Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
406 917 43
Connect ID #
406 917 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TXNR696

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TXNR696

12 reviews
View this product

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got a great deal on this unit. Selected it because it has a secondary pair of speaker outputs that play from a separate source than the main outputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

finally

john from Wilkes Barre, PA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tried ..3 different recievers and the 696 was the one i keep ..other receivers got hot, a went into thermal protection mode..the 696 plays loud all day ! crutchfield is by far the best company i have EVER dealt with and the only one i will use from now on !!

Pros: good heat sinks and or fan

Cons: funky EQ..still tweeking the sound..

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Onkyo's have yet to let me down. They are reliable and get the job done. The options to configure my set up are straight forward and easy to use but allow for everything I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great receiver, network security issues

Matt from North Little Rock, AR on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver, but be aware that it runs an Onkyo version of Linux and my Bitdefender/NETGEAR Armor software flagged four unresolved security risks. I've updated all the firmware I can but the fixes aren't there. If you don't use the Chromecast or network features, you can just unplug the ethernet or kick it off your wireless network. But Onkyo needs to address the issues and push out some new firmware updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 20 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to set up. I came from a 2006 model and it's nice how far along they have come.

Pros: Bluetooth, on screen display....

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Just great everything wow

Pedro from Gwynn Oak, MD on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the onkyo 4k receiver it work very well with my sony x800e and I can play all my 4k movie in Dolby atmos and dts x and I work very well for movie and music just wow wow

Pros: Its just so prefect and it does the job its supposed to do

Cons: There no cons

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696 (2019 model)

Crutchfield customer from Kapaa, HI on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup. sounds exceptional

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 18 found this helpful

A very good product

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, MO on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this receiver in use for around 3 weeks at this point and feel like I can now provide my opinion of it. We use it for 7.1 surround sound primarily in our TV room. I really really like it and it can provide great channel definition. It was easy to set up, pretty intuitive and not hard to adjust. The results of auto audio balancing with the remote mic on a tripod were okay to good, but not perfect. The center channel speaker was very often way to soft and needed further adjusting but I got it right on the money via the online IO&M. I haven't yet figured out yet if I can program it to Cable box mode when it is initially turned on but hey, that is what Crutchfield's service line is for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfld Hls, MI on 10/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit, like the last 3 three Onkyo A/V units I have owned. The last one lasted 8 years before breaking down. Still learning how to use features. Only disappointment is that the built in Chromecast is audio only....doesn't say that anywhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound! Easy to setup but all the bells and whistles fall short.

Crutchfield customer from Montoursville, PA on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver's sounds is great. Setup was pretty easy. I was excited for the chromecast ability however it only will cast audio, no video! Kind of wish I had known that I probably would have gone for a different model. Also, the "App" you can download to control it is absolute garbage. It doesn't remember your settings it switches to demo mode constantly and does not do anything productive.

Pros: Easy Setup Great Sound

Cons: App is horrible Chromecast is audio only Once you use Chromecast once it takes over the remote so beware!

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

ONKYO TX-NR696 great mid price avr

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Onkyo TX-NR696 is a excellent AVR... Wanted to wait a month to post a review and see if i would experience any trouble. So far no problems and really love this avr. I wanted a avr that was straight forward and easy to set up and fine tune. This fits the bill! This avr has alot of power and with my Polk speakers in which the set up is for 7.1 system both movies and audio mainly vinyl and CD's my man cave ROCKS! What i really love is the sound fields this machine has to offer including THX select. Also updates are easy to install via memory stick for best results and the menu is easy to navigate . There are alot of other features on this machine in which i'm sure they would be nice but not interested to use as of now. For the $ and the quality Onkyo has put into this mid price avr ''in which there are a hell of alot of them out there'' can't see anything wrong with my purchase.......

Pros: great performance

Cons: would be nice if the remote was refined ...ex.... number pads a little bigger and include a light..... Other than that n/p

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

CARLOS from Dallas, TX on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT AND WAS EASY TO SET UP AND ROCKS A KLIPSCH 300W SUB, 2 BOSE 10.2'S, 2 POLK BOOKSHELF'S AND A CENTER W TWO BOSE 161'S ON REAR HANGING ON CEILING. SOUNDS LIKE A BAR!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Pros: GREAT PRICE FOR ALL IT HAS

Cons: NADA

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

TOP