Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
211 492 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
211 492 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz CD5005

Single-disc CD player

MFR # CD5005

Marantz CD5005

Marantz CD5005

Single-disc CD player

MFR # CD5005

49 reviews
View this product

Performs as advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound Quality is amazing! Paired with my Martin Logan's, it's how music should always sound....much better than MP3's. With everyone big on vinyl, I really appreciate the nostalgia and sound quality of a CD. Unit matches perfectly next to my Marantz receiver. Excellent customer service from Crutchfield as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far is the best CD player I've owned. Crisp, sharp reproduction and easy to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD-5005

Crutchfield customer from Mint Hill, NC on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built, simple controls, and clear sound.

Pros: Functional, well built CD player. 3 year warranty

Cons: No eject button on remote.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NICE !!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Logan, OH on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit and a quality product. love music even more now...

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid equipment, sounds great, but is it better than streaming?

Crutchfield customer from Port Washington, NY on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought this unit to play thru a freshly repaired NAD C370 integrated amp and Mozart Vienna speakers. We previously had a NAD CD player that continually broke - most likely the belt running the tray was slipping, the unit would not play, and it simply cost too much to keep repairing it. The first impression of the Marantz was that it was a substantial piece of equipment. It weighs more than twice what the NAD did. The tray goes in/out without rattling - the NAD simply sounded cheap and rattled a bit, the Marantz sounds solid as the tray goes in/out. (Please note - I like NAD and have had NAD equipment since the early 1980, starting with a 3020 amp.) Even the control buttons on the unit feel like they are built to last. Sonically, am I hearing things I did not hear with the NAD? I cannot tell/recall various CDs well enough to A/B them by memory. I do know that this unit sounds great and that so far, I have no complaints of the beautiful music coming out (again) of our speakers. When setting our system back up, besides plugging in the Marantz, I also plugged an Echo Dot in the Aux jack. I tried to determine if I was getting more sonically from the Marantz over the Echo Dot. I had the Dot stream Josh Ritter's Fever Breaks, which was already in the Marantz. I gave the DOT a 15 second or so head start, and then started the CD, switching back and forth between the two, listening to a passage on the Dot and then on the CD. Tough to distinguish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD50005

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a new CD player and this Marantz was competitively priced compared to the big box stores. It arrived in two days, was everything I expected and more. I am hearing new and surprising sounds from my old CDs that I didn't know were on them for all these years. This Marantz sounds great and I'm very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

James from Ocala, FL on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's easy to use and makes my cd's sound great

Pros: Great looking unit and it makes cd's sound supper

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, MN on 10/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with Marantz PM 6006 amp & SVS Prime towers sound can't be beat for the price.Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Sounds Great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Pinckneyville, IL on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp, clear playback. Very happy with this CD player.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: No instruction manual but there's not much to it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful Sounding, Easy to Operate CD Player

Madeleine from Philadelphia, PA on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this CD player to replace a multi-disc player. There was nothing wrong with the multi-disc player, but it was a bit too complicated for everyday use, and for when guests want to use it. I selected this Marantz model because it has a simple interface with only six buttons on the front panel. It is connected to a Marantz receiver, so I can use the same remote to operate both devices. I decided to use the CD remote instead of the receiver remote, because the CD is the only source I use, and it handles the receiver functions well enough. I hooked the CD player up through the analog connections and the sound through the built in DAC is excellent. It delivers robust vocals in Opera and the rhythms of Brazilian music with equal deftness. I wasn't expecting much of a sonic improvement over the old changer, But this CD player sounds much better. I am very happy with my new CD player. I am expecting company soon, and I am sure my guests will appreciate the ease of operation and beautiful sound!

Pros: Beautiful sound Simple button layout Excellent remote that controls the Marantz receiver as well

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my system sounds better then I expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from OHIO on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One week with the marantz cd5005. Big difference in the sound paired up with my jolida jd1501 and signets sl260's. Couldn't be happier with this setup right now!

Pros:

Cons: Shipped in original box and left on porch with no one home by ups for everyone to see. Not happy about that!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Guest from Glen Allen, VA on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great built quality for price point. Excellent sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Russell from Dover, PA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my upgrade / replacement unit for the two NAD C538's which didn't work. Happy with the Marantz so far, save for a couple things. The unit is about the same size as my Marantz receiver - much larger than other CD players I've had, but I knew that going in (plus this one actually works...). The display is dim: dimmer on its brightest setting than my receiver's display on its middle setting. If that's a concern for you, look elsewhere. To my eyes it isn't readable 'across the room.' The unit has trouble playing from 0:00 exactly: it will, almost every time, miss the first 0.5 second or so when it begins playback of a disc. While it seems trivial, it's the difference between hearing that whole first chord, or cymbal hit, etc. and coming in to what sounds like mid-play. The remedy is to hit the track back button after playback has started, and it will catch the true 0:00 start. Annoying? Yes. Is there a work-around? Yes, so it isn't a deal breaker. But this isn't something I would expect at this price point. Otherwise the unit plays well, transitions between tracks as expected, etc.

Pros: Works well! Can control Marantz receiver with CD remote.

Cons: Small issue at 0:00 playback. Large size - plan accordingly. Dim screen - plan accordingly.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Thomas from Melbourne, FL on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice CD player. Ideally, for me, the headphone jack would be replaced with an input to utilize the units DAC for other components. Not that great of a headphone stage. No complaints on the CD transport/function though.

Pros: Good CD player

Cons: Don't need the headphone jack. Would like a digital input to DAC.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Robert from Lilburn, GA on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had never played any of my cd's on a decent player, most times in the car or through a $20 desktop player. So this unit definetly exceeded expectations but I experienced a cricket like noise through the speakers only when using the pause feature. At first I decided to live with it but the few time I wanted to pause, mostly for cell calls, I had to stop the player which forced to start cd over again from beginning along with a Grrrr out of me. I tried swapping toslink cables, power outlet sources but all was to no avail. My setup to my power speakers only has the optical input left so I was cornered. Pause worked great over RCA but I had to use optical. The CD5005 is a very worthy unit just that mine has the optical/pause buzz so I have no reason to downgrade the review hence 5 stars. I decided to swap the unit out for the NAD C538 and as usual the technical representative was very understanding. Not a hassle at all... !

Pros: Awesome sound, why did I wait ??

Cons: Pause button produced cricket like buzzing.. probably defective unit

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

I had higher expectations

John from West Chicago, IL on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was trying to find a mid-priced CD player that received good reviews, and the CD5005 was that machine. I was replacing a Panasonic multi-play player (it was in our entertainment system mostly for DVDs at one point, and temporarily replaced my old Pioneer CD player), and so I had high expectations. I played a CD the other day, and the machine skipped about 3:30 into a song. Neither my old Panasonic player or my 8-year-old Dell computer was tripped up by the small blemish, but the Marantz CD player was jammed from the 3:30 mark to the end (the blemish wasn't that large, and don't CDs have error correction build in for blemishes?) . I need to play the machine much more before the 60 day warrantee to determine if there is a bigger issue.

Pros: affordable price

Cons: questionable blemish detect and compensation

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Best sounding CD player I've heard

Mick from Monticello, WI on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First thing I noticed is that Crutchfield had enclosed the entire outer carton with sturdy plastic wrap to keep it dry! Nice touch! Crutchfield is a class act! This unit has an upgraded center mounted CD mech and upgraded DAC which is the same DAC is used in the reference unit which costs over $1000.00. I popped in the first CD, a Tom Petty disc I've heard hundreds of times. I was stunned! I was hearing things I'd never heard before! The audio from this machine is incredible, very smooth yet clear highs with no harshness at all like you hear on lesser units. And the low end is rock solid bass. I then popped in a recording of the Praetorius Christmas Mass 1612 L'Oisseau Lyre CD recorded at Roskilde Cathedral in Denmark. The pipe organ on this recording is incredible, and again, I was stunned by the improvement in audio quality. Not a subtle improvement, an undeniable improvement! There was a dramatic enhancement in the lower end of this organ that is felt as much as heard; alot of power from the 32' pipes. Couldn't believe it was the same recording I'd heard before at all! If you are on the fence about this unit, I can tell you it is an absolute steal at the Crutchfield price. I've never heard a CD player that sounds this good at double this price! For what it's worth, I have been an audio technician for 30+ years and I've heard alot of CD players! This one is hands down a solid winner!!

Pros: Perfectly matches my Marantz SR4023 which is being used as an AV switcher and a pre-out to outboard mono block amps each powering a Mirage 990i bi-polar loudspeaker. The SR4023 speaker out drives 2 pair of speakers, one pair on the deck, the other in the garage.

Cons: Very minor beef, the display brightness is adjustable, but only in a few steps. Would be nice to have an adjustment control to perfectly match the display brightness on the SR4023. Again, very minor detail.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Marantz lover!

Dave from Rochester, NY on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Marantz products, and own a CD-5005 (most recent purchase), CD-6006, & CD-6005 CD players. They all sound superb, and will track scratched and recorded CD's with ease. I've compared them to other top brands, and the Marantz hold their own! I also have allot of vintage Marantz, which continue to satisfy me (model 1's, 2's, 5's, 7, 8b, 9's, 10b, 33, 120b, 1120 & 2220b). Marantz has always been top shelf. I highly recommend the CD-5005.

Pros: Sounds wonderful, with excellent imaging and soundstage Analog only feature (turns off unnecessary Digital functions & display Very well made Loads quickly Tracks scratched and recorded CDs Smooth mechanical operation Nice aesthetics

Cons: Remote control has many functions unrelated to CD player operation. Not available in silver to match my vintage Marantz

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Boyne City, MI on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a 25 year old Sony player. Let me say first of all Crutchfield is excellent !. As is my new Marantz. It is definitely worth it to upgrade. The sound quality of the old Sony was good but the Marantz is so much better. Bass is richer all the instruments have better separation the treble is clearer. Very satisfied ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Mangilao, GU on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player, I used it together with marantz NR-1608 receiver, fantastic together. This CD player provides great quality sound if you use optical cable to the receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

A step up

Carl from Lynchburg, VA on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my old Marantz CD5004, and my overall impression is the upgrade is just that. The 5004 had great sound, but the newer model surpasses it: cleaner and clearer. Works great with my NAD 326BEE and PSB Image T6 towers. Highly recommended.

Pros: Clarity and warmth.

Cons: None to my ears.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Outstanding CD Player!

Larry from Carlsbad, CA on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Marantz CD5005 after returning an Onkyo C-7030 to another vendor. I just was not satisfied with the performance of the Onkyo; i.e., skips, failure to play, etc. The opposite is true of the Marantz. Quality built in every respect, it is the best CD player I have owned since CD players were introduced in the early 80's. I have paired the Marantz CD5005 with a Yamaha A-S301 integrated amp that I purchased from Crutchfield, an Audio Technica turntable, and a pair of Polk Audio RTi A7 speakers, also from Crutchfield. When extra bass is required, my Onkyo 200 watt sub is there when needed. I highly recommend this player and the entire Marantz line of products! Spend the extra money and buy Marantz. And, of course, Crutchfield service and support is next to none. There's no reason to go anywhere else.

Pros: Outstanding sound reproduction from the onboard DAC. Plays all my CDs flawlessly.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Bill from Berwick, PA on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service! Received the product a day early, I assume because of an impending snow storm. Great CD player! Almost identical to my old 5003.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not bad for the $, but not great in my system

Art from San Francisco area, California on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player is replacing a 21 year old Carver Tube-pre amp phase player, and is going through custom-built large speakers that are very revealing of sound (I'm a musician) and 400 watt per channel hand-made in USA vintage (Phase Linear) power amp. And I have a difficult room, with a lot of glass and ceramics, which is why the speaker designer originally recommended the tube pre-amp player, to warm up the sound. I tried the $499 NAD model before trying this unit. The NAD was way too cold and shrill on most CD's in my room setup, though it did have great detail, and might work well in a warmer room with less revealing speakers. The Marantz is warmer, as advised, and is pretty pleasing for classical originally recorded on analog, and not bad on digitally recorded classical. Also, not bad for most jazz vocals. But for harder-edged jazz instrumentals, most rock, or anything else with a lot of high-frequency high-attack percussion, it is almost as cold sounding in my difficult room as the NAD. I was advised that moving up the next full-step $1200 Marantz was probably not worth my while, especially if I take that money and invest in a dedicated FLAC-loaded hard drive system where I add a tube-phase D to A convertor. So meanwhile, this unit remains servicable while playing my roughly 800 ea CD's, if a little painful to listen to sometimes on harsher, or high-percussion recordings. Thus my 3 star rating. I suppose on a price-adjusted basis it probably rates a four

Pros: Seems solidly built, enough sound detail, punchy bass, warm enough sound most of the time.

Cons: Percussion sounds harsh on many recordings, not nearly as pleasing as the old tube phase unit it replaced, borderline headache inducing at times.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 31 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second Marantz CD player I've owned. They each produce a superb sound and are simple to use

Pros: Superb

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Quality Product

RJS47 from York, PA on 4/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Marantz stands for quality and this is very good cd player. Sound quality and build is excellent! Highly recommend this product and Crutchfield.

Pros: Everything about it.

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Phil from Birmingham, AL on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the Marantz CD5005 a month ago, so far I am pleased with the purchase. The unit replaced a very old Sony player, and I have to say the technology has improved. Build quality is good, the drawer although slow is quiet and smooth. The various control buttons on the unit have a positive feel when pressed. I do wish you could open and close the drawer from the remote. Loading a new disc takes a little too long as the disc is read. Sound is good, I am hearing a lot of the music that was apparently not picked up by the old Sony player, mostly subtle musical rifts in the background of songs, or the light refrain of background singers voices. Clarity on piano notes is impressive.

Pros: Quality sound, good ergonomics, solid construction.

Cons: The system to turn the unit on when you turn on the preamp is limited in that it only works with other Marantz equipment, it need to be a 12 volt universal system, not limited to Marantz equipment. NAD uses a universal 12 volt. Not able to open or close the drawer from the remote.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

Shoot-out between the Topaz 10 and Marantz 5005

Kevin from Largo, FL on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a Cambridge Topaz 10 at first but it was defective right out of the box. Crutchfield replaced it but even that one had the same problem... a loud "snap" noise radiates from the speakers a few milliseconds before the music starts playing. Anyway, I didn't want to try a third Topaz 10 so at their suggestion I went with the Marantz. I had the opportunity to do a shoot-out between the Topaz 10 and the Marantz and at first I leaned more toward the Topaz for better clarity, but after playing several different cuts and scrutinizing certain passages I realized there was no detectable sonic differences between them. Also, the Marantz looks a lot nicer than the Spartan-looking Topaz and as for the remote...no contest, the Marantz is much nicer. The only complaint I have is the same as what others have mentioned, the speed of the fast-scan is miserably slow. That isn't usually a problem for me but I can definitely see how it could be for others who deal with tracks that are very long. Being an electrical engineer I may open it up and increase the scan speed when the warranty expires.

Pros: Nicely designed, great looks and excellent sound quality.

Cons: The fast-scan functions are too slow, for those who use this function a lot I would not recommend this player. Also, it is physically taller than most CD players of this caliber so beware of this if your space is limited.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. My CD's sound much improved and works great with my Marantz receiver. Crutchfield is great to work with. Have and will continue to buy from them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, not so great remote

David from Roxbury, MA on 1/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent overall. The clarity, depth and breadth of sound are very good. Whether I am listening to jazz, classic or otherwise I have found the stage presence of the musicians remarkable. I have begun (once again) to realize how different the quality is across my different recordings. I regret not upgrading sooner. One down side: the remote that comes with the unit is for multiple appliances. I have found it confusing to work with for such basics as closing/playing the cd tray. I admit I haven't sat down with the owners manual, but things that should be intuitive aren't. Random play appears to require pushing two different buttons. I am not quite sure how to work with the pause and stop buttons. Luckily the remote that came with my previous Marantz CD play still works for some of the functions on the current player.

Pros: Sound is excellent overall. cost is remarkable. looks I like.

Cons: The remote control will cause some angst. I'll have to read the owners manual. But it should be simpler and more intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Bruce from Huntington Beach, CA on 12/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality construction, clean sound, and a usable headphone jack - a very good value for a very good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrific Player for the Money

James from Lawrence, KS on 12/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a Marantz CD-5003 some seven or eight years ago. It's still playing and I'm still satisfied with its performance. Based on that player, I purchased the CD-5005.

Pros: Digital and analogue outputs, the capability to program how text is displayed, a four-position dimmer, a program delete function.

Cons: No open/close for the tray on the remote (which is a bit bulky), the smallish display is difficult to read from a few feet away.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Frank from La Crescenta, CA on 9/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm hoping for a long lived unit. I obviously won't know for a while.

Pros: It works fine.

Cons: I would've liked an tray open/close command on the remote. If it's there I haven't found it yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Very Impressed!!

Michael from Concord, NC on 9/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch quality and astonishing sound! Plus, Crutchfield's price and service can't be beat! Will definitely be a returning customer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sounds great

J.O. from Takoma Park, MD on 7/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very much enjoying this CD player. I've only played a handful of discs on it, but I have no complaints thus far. Sounds really good!

Pros: Sounds great!

Cons: A little expensive. I contemplated the NAD player that cost less.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great Sound!

DLM from Newcastle, ME on 7/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound. Substantial yet simple to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

What a difference !

Steve P from Mount Pleasant, MI on 4/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously used my BluRay player (OPPO) to play audio CDs was well as BluRay and DVD's . Having the Marantz CD 5005 has made me realize how much more detail is in the CD format when played on a dedicated component. It must be the quality of the transport and/or the DAC in the unit. I'm hearing more detail and nuance in every CD I play. This is an excellent player !! An added bonus . Now I can control it with my Marantz receiver remote since they link up with a separate cable .I can also use the CD player's remote to operate the volume and source controls of my receiver .

Pros: Sound improvement , convenience

Cons: Takes up shelf space on my rack

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Why?

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 4/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound when it deigns to play. The fist one went bad under warranty & Crutchfield exchanged it for another one. I also tried two other products before selecting this one because of it's outstanding sound quality - I've never heard a Steinway D bass sound so realistic.

Pros: Great sound. Lots of design features that raise the price and contibute nothing to the average everyday musician/player (me). I don't own a Marantz receiver and I 'm not a DJ so I don't need any of these bells/whistles but I pay for them anyway when the manufacturer could have invested in a high quality drawer mechanism.

Cons: Terrible drawer mechanism! Often won't open/close/play. Often finds some invisable speck of dust to cause it to quit playing. Fast forward is only double speed so it takes 5 minutes to get to the middle of a 20 minute track when the unit has stopped playing. How can these geniuses produce such a good musical product and skimp one little simple part?! I've been an audiophile since HiFi days and am not an abusive user, so it's a lack of quality.

Crutchfield response on

39 of 46 found this helpful

Exceptionally Pleased

GeneT from Denver, CO on 3/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 25 years of enjoyment our Luxman played its last CD. A friend and owner of Denver's most respected high-end shop recommended the 5005 as a replacement for daily listening. Having sold us our premium high-end components, Carl knew what we were looking for in sound. He noted the original price of the Luxman, said based on many reviews and his personal audition of the CD5005, we couldn't go wrong. "Quite superior to your old unit," he understated. "Crutchfield has it for $400 and they ship gratis." It arrived quickly and I left it on overnight for a quick break-in before listening. The stage is immense, depth exceptional and overall sound is rich and full without embellishments, transparent, and contains accurate detail without etching. Highs are smooth--particularly strings, bass is solid and fast, and transitions are natural. Some older CDs bring smiles--they are that much better. In fact, our entire collection elicits comments from my wife and I as some details are heard for the first time. Overall, the very musical 5005 has given us another up-scale sound system. Very highly recommended. And thanks, Crutchfield for your input and service.

Pros: Exceptional sound, excellent appearance, easy operation.

Cons: Could use larger characters on the screen. Remote a bit clunky.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

Fills the missing Gap

DaveT47 from hagerstown, MD on 2/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Kenwood DP-880SG that just got worn out and needed a replacement. A high end of good quality, rep and at a fair price. After reading and listening I decided on the Marantz CD5005. Knowing their reputation and quality control I gave this CD Player a try. I was not disappointed and are very satisfied with my purchased. The CDs come through clear and renewed. The Player is of good construction and easy to operate. I do recommend the Marantz DP5005 CD Player

Pros: Good construction and clear sound...

Cons: Operating buttons are small and hard to read their function.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

Crutchfield customer from New Hampshire on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great brand and I had a Marantz cd player before this one and it lasted for 2 decades. Hopefully this will be our last. Great service and quick deliver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

First "audiophile" CD player

Tom D from Arizona on 8/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using a Sony DVD player as my CD listening source. It sounded OK but was such a pain to use - all the controls/commands were delayed by 5-10 sec!! This player is a joy to use and the sound is terrific. There's detail previously unheard and I was somewhat swayed by the 3 yr warranty. I'm very happy to have a new, upgraded system (gave my daughter my vintage system) and so far, no complaints.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

marantz CD 5005

jimmy from greatfalls.mt on 3/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz CD 5005 is amazing and can compete with high end cd players that cost hundred of dollars more. the added upgrades really shows in the detail soundstage. Punch,nuance,the nice air,warmth and clarity plus increase volume through the amp. I wittness no jitters or fatigue. I really enjoy listrening to my cd collections again. Marantz CD 5005 is very afordable and has been recommended by virtually every pro hifi dealer ,HiFi magazine out there. Big time buzz about this very musical machine.Great price,super performance.Marantz does it again. Find out what the buzz is albout. Get one and listen.

Pros: for a mid price player.it sounds more exspensive and compareable to top hi end brands.

Cons: there really is none. you are getting more then what you pay for!

Crutchfield response on

24 of 26 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

WillR from New Jersey on 12/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD Player. I recently bought this to compliment my Marantz PM5005 Integrated amp and they sound great together.

Pros: Rich Sound quality. Remote works with my Integrated amp so I only need one for everything.

Cons: The display is a little small so it's kind of hard to read the track number from a short distance.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD5005

KD from New Jersey on 12/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Five star sound production. Little annoyances...red light POWER button always on when machine is OFF but no green light when machine in ON so you can't find it in the dark.. Delay displaying and playing tracks is longer than I'm used to.

Pros: sound production has really good depth and clarity

Cons: delay in setting up to play after turning POWER on and delay when selecting tracks longer than I'm used to. Red light stays on when machine is OFF but no green light to show power button when machine is ON.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

Joy and Happiness

Ron J. from St. Louis, MO. on 11/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We as Musicians listen a little differently than most in that we really have to hear all the bits and pieces clearly for learning the parts but we all want to hear the music clearly and cleanly. Marantz has done just that for us in a most analog sort of way. This machine really reminds me of a two inch tape recorder which I guess shows my age! It sounds that good! Everything in the music is there including the parts you've never heard before. Be prepared to listen to all of your music again because that's how good this deck is. For the people who like to play their instrument along with the CD there is a pitch control to adjust things for you and it is defeat-able for just pure listening bliss. You have found your CD player here from Marantz and your search is over, add to that Crutchfield's total support and commitment to customer satisfaction. You just can't go wrong here with this product or company. Thank You!

Pros: Simple, intuitive and a fantastic headphone amp with a always balanced level control!

Cons: Put your CD cleaner disc in there first because everything in this world needs cleaning first!

Crutchfield response on

24 of 26 found this helpful

AWESOME!!!

AK. Rocker from Big Lake Ak. on 10/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little nervous about purchasing a middle of the road priced CD player as all my previous gear is all high end stuff. After about 30 years my Nakamichi player finally started to act up and figured repairs on a unit that old didn't make much sense. I don't know if CD players have gotten that much better over the years or if this is just an awesome piece of equipment. It out performed all my expectations. I've always preferred the sound of an album over the sound of a CD because of the lack of good quality mid range but this thing sounds amazing and I'm playing more CDs than albums now for the first time. It has more punch and is even louder which I'm not really sure how since I'm using the same amps. I'm very impressed and would recommend this player to anyone and not think twice about it. I can only hope it last as long as the Nakamichi did but I doubt I'll be around long enough to find out LOL. Take my word for it you wont be disappointed...Rock on

Pros: Sound quality and stylish looks.

Cons: Couldn't get the CD-Rom owners manual to down load but was able to down load it through goggle.

Crutchfield response on

39 of 41 found this helpful

TOP