Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
387 140 75
Connect ID #
387 140 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO41WLN

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # WHEVO41WLN

35 reviews
View this product

Some kind of dark magics invovled

Bryan from Seattle, WA on 7/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never heard a speaker that manages to be so crisp and clear while still maintaining a sense of warmth without sacrificing any detail. The bass is present and clear and yet somehow manages to have a touch of warmth, the mids are what you'd expect from Wharefdale, and the highs are clear and articulated without being sibilant or bright. Like I said, there must be some sort of dark magics involved here.

Pros: Clarity & Warmth Great sound stage & Imaging Amazing right out of the box

Cons: Not for all speaker stands

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceeded Expectations in Every Way

Shahram A. from Germantown, TN on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was dead-set on a pair of Bowers & Wilkin speakers for my old analog Yamaha receiver and Teac TN-300 record player in my living room. After speaking with Tyler at Crutchfield (he was super helpful) I decided to take a chance on these Wharfdale speakers he recommended, instead (I liked the aesthetics better than the B&W). Boy, am I glad I did. These have exceeded my expectations in every way. For such small speakers, they put out bass that nearly rivals the Definitive A/V subwoofer in my TV room, but it's much crisper and tighter. The overall sound clarity is amazing (especially after a couple of months), with details emerging from my records that I had not noticed before. And they can handle the volume - I play them loud - without distortion or degradation of any aspect of the sound. I have giant Polk RTi A9s in the TV room, and these little things keep up with them pretty well. Overall, well worth the money and I'm definitely a Wharfdale fan now.

Pros: Incredible bass; clear sound at high volumes; look great without the grills

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Jeffrey from Niagara Falls, NY on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional

Justin from Charleston, SC on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Wharfedales sound as beautiful as they look. There are subtleties in songs that I have only heard through headphones. They are expensive, but they sound expensive - detailed mid-range, precise highs, bass has weight and punch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

EVO 4.1 Speakers Doing a great job

Annemarie from Aptos, CA on 4/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took awhile to find the right speakers for a small living room that didn't need to be perfectly placed. The Wharfedale EVO 4.1 bookshelf speakers are working out great and the sound is wonderful. They have enough bass for me and so far no issues. Crutchfield delivered them timely and the Wharfedale packaging was an upgrade from just styrofoam.

Pros: Nice looking. Well made.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

James from Rego Park, NY on 3/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had them for a week now. I am replacing 40 year old Advent 3's. These are the third speaker I tried. Since its been so long since I've purchased speakers I began by watching and reading reviews. Based on reviews from Cheapaudioman and Andrew Robinson I started with the Emotiva B1+ and Kef Q150. Neither of these were as good as my old Advents. I now knew I had to step up the price point. After looking at more reviews I decided to give the Wharfdale Evo 4.1 a try. From the moment they played for the first time I noticed a huge difference. These were noticeably better in every metric as they should be considering they are more than twice the price of the others. I still smile every time I turn them on. They are crystal clear transparent with a hint of warmth. Sound stage is beyond the width of the speakers and imagining is the best I've come across, limited though that may be. I have gone to Best Buy to listen to other speakers in this range to compare including Wharfedale Diamonds, Kefs, B&Ws, Elacs, and Martin Logans. I think these Wharfedales Evos will be a keeper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, IN on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to demo if I wanted to use the EVO floorstanding speakers to find out if I liked the sound or not, in case I wanted to return them. I liked the sound so much, I went with the EVO4.4. They are warm sounding and I will be using these as the surrounds now that I have the 4.4. These do not have the lows that the 4.4 has, but do sound like a very nice speaker. They are not too heavy and look great. They do sound better when driven with more power. It really opens them up.

Pros: Warm sound, look great, sound amazing.

Cons: Needs power to really open up.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Margaret from Appling, GA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful cabinetry, nice compliment to wharfedale Evo 4.3 front and center speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic bookshelf speaker for a dmaller room.

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoying these speakers! The AMT tweeter is detailed yet the speaker comes off darker than any other AMT tweet speaker I've ever heard before. The build is also better than any speaker I've seen in this price range. In terms of looks, it comes down to whether you find this unique tweeter attractive or not. I personally like it, and the white oak with the black driver looks fantastic in my opinion. Highly recommend this speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellence in a small package

Max from Escondido on 12/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Currently, both sets of speakers are small Wharfedale designs. This Evo pair is a recent purchase, and although they do not sound the same as my Denton 80th Ann. stand mounts, I believe the fact that Peter Comeau was the chief engineer for both can be heard. They both have a subtle warmth the eludes most small speakers, yet that warmth is welcome. Have stopped using my small sub woofer with both models in this compact room. That is because, for myself they sound balanced and natural on their own. Also, never have sunk the big money into a super quality sub, so the sub always sounds slightly less pure and less of one piece with the monitors, than the Wharfedale on their own. The amps here are small, and since the speakers are as well, can keep 2 systems set up all the time and switch between them any time in seconds. The amps are from diff companies, and the wire is also not from the same manufacturer. Find it interesting to hear the changes when going from one set of speakers to the other. Frankly, I just love them both. They are not the same, but not certain which pair I would keep if forced to keep only one. Nice. When I was a kid wanted to design speakers myself....lotta home built attempts finally cured me of that fantasy. Glad for the excellence available today at reasonable prices. In my opinion, both the Evo4.1 and Denton 80th are a steal. Not intended for hard rock though, I think.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

"scratch & dent" didn't mean blemished speakers

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethtown, KY on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these speakers advertised in a "scratch & dent" condition. When I received them the box had obviously been banged up pretty bad in the past, but had been repaired with a liberal amount of packing tape. When unpacked, I found the speakers to be in a "new" condition, I have not found a single blemish. I have had the speakers playing for about a week now and they sound great and they tonally matched perfectly with the other Wharfedale EVO speakers I have in my home theater system. As far as I can tell the "scratch & dent" description applied only to the shipping box. I'm very happy with the performance and looks of these EVO4.1 speakers and saving big bucks due to the "scratch & dent" condition of the shipping box is an added bonus!

Pros: Great sound, very well constructed, and beautiful

Cons: The wife was not happy with me purchasing more speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds bigger than you would imagine

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful and rich. The bass extends, surprisingly low, given the drivers size. Nice upper detail.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 10/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers and they have been perfect for my application. I am using them as desktop speakers in conjunction with an integrated amp with a built-in DAC running lossless files from my computer. I find that they are robust speakers with clear highs that are not fatiguing after hours of listing from an arm lengths away, that they have a wide and detailed midrange, and that they have more depth on the low end than I was anticipating. They don't have the same depth as my Linton's in my primary system, but the application of the speakers is completely different (analog vs. digital sources) and the Linton's being three way vs. the Evo's being two. They're built great, the walnut looks wonderful, and they don't have a large footprint on my desktop. As with any Wharfedale I've ever unboxed, they're packed very well too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Sounds and Looks Great!

David from Schenectady on 10/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired these up with my vintage MAC 1900 Receiver (55 WPC). I think they sound awesome!!! Heavy, solid, and excellent cabinetry craftsmanship... sound staging is great, sparkling high frequencies, realistic midranges, and (at least in my pair) punchy quick bass. Given the type of tweeter, I did not expect this to perform as beautifully as it did; clean and clear. I think its an all-around great system. I used the Wharfedale speaker stands - they work fine, but difficult routing the cable through with smaller wire tube because of the hardware used to attachment of top/bottom platters. The speaker stands add to the great looks of the EVO's.

Pros: Fantastic sound, great fit for your small to medium sized room. Craftsmanship, Furniture-grade cabinetry, Great looks!

Cons: Heavy (is that a con?)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Midrange bliss

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow - midrange bliss - I always thought I needed more bass from my small bookshelves, but that is not what they are for - let the subwoofer do that - these excel as near-field monitors in a small office space paired with a small subwoofer. They cast a large soundstage with ease, and produce way more sound than their db rating suggests. Very good looking too - not rectangular box. These are a great buy.

Pros: Clarity, sound stage

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good but not Great

DAVID from Bakersfield on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, solid build and great looking speaker. They do have that Wharfedale sound, decent bass and mids, but the very reserved on the top end. Felt like a blanket was over the tweeter. Great for Jazz and slower music, rock is definitely not its strong point, I wanted to like them and did with certain genres but not a great all rounder. I tried many different positions (heights and depths) but just didn't work for me.

Pros: Looks, Mids, Build Quality, Good Bass.

Cons: Highs muted and Positioning specific

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Affordable high end.

Dave from Brighton, MI on 9/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received my walnut 4.1's today. They are beautifully built and look fantastic. Big sound out of them so far.

Pros: Looks, sound, build.

Cons: No so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Sounding Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Lindale, TX on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good, solid speaker. Excellent sound quality all the way from lows, thru mid range to highs. I found a sub woofer necessary in order to fully cover the low bass notes Toe in toward the listener is also needed to get a balanced sound stage.

Pros: Solid build. Clear & crisp vocals. Nice sound stage when properly toed in.

Cons: Bass needs help from a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Small but sounds big

Crutchfield customer from Opa Locka, FL on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Small but impressive speakers. Excellent base quality and sweet midrange. High-end is also good. Overall a very well balanced speaker with good imaging. They like to be played somewhat loud. They really shine with careful placement and good stands and well matched partnering equipment. Recommended highly. I am using with Audiolab 6000a amp and matching streamer and cd transport. Cable is SKW. Room is small so if you have the

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Very Enjoyable for Music

Barry from Morris, MN on 7/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, props to Crutchfield as I ordered some other more expensive speakers that were too bright for my ears in my system. Being able to audition at home for several weeks made me confident in my decision that those were not the right speakers for me, and the return process was simple. The EVO4.1 provide exactly what I was looking for, I am very happy with them and would recommend them for the pure musical enjoyment they provide. I look for quality components, and try to enjoy the music and not worry about specific aspects of the sound. You can find reviews from people who can describe all the aspects of the sound more accurately than I ever could--for me I like the soundstage which I feel extends beyond the speakers and separates the instruments well, and the nonfatiguing nature of the highs. What I know, and most care about, is that my listening sessions are longer and more frequent with the EVO4.1 in the system. They pull me into the music in a way that makes me want to keep the music playing! I am 54 yrs old so my hearing isn't what it once was, and am sensitive to bright speakers (the EVO4.1 are not at all bright in my system/room). I mainly listen to music (rock, jazz, some classical, some metal) not movies and have a 2.1 system with an SVS SB-1000 sub and NAD C368 amp. My room is small, 12ft by 10ft. Listening is through BluOS to locally stored music, Tidal, Radio Paradise, and vinyl. I also considered the EVO4.2, but figured they would be too much speaker for my ro

Pros: Nonfatiguing sound. Soundstage is fairly wide. Excellent build quality. Nice size for a small room, and pretty to look at! Binding posts are awesome.

Cons: No cons for my needs. Could be a little bass light without a sub for some people.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Gibraltar, MI on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very nice sounding speakers. I had to return them because they were just a little too large for the space I have. Otherwise I was perfectly satisfied with them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value, robust sound, fun imaging

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 6/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was so happy with the EVO4.2 speakers in my living room that I decided to give these a try for nearfield listening on my home office desktop. I love them. I have them paired with a Cambridge CXA61 integrated amp and a BlueSound Node2i streamer, which collectively produces an amazing (IMO) office HiFi. The sound is robust, with outstanding mids, powerful bass, and never fatiguing highs. The imaging and soundstage (even on a desk) are wonderful. The white speakers are beautiful in appearance and the build quality is excellent (they are heavy!). The bottom ported design allows for placement close to the wall, if that's your preference. Note: I first tried out the KEF LS50 Metas that so many people rave about, and I was not impressed enough to keep them. They sounded "fine" but devoid of character. In my opinion, the EVO4.1s, at almost half the price, are much nicer (and certainly a better value).

Pros: Mids, imaging, tight and powerful bass, build quality, attractiveness, value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from GUAM, USA on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I currently own the Denton 85. I like the Dentons they are solid. I will keep them. I got the 4.1 because I wanted to add another set of Wharfedale's to my collection. I use the EVOs is my small man cave 12x10 room. So first of all, these speakers are very smooth! Vocals for males and females sound incredible!!!! I think it's the AMT tweeter. It is very life like and no STRAIN at all. I am running them with the NAD Masters M33. I have the 4.1 EVOs bi-wired. The M33 loves them! The EVOs also blend perfectly with my SVS SB 1000 twin subs( high pass 60HZ for EVOs). I am very happy with this purchase. They are well worth the money if you have it to spend! Thanks, Allison for a great recommendation. As always pleasure doing business with Crutchfield.

Pros: Best vocals I have ever heard on a speaker!!! Sounds like a live concert!

Cons: Needs high current to be best. This odd shape speaker is not so great for speaker stands.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the KEF Q150, B&W 606 S2 Anniversary Edition, the EVO4.2 and the Polk Audio Legend L100 all from Crutchfield (which I can't recommend enough for ease of purchase and returns for trying out multiple speakers). After just a week of listening it quickly came down between the L100s and the EVO4.2s. Unfortunately The EVO4.2s were too large for my space, so I swapped the 4.2s for the 4.1s to see if that remained the case, thinking I would end up with the L100s. The L100s are great speakers, and maybe I just didn't have enough power to drive them properly, but at around half the price the EVO4.1s definitely held their own in the highs and had so much more warmth in the mids. I'd say I lost a little sound stage with the EVO4.1s compared to the L100s, but they are just so much fun to listen to. Great looking too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Mt Washington, KY on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are a real surprise for me. The ribbon tweeters are superb and overall they sound great in my small room. I'm quite the picky one and these are keepers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sleeping giant of subtle warmth detail weighted musical pleasure!

Doug from Clyde, NY on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I auditioned these once and returned them. I then tried 12.1s and B6.2s disappointed on both. My first review on the 4.1s is titled Mixed Signals. Using a Yamaha 803n at 4ohms. Treble knob at 2 oclock, Bass knob at 3 oclock, Variable loudness at 11 oclock, variable works counter clockwise. I have had 530s, Ultra BS, Denton 80ths, 85ths, DBR B6.2, DT SM65s, 225s in this room . They have the WD sound but it is weighted. The midrange is not turned up as much as the 80ths. Have a good amount of dynamics more than the 80ths not as much as 85ths. The treble is never harsh or fatiguing. First speaker I have turned the treble up on. The Ultras and 530s are bright compared to these. The 225s are just rocking. The DT Sm 65 lovely bass but harsh highs. I would say the 4.1s are like the 530s but with a weighted textured sound. The 530s the music was everywhere floating in the air. The 401s it is separated and weighted. Everything sounds big, not loud, big and forceful. No one part of the music over powers another. Voices will come out of no where and scare you. I was using SX 50s when I swapped the 4.1s out. The SX50s are stunning for their size, and the bass from them wow, use that Bass knob. But they sound small and less detail, yet they are highly recommended. I played Green Grass and High Tides Forever on the 4.1s, the bass line is simply stunning. Bass guitars hang in the room like a vibrating string should. I used to have a SVS PB1000, the EVOs dont need the help! 4.1s sound BIG

Pros: These are for music listening not a party speaker. My Marantz CD player using the coaxial out so the 803N uses its dac, sounds the best it ever has. I bet the EVO series scales really really well. These are not punchy or bass hitters, but the bass notes are so weighted it works for me. I can get bass vibrations through my chair with certain songs. ACDC to Carly Simon works on these. Speed metal maybe not. The 4.1s when played low the music is even and as you turn it up the music stays even.

Cons: Show poor recordings, but not enough to worry about. They do need breaking in, it gets better after 4 hours then about 20 or so they start to show who they are. To really hear them you need some good power. I dont think your average AVR is what they need. Not for big rooms, mine is 12 x 22 EVOs on long wall so I am 8 - 10 ft away, would be better on short wall. In closing probably the best 5 inch bookshelf at this price. Musical, Detailed, Weighted, Spacious, Sound. Keepers Keepers!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Wow

Marcelo from ANCHORAGE, AK on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best speaker I have ever own with my room and my gear. It just sound so clear and so quiet at the same time. Highs are very sweet. Mids so musical. Bass is so fast, not deep but fast and defined. I had the 4.2 but did not like them compared to these (i have a small room). They sound real not hyped resolution. Like when someone talks to you in person vs thru mic kind of resolution, real voice are transparent not high"hyped" resolution. Sorry too much expalnation. If you like natural sounding speaker try these. May not suit everyone. By the way I cannot hear its box, it disappears.

Pros: Natural sounding speaker, not over hyped, just pure bliss

Cons: Not sure really, maybe bass?. Does not go deep but I prefer a fast bass that a sloppy one note bass.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well-built but sound not to my taste although it may be for others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Celina, TX on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker. Flexible with placement due to bottom porting. However, I returned for the larger 4.2.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Mixed Signals

Douglas from Clyde, NY on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have wanted to hear this ribbon tweeter since I first saw them. Well it does not disappoint . I could listen to the tweeter anytime. Where the 4.1 lost my interest is that Wharfedale midrange and Diamond 225 bass, is absent. I barely listened to these because the bass was not enough for my room. You put these in a small closed space and I bet the results will be different. My Denton 80ths pull it off because of so much midrange, and the 225s are just so much fun. Depending on you and your room probably gonna need a sub even for music. My 225s I run no sub, my 80ths are run with a SVS pb1000, yes it is the sweetest. I bet the 4.1s would sound great with my SVS, I just couldn't unhook my Dentons to even try it.

Pros: Solid build Magnetic grills were great surprise Better looking in my home Solid sound

Cons: 5.5 inch driver Could not keep my interest

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Wow!

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are exceptional! My first impression was that they might be overly warm/dull however after running them in for 50+ hours, wow. After having tried KEF Q150/Q350 and ELAC UB52 and suffering from listening fatigue these Evo 4.1 are magic to my ears. Highs and Mids are airy, open and never fatiguing. These are great out of the box - want more magic? try adding some higher end bi-wire jumpers if you want another level from these. Highly recommended. Using in a medium size room.

Pros: Beautiful sounding.

Cons: Bass doesn't rattle walls down.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Outstanding speaker

Stagger Lee from Glendale, CA on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried this speaker after listening to the 4.2 and I like it better. In system matching, I've always had a bit of brightness that annoyed me. The controlled natural high end on this speaker is a great match with bright systems. In spire of a the emit tweeter, it is very well balanced and has a natural tone that is true to the recording. The two driver are well integrated. Listening to the Chesky Audiophile Vocals 2 CD, the music was palpable, holographic and these speaker just disappeared in service of the music. I am so pleased after listening to so many speakers that were close but I was a reluctant buyer. These speaker are keepers. While I have some 8 inch subwoofers, so far I have not felt the need to turn them on. I will eventually. The build quality is stout. They are heavy. Also, there real wood finish is excellent. I have a situation where they have to be one foot from the back wall. the down ported woofer leaves zero room interaction problems in spite the near wall placement. The integrated amp, DAC, transport and cables fronting these speakers are about $4300 retail. These speakers respond very well to excellent partnered equipment. Don't think that they are just for budget gear. They step to the challenge up when fed well.

Pros: Great sound, build quality and value

Cons: They are not free.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

These are excellent speakers

Guest from Toronto on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had many speakers from large vintage British bookshelves to $5000 modern Kef's and these might be the best of all. There's something magical about them. They produce a very immersive sound. It probably takes 100 hours to break them in nicely and once they're relaxed, it's a bliss to listen. I'm using a Vincent SV237MK with them and couldn't be happier. The airiness and detail you get from these huge AMT tweeters are just amazing. If you have a small to medium size listening room I highly recommend these speakers.

Pros: -Transparency -Balanced mid and bass integration -Amazing airy detailed treble -Zero listening fatigue -Built quality -Cabinet design

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 3 stars based on overall sound quality. I was expecting a more detailed sound with the ribbon tweeter, but was too laid back for my tastes. The Psb Alpha 5 I was more impressed with. The build quality was very solid on the Evo 4.1. It may be right for you, as your equipment and wire could result in a positive outcome! Its worth a try.

Pros: excellent build and finish.

Cons: to laid back upper frequency for me

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.1

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome looking and sounding speakers. Well worth the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound