Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
327 028 04
Connect ID #
327 028 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Alpine SWR-8D4

Type-R 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-8D4

Alpine SWR-8D4

Alpine SWR-8D4

Type-R 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # SWR-8D4

23 reviews
View this product

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, GA on 2/3/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from San Bruno, CA on 1/3/2021

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact powerful sub. Thought it would not be enough in the factory position of my 02 Tahoe, but it definitely was.

Pros: Great sound Very powerful for it's size

Cons: Cant think of any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Michael from Newport News. VA on 11/25/2020

2018 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have one installed in a 2018 Dodge Caravan GT. I installed in the factory box with a custom built spacing ring to add enough depth to the box. Powered with an Audio Control ACM 1.300 amp. Thoroughly impressed to say the least. This combo hits hard and deep, especially for a single sub, and will satisfy most applications. Worth every penny and I would not hesitate to use the same combo in future applications.

Pros: Value, Sound quality, deep and rich bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker for Civic Type R

Aaron from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as a Scratch and Dent item, So far so good. Installed this last night along with Rockfordfosgate R2-500x1 amp and LC2i wired to my factory amp's sub output. Couldn't find one thing wrong with the speaker, didn't look brand spankin new, but had no cosmetic damage at all, just box was used. Speaker sounds amazing, wired it in parallel to get a 2ohm load. Installed in my Civic Type R, great speaker for this car. I installed it using factory sub enclosure and had to add a 0.75inch spacer ring to account for added depth and mounting holes are 195mm versus about 205 on stock enclosure. Added polyfil to inside of enclosure and added sound deadning material to outside as well as foam to areas around the enclosure.

Pros: Small in terms of diameter. Just loud enough to provide great sound but not so loud that it rattles everything in car, you get a little bit of seat vibration which is nice. Matches my Type R. Easy to wire

Cons: For using stock enclosure, mounting holes are different distance than stock, needed a spacer anyway so no big deal. No mounting screws provided at least for me.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Lanham, MD on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for small spaces. Ample punch in my Harley bags

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All I can say is WOW!

Shaun from Ohio on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace an Alpine S-W8D4 8" that I install in the OEM enclosure of my 4Runner. Great sound after break-in period and is powered by my Alpine PDR-V75, but I needed a little more. I didn't go this route originally because Crutchfield says it doesn't fit, so I did the math and purchased a .25 inch spacer from Amazon. Also, Polyfil and sounder dampener from Parts Express and BANG. It sounds like a 12 inch in a ported box-crazy loud and clean bass for days!!!

Pros: Power handling Rather shallow for the output

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Dwight, NE on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded good for a minute before I blew it. I had to much power running to it. In my opinion these are questionable because I had a less rms rated speaker with the same ohms that lasted at least 6 months before it blew. With the correct amp these might be a 5 star

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

All you need

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, KY on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Two of these with two 500 watt alpine mono amp in a hatchback killlls!

Pros: Does not sound small

Cons: Small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, TN on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker! Clean and loud! Definitely recommend for anyone looking for an *" Sub!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

WOW

Crutchfield customer from Granbury, TX on 7/15/2019

2018 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow best 8 on the market. I had a JL before this and it was very nice but this one has a cleaner bass than the JL. Actually broke a brand new box already need a pro box for sure

Pros: Small but powerful Price Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Type R for Ridiculous

Joe from Aliso Viejo, CA on 3/26/2019

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought two of these and put them on a jl 600.1 in a ported box tuned to 37hz and was I shocked. Tight, accurate, low bass even for a speaker this size. Don't take up much space either. Recommend these for someone who wants compact set up with massive sound!

Pros: Size, deep bass, low power, accurate, look nice

Cons: None buy them lol

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Pottstown, PA on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Love it. Sounds great. Perfect amount of sound for my extended cab truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Muhannah from Louisiana on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things rock.

Pros: Quality subwoofers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Unbelievable

William from Virginia on 10/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had many subs in.my years. Never top end, just value based. 10s, 12s, 15s etc. I.picked up two of these Alpine type R 8s, thought one day I'd find a use for them. I wanted bass in my trunk, but didn't want something gaudy or huge. I built the box sealed, maybe 1.5 cu.ft. subtracting sub space. Absolutely blown away. No way a pair of 8s sound this good. Highly recommended. Wish I could add a pic.

Pros: Big sound in small package

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Alpine SWR-8D4

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thoroughly impressed by this 8" sub. It sounds great for all types of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Type r 8 sub

Erckster from Sacramento Ca. on 7/1/2016

2004 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

Wildcatfan from Paducah, KY on 6/28/2016

2003 Mazda Protege5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best 8" speakers I have ever heard. I swapped 2 12" kickers for these and I am blown away. The sound quality is second to non. I hear better bass, and get such a better response a lower volumes than I did with the kickers. I can listen to music and hear it as it was Intended rather than just boom boom boom... I wish I would have found these sooner. They will not move the air around at sub 35 hrtz lime 12s will, but the sound quality more than make up for that. I placed them in a ported labrynth box running 600 watts to them. I love them.

Pros: Sound quality, ease of use, look nice

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 18 found this helpful

Small but big kick

Crutchfield customer from Methuen, Ma on 5/2/2016

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works better then i thought awsome sound

Pros: Loud

Cons: Na

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Little subs big bass

Liftme97 from Bucks county Pennsylvania on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never go by reviews because I know there is companies that pay people to do them.. I will tell you this, the review o will give is not fake.. These subs bring ridiculous bass to my 08 corvette.. Definitely recommend these subs.. Thanks to Crutchfield professionals recommending these to me..

Pros: Little space big bass

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

9 of 14 found this helpful

Small for Big Sound

Cartunes Unlimited from Texas on 7/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little subwoofer packs a BIG punch. I built the smallest enclosure possible for the speaker and it works great. People can't believe it's an eight inch woofer, they think it's a twelve.

Pros: Small enclosure!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Alpine woofer

Bob from Pasadena M.D. on 2/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it in 20 minutes and sounds great

Pros: Awesome sounds

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Sub

John H. from Norton Ohio on 12/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality easy hook up

Pros: Good for the price

Cons: No face plate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Alpine 8" Type R sub

DBooya from Vancouver Island, BC on 8/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm guessing these haven't broken in yet as they don't give the sound I was expecting for a top quality sub, as far as Alpine sells it. Mind you, I'm running these along with a pair SWS15D4. The 15s make sound like the 8s are along for the ride, even though I've got them crossed to play different ranges. Overall, not bad, but can't say that any extra cash for Type R is money well spent.

Pros: Easy install, cast basket

Cons: FInish shows evidence of 'assembly line' finish quality.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 36 found this helpful

TOP