Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
286 696 04
Connect ID #
286 696 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Compact powered subwoofer designed for 2011-up Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited models

MFR # PWE-S8-WRA

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Compact powered subwoofer designed for 2011-up Jeep Wrangler JK Unlimited models

MFR # PWE-S8-WRA

19 reviews
View this product

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this kit. I have the standard factory stereo and it was not very loud. The Alpine pwe-s8 really adds sound! Installation was pretty easy. I didn't have to call tech support. Took about an hour and a half. But also I did some cleaning while I had the seat out. The price: I think it is a lot of money. For this price you probably could build something louder/better. But considering you don't have to give up any valuable space in the Jeep and the easy installation/setup I think the pwe-s8 is worth every penny.

Pros: Easy clean installation

Cons: $$

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Ft Leavnwrth, KS on 6/24/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love our wiifer, but installation instructions were minimal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good bass but not really designed well to go under a seat. If you want just enough bass to sound decent don't get this. It makes for an uncomfortable ride because it shakes your whole bottom while driving. Definitely should have invested in the sub that installs in the rear.

Pros: Good bass

Cons: Shakes your seat so bad while driving and cannot turn down to a low level to actual even hear or feel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a Bass in a Jeep...

Mark from Omaha, NE on 4/20/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a decent bass solution for a Jeep - though a little expensive. Didn't want to have something in the back pointing out, sideways or down. The install was simple, but took a little time having to take the seat out as well as the radio. The bass sound is effective, but that is grading on a scale bc it is in a Jeep which isn't designed for acoustics. The sound isn't as warm or full cabin as my other cars. And if you turn it up loud you really notice the seat vibrating - not just on your butt, but your back - which feels kind of gimmicky and distracting. I have other vehicles that have subs under the seats and none of them come close to the vibration you get out of this unit. I wish there was a better mounting system that got it a little farther away from the bottom of the seat. I have an aftermarket radio - Sony XAV 100 and kicker speakers. That said, I'm satisfied with the unit and found a happy medium of warmth vs vibration. If you want to have some fun with it, do the install, turn the bass knob all the way up, have your spouse sit in the seat and play "Sorry" by Demi Lavato. You'll get the eye-roll of the year when the bass kicks in...

Pros: Good range for bass Easy Install with adapters

Cons: Noticeable vibration on seat Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 1/22/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and add some much needed boom to the Jeep!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth every penny.

John from Midlothian, VA on 1/18/2018

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound...love the bass control knob. Fits perfect on Jeep Wranglers. Be aware that there is certainly some effort involved in installing: removing seat, removing factory plates, figuring the alignment of new brackets, and routing cables under carpet. But in the end certainly worth the effort.

Pros: Under seat, takes little space. Easy hookup at dash. Factory like fit. Great sound for its size.

Cons: Time consuming install.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 12/19/2017

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The single greatest sound upgrade I've made to my Jeep. Really makes everything sound so much better. I highly recommend. Easy install!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine is the best

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MA on 10/5/2017

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the unit installed professionally and it sounds great! This sub is more than enough bass for my 2013 JKU Wrangler. I was considering getting a cheaper subwoofer amp combo but I am extremely happy with the alpine especially since it fits into the seat and is off the floor just in case my jeep gets wet with the top off. I can turn it up and make the mirrors shake or turn it down and have a nice balanced sound. If you are considering this for a jeep don't waste time buy.

Pros: Great sound Hard hitting bass Great fit

Cons: A little pricey for the custom mounts but you get what you pay for. No complaints

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy Bass!

Bob from Grand Junction, CO on 8/10/2017

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an extremely easy way to add some much need bass to my Wrangler. Basic tools and mechanical knowledge is all you need.

Pros: Very easy install, if you are able to remove your front seat by yourself.

Cons: A little pricey, but not too bad considering the engineering that went into to it to make it plug and play.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Bill from Forest Hill MD on 7/11/2017

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install..good directions...much needed bass to my stock head unit..

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 6/5/2017

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Alpine was very easy to install and being mounted to the under side of the drivers seat keeps it hidden and off the floor so weather won't affect it. The performance and sound is outstanding, especially for the size. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Big sound, small profile

Damian from Clearwater,FL on 5/16/2017

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed easily. This thing hits way harder than I ever thought it would. I have to turn it down to less than half way most of the time. Fits perfectly under my driver seat in my 2016 jeep wrangler.

Pros: Small, easily concealed, brackets keep it secured in place and off the floor, sounds great!

Cons: A little pricey. There are other alpine subs that arr very similar without the brackets for much less money

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The missing piece for your stock system...perhaps.

Badger from Spangdahlem, Germany on 5/9/2017

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way more powerful than I thought it would be! Lots of boom for something so small. Class D amps with quality speakers will do that for you. The stock system is missing the bass which is included in the alpine package option. The only downside will be if you don't enjoy a vibrating seat(your sitting right above the woofer). If you vehicle's sound needs balancing, I suggest buying some aftermarket components. The factory ones aren't too terrible but can sound a little off with the new subwoofer. If you just wanted a little more bass, this might not be for you either. The bass level is much higher than a typical small shallow subwoofer. It's clean, filling, and just right for me though. I'm used to the vibrations from previous installs in other vehicles. Make sure you have the proper tools before installing. Tight fits prevent higher mounted sockets from reaching under the seat. The seat takes some time if you don't have power tools to muscles out the bolts. The drill is necessary to widen the brackets. You can mess things up if you try and force stuff(screws) down there. Check the pros and cons. It may or may not be what you are looking for. At least people won't be able to see where the bass is coming from!

Pros: Class D amplifier High performance/great sound for a smaller subwoofer No wire cutting/splicing

Cons: Seat vibrates at higher levels at operation Drill and other tools are needed for seat removal/install

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine PWE-S8-WRA

Lee from Hyattsville, MD on 4/9/2017

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So disappointed. This system almost killed my speakers. Very distorted. The technician was never able to balance the sound so it wouldn't rattle my speakers. Not to mention the very uncomfortable vibrations under the seat. Maybe for a person who appreciates a lot of rumble.

Pros: Compact.

Cons: Price! If not toned and balanced appropriately you will damage your speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Good sound, but....

Kurt from Cedar Park, TX on 3/30/2017

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and the wiring harness couldn't be more plug an play. Loses one star because the mounting bracket is not directly compatible with the 2017 seat. I had to drill new holes in order to mount them to the seat frame.

Pros: Good sound in a small package, wiring harness is perfectly plug and play.

Cons: Says it is for 2011 and up but I had to drill the brackets to mount the sub under the seat.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing bass

Tom from Warwick, NY on 2/21/2017

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading the other reviews on hereon your site I decided to give this powered sub a shot. Well it amazed me, it fits perfectly under the seat in my new Rubicon and sounds amazing. This little bundle packs a heck of a punch. Thanks everyone at Crutchfield. I've been buying equipment from you for about 20 years and I have never been disappointed. All the staff are awesome and will help me with any issue 100%. Great Job !!!!!!

Pros: you always get everything you need

Cons: really none , just be patient and follow the directions, this will take a little more time than the average sub install, seat must be removed, but it works like a charm!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice "hidden" sub option. Great sound for a small unit.

Jeremy from Martinsburg, WV on 2/19/2017

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What swayed me to replace a nice compact powered sub I had under my driver's seat with this Alpine was the custom Wrangler JKU specific brackets that mount the sub up off the floor between the seat rails and still enable you to pull the carpet easily should it get damp and you need to remove it. :) It's a Jeep thing. I'm impressed with the "overall package" this is. The sub mounting brackets are spot on, and a precise fit between the seat rails. It leaves several inches of space between the sub and the floor of the Jeep. The included wiring harness is very nice. If you're planning on running RCA's back to your sub from an aftermarket H/U, you'll have to run a remote turn on lead from the H/U back to the sub as well, but there is already a 6" or so remote turn on lead "pigtail" coming from the end of the harness that plugs into the sub to connect to. Sound quality and output of the sub is impressive for a compact unit. I'm still "dialing things in" with my sound settings, but the secure mount to the seat frame ties the sub into the structure of the Jeep well and an impressive amount of low resonance is felt coming from one 8" sub in a very small box. In a nutshell, If you're looking for a sub of this nature, it's money well spent. Easy integration for a factory system that doesn't presently have a sub or to an aftermarket system where you don't want a sub box taking up any space in your cargo area and/or want a sub that's "out of sight" for security reasons.

Pros: Sound quality. small size. Custom Jeep JKU specific harness and mounting brackets.

Cons: None really. Install may be a little more "involved" than some want (removal of seat to mount sub between seat rails), but is by no means hard. But it's well worth it for the final outcome.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great bump for the lump

Crutchfield customer from Caruthersville, MO on 2/11/2017

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dynamite in a small package. This thing is impressive. I had to drill out the holes larger than the instructions indicated as well as drill out 2 holes on the opposite rail but it's still a relatively clean install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Game Changer

Mark from Portland, OR on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GAME CHANGER ! This slim underseat mounted subwoofer has made the ordinary extraordinary. I didn't have very high expectations of a small sub that appeared from the stats to be running with less power than its competition, but I am blown away by the performance. The reason I chose the Alpine PWE-S8 was for the Jeep Wrangler specific model PWE-S8_WRA that is a plug and play setup that has custom fabricated mounts that attach the seat bracket and not on the floor. This keeps the unit out of harms way if your jeep gets wet off road or unintentionally left out in the rain topless. Also, the t-harness that connects to the factory stereo also means no splicing of speaker wires or wiring through the firewall for battery power. That is what sold me. Between the easy installation and the exceptional instructions provided by Crutchfield I had this installed and running in just over an hour, including the seat removal and re-installation. What made me write the review though is the amount of bass this unit puts out and how well it compliments the factory stereo with kicker dash and soundbar speakers in my 2015 Jeep. With the sub mounted to your seat, the sound and resonance is directly transferred with the driver receiving the direct benefit. The best benefit is the great sound without shaking the cars next to you and drawing attention to your topless vehicle you are about to leave unattended in the parking lot as you shop, see a movie, eat dinner, or whatever. This is a 9 month update from my first Game Changer review. Less than 6 months in I noticed less punch from the sub. This was due to a failure in the door side bracket that left the unit hanging from the console side bracket and bouncing around. Crutchfield warranties the product immediately and supplied the best customer service I have seen in a long time. The new bracket was to me in less than 3 days. Once installed the punch was back as the unit was securely mounted to the seat. This solid connection makes a ton of difference. However, 2 months later it started to rattle something fierce. After close inspection, the replacement bracket was failing again, cracked at the front mount of the door side, and within a week of turning the gain way down to effectively turn off the sub , the rear mount of the door side bracket failed as well causing the unit to hang like it did the first time the original bracket failed. Not wanting to bug Crutchfield again, I went directly to Alpine, who promptly and rudely told me that I was the only person having this problem and that I screwed it in too tight or otherwise forced the installation. I don't know how this would be possible as the install was super easy with everything lining up, and that the manual screwdriver I used to mount the bracket couldn't possibly result in overtightening the 4 Philip head screws involved. The stamped steel bracket cracked in the same spot on both brackets. Poor engineering or inferior steel

Pros: Great Sound, Easy Install, Remote gain switch, Makes Factory Radio not only acceptable but exceptional.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP