Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
870 421 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
870 421 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panamax MR4000

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # MR4000

Panamax MR4000

Panamax MR4000

Power line conditioner and surge protector

MFR # MR4000

84 reviews
View this product

Great home theater surge protector.

Crutchfield customer from Menifee, CA on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the specs & features. Used the rack mount option to mount it to a shelve under my home theater receiver. Which saves space for other devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax 4000

Crutchfield customer from Greeley, CO on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panama appears to do what is advertised. Surge protectors only last so long and I hope this unit works like the one it replaced.

Pros: Quieter line noise

Cons: A bit light, tips easy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Hope Valley, RI on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, nice design

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best on the market for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, CO on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just starting my audiophile journey, again in my 50's. Bought the PanamaxMR4000 to protect my investment. The sale price was unbelievable, a no brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my home entertainment center. Looks good with plenty of hookups.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Enhanced power.

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't know if a line conditioner is really a thing. I suspect a few MOV's are in line that also open in a spike. But that alone is good. Maybe there is more I'm just not going to say I hear a difference. I will say it looks nice. It has a good layout and I have a better better power distribution. All my amps and components except a few are now fed off of this. Better power is better sound and cheaper power strips are probably not built as well. One advantage is the power button turns everything on now. My preamp had one switched outlet I split. I would recommend at the sale price if you're trying to enhance your system in looks and peace of mind. The one touch power in is nice.

Pros: Great looking and layout One power button Better power distribution Protection Possible noise reduction

Cons: None I'm better off with it than without.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far no problems. Works as advertised and looks good.

Pros: Compact with plenty of outlets.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Power Conditioner for the dough

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent!!! Noticeable improvement in sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, OR on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, plug stuff in and power is distributed to multiple sources. Seem like a good idea since there is a $1500 amp, $1000 TV and other audio equipment attached.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Protection if not Perfection

Crutchfield customer from Lorton, VA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made this purchase as part of a troubleshooting exercise, trying to identify the source of some distracting noise in the right channel of my hires stereo system. After installation of the conditioner, the noise continued seemingly unabated. Other potential solutions also failed and I was able to eliminate everything except the amplifier. After I get the amplifier repaired my hope is that the other improvements (ac power conditioner, power cords and speaker cables) will then be noticeable. I am pleased with the conditioner. It allowed me to isolate all my power cords from my speaker cables and inter-connecters, while providing noise filtration and surge protection. My research on possible sources of my system noise convinced me that an ac power conditioner is a good investment. I recommend this model. It's a good size and isn't too expensive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Tuolumne, CA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice piece of equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Wallburg, NC on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, CT on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup and operate.

Pros: Easy operation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small footprint

Will from Miramar, FL on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MR4000 was an addition to an existing triplite power conditioner. Connected a power amp, CD player, headphone amp, and phone pre-amp. Small footprint and met my intended use and current need.

Pros: Easy to setup and access, 7 outlets in the back

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Treasure Is, FL on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panamax MR4000 has very clean lines. It works perfectly for protection of my A/V equipment Great value and excellent service from Crutchfield.

Pros: Nice display, easy setup and ability for placement. Great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Basic Power Management

David from Homosassa, FL on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this one in addition to the Panamax MR5100 which serves all the switched components while the MR4000 serves items requiring constant power. I picked this up during a sale Crutchfield had. Most likely would not pay full retail for this unit. There are few choices out there for power management, but I only trust Panamax with my equipment.

Pros: Panamax name

Cons: Limited configurations for the price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surge protected

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, OH. on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit at a significantly reduced sale price to replace a Furman box unit. Thus far the unit has operated up to expectations, but hasn't endured any power issues as of yet. The outlets are snug, and the unit is slim and unassuming. My only complaints are the ridiculously bright "power on" beacon light, and the cheap plastic power button. I believe wayward ships may be using these lanterns as points of reference. All joking aside, the price point was very reasonable, and a piece of filtered tape currently resides over the light on my unit. Thank you to the excellent sales team at Crutchfield for another excellent transaction!

Pros: Sale price, slim unit, snug outlets

Cons: Spot light "power on" and wonky power on button

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Andrew from PINE MTN VLY, GA on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute protection for your gear packaged in a sleek, lightweight design with optional 1U rack mount brackets included. Route ALL power and lines through this protector and rest easy. Downside, doesn't allow anything passing thru to retain memory. Our receiver and cd unit both need power while in "standby" mode to hold last function, radio presets, and titles of cd's. All outlets on front and rear are switched through the power button. I bought it for surge protection and it's filtering abilities which it does very well. It even stopped the noise from the LED transformer that operates the lighting inside the rack cabin. 4 stars for one reason, I'd like two protected outlets that are always on for memory in some devices. Aside from that it is a great addition to our system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros: plug ins located good position good long cord

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of these, they work perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as advertised

Pros: slim design

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Edgewater, NJ on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to manage the back and love how light it is,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trusted Brand, Trusted Performance

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the fourth Panamax device I've purchased over the years. They work as advertised and offer peace of mind, protecting valuable electronics. What I did not realize is they do not last a lifetime, nor should you expect them to. We recently experienced intermittent signal loss to our TV, picture and sound dropping out every 15-30 seconds, sometimes for a few seconds but usually for many minutes at a time. After a lot of troubleshooting which included switching out cable boxes, TVs and HDMI cables, we disconnected the system from our Panamax 5300EX and everything worked perfectly. It was was 12-14 years old and had apparently taken an electrical beating. The new Panamax MR4000 is connected and protecting our system components flawlessly.

Pros: Trusted Brand, Trusted Performance

Cons: They don't last forever.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Belleair, FL on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug an play device, simple to use. Does the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Gering, NE on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit!! Does everything I need it to and the price is right.

Pros: Simple easy to use.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product

Pros: Robust design, able to toggle the front light off

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality seems to do the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Brusly, LA on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product to protect your expensive equipment.

Pros: slim

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Stan from Augusta, GA on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the product overall. I like the blue lighting feature. The only problem I have is the on off button. It is made for fingers the size of a 5 year old. And if you are an adult which you probably are this is HIGHLY annoying. I wonder how anything like this gets through quality control? I assume and hope they have QC.

Pros: Everything except the on / off button.

Cons: The size of the on / off button is horrible if you have fingers larger than a 5 year old.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Panamax MR 4000 Works as Advertised

Pat from Huntington Station, NY on 1/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product I purchased at an unbelievable price on sale at the time at Crutchfield. Enabled me to clean up, organize and hide all my power cables easily. Product works as advertised. I like the blue light on the center of the Panamax that tells you the unit is operational and outlets in use. Light can be turned off if desired.

Pros: Works as advertised. Provides for better power plug alignment and requires less cabinet space and height than a flat surge protector. Neat looking.

Cons: None for me. And none if you need 8 outlet or less.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome power surge protector

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethton, TN on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, i feel protection for my electronics and hasnt given me any issues.

Pros: Electrical disturbance filtering

Cons: Size is bulky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Frank from Munster, IN on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product performance as advertised. Fast delivery!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Guest from San Ramon, CA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price. Works as advertised. Happy with the layout and number of outlets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

essential equiptment

Ken from Rochester, NY on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far the Panamax MR4000 is doing the job. I feel much more comfortable knowing that all of my equiptment will be safe. And I have noticed slightly cleaner audio. This is something anyone who values there A/V equiptment should have.

Pros: Very small foot print.

Cons: Light could be a little less bright.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. I have had good success with Panamax products. This was a replacement for Panamax surge protector that was about 15 years old and got zapped on a power surge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from East Brunswick, NJ on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is must have for any home theater setup! I used it for setting up my projector system in basement and using this keeps me in control and safe.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Shawn from Wake Forest , NC on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MR4000 was everything I needed it to be at a good price, look forward to using other Panamax products as my A/V needs increase.

Pros: Straight forward set-up & ease of use

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Terry from Aliso Viejo, CA on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great doing business with Crutchfield! Product arrived on time, was exactly as advertised and doing a fine job of power management for my home theater system.

Pros: Slick looks. Good size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Marshall from Huntersville, NC on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit! Great price! Nice to know my equipment is protected!

Pros: Works great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Quality Product

Mayur from Breinigsville, PA on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First Time bought a power conditioner / surge protector. I bought it for my Home Theater system. The build quality is definitely top. The power cord is very thick gauge and the whole unit feels sturdy. Hopefully it will serve me for the years to come.

Pros: Build Quality, Looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Raul from Manati, PR on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Eliminate noise and hum.....very impresive

Pros: Works great...very good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Swedesboro, NJ on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Peace of mind. Plugged everything into it. Shut off the blue light. White light does not shut off and is really bright. Fingers crossed for the future protection and longetivity of the electronics.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Aledo, TX on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice compact and purchased at a great price. Panamax products are a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works

William from Scottsdale, AZ on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noticeably reduces feedback and interference, or eliminates it. Would not buy a quality receiver without a power conditioner.

Pros: Cleaner sound from cleaner power. Great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000 Surge Suppressor

Rich from Millsboro, DE on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is good to find an affordable AC conditioner. Seems to work well with enough outlets on the back panel. Feels like quality and appears so.

Pros: Reasonable price Quality construction Appearance

Cons: None for now

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Piece of mind AV power protection

Michael from Belmont, NC on 11/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently lost my Epson 4030ub projector to a power surge. Thankfully I had my other AV components on a surge protector. I decided to get more serious about protecting my devices and chose this product. I had just the right amount of plug inputs for my needs. It has a sleek design and looks good in my cabinet, which has wood doors. The doors conceal a very bright blue light on the front of the product.

Pros: Just the right amount of power inputs Sleek design Piece of mind protection

Cons: Bright light on front of unit - consideration if out in open or glass doors on cabinet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Scott from Louisville , KY on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Easy hookup....awesome peace of mind. As always-Crutchfield service is 6 star out of 5!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This one's a no brainer!

Brian from Auburn, ME on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit ! Nice to know my equipment is protected.

Pros: Quality Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Carmen D. from Philadelphia, PA on 9/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the blue light display and the peace of mind that all of my gear will be protected.Crutchfield is Awesome,and thank you????????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unexpected Chain Of Events

Anthony from Huntington, WV on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First thing that you will notice with the Panamax MR4000 is that its got some heft to it for its size. Made with some cheap plastic on the front. Smaller than I was expecting. Has a thick heavy duty fixed power cord that fits securely into a wall outlet. Has an annoying bright blue light on the front. Luckily theres a button to turn it off. Electronic devices plug firm and snug into all 7 outlets on the unit. Overall a decent built surge protector. Actually noticed an improvement in the clarity of my audio equipment! But unfortunately something did occur that leaves me lost and confused. One day there was a strong thunderstorm. All I remember is setting in my room and seeing a bright flash of lightning. Almost simultaneously there was a very loud crack of thunder at the same time causing every breaker in the breaker box to trip. I don't know what exactly happened. But everything seemed fine. Up until I went in for a long gaming session on my brand new Xbox One X gaming console. Long story short. Somehow the storm bypassed the surge protection in the MR4000 and fried something delicate inside my Xbox One X console. Now it wont turn on. But the surge protector is fine? Like I said im lost and confused as to what happened. All I know is that im out of a brand new $500 xbox one x gaming system. The only reason why I couldn't give this item 5 stars. I really like this surge protector and highly recommend it. But after what happened...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 14 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Jordan from Louisville, KY on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple installation, clean look, and so far has worked great. No issues with power supply or signal disruption. The ports as easy to use and seem to be well laid out, but as with most surge protectors, block type plugs can impact use of all of the ports. Have not had any power outages in the area yet to see how it performs with any actual power surges.

Pros: Price; ratings/reviews; number of ports; front port for easy use of intermittent equipment (phone, tablet, etc.)

Cons: Slim design can impact ability to plug in block type power adapters.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Ruckersville, VA on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple and streamed line and a nice way to hide wires from view.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Roger from Bar Harbor, ME on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, compact unit. It does not accommodate block plugs well - all the plugins cannot be used if you have large plugs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Cullowhee, NC on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and Simple. Looks good and works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's not like speakers or a receiver it's doing it's job as far as I know crutchfield is the greatest company in the world and I have the greatest dogs in the world!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Cool add on to my electronics rack

Felix from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this mostly to get more power outlets and to organize all the wires I had behind all of my equipment. The unit is slim and light so it takes very small space. It does have a cool blue light that you can turn on or off. It has POWER ON light in the middle which is extremely bright!. Having said that, the unit works well and it does what it's supposed to do. I have not had any power surges or spikes since buying it, but I have no reason to doubt it will do what it is advertised to do. The only gripe I have is the plug itself. It is advertised as low profile. Well, yes maybe, but the cable is thick, hard to bend and comes at an angle, which makes it hard to plug in if your power outlet is a tight space.

Pros: Lots of outlets to plug your electronics Very cool blue light Slim and light

Cons: Thick, hard to bend power chord. Low profile plug is negated by the hard, thick chord and awkward angle where the cable meets the plug.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well ..delivering clean power for my samsung Qled tv , xbox one x and bose lifestyle 650.

Pros: Great for de price, Slim

Cons: None..

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from South Euclid, OH on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stuff! Small form factor, good protection from damaging power irregularities. Makes organizing equipment very straightforward. Looks good, too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax on, home theater protected

Gary from Katy, TX on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 2nd Panamax MR4000 power conditioner I have put on duty to protect a home theater system. My daughter got a HT system for birthday + Christmas and I wanted to make sure her equipment was protected. She has power problems all the time. The 1st power conditioner is on my HT setup. The Cyberpower backup power in the office has caught 3 incidents already this year; just blips that used to make the computer reboot. Since I have the MR4000 conditioning the power for my electronics I don't need to worry about these drop/spike things.

Pros: Conditions the power for late model electronics, protecting them from source fluctuations. Slim and stays cool. You can put the Blue Ray player on top of it if you need to double up on a shelf.

Cons: That dadgum white light on the front.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Pawleys Isl, SC on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, doesn't run hot, bought another for kids room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Ample number of ports, slim profile.

Adam from Ada, MI on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent lower-cost power conditioner. It easily beats standard surge protecting bars, and if you're spending money on components through Crutchfield, you should be aware of how you are powering them. Sits nicely on top of components and does not take up a ton of space.

Pros: Perfect for a small A/V setup without the need to isolate specific equipment. While it is cheaper from other sources, Panamax only guarantees a warranty through authorized vendors.

Cons: The thickness of the main power cord often moves the unit around, as it is fairly small when compared to other Panamax models.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax Insurance

Jerry from Milwaukee, WI on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of those things that you hope is never fully used. I have peace of mind that my entire entertainment center of LG Oled, Klipsch soundbar and Oppo 203 UHD BR disk player will not have any power problems. Nice touches allow you to turn off some of the lights on the front panel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

John from Chesterfield, MO on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product does what it says and there is nothing wrong. I cant give it a 5 star rating because the LED lights on the front panel are ridiculously bright. They light up a dark room. It is a design flaw that needs to be corrected when the model is updated.

Pros:

Cons: LED lights on the front panel

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Dale from Lake Orion, MI on 11/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides clean power to my devices and piece of mind to me! There is no feedback on the front other than faults - some sort of "normal" LED could be more useful than the always on (or off, your choice) blue glow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Coniditioned Power

Mark from Lynn Haven, FL on 8/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good power conditioning option.

Pros: Provides clean power.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

David from Durham, NC on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a Monster Power Conditioner I had for 12 years and I could not be happier. The rack feel makes my home theater look like it is just another component.

Pros: Works great with a rack system

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Powerful recommendation, demonstration sell MR4000

James from Anchorage, AK on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I truely can't say whether a Panamax MR4000 will satisfy all my concerns for surge protection, I was impressed with my Crutchfield adviser's recommendation in follow-up to this not being included it in my original order. I watched an online video demonstration from 4 years ago by a National Trainer for Panamax. He clearly demo'd the Panamax MR4000 versus a typical inexpensive power strip I buy in an electronics section at a typical Department store. Panamax MR4000 held up to 220 volt power surge whereas the power strip began smokin! Now, I originally bought the Panamax MR4000 because there appears to be far more lightening storms in Syracuse, NY (setting for my MR4000) than in Anchorage, AK (home of record). Also, stories from the 1970s or 1980s of brown outs in the Northeast, lent me further concern to buy something with a little more controlling of input power than an inexpensive power strip. So far, I give it 4 out of 5 stars, until my first event occurs! BTW I do not notice any effect on sound quality since this system is primarily watched/heard by my wife, who's sensitivity to sound is strictly opera music.

Pros: Fully capable power surge protector for my new 4K TV/sound bar & apple TV

Cons: Far more outlets than I have in new current home entertainment system; may be an overkill

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Doug from Bethesda, MD on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced a previous older Panamax unit where the switched outlets had failed (reason unknown). Cheap insurance against power surges and lightning strikes. New unit seems as good as the old one was. I always enjoy buying from Crutchfield. Their customer service is excellent if there is ever a problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

High quality product

Michael from Concord, MA on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Appears to be very high quality. Nice packaging. I do not notice any effect on sound quality, but I believe this is a small investment to protect very expensive gear.

Pros: Button to turn off bright blue power-on light is a nice feature.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent value

Duane from Shrewsbury.nj on 3/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just ordered another for my home

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Malena from Tucson, AZ on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought after reading great reviews. Needed osmething more dependable than a common surge protector for my new TV and peripheral equipment. I'm happy with Crutchfield with its great pricing and super fast delivery.

Pros:

Cons: Super bright display, wish I could dim.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Milton from TX on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this equipment. Also chatted with rep prior to buying to make sure this is what I wanted/needed. Rep was extremely helpful which made my decision to purchase really easy!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 11/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I purchased a high end TV and didn't want to take any chances! Looks like a piece of audio equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield got this to me quickly, which helped me out quite a bit as I was installing my entertainment systems. I'm more than satisfied with this product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Geez that's bright!!

Ron from Ft. Myers, Florida on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to connect but the lack of wall wart outlets was a problem. The "dash" lights are especially bright and could use a dimmer. As of today it either works fabulously or I haven't seen any power problems lately. I tend to think it's working well as the power grid in South West Florida is comical at best. I have no notifications on the panel for any power problems so far.....wait & see??? I wish it had a larger footprint, it's so small that you have to see the cabling connected to the back in my entertainment center. Overall I'm satisfied, pending the performance when our next lightning storm arrives. Fingers crossed!

Pros: To be determined, haven't had much severe weather since installation...but we will. Ability to protect data, cable, satellite, in addition to all audio, TV, & game devices.

Cons: Footprint, unable to dim lights. Some CAN be turned off, but the "Power On" light is very bright.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Crutchfield customer from Buena Vista, CO on 9/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panamax

Luis from Guaynabo pr on 5/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent protection for my audio rack ...very happy ??

Pros: Sleek design . Like the blue light in front panel..

Cons: None..

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Good protection

Joseph from New Castle, PA on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good surge protection unit for my audio stand. It has a nice, sleek design as well. I'm happy with the product.

Pros: Sleek design, quality unit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Norman from Virginia on 12/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit improved sound and internet is greatly improved. Allowed for multiple cables to be hidden and cleaned noise.

Pros: Compact and improved performance of sound bar and internet.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Alan from Florida on 7/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad to know a small investment will bring peace of mind. Living in South Florida where is rains every half hour with thunder storms, its good to know my gear is protected. Easy on the eyes and with the ability to bring clean power to your components, it's a win-win!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Washington on 3/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean power management. Keeps my speakers sounding super clean while protecting my equipment. Great product for the price. My only complaint on this component is the obnoxiously bright blue light on the front panel. I relocated my components and now use this light as courtesy lighting in my living room.

Pros: Great price for a power filter. Coax and RJ45 included. Simple. fits on my component shelf, easier cable management.

Cons: Bright light on the front doesnt have an on/off and nor is it dim-able.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

kyle j from Alaska on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If this is any indicator of the performance of the higher models wish I would have bought the one with the higher level conditioning. Mr4000 works really well I noticed an immediate change in the hum in the speakers when no sound is being played , just made me want to try the better ones. Makes for clean installs for home theatre. And a great price of mind. I don't have lighting strikes where I'm at so just the those features alone make it worth it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Panamax MR4000

Brad from Houston on 7/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a high end surge protector. I was getting terrible background noise in my speakers. This unit eliminated the noise.

Pros: Power filter Long cord Front display

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP