Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
248 711 13

Our hours

Connect ID #
248 711 13
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panamax M5400-PM

Power line conditioner, surge protector, and voltage regulator

MFR # M5400-PM

Panamax M5400-PM

Panamax M5400-PM

Power line conditioner, surge protector, and voltage regulator

MFR # M5400-PM

23 reviews
View this product

Fantastic device

Crutchfield customer from Urbandale, IA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device is fabulous and has breathed new life into my home theater system. It has eliminated an annoying hum from my subwoofers and has radically improved the picture quality on my Samsung tv. The added advantage of voltage protection is just gravy on top. Highly recommended!

Pros: Handsome design. Easy setup with labeled outlets in the back. Dimmable display. Performs as described.

Cons: The blue display with its noted short wavelength makes it difficult for us myopic people to read. Otherwise no complaints.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solidly built but noisy

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first thing I noticed when unpacking this unit is that it is solidly built. Good so far. As unpacking continued I started to realize this unit has many years now designed as Panamax claims in the box and documentation support for "1080p/I" and 10/100 BaseT!- eh? In an era of 4K/HDR and Gigabit ethernet- this does not looked ok me. But since I just needed good power protection and regulation went ahead with the unpacking. When I plugged it in the first thig I noticed was an very noticeable "hummm"- does the unit has a fan? It is sealed so no. I could still hear it across the room. The hum level is loud enough to be heard across my 15x12 room; and on silent moments during movies. As my HT equipment nicely managed to bring speakers to a halt to bring absolute silent- all I could hear was then humming noise of this unit. With all home theater components powered down the noise continued; even noticeable and a problem when reading a book. A quick search at Panamax reveladed the noise- although not in the product description is generated by the voltage regulator function. Interesting. Then I compared the unit performance to that announced in the video- that the product would feed that fixed- constant voltage (that drove my decision making)- not really- not what the unit did. In only intervened if the voltage is too high. Thus disappointed by the noise and a not-exact claim. Returned the unit but continued to buy from panamax the Model with surge only.

Pros: Solidly Built

Cons: Constant Humming Noise Outdated documentation and potentially ethernet specs (10/100 base T) support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thrilled so far

grokit from Anchorage, AK on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made a noticeable improvement in a high end audio-only system with multiple components: electrostatic head amp, class a head/preamp, plus multiple source devices: DAC, CD transport, streamer, turntable, phono preamp. I had a couple of PS Audio UPC-200 boxes in two racks and this replaced both of them. I'm really happy with the improvements this has made in my system, from the audible to the ergonomic. I was really surprised with the audible improvement, considering I had some good filtration already. I believed it has lowered the overall noise floor, and improved both dynamics and detail retrieval of my system. I am also loving having a central control center with well-protected switched and unswitched outlets all together. Definitely a good purchase!

Pros: Many well-thought out extra features

Cons: I'm glad I got it on sale kinda pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax 5400 is the Answer

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panamax 5400 was easy to install and far superior to my previous unit which was not a Panamax. It can easily handle large systems with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far, I couldn't be happier

Stanley from ST THOMAS, VI on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't found a thing to complain about yet. I live in an area where power generation is an issue and have had issues with sensitive electronics (tv, computers, etc.) and wanted something to condition the power and to protect the items I own and this seems to fit the bill. I didn't realize when I ordered it, it would also allow protection of a satellite signal and broadband internet also, so that definitely is a plus. I have two large front speakers and a large center channel speaker (all powered with separate subwoofers; thanks Def Tech), a 65" Samsung 2019 TV (had to replace my TV after Dorian)... would have gotten from Crutchfield but no freight shipping to USVI unless I go through a third party shipper), a Denon AVR, a DISH DVR, and a ROKU box all plugged into this, along with my broadband connection to a broadband switch, and my cable connection from my Dish all hooked into this one unit and have had no issues with anything. I dim the blue panel readouts with the full trust that everything is protected (even with the range of power I have here in the VI (so far, I have seen 127 V in), everything stays around 120V out. Power has gone off at least five times since I bought this around two weeks ago and no issues at all with any of my equipment. Now what I need to do is to figure out exactly how to get a UPS into line with this... based on my experience with this I am very tempted to buy the Panamax UPS but I have to check and see if Crutchfield will shi

Pros: multiple connections switched and unswitched connections High current device protection CAT5 and cable protection Good warranty protection for connected items Cost compared to other power conditioners/voltage regulators seems good Relatively unobtrusive.... about the size of my Dish DVR

Cons: The Blue Lights are just a bit too darn bright, especially with the lights off watching a movie or trying to sleep... I just dim them with the button

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Crutchfield customer from Hyattsville, MD on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good and clean running equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Henry from Edmonds on 3/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love them. Lots of comfort knowing that they protect all our electronic units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product, very easy to purchase at crutchfield, price was competitive and free shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Nice features, did improve sound

Ed from Stafford, VA on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We'll only know how well it protects things when it gets hit hard... but I can hear a slight difference (positive) since swapping from a hardware store surge protector to this. I really like how they marked up the back with recommendations where to plug different components, because the first reaction looking at that many outlets, some switched, some not, is confusion. It shipped with the lighting on full, which is bright enough to read by (ok, kidding, but only a little.) Once I dialed it down, much happier. Being able to see the amp draw was very useful. I'd been thinking about electrical work to go to a 20 amp line, but since I'm seeing total amp draws in the low single digits, not any more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Jimmy from Mesa, AZ on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panamax 5400-PM is a great buy. If you want to protect your high end /expensive audio/video equipment then I highly recommend it. Sound and picture is also improved because of the power conditioning.

Pros: Just like Jim from Indiana said: Monitors incoming and outgoing voltage. Protects your equipment. Picture looks sharper and the sound is cleaner.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Building my first home theater and can't wait to add this to everything so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great home theatre protection

JIM from Indian trail nc on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to get the panamax m5400pm after talking to the great tech support people at Crutchfield. They answered all my questions. The unit has worked great so far. The power in and power out monitors have worked as they are suppose to.

Pros: Monitors incoming and outgoing voltage. Protects your equipment. Picture looks sharper and the sound is cleaner.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

D. Baker from Northern CA on 2/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit with the intent to use it on a "hi-end" A/V system - so I can not attest to it's ability to clean up audio or video on modern equipment. At present, just a CRT TV is plugged into it along with a cable box and DVD player. The picture quality on the CRT did not change, but what did improve was the sharpness of the menus and subtitles. Minor gripe is that the unit makes a humming noise due to the voltage regulation transformer. In discussing with Panamax tech. support and an independent electrical engineer - this is apparently normal. The M5300-PM does not have the regulation transformer so does not buzz - had I known that ahead of time, I might have gone with that model instead. Even so, Crutchfield sent me out an advance replacement unit to test against the one that I had just to make sure that mine was not faulty. It was not - the replacement also made the buzz. However - the buzz can't be heard if the TV is on, even at low volumes. It can only be heard if the room is essentially silent. My unit is also not in a cabinet, so I suspect if it was that the buzz would be quite hard to hear. So I'm not listing this as a CON - just something to be aware of for other prospective buyers. Very convenient power distribution and overall protection IF everything is connected properly. Overall, I'm happy with it. Although the M5400 is pricey, I don't think you can go wrong, especially with Crutchfield standing behind it.

Pros: Solid Construction, Professional Looking, Flexible Use, Long Power Cord, Rack Mountable

Cons: Made In China for this MSRP?

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Dominick Trozzo from Pennsylvania on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far excellent. Also, the Cruthfield advisor was very helpful and guided me through the complete ordering process.

Pros: well made, lots of outlets, everything you'll need to protect your costly audio and video equipment.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

Audio Nuts from Texas on 12/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an outstanding power box, providing you with a peace of mind knowing that your expensive A/V equipments are constantly guarded from unexpected electrical fluctuations. The sound seems to be very clean as well. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: Multiple protection layers for connected equipments, clean sound and picture, and overall owner's peace of mind.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax M5400-PM

mpowers1 from Apple Valley, MN on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This box must have lowered the noise floor in my system, I'm hearing more detail and separation, the sub-woofer is sounding more integrated as well, the TV picture looks sharper. However, the voltage regulation is not worth the extra money (might as well go with the 5300). Here's a quote from Panamax tech support "The unit is not designed to keep the voltage at precisely 120v. The unit regulates the voltage +/- 7v from 120v." So unless your voltage swings +/- 7 ACV buy the 5300. Now, that said; turning off my kitchen florescent light is not tripping off my receiver, since I installed the 5400 (and it looks pretty cool, too), so I'll keep the 5400.

Pros: System protection, noticeably better sound and picture, eleven isolated outlets (2 of which are high current (and they don't starve the amps of current)), good looks.

Cons: High Price, voltage regulation may not be worth it.

Crutchfield response on

27 of 28 found this helpful

Panamax M5400

M Weaver from New Holland PA on 2/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panamax M5400 is well made as is my other Panamax equipment My old 1000 still works fine after 20 years or so , I will continue using the Panamax name for my power protetion needs in the futre

Pros: well made , heavy "for what it is" very confident it will suit anyones power managment needs

Cons: Im not crazy about the round blue lit meters , i would like to see a spectrum type looking litted meters

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

I will stay with Panamax

Jeff A. from Asheboro, NC on 11/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a replacement/upgrade Panamax protector. My old Panamax 1000 lasted 13 years and I figured it's time to replace to a more up to date unit than to have the old one repaired. I don't really know how many surges and voltage spikes the old Panamax saved my equipment,but I do get peace of mind knowing that I am trying to help my tv,dvd,cd player and amp equipment last as long as possible. I did choose the Panamax M5400-PM because of the voltage regulation circuity and for the longivity of the old Panamax. I will stick with the same brand that has worked for so long in the past!

Pros: I like the the voltage regulation circuit included with this product.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Excellent Product, A little pricey

Colin from Chevy Chase, MD on 7/12/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The area I live in has dirty power, with lots of brown outs and even black outs in seemingly perfect weather. I decided to use the Panamax line based on multiple reviews from various sources. I have only had the unit a short time, but I am very pleased with the performance to date. Pros: cleaner power; my HD cable does not really look any better, but my audio has certainly improved- my receiver puts out more volume at a lower setting, while seemingly running cooler. The isolation means that my subwoofer no longer picks up the RF from my cell phone (huge benefit). Cons: while it does have 11 outlets, you cannot always use all of them if any of your components use a block plug. Even the smallest block will cover 2 outlets, which is annoying. I remedied this by using my old Monster Power strip for the blocked devices (Harmony remote, Harmony PS3 IR box, wireless headphones etc). Price- this unit is expensive. I am not sure I needed to spend the extra $$ for the 5400 unit, vs the lower models, but I decided if I was going to spend the money I wanted the piece of mind of voltage regulation, which the other units do not offer. Over all I would recommend this unit to anyone who wants to protect (and possibly improve) their multi-thousand dollar AV components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 30 found this helpful

Great Product

Donald from Irving, TX on 2/13/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product. The power coming into my home is very dirty and depending on the weather conditions I would have voltage sags as low as 110. The 5400 has stabilized output voltage perfectly. I also noticed a sharp increase in picture and audio quality. Everything is much cleaner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 24 found this helpful

Quality Control

Frank from Iberia,Mo. on 9/8/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is good looking, BUT the Quality Control Poor for the price. It displays 126 volts in an out when it is 116 to 119 in Volts. Panamax will calibrate it but I have to pay for the shipping to panamax, For the price I think you could do better for the Money. I do not Recommend it I would not do it over. It's over priced!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

41 of 48 found this helpful

Questionable

Michael from Atlanta on 3/22/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start out by saying that the unit is well built, very robust, and looks cool! That being said. there are some issues that need to be addressed. It looks to me (after reading their training slides from their website) that M5400-PM has an auto-transformer with three tappings providing output in the range of 100 V to 130 V in steps of 6V. Their PRO equivalent model has steps of 2.5V (and uses a triac), that is, more precise control on output. What happens is when the input V (household) approaches the 124-125 range the Panamax will enter it's "buck stage" and limit Output V by 6-10V. If your Houshold Voltage is nominally 122-125 Volts (like mine)....this unit will introduce "voltage fluctuations" of up to 10 volts as it goes in and out of limiting. Moreover, my unit was reading the input voltage 2-5 volts high (compared against 3 different V meters) which was further exacerbating the problem. I purchased a second unit that was more accurat in reading the "input Voltage" and as a consequence did not enter limiting to the same extent. I would think at this price point the panamax would be more accurate than it's advertised +/- 6V....and have smaller increments in limiting it's output V.......something to consider.....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

364 of 398 found this helpful

TOP