Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
548 787 03

Our hours

Connect ID #
548 787 03
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # M8AVPRO

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # M8AVPRO

42 reviews
View this product

Safety first

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Living in the South with frequent hurricanes, we now feel our equipment is safe!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had another brand I had purchased from Crutchfield that lasted over 12 years. It was a good one however this brand I like better. It handles everything in my TV/Stereo center.

Pros: very easy to setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, PR on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality is excellent. The outlets really grip tightly. The high current bank of outlets appear to not limit current to my amplifier and subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax m8avpro

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an identical unit that failed after about 6 years. I purchased this again because of the 12v trigger.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Saginaw, MI on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase one of these for one of my two audio systems, and decided to order another for my other audio system. Bought to control audio amplifiers power on/off by means of the 120v trigger output of the av receiver. This is an excellent unit for the price, with four of the eight outlets controlled by the 12v trigger. Sound and picture are clear, and no evidence of line noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Built Like a TANK!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built like a tank

Pros: Excellent build quality

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to this unit from an old monster cable surge protector. MUCH cleaner sound and no more buzzing. Provides great peace of mind when connecting sensitive equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Edward from Katy, TX on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received on time plugged everything in, seems to be working fine !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Avella, PA on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for the Big screen , theater system and all the additions, with room to spare.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Peace of mind

Crutchfield customer from Reisterstown, MD on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Packed with features including the Panamax reputation!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Tarpon Springs, FL on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Talked to tech support, they guided me to what I needed. Great support and knowledge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Sunny Isl Bch, FL on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bulky

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Protect your investment!

Ryan from Williamsport, IN on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty straightforward. It does what it's supposed to do. I run my new tv, avr, 4k player, and subwoofer from this unit. I have zero issues with noise, and it performs flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Robert from Florence, MA on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can you say about this without instruments that test waveforms and protection? The price isn't so bad for what it promises.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Safety First!

Russ from Saint Michaels, MD on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We started out looking for a surge protector that was in an outlet format, but found out installation was going to be challenging and offered no component replacement. For the price, this surge protector offers ample outlets, and good level of protection. Staff were helpful in making our decision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Moultonborough, NH on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality unit, but forget about the warranty. Read the terms and you will find it is very restrictive. I have an overhead projector that is plugged into an outlet on the ceiling, however it is connected via HDMI to my receiver, and my receiver is plugged into the Panamax. If I understand the warranty correctly, Panamax won't cover any damage because it isn't a 'closed system' and they will claim that any damage received was from a component plugged in outside of the system. How many of you have some internet/cable/hifi device that connects outside of the Panamax?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Mayur from Iselin, NJ on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality is very good. All the components outlets are built well to fit the power cables. The TEL/CO line ports did not work in the unit I received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Daleville, MS on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

surge protector

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

improved audio on lg sound bar that built in tv

Pros: it even has ground ok led and dc trigger led .

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

James from Cocoa, FL on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a Panamax M8-AV-PRO for a couple of years now and it works great. This is my second one. Here in Florida there are a lot of thunder storms and brown outs. It has saved my TV and surround sound system many times. I highly recommend the Panamax M8-AV-PRO.

Pros: Dependable protection

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Apache Junction, AZ on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good

Pros: lots of plugs

Cons: no usb

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great price on something that may save all of your expensive stuff

Louis from Riverside, CA on 9/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This power supply seems pretty great so far. My A/V rack is all plugged in to this thing, and I already wish I had more outlets. I like that the 2 strips of 4 outlets are isolated from each other, one being designed for high current equipment. I have a Denon AVR, and 2 powered subs taking up 3 of those outlets. While a Samsung QLED, it's OneConnect box, a network switch, and the wireless adapter for the wireless powered sub take up the 4 low current outlets. It also has the 3.5 mm remote start port that will turn on the 4 high current outlets when a 12V signal passes to it, but I don't have anything with a remote out port so I haven't been able to take advantage of that. The only thing I dislike about this thing so far, and the reason for only giving the item 4 stars, is the sound it makes. I don't know if it is just my unit, but I assume it has to do with the power conditioning or RF and EMI filtering, but this thing makes a slight noise that is hard to describe. It is cyclical, and something like a cross between the whine you can hear in car speakers when they are getting alternator noise in the lines, and a cats purr. It is definitely a good buy that I would recommend or buy again even with the sound. I have been on the fence about getting a rack power conditioner with more outlets, but I don't want to drop 4-500 on power instead of spending that money on fun stuff like more speakers or amps.

Pros: Price point Large insurance policy for items plugged into it in case of failure Separate outlets for high current equipment RF and EMI filtering

Cons: It makes a weird and annoying sound that can be heard if the room is really quiet

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Power pal by Panamax

Joe from Wadsworth, OH on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High value unit, easy to install in my system . Very pleased with its performance.

Pros: High power connections plus other outlets provide great protection with adequate spacing of outlets

Cons: Would like ability to use detachable heavier power cord from aftermarket but this unit does it all at a great value

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Alan from Cypress, TX on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to. You plug things in and they power up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Crutchfield customer from Pierre, SD on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

expensive but you tell that it is well built. having outlets not side-by-side is the best feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Kevin from Elk Grove, CA on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I changed out my old power strip/filter/surge protector with the Panamax M8-AV-PRO I have had zero issues with power fluctuation or noise. My trust in this unit has allowed me to try out a tube amp for the first time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outlet spacing is perfect!

Tony from Macungie, PA on 8/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally a power step with outlets which are spaced for power adapters. What more can you say about a power strip?..It works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Pleased

Skyking from Indiana on 12/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is well built and has plenty of outlets for all of my equipement. Now my equipement is well protected. I highly recomend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Silent protection

Crutchfield customer from Indiana on 12/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much quieter and no observable flicker in adjacent outlets when compared to the Triplite unit it replaced

Pros: Flat wall hugging plug and cord, Plenty of outlets that are spaced far enough apart to accommodate transformers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

MP from Colorado on 12/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to work well. No issues thus far.

Pros: Will protect my TV and some stereo equipment so my warranties are not voided by a lightening strike.

Cons: Not enough normal plug points. Only has 4 regular (AC) plug points. The 4 DC ports are useless to me.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great features for a great price.

KenCOH from Ohio on 9/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Panamax quality with line surge protection and cleaning and filtration of "dirty" power for your A/V equipment. The $5,000,000 Connected Equipment Warranty is there for even more peace of mind.

Pros: Solid feel with some weight to the unit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-PRO

Tom B from New York on 5/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is working fine. My TV picture seems to be a little sharper. Easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Addition!

Joe B. from Arizona on 10/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this as an add on to an order I'd placed for a Klipsch subwoofer, as Crutchfield was offering a nice discount when purchased as a package. I swapped it out with my previous power conditioner (a Monster HTS-1000), and noticed an immediate improvement. With the HT-1000 I'd had a very slight, almost imperceptible ground loop hum in my mains (you had to put your ear right up against the speaker to hear it). With any kind of program material it was not noticeable but it bugged me nonetheless (my obsessive/compulsive tendencies I suppose). After hooking up the Panamax, they were dead quiet! Nothing. Nada... So much happier! So why 4 stars? Well, I wanted to use the 12v trigger function as a remote power on for my amps, and so far, I can't get it to work. I'm still researching and troubleshooting with Panamax and Denon manuals so the rating will certainly go up to 5 stars if I can get this feature working.

Pros: Solid power conditioner. Super quiet!

Cons: 12v trigger on does not seem to be working with my Denon AVR-3805. Not sure if it is a Denon, Panamax, or just compatibility issue.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Product

John from PA on 9/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Provides peace of mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

M8-AV-PRO

JEfF m from Billsville on 11/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best inexpensive high voltage protection . heavier than the M8-AV ,which to me says better protection and a $ 5,000,000 protection guarantee. How can you go wrong for the price .

Pros: reassurance

Cons: 0

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product

Bill E. from Ny ny on 6/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit comes with an eight foot cord which was perfect for my stereo location which was far from an outlet. The system truly sounds better. There is silence when no sound is coming on a track mp noise . Am going to use the CATV and coax connectors too when my new sat antenna comes in. Nice compact unit hides easily behind and under my audio cabinet .

Pros: Good value, features, and performance

Cons: May not be the best for high end equipment

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Solid hardware but pricy

PR from Hummelstown, PA on 10/8/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this after finally setting up a starter home AV system networked with 2k worth audio equipment and similarly priced TV as I thought it made sense to protect my now pricey system with more than the $10 surge protector strips I used to use. The construction is solid and all my power cords fit in, as well as my ethernet, and coax. Having never had any issues with power in the past or issues with the cheap-o strips, I can't say that the Panamax has added anything more than piece of mind. There really hasn't been any change in my audio or video quality after connecting everything to the Panamax, but my equipment may not be of high enough quality to notice line noise anyway. I took away one star as I'm not convinced the price is justified, though uses with electrical issues in the past may easily say otherwise.

Pros: Solid construction, looks like it would live up to the advertised job

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Solved A Big Problem

DH from Indianapolis, IN on 7/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a new stereo rig that includes a tubed pre-amp, and when I installed it on the same rack as my TV and cable box, I was getting a very loud hum through the stereo. I'm no electrician but I knew it was interference between the pre-amp and the cable box,. This Panamax unit solved the problem - no more hum! It was worth the price to me to be able to hear the stereo in all of its glory.

Pros: All of my gear plugged into the same unit

Cons: Pricey but worth it

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Panamax M8-AV-Pro

Gary from Santa Barbara, CA on 6/23/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not believe the difference in the streaming and picture quality improvement in my system. My wife thought I bought a new TV without telling her. The clarity and lack of tells were amazing on the same equipment.

Pros: 8 plugs, 2 sets of LAN and Coax inputs, flat wall plug, thin profile and EZ to mount.

Cons: Price initially, But based on improvements to my system and the warranty protection against surge damage, a bargain.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Panamax M8 AV PRO

Nicholas from Long Island ,New York on 2/4/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the Panamax M8-AV PRO surge for about 6 weeks or so. The sound from music Cd and Sacd music playing has a cleaner and better defined audible clarity. However, I still get a humming sound from my Sony ES4300 receiver that is irritating. This is probably the nature of this receiver's electronic circuits. In conclusion, I am glad I bought the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Product As Described

M. from Boston, MA on 11/29/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Requested pre-sales support to select item as the surround system was experiencing a hum in the speakers. Definitely an upgrade, albeit expensive from the surge protector in use although worth the peace-of-mind. Connections for Receiver, DirecTV, phone etc quick installation. Hum not corrected indicating defect in receiver - first experience with Crutchfield customer advisor quickly dismissing follow-up support request.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 17 found this helpful

TOP