Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
643 027 04
Connect ID #
643 027 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Direct-fit complete speaker system for select 2011-18 Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited models

MFR # PSS-22WRA

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Direct-fit complete speaker system for select 2011-18 Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited models

MFR # PSS-22WRA

25 reviews
View this product

Awesome system

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 1/29/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The system sounds great. I paired it with the i207. I had a shop install it, mainly because I didn't really have the time. Instructions were solid though. It sounds super clean and the bass hits really well. I love the seamless Bluetooth or Apple Car Play. Phone calls are crystal clear. Highly recommended. Total game changer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Hitchcock, TX on 12/28/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system Wiring layout and install could use better instructions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rocks

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, IL on 12/6/2020

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds awesome! Pretty easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing upgrade!

Jason from Rogue River, OR on 9/12/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an amazing upgrade from the stock stereo! To comment on the previous complaints: 1. The Alpine instructions are fantastic and walk you through the entire process very clearly. I assume these are newer instructions. 3. The amp settings figure is updated to the correct gain level for the sub. Both amps were set up for factory deck use and no settings needed changed. Take your time and the average person should be able to handle this install just fine. Took the better part of a day (around 6-7 hours). I love how well thought out this system is and is truly plug and play. The sub is amazing and tucks away under the passenger seat. It is very hard to tell that an upgraded system is installed which should deter thieves. The sound is fantastic! I was shocked at how much bass this pumps out. So much so that my bass control is rarely over 1/4 of the way up. Mids and highs are great. Now I want to upgrade the deck to get the best possible performance out of the system. All in all I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this upgrade...well worth the money!

Pros: Plug and play, great instructions, amazing sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the time and money

William from FELTON, DE on 8/30/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is worth the money made a huge difference in sound. I didn't give this 5 stars because of the amp mounting g location . I read the other reviews about tuning the amps before mounting. This is a MUST!! I left the drivers speaker out and the cables for the amps not secured. Mounted rear of the speakers and put the head unit back in. With the amps on the drivers floor I only hooked the sub connections to the head unit. Once the mono amp was tuned I hooked the rear and the one front up. Tuned that amp to prevent any other distortion. Then came the fun part on mounting the amp bracket. All in all not bad about 5 hours and it was done. Only thing I wish I did different is mount the bass knob beside the hazard switch and not by the 4 wheel drive shifter. Sounds great with the top on or off. Worth the money even if you have switched your 6 1/2 out with the kicker. The alpines blow it away

Pros: Sounds great everything came with it no issues

Cons: Amp location

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine Sound System

David from GRAND BLANC, MI on 8/13/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the Alpine PSS-22WRA in my 2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU. Unbelievable sound and performance. Crisp clean sound and amazing base. Clean install and Sub fits under passenger front seat which allows for no negative impact to storage room. You wont be sorry with this sound system upgrade.

Pros: Clean Install Crisp Sound Deep Adjustable Base Sub Under Front Seat

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Mastic Beach, NY on 8/3/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once you adjust the amp gains to your liking, sounds amazing. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that there is a loud pop when you turn the radio on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/24/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install and sounds amazing. The subwoofer under the passenger seat is awesome. Take your time on the install and it's a piece of cake.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Rio Linda, CA on 5/19/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was pretty straight forward. My jeep is a manual so it took a little longer to figure out where to mount the amps. I used zip ties to mount them under the steering wheel. The system sounds incredible compared to the stock system. Make sure to tune the amps before putting everything back together.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: Alpines instructions are horrible.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

james from MARLTON on 5/9/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took about 6 hours to install. Very happy with the system. I think all it needs is a capacitor for the amp, lost power a couple times with some heavy bass songs. And the connector to the back of the stock radio is tight, make sure you push it in till it clicks.

Pros: Easy install, no cutting.

Cons: Bass ran out of power

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness cable to connect head unit not tight

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 4/6/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've wished I could know the problem since the beginning. I completed my installation per manual but after a week my speaker started to sound like cockroaches and one side did not worked. I had to dissemble the dash again and check cables, I blow everything out thinking about it was dust or something. I assembled everything back again and after 2 weeks I started to have the same problem. So I'm tired now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Hilton Head, SC on 3/13/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Sounds great. Highly recommended!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound once amps are properly tuned.

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 12/29/2019

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great sound once properly tuned. Do not follow Alpine's instructions. Amps need tuned before installation. Also amp setting instructions leave you with no bass at all. Alpine has updated instructions on their website that do work.

Pros: Great sound, easy installation.

Cons: Alpine's instructions are horrible. Amps need tuned prior to installation in vehicle or you will have to remove them, tune them, & reinstall them.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 12/19/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, I'm so happy I bought this system. The bass is perfect and it's a clear upgrade from whatever Jeep thought was a good choice for their system. I thought about installing it myself so I wouldn't have to shell out a couple hundred more dollars but ultimately I decided to get it done professionally as most of the bad reviews here are from people who have done it themselves and did something wrong or overlooked a step. It might be a plug and play but you should 100% have some mechanical experience before just jumping into it. So I got someone with experience and it was a good choice, it's a perfect system for wrangler fanatics.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

hopefully a warning was added after this review

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 9/9/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product came less than a week. Quality and package checks outs good. Instructions were the bare basics on what to do; someone with experience will figure it out. Was almost true about plug and play. My wrangler is a 2017, manual. As of writing this, there is no warning at all online saying that this set up is not compatible with a manual trans. It says its not compatible on the instructions when we already have it in our hands tho. All the speakers and the sub fits like how it normally does, but the amps cant go in the spot described in the instructions because my clutch pedal is in the way. With the way the slimy main harness is set up and how the bracket is formed holding the two amps, it was a bit of a challenge find a spot to HIDE it all, but we managed to get it to work, yet giving us way more time to install. Also the sub wouldn't fit properly so I had to dig up the carpet to move factory wires over to give scoot the sub up to fully put the seat down bass bumps pretty great actually, you could feel it, and the sound is obviously more clear than the factory. had no issues with installing the speakers, was a bit satisfied, but had to take a lot of time to gather and fabricate after spending nearly 2 racks on a "plug and play, but you're playing tetris with the amps to accustom the slimy harness and keep it all hidden, if you have a clutch pedal". I would've rated 1 star for the amount of disappointment of "direct fit" and damage for drilling in car. but it b

Pros: will work if everything is plugged in properly. bass is adjustable and can vibrate vehicle. plug and play is true w/out clutch pedal. came quickly. used factory wiring.

Cons: if you have a manual, you will spend time on making it fit in the vehicle to keep it hidden, main harness doesnt give you much to work with. main harness also came very slimy, not sticky, slimy. may have been warmed for awhile in box; it was everywhere and gross. amp does not come with any adjuster knobs or switches as described online, only one knob for loudness of bass says zipties were included, yet no zipties were found :( did not say it wont fit manual wrangs, hopefully that c

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Crutchfield customer from Roque Bluffs, ME on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loud and clear, this system sounds GREAT in my 2014 JK!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Frustration install but worth it.

Benjamin A from Evanston, WY on 8/11/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was optimistic about the installation despite other reviews i had read, particularly in regard to the subwoofer/amp installation and setup. I spent probably 2 hours carefully removing the dash panels/gauges/radio/seat etc. (using Crutchfield's instructions since Alpines were very difficult to follow - diagrams where horrible), and installing the wiring harness (which seemed to be wrapped with cloth tape... upside-down so it was extremely gooey and sticky), and all speakers. Long story short, the next 4 hours were spent removing the installed amps from under the dash, turning the gain up (alpine suggest turning the sub amp gain all the way down but thats got to be a mistake - I turned it all the way up), checking continuity and voltages on both amp and sub because it was not working at all, only to finally get frustrated enough to pull the radio out, unplug every connection, blow them out randomly (like maybe there was a small spec of dust in one of them?), plug them all back in.... yanked, tugged, and pulled on the wiring harness (just short of hitting it with a hammer), re-assembled harness and radio... then like magic it finally worked. I adjust everything to my liking and spent just about another hour putting the Jeep back together. Aside from all of that trouble, frustration, and time wasted (small sacrifice) the result was unbelievable (sub is perfectly adjustable with the knob). The system is perfect in my opinion (top on or off). I recommend ***** 5 st

Pros: Great punch with the top on or off. Once the sub amp it properly set you all all the power you need. perfect fit - no need for any modification - plug n play weather resistant

Cons: Install instructions from Alpine were almost worthless Amp for the sub improperly set up (GAIN) The amps were already installed on the bracket and there was no way (without removing them from the bracket) to tell them apart and the harness plugs are identical

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound, Bad Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Howards Grove, WI on 7/10/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivery was quick (it included some extra clips in a separate box that I never used). Installation took longer than I thought it would, but part of that was on my inexperience. Have one big complaint, not Crutchfield's issue really, but Alpines. I followed the instructions that came inside the Alpine package exactly, including the amp settings 'for best performance set amplifier and subwoofer to recommended settings as shown'. After I had put everything back together, turned on the radio (factory), I had very little bass, very disappointing. Felt I had followed the instructions perfectly. Called Alpine tech for help, described my experience, and got the following reply: 'Oh, is that still in the package? We know the instructions are wrong for the amp settings. Go back and turn up the Gain'. Unbelievable!! They knowingly let people like me use bad instructions and not go in and fix them!! So after tearing apart the dash again, removing the driver speaker and fishing out the amps, I took the covers off and played with the settings until I thought it sounded good, then put everything back together, again (a couple hours wasted). The good news is that the system sounds great (even with the factory 130 unit, depending on the source). It was nice to have everything made specifically for the Wrangler, no messing around with fit.

Pros: Ease of installation, Sound

Cons: Instructions for amp settings that Alpine knows is wrong, but hasn't fixed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hell yes

Jonny from Ft Worth, TX on 6/26/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I efin love it. I've been building systems and piecing them together for every vehicle I've ever owned. I use to have 2 15" subs in my Tahoe pushing 2300 watts rms. I was very skeptical from the reviews and that's why I'm taking the time to write one. This system is absolutely perfect in my opinion. Great sound surprisingly good bass for the size. It took me about 2.5 hours from start to finish and I love it. It was worth every penny. I would recommend adjusting your amps before installing them. I listen to all types of music so I tested and adjusted a couple times before closing everything up. If you love music and your Jeep doesn't already have the alpine upgrade you should get it. You won't regret it.

Pros: Amazing sound. Complete plug and play

Cons: Directions do suck

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Out of the Park!!!

Crutchfield customer from Alamosa, CO on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alpine hit it out of the park!!! It doesn't matter what music you listen too, you will be shocked at the Sound coming from your Jeep.

Pros: Unbelievable sound quality that begs for you to take the top of of your Jeep.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awsome sound, deep bass!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 4/30/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You will definitely want to take your time with this install. I consider myself pretty handy, this install took me a good 8 hours. I have also never installed any car audio equipment. Other reviews online said their subwoofer wouldn't work and when I finished mine, I couldn't get mine to work either! After a little research I decided to take the amps out and adjusted the subwoofer settings and it worked perfectly! There is potential to bend and crimp the wires so you really need to plan your cable routes carefully especially when putting your jeep back together. It would also be beneficial if you had a second person to help you with your passenger seat removal and subwoofer placement. I was able to do the entire install by myself but it did get frustrating. I also suggest you use the 3db wires for your tweeters (comes with the tweeters) as the bass from the woofers can be powerful. The subwoofer really packs a nice punch for only 10". The sound is amazing! Nice deep bass and loud, nicely constructed and truly a plug and play system. No drilling or cutting required on my 2018 JK. Definitely worth the price and time!

Pros: Plug and play Deep bass Completely hidden install Loud DIY Great system for the price

Cons: Time consuming Directions can be hard to decipher

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome Product-Terrible Instructions

#PRIM8TEJK8 from Oak Harbor, WA on 3/24/2019

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't let the bad reviews that are on a few sites fool you. This is a great product. The install instructions are absolutely terrible, but the end result is worth it. Before installing the amps you will need to run all of the wiring and hook up all of the speakers so you can adjust the amps. You cannot make adjustments once the amps are mounted. You will need to mount the amps after removing the front left speaker. The mounting location is direct behind it. The bolt heads will be facing the driver's seat so you cannot install the amps with the left speaker box installed. Also, do not start putting anything back together until the entire install is complete. You will end up backtracking multiple times. I suggest upgrading the head unit along with this system as well. It will improve the overall sound quite a bit and give you better ability to make adjustments after install. I wouldn't call it a competition system, but it's all the bass and sound clarity I would ever put in a wrangler. (See picture to save a ton of time trying to figure out amp mounting)

Pros: Great sound, good thumping bass, weather resistant, clean factory look, factory plug-and-play ready, remote bass knob, sub hides under passenger seat, and does not take up any storage space.

Cons: Terrible Install Instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Huge Improvement over stock

Alan from Corydon, IN on 3/8/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, but the instructions are pretty bad, and the suggested amplifier settings in the instructions did not work for me. The setting suggested on the mono amp would put out absolutely no signal to the sub. Then the suggested audio settings for the radio made the sub sound very weak. The 4 channel amp settings made the component speakers sound weak and flat with the filters on. Once I adjusted everything with the I207 WRA I installed at the same time, it sounds awesome. Don't expect teeth rattling bass, but it is definetly a great, full rounded sounding system.

Pros: Clean install, great sound

Cons: poor instruction, you have to drill a hole in the center console for the remote bass knob, can be tricky installing the amps

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Average Alpine

Ted from Spokane, WA on 2/18/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've waited nearly a year for Alpine to ship this product because on paper, it looks like the perfect upgrade for my Wrangler. Finally, a Crutchfield had it in stock and I ordered in with great anticipation. The installation was harder than what was indicated. The instructions are very week when it comes to the amplifier placement and where these need to be mounted. Plus getting the amps in is a pain! In all, probably close to 10 hours just to get this installed. Crutchfield was very willing to help. However, this was such a new product that the technicians were of minimal help. I ended up going to my local Alpine dealer to finish the installation and get it sounding good. The sound quality is definitely better than the factory stereo. But if I had to do it over, I'd probably look at other amplifier options. The sub is average and sounds like it's under powered. The speakers are also average but better than the sub. One reason to go with this setup is the water proofing. But I'd probably look at marine grade stereos next time. Overall, I gave it 3 stars. I took one start away for the installation difficulty and gaps in instructions. I took a second star away since the sub is just average. I wish I could say better things as I'm a big alpine fan.

Pros: Water proof Made specifically for Jeep Wrangler Complete package with wiring harness

Cons: Had to wait for nearly a year for Alpine to ship Average sub with no real kick to a 10" bass A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine PSS-22WRA

Ryan from Orlanod, FL on 1/17/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a huge difference in sound! Took around 6 hours to install. Was painful at times getting the front speakers installed and getting the amps installed under the dash behind the steering wheel. Great how everything is hidden and waterproof! The sound is great parked, and driving down the turnpike with the top off, the highs and the lows are all fantastic. Well worth purchasing this system if you have the non-alpine system in your Jeep. Have a slight issue with the sub and controls, still not working, but Crutchfield is replacing the parts at no extra cost, just have to take out the middle panel and passenger seat again to re-install. Another reason to purchase from here, is that they stand by the products and great help! Can't say enough how great it is to drive with this system installed. It isn't going to annoy the neighbors, and yet, has plenty of bass, and high end tweets... the sound is phenomenal compared to what came from the factory!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP