Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 197 14
Connect ID #
803 197 14
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Spare tire backup cam for 2007-18 Jeep Wrangler JK vehicles

MFR # HCE-RCAM-WRA

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Spare tire backup cam for 2007-18 Jeep Wrangler JK vehicles

MFR # HCE-RCAM-WRA

20 reviews
View this product

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Lorton, VA on 4/2/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, nice and tucked away look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Santa Ana, CA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. It was easy to mount and the image is better than either of my factory cameras.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Alexander, AR on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine camera is easy to install and has a clear & crisp picture in color.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Humble, TX on 7/15/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install plugged right in to my Alpine I207-WRA head unit and worked!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, PA on 5/10/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy install. Quality is great during the day but drops off in low light but i am very happy for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Versatile!

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 4/27/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Versatility! The best thing about this product is that you can use it with different types of [after-market] wheels. Its less expensive than the light+camera Alpine option, and camera quality and installation is straight forward. Would recommend!

Pros: Versatile setup options for after market wheels.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Paul from CEDAR FALLS, IA on 4/25/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased in conjunction with an Alpine head unit - seamless integration.

Pros: Seamless integration

Cons: Pricy - there are equally-suitable options lower in price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice video but no sound

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 3/29/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice backup camera video. It doesn't have beeping sound when approaching an object

Pros: Good video quality

Cons: No beeping sound when approaching an object

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Short life span great easy connect

Kevin from Everett, WA on 3/1/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I loved it after purchase in June of 2019, installed July with an x209. It was a little weak performance at night but amazing daytime. Then January.. Occasional lines and an offset image then it just stopped working. 7 months for a garaged vehicle is unsatisfactory. I it's been offline for a couple months but I waited to write a bad review untitled I checked the integrity of the connections and the whole line. There is only two or connect at camera and I to same branded deck.

Pros: Easy to come t alpine, easy install and aiming

Cons: Short life, weak night time performance but still satisfactory

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 2/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation very straight forward. Easy setup. Good video resolution

Pros: Straight forward installation

Cons: Should be married to a receiver that displays good video images

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Coventry, RI on 2/16/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent! Fit perfectly and the camera is extremely clear! Very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meh.

Crutchfield customer from BROOKFIELD, MA on 1/15/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was pretty easy because the Wrangler carpet and plastics come up so easily. Instructions were pretty clear, with pictures. I had hoped at this price (and Alpine brand name) that the quality would be better, not sure if other cameras out there are better? Photos attached are daytime (morning), and two at night. Night views taken at same time, the brighter one is with Jeep lights on. After using it a little, I wonder if I could have saved some cash and got something just as good (or better?). I may have to add a second camera to get a full view (useful when trailering stuff). Then I might point this one down more to see hitch.

Pros: With Alpine head unit, two touches to view camera, and it stays on as long as you wish. With Alpine head unit, no additional wires to run (tapping into backup lights, etc). Built for Wrangler, so mounting in spare tire was pretty convenient!

Cons: I *hate* the warning on the screen, but I assume that is the Alpine head unit, not the camera. It never goes away and blocks an important part of my view (of things that I trailer).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Swarthmore, PA on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected with the Alpine i207-WRA

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Dunedin, FL on 10/29/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spend a little more money, get a plug and play unit

Josiah from JUNEAU, AK on 9/29/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Alpine ilx -207 Receiver for my 2018 JKU. Looked like this would be a good match for a back up camera. I was so wrong. The directions are pretty much useless. It is not plug and play. If I would of bought the T-cam backup camera it would have been plug and play. I tried every combination of wiring on this thing, no power..... I tried tech support with Crutchfield and they are great but they were also confused.. I will try the local installer in town and see if he can figure it out. If not I'm sending it back... save your self time and money do not buy this piece of junk.... Good luck to anyone who bought this combination and pulled there hair out trying to get it to work...

Pros: None

Cons: Does not work. Will not turn on.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Almost perfect. Night vision is 'ok'.

Todd from Meriden, CT on 9/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Plugged right in to new Alpine receiver. Rating 4 stars because the camera at night isn't as clear as a factory camera but other than that, it's perfect.

Pros: Easy install. Great picture.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rearview is a must

Eric from Cincinnati, OH on 8/18/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this camera. It integrates perfectly with the i207-WRA head unit. If you are connecting the an Alpine head unit this is a single cable installation which is really convenient. I would have given 5 start is the kit included a new grommet for the rear tailgate.

Pros: Hides nicely between wheel spokes. Nice panoramic view.

Cons: Wish it came with a new rubber grommet for the tailgate. You have to split the factory grommet to run the camera cable through.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Jeep Camera

Aatif from Jacksonville, FL on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superior to the brand motion. Do not even waste your time with the other cameras. You don't need an alpine stereo for this, just one with an rca input

Pros: Easy to install, quality parts

Cons: Not the cheapest

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine HCE-RCAM-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, RI on 5/22/2019

2007 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great on my 2014 Wrangler JKU and the picture quality is clear. Easy to install and vehicle-specific instructions were very clear and accurate. You'll definitely want to get trip removal tools and some silicon sealant as you'll need to split the grommet in the tailgate. I'm using it with an Alpine iLX-107 deck which requires wiring up the power and ground--easy enough but not completely plug and play on that deck. I wired it up to the reverse wire on the harness so it is only on when in reverse but I could see wiring it to the acc wire instead if I was trailering to be able to turn it on any time the deck is on.

Pros: Clear picture, easy installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good way to add rear camera to a Wrangler JK

Martin from Hartford, CT on 5/6/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Writing this review fresh off of installation of the product along with about a day of actual use. Installation went fine - the wiring path you need to use isn't too hard to reach with the right tools (trim removal tools are required.) If this is the first time you're doing something like this, I'd plan on at least 3 hours to take your time and follow instructions. I followed Alpine's Youtube video for their other Wrangler back-up cam, the TCAM1-WRA. With some obvious minor exceptions, the installation is exactly the same. One gripe about install: Alpine decided to cheap out and not give you a replacement rubber grommet for the wire run to the rear swing gate. Since you have to cut that grommet to get the wire through, plan on having some silicon on hand to plug it back up. I wired into an i207-WRA that I was also installing at the time, which was very easy (direct connection, plug and play with the head unit.) Once I enabled it in the Settings, I was good to go - although some line adjustment is needed. Lines do not automatically curve when turning. I really like the camera placement - it fits right through the spokes of the spare tire. It allows you to remove the spare tire without having to remove the camera (but you must be careful as you can easily damage it if you (or a tire shop) are careless. Time will tell how durable it is. The picture is fine as far as rear cameras go - seems about average with other vehicle cameras. So far I'm happy with it.

Pros: Plug and Play to Alpine Restyle Head Units Install isn't terribly difficult Allows you to remove spare tire without removing camera

Cons: Doesn't include replacement rubber grommet, so you will need some silicon on hand Need to be careful about spare tire removal going forward Like all things Alpine, seems expensive for what it is (paying a premium for a metal bracket)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP