo, CA on 3/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already had a good surge protector, but with a lot of expensive equipment plugged into it, I decided to go for a component power conditioner that would work under any circumstance. I had 2 Panamax units in mind, the M5100 and the M5300. While I'm sure the 5100 would have worked just fine, there were a few more features with the 5300 that made the unit stand out that much more. You can select which units you want on all the time and units that can go off or on with the main power switch of the power conditioner. I honestly thought the idea of "clean power" was a sales gimmick, but I have noticed a cleaner look on some of the non-hd channels on cable. Having all my home theater components plugged into the Panamax M5300 provides peace of mind knowing everything is protected. It's a superb power conditioner which I highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

excellent unit

glenn from michigan on 1/14/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is very well made. There are more features than I need( plugs). As soon as I connected my DTV and sony XBR to the unit the picture improved. So there you have it......the power condition works. The only thing I wold have done differently is to turn off all of the front panel lights when the unit is shut down. Good job Panamax.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Well made and does it's job... for the most part

cimpala from Boston, MA on 11/21/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for about 2 weeks now. Looking at the functionality, it has two main features. They are power conditioning and surge protection. I can't tell if there is any "power conditioning" going on, as everything looks and sounds the same as my older Monster Power Center. Nothing is worse though. I'm sure it's protecting my equipment and if it's not there is a great warranty and protection plan. What I can say is that it is very well made, sturdy, and good looking. However, the lights on the front are bright. You can turn them down but not off. I find that if they are all the way up you can read it, but it is distracting. If you turn them down it makes it hard to read. I am not sure what it is (maybe the lit rings) but the numbers are difficult to read at any light level. I am comparing this to looking at the displays of the rest of my equipment. I can read those fine. Another point to note is the USB charging port. It will charge my mp3 player, but not my phone. My phone will charge if I plug it into my computer though. I bought this unit for a few reasons: I like how it displays both volts and amps, it is rack mountable, and it has plenty of outlets (the one on the front is great). It works. If you can get a good deal, it's worth a look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 20 found this helpful

Feel safer already

Randy from Los Angeles, CA on 9/27/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You never know what can happen in earthquake country...so this Panamax offers us some peace of mind. In a state where you never know what the electricity will do either, it's nice to know our AV equipment is well protected by this stellar surge protector. Doesn't hurt that it's cool looking too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 13 found this helpful

TOP