Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
931 552 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
931 552 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine R-W12D2

R-Series 12" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # R-W12D2

Alpine R-W12D2

Alpine R-W12D2

R-Series 12" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # R-W12D2

14 reviews
View this product

Loud bass

Mike from west jordan on 1/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been into building car audio systems since 1985. I had a friend ask me to build him a box for his car for his new alpine type R 12" subs. I did a dual ported box with separate chambers at max air volume from alpine. WOW I was very impressed. I now have a pair of 12" alpine type R in a prefab box in the wife's car and I can't believe how awesome and accurate they are. I will buying more of them.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best type R,s yet.

Shawn from Santa Cruz, CA on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best subwoofer in its class,these generation 6,s are amazing.I am running 2 with an alpine MRX-M240 2400 watts @2 ohms.Recamend streaming high quality music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nick Potter

Nicholas from Whitney Point, NY on 7/6/2019

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sub. Iv owned many sets of them over the years. Always my go too. Hammers like a champ with wicked clean tone

Pros:

Cons: Nick Potter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Beaver Dam, WI on 3/30/2019

2015 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Great

Jim from Central IL on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am still breaking them in but, these subs are very natural sounding. They can handle a lot of power but it isn't necessary. I am running 300w ea. and it is plenty. It's a beautiful sounding sub for the money.

Pros: Uses little air space. Natural sound.

Cons: That I waited this long to buy them.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Clean

Timmy from Soldotna, AK on 9/23/2018

2006 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good, sounds clean, still breaking in the sound coils but soo far soo good!

Pros: Clear, Deep, and Loud

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Hardest hitting

Mike from Festus, MO on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best subs i have ever owned and crutchfield had the best price out of everyone

Pros: Great price point Great sound Deep bass

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pounding bass

Aleks from Gardena, CA on 8/14/2018

2017 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably one of the best subwoofers out there!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from El Portal, FL on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofers with lots of power. I highly recommend.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ground pounders

James from CONCORD, AR on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of these in a dodge intrepid. They pound so hard and sound so precise. A little muddy, but I think that is more my box than my amp.

Pros: Precise, hard hitting, handle power like a champ.

Cons: Power hungry.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these subs. Been wanting them for years and when my JLW3's fell apart it was time to get the R's. First time I listened to them was pure joy. They sound better than the JL's and will take a pounding. Running 2 D2's at 2ohms on JL 1000w amp. Crossed at 80hz in a vented box. BOOM!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers well worth the price and fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

For the price nobody else builds a sub that can even come close

Jesse from Springville, UT In The great USA on 9/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought my first type R when they where first introduced, only had owned alpine head units before that. Witch are incredible units as well BTW. the type R sub was no different, in its price range no other manufacturers Subs even comparison nor match and without a doubt never exceed the type R. Because I tried them All and cooked every single one of them then moving on to the next. That is until I got my first type R and it lasted me so long I had cars ware out on me faster than that alpine sub, three cars to be exact. And I am very hard on both cars and subs it finally gave out on me in 2016 after four years of lots of abuse and maybe a little bit of my hearing loss ( always listen responsibly folks ) The SPL is amazing The sound quality even better. I have always been a 2 even 4 sub kinda guy but just one does an absolutely beautiful job no joke, no need for more in my case. Set it up right with the correct amp proper install and never ever skimp on the enclosure it matters more than you would ever think. and don't completely thrash on it and you can't go wrong with this sub worth every single penny over the cheaper subs. I have even Owned some of the really expensive subs vocals, dynaudio but I still absolutely love my type R

Pros: Amazing sound with any type of music, sound you can feel and still hear it as the artist intended it too.

Cons: I honestly can't think of Any

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 15 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Guest from Ft Wayne, IN on 8/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sub is awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

TOP