Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
167 295 04
Connect ID #
167 295 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Direct-fit complete speaker system for select 2015-up Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited models

MFR # PSS-21WRA

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Direct-fit complete speaker system for select 2015-up Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited models

MFR # PSS-21WRA

21 reviews
View this product

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 7/5/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing setup. added second sub under driver side. outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's ok I guess

Crutchfield customer from Crown Point, IN on 6/17/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this set as I wanted to keep my original look but wanted to improve sound quality and power while having the doors and tops off my Wrangler JKU. Everything cane nicely packaged and secure. Had read several other comments on here about connections and was a bit skeptical and boy were they right. There is no way that install time is 1-2 hours. There were several connections that had to be spliced due to female to female adapters. The wiring harness for the head unit is not the greatest. The instructions were vague. After about 6-7 hours had everything installed only to have a problem with the amp. Called Crutchfield for trouble shooting and they were more than helpful. Turns out the amp was defective but Crutchfield sent another unit for replacement. Sounds good and in the end is what I was looking for. In hindsight though I don't really think it is worth the price tag for all of the trouble and time to install. I probably would not buy it again.

Pros: Get to keep the "factory" look by using the original head unit. Great customer service from Crutchfield

Cons: Definitely not plug and play. Several female to female connections. Poor instructions, not very clear.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/11/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well some wiring modifications were required

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Apache Junction, AZ on 2/24/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is more a ALPINE issue and not Crutchfield... This is not plug and play. you will run into curveballs if you are adding this to a existing head unit. and you will need a MONO sub dongle if you don't have double outs from your head unit to your sub. Jeep owner the JEEP site QUA*****s video is very miss leading. This is a tad bit more involve. And I have install systems before with very little challenge but this one is more involve than other sites like Utub* videos show. But TAKE YOUR TIME. Crutchfield TECH support was incredibly patient and helped with the install, 5 STARS to them *****!!!

Pros: SOUNDS AWESOME

Cons: Information out there is misleading to say the least..!!!!!!!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome product (4 or 5 stars), abysmal installation (1 star)

Crutchfield customer from BROOKFIELD, MA on 1/15/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound from this system is awesome. My reason for 3 stars is not the equipment, but the install. I watched multiple other videos (be sure to watch the Crutchfield videos!) to make it clearer, but it was still a struggle. Some of the mistakes were simple ones with no impact, like Sound bar speaker grill removal was a T15 Torx in my 2017 JK Unlimited, not T20 as instructions say. But combined with the omissions, lack of details, poor drawings, etc added up to some serious frustration. Holes in the amp mounting bracket were slightly off, so I barely threaded all four before tightening. PDF does not mention the tweeter X-overs at all, nor the grommet (the Crutchfield video covers both). On the subwoofer install, the holes drilled are on the inner rail, not outer as the instructions say. You can puzzle it out via logic and the (inadequate) drawings, but its extra time and detail that shouldn't be an issue with a system at this price/level. The power lead from the battery to the amp was male on both sides, so I had to cut it off, buy, and crimp my own female end on one of the wires. Put the amp corner rails on after wiring it - they won't go on after mounting (also not in PDF). Factory wiring harnesses were in the way of amp when reinstalling seat, had to move those a bit. Getting amp to mount to subwoofer was a *serious* wrestling match! Had to cut and solder tweeter X-overs instead of having plugs. The power lead through the floor grommet should be tighter.

Pros: Great sound! Thankfully, the settings for amp & subwoofer are included in PDF.

Cons: Alpine install instructions were horrid, see above for details. Wiring diagrams should be clearer (pinouts or wire colors or maybe photos). In several places connectors were not unique and could be wrongly connected.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Complete Package of Sound

Richard from Moreno Valley, CA on 8/4/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased with Alpine i207-WRA stereo, SiriusXM tuner, and back up camera.the subwoofer and equalizer fit perfect in my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport. High tech design. I love it! Sound is solid even with top down , no problem. Use the Alpine to control, settings on equalizer.

Pros: Fit, sound, professional design.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound after some troubleshooting

Aaron from Rochester, MI on 4/1/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my 2017 Wrangler (with the base radio head unit) in March 2019 and I am very happy with the sound after some troubleshooting. I started typing up my notes from the install but we just don't get enough characters here in the review section to give you all the details so here's the short version of what I learned: The main harness that came with the first unit I received was defective (crackling in one speaker, too much bass in the 6.5" speakers) . Crutchfield of course took care of me right away sending out an entire second system from which I replaced the main harness and was up and running with great sound. I think the poor sound some complain about may be due to a bad harness. The last issue I had was loud popping when the system was turned on/off. I called Alpine and within 10 seconds the rep said, "Disconnect the blue amp turn on wire, it's not needed and it's causing your issue". You also need to switch the sub "powermode" switch to "SPIN" and voila, popping on startup is gone! Yes it was a 6-8 hour install without the back and forth troubleshooting. As to the cost... there are several complaints out there like "you can get more for the money..." well that may be true but piecing together a system with all of these components (8 speakers, powered 8" sub, amplifier, all brackets, adaptors and wiring) that results in this sound quality and a "hidden" system with no loss of cargo space... Best wishes on that particular endeavor.

Pros: Hidden installation, kit comes with everything required in one package.

Cons: Instructions are lacking and had to place a call to Alpine tech support to resolve the startup poping.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine quality

Cory from P C Beach, FL on 3/14/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything seems to be high quality. Not installed yet but happy with product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 10/16/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speaker system. It is a plug-n-play design, no striping of wires with easy to follow instruction for my daughters 2016 Jeep Unlimited. The item that took me the longest to install was amp wiring to the battery. These new Jeeps are tight with limited space under the hood. Recommend getting a good fishing tool or a good coat hanger to maneuver the wire where you need it. The clarity of the speakers are great with above average bass. Definitely an upgrade to the existing system and compatible with both the factory stock radio and extra connections (plug-n-play) to after-market radios.

Pros: Great Sound, Great bass, Plug-n-play design

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Save the money

Todd from Edison, NJ on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this system to get a solid sound upgrade! Boy an I disappointed. Let me start with the positive. It is beyond easy to install, even for a weekend warrior. Now let's move on to the long list of negatives. 1. The sound quiality is awful. Pitch is way to high. Base is nothing to even really talk about. Yes it's better then the factor but narrowly. 2. Wires from the harness to the amp subwoofer are so flimsy that you will be taking the seat off multiple times to reconnect or soder them on. 3. System pops every time turner on. 4. Tuning the sub and the amp to the instructions will result in serious speaker distortion at about level 27 I could go on and on. Needless to say I am contemplating taking it all back out and sending it back to Apline or selling it just to get rid of the system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/3/2018
: Todd, we're sorry you're disappointed with your system. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Arcadia, OK on 9/30/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound. Mounting brackets worthless for the sub and amp (made my own) but otherwise easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, TN on 9/9/2018

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is awesome! Takes some time to install correctly but totally worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Mike from Bradenton Beach, FL on 9/2/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing. Put this in my 2016 Wrangler. Had to do a little soldering and the subwoofer/amp bracket was challenging to get just right. Really can't complain because the finished product is such a massive improvement from the factory speakers. Thanks Crutchfield for being a great company. Also, hats off to Alpine for making good stuff. Always a pleasure.

Pros: Amazing Sound Relatively easy to install Everything I needed for install arrived with no problems

Cons: Subwoofer/amp bracket can be challenging

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not plug & play

D from Ridgefield, CT on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely Plug & Play EXCEPT: 1. Each of the 4 (four) 6.5" speakers requires an adapter ring be placed on the mounting spots, 2. Each of the tweeters requires an adapter. You need to cut the spades off the adapters. You need to connect the adapters to crossovers. You need to solder and shrink tube the connection. 3. You need to pull the rubber grommet from between the tweeter and 6.5" speaker mounting area in the sound bar which sealed the air space between the two. The grommet can not be replaced. Because the opening in the tweeter is not large enough to accommodate the crossover (neither is the opening from where you removed the rubber grommet) you need to wire the crossovers into the 6.5" speaker space. 4. The front passenger seat needs to be removed (If you have some PB Blaster and a breaker bar - maybe you consider that part of plug & play?) 5. You need to drill out some holes in the metal passenger seat bracket. 6. You need a 2nd person to hold the sub bracket against the seat with pliers because the bracket isn't nearly wide enough. 7. You need a second person to insert the amp bracket between the sub bracket and seat while using pliers to keep the brackets and seat together, because the included M6 screws aren't long enough. Other than that it's plug & play. A day and dozens of tweaks later and the sound is still way off - the highs are way too bright and the mids are entirely muddled. Also - NEVER LEAVE YOUR TOP OFF OR DRAINAGE PLUGS

Pros: Better component speakers.

Cons: See review

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jeep speaker replacement

Gunnar from Moseley, VA on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sounds amazing. It's not a car rattling system but well balanced for all music types.

Pros: Everything is provided and easy to install The system didn't take up any extra space in our Jeep

Cons: A minor inconvenience-For some reason the tweater filters don't have matching connectors. You have to cut and crimp connect or solder

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 2/20/2018

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HUGE sound upgrade from stock 17 Jeep system. Good instructions and videos online made the install a breeze. Had trouble with the sub woofer fit under the seat because the seat rails moved after taking it out of the jeep. Once I figured out that they were off and re-set them evenly it installed as it should. Would have given it 5 stars if I didn't have to do the minor soldering!

Pros: Great sound upgrade

Cons: Time consuming

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 1/4/2018

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds better than the factory Alpine system and was easily installed. Instructions and videos made it easy but took several hours to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unbeatable sound for the price

Brennen from Kailua Kona HI on 8/2/2017

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound system, I decided to move the sub to under the drivers seat(it's perferred to be under passenger in manual. The sub makes all both front seats moves so it's really strong and clear. I have the x109 and at volume level one 1 it's loud. I suggest if you have an aftermarket stereo useing all the rear,front, sub inputs I suggest using the midpoint harness, it works and not have had any problems.

Pros: Sound of course Strong amp and sub Harness is included Everything in the box to install

Cons: Will take all your aftermarket head unit inputs front-back- and sub. Can be time consuming

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine Restyle PSS-21WRA

Pablo from Brooklyn, NY on 7/15/2017

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's expensive, but you pay for the ease of installation and a 1 stop shop of components. Works very well with the stock radio. If you follow the instructions its easy to install and it sounds great. Still would recommend having someone with experience helping.

Pros: Easy installation. Discreet. Good sound quality and clarity at all volumes.

Cons: Cost.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-21WRA

Micah from Westminster, CO on 7/9/2017

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and a great solution for my JKU. The only complaint I have is that the speaker wires in the harness connecting to the amp are thin and brittle. I keep having to take the seat out to reconnect the wires to the amp as the connecting screws chew right through them and they crackle through the speakers when the harness is moved. I am going to purchase some beefy speaker wire and solder them to the harness so the stress point is less affected and hope that resolves the problem. Also, the rear speakers came with some sort of coil or crossover which the instructions said nothing about. They are not like the front speaker crossover that you connect to the tweeter and they are too big to fit in the tweeter cavity inside the rear soundbar, wire end connectors did not look like they match up to anything. Not sure what they are for, again the instructions said nothing about them. Overall (when there is no crackling) they system sounds amazing and the install was pretty straight forward. Good product!

Pros: Great sound, generally plug and play and not too difficult to install.

Cons: Harness wires could be better quality, a couple of the wire connectors could be "more" plug and play (rear tweeters connectors didn't exactly plug into each other). There are either extra parts for the rear speakers or the instructions need to be updated. Spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out what to do with them assuming they must be important...

Crutchfield response on 7/11/2017
Micah, we're sorry you're having crackling issues with your system. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our tech support team. They can either help get the system working the way it should, or possibly return it for an exchange or refund.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Much needed sound

Matt from Bossier City, LA on 6/18/2017

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy and sound great!

Pros: Sounds great and easy to install

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP