Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
499 615 23

Our hours

Connect ID #
499 615 23
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Outdoor stereo-input rock speaker (Granite)

MFR # 1007160

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Outdoor stereo-input rock speaker (Granite)

MFR # 1007160

53 reviews
View this product

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, RI on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Rock! Ha.. but seriously this is my 4th and I'm positive I will add more as my wife allows.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, NH on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding outdoor speaker. Worth every penny ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crisp clean sound

Brenda from Suffern, NY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Elkhorn, NE on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

klipsch speakers are the absolute best for the money. Unpacked this little gem and rather than test it with the outside system in late December, we decided to plug it into an 80's cassette player. The rock did not disappoint even running on extremely low wattage. Can't wait to hook it up to an amp when the weather breaks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great for outdoor spaces where mounting speakers is not an option

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually pleasantly surprised with the bass and clarity from these (at low to medium volumes), wasn't expecting much from a rock speaker, but they have done the job and exceeded my expectations. I have 6 placed throughout a relatively large space and they fill the area with quality sound. I do listen at loud volumes when I can and these do seem to distort at levels that I would not necessarily consider excessive. Although other areas where an outdoor speaker can be mounted to a structure I would recommend the Definitive Technology AW6500's (have 4 of these and they do blow away the rock speakers). I have the rock speakers wired as a single channel, so can't comment on the sound when hooked up as two channels per rock.

Pros: great sound, easy placement and blend with landscaping

Cons: tend to distort at higher volume

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from York, SC on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can you say about Klipsch... our 3rd. pair. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 7/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and looks good too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good over sound, good looks

John R. from Gaffney, SC on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these as replacments of Niles Rock 6 inch 2 way pro speakers, these are a bit cleaner in the top end but not as good at the bottom. Klipsch perform very well with a Yamaha AV50 amp. They will play loud and fill my large pool area and yard. I'll update after a year ot two as Niles only lasted 2 years and I went through 3 sets, very hopfull these will last longer. I'm in South Carolina so no long cold or very cold.

Pros: Looks and over vary good sound

Cons: None yet, looking for longevtity

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Better than most

David from Greenlawn, NY on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Appearance wise, this is one of the greatest looking speaker out there. Gives you a hidden sound feel to your outdoor space. This is connected to a Sonos amp which gives enough power to feed 2 of these. I think the overall sound is ok, considering it is an outdoor speaker. I needed to use 2 speakers to get a balanced sound by my pool area. I wish the bass was a bit warmer and fuller and the mid range tends to be higher than a balance of high & lows.

Pros: Appearance and size

Cons: Need multiple speakers to fill outdoor space with a rich sound

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

OUTSTANDING!

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These and my pair of Bose 251's make it sound almost like LIVE MUSIC, in our backyard! "Daisey" is my Crutchfield Advisor and she is very informative and has earned my business! In fact, I just ordered an extra AMP, from Daisey, to really saturate my yard w/ music!

Pros: sOUND GREAT, LOOK like a boulder.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. Work week with my sonos

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for the garden

Crutchfield customer from Ridgeland, MS on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed it two weeks ago. I have it connected to a Sonos connect amp and so far the connection and sound has worked well. It is in our garden just off the front porch and sits in front of the shrubs. It blends nicely into the landscaping. I am using 16gauge speaker wire (also from Crutchfield) and the run from the connect amp is about 20 feet. I plan to buy more of these speakers and place in other parts of the garden. They sound nice at both low and high volume, so several at a lower volume would be perfect.

Pros: Sound is very good at low or high volume. They blend into the landscape and are easy to place and install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Outdoor music!

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a pair of these speakers for over ten years out in extreme weather and they maintain their sound quality. I just bought two more and they sound great.

Pros: Look great, sound great...very easy to hide in the garden.

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent wired outdoor sound.

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent price and sound. Nice replacement acoustically for the Episode Rock 8" speaker. Color match excellent. Much lighter in comparison, but very happy overall. 4-wire connection with waterproof wire nuts included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A worthy part of the Klipsch speaker line-up.

Crutchfield customer from East Aurora, NY on 4/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent yard speaker, whether used as a stand-alone stereo speaker -- as I am currently doing at our pool -- or as a pair as part of an outdoor yard speaker system, a mode to which it can quickly be reconfigure to operate. This unit is every bit as good as my Klipsch AW-650 patio speakers, and is driven, as are they are, by separate Yamaha WXA-50 Amplifiers as part of my MusicCast whole-house Wireless system

Pros: Great sound, operates at moderate wattage, rugged outdoor year-round housing

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Exelent.

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is exelent in open space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound very good just what I had hoped for. My pool area sounds amazing with 5 of these blasting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, OH on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Makes the backyard sound like a concert venue. Love it. Thanks Crutchfield !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Urbandale, IA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from these speakers at a reasonable priceS

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 6/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound quality and solid bass. Have it outside on half acre property, clearly can hear sound throughout yard without increasing volume to highest level.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are a good choice running with a Sonos amp. And are paired with the regular aw-650s on the patio also connected to a Sonos amp. I have a fairly large backyard and I had everything at 3/4s volume and my backyard was rocking and good quality as well. The rock speakers have good quality 14g direct burial wire and are pretty good siZe runs of wires to the back. They look good and will blend in nicely one the yard is all done. I have them in the back of my yard. Like I said the sound quality is excellent. But if you want to seriously bump on the bass side you would still need a sub. But that's pretty much with any outdoor speakers. You can only get so much with a 6.5 woofer or smaller. But I highly recommend them. Easy to install as well.

Pros: High quality housing and parts. Great looks. Great sound.

Cons: None. You get what you pay for. And these are excellent.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Tim from Harrison, TN on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the awe-650-sm outdoor speakers i have placed around our new unground pool. I had boston acoustics for the last 12 years with the above ground. I now have best of both worlds. The new speakers are great.

Pros: Great sound around pool

Cons: No cons to speak of as yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great outdoor speakers!!!

James from Fort Myers, FL on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and nice looking speakers. I bought these to replace a pair of AW-650's that failed but were not covered by warranty due to purchasing elsewhere. I will always buy from Crutchfield in the future for warranty coverage and of course great customer service.

Pros: Good sound and blend in with landscaping.

Cons: A bit expensive but hey they are Klipsch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Rock

Lance from Fort Worth, TX on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it a lot... back yard is pleasantly filled with music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Teresa from White Plains, NY on 11/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker has surprisingly rich sound for such a light speaker. It sounds amazing and clear with good bass. Purchased for my fire pit area outside - may only need 1 since the sound is so rich.

Pros: Great sound and looks like a rock - perfect for my mostly rock fire pit area.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fills the entire backyard with rich quality sound.

Mike from Culver City, CA on 11/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. I wasn't sure about buying rock shaped speakers, even if a Klipsch product, and my wife and I were blown away. The rock speakers were going to be side speakers to go with a set of bose 251's we had on the list (backordered). The Bose were going to attach to the house, but after hooking up the rock speakers our entire backyard (about 1300 sq ft) is filled with music AND most importantly "quality rich sound". You don't have to crank (unless you want to). Also rich bass tones. We decided to put the Bose on hold. You see the speakers in the pic next to the red planter and green planter.

Pros: Rich Tone. You can crank. Full spectrum from bass to highs.

Cons: None to mention at this time.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

John from Clarksburg, CA on 9/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't know much about speakers or stereos. These were easy to install and sound great! Love the speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great! And the staging is PARTICULARLY good. I think the two-channel mode is a bit of a waste, and it makes wiring them somewhat annoying (they don't follow my color code-- according to them, red and white are positive, green and black are negative), but that's a small quibble. Bass was initially lacking, but once I EQ'd them through my amp to push the bass, they really came alive. And, of course, the whole reason why you get these in the first place, in the granite color I chose they actually look pretty reliably like rocks. I have them in a small garden behind some hydrangeas, and you would never know they were speakers-- you wouldn't even know they were there, even after you hear them.

Pros: Great sound staging; they really look like rocks!

Cons: Weird wiring setup; somewhat light and plastic-y. They LOOK more like rocks than they FEEL

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Gilroy, CA on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice looking, great sounding

Carl from Brunswick, OH on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed two of these on my deck and powered them with a Sonos Connect Amp. They sound great! Of course I wish the setup was cheaper, I did get them scratch and dent (they were perfect) and I couldn't be happier. The Crutchfield advisor was excellent also. thanks

Pros: Nice look, blends in well, sounds great at low and higher volume levels.

Cons: A little pricey to do a stereo pair.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great outdoor speakers!

Dawn from Manlius, NY on 8/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We purchased 3 speakers. They sound is awesome and look fantastic in our backyard. Just what we were looking for and so happy.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

John from Lockport, NY on 7/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Love the sound. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Angel from Brentwood, CA on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean, crisp sound from these speakers. At first, the bass didn't sound too great but after minor adjustments I got it to a level where it sounds great! The acoustics part of a song and the voice just sound so clean, definitely worth the money for this pair. The sounds reaches far into my yard and around the pool. The charcoal color mixed in well with our lava rock and some moss boulders around it. Overall, you won't be disappointed with the sound coming off these speakers for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Stephen from Goodyear, AZ on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Bob from Philadelphia, PA on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing bass for this speaker! I now have 4 of these speakers strategically placed throughout my backyard. I highly recommend these for anyone who is looking for a discrete speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

pleased

Crutchfield customer from Sherman, CT on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy with them. Good Bass,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch AWR-650-SM

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 5/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have reviewed and listened to many outdoor speakers, but the Klipsch AWR-650-SM are by far and away the best sounding outdoor rock speaker on the market for under $500.00. The blend of the highs and bass and overall clarity are nothing short of spectacular.

Pros: Price, Sound, Clarity, Cosmetics

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid Speakers

EricS from New York on 8/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a set of these speakers a little over a month ago and they have performed admirably since then. Short term weather does not seem to have an effect. The sound is wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

AWESOME SPEAKERS

Stephen D from Harrisburg PA on 7/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers "rock" I installed these under our deck where we have a finished patio with Jacuzzi. We have a small 20' strip of flowers there with mulch. After running my speaker wire (14gauge) to the speakers I pointed them into the center of the patio...one on the far left, one on the far right. These sound awesome with wonderful bass response even with the Jacuzzi running.

Pros: Cant go wrong with Klipsch. Buy them. They look real, not too heavy, and look great in any landscaped area. The speakers have just enough weight to keep them to the ground. Klipsch provides a landscape hold down steel peg with each speaker for added security to the ground.

Cons: I was timid in wanting to spend $300 per speaker... would have been nicer to purchase as a set for $300....but they are worth the money!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome sound

Matt G from Portland on 6/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker sound awesome. The bass response is EXCELLENT for an outdoor speaker. They play loud and clean. So well in fact that I've already had a few conversations with the neighbors since I installed them. I only gave 4 stars instead of 5 since one of my speakers won't play in stereo. The others all work fine. I'll update my review after talking to Crutchfield support

Pros: Loud, clear, and great bass.

Cons: See above

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great treble and midrange outdoor speaker

Vsdi from New York, NY on 4/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this speaker to replace a blown KLH rock speaker. Tried using one speaker since it can be hooked up to reproduce both channels. The treble and midrange are incredibly clear but I ended up ordering a second speaker to hear the separation of the two channels.

Pros: Great crystal clear highs and midrange

Cons: Bass is ok but not as good as the KLH that these replaced. Price is high considering they are made in China.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome sound

Paulie P. from Brewster NY on 12/6/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product you wont dissappointed with these speakers. Blends in with landscape nicely. Lifetime warranty need I say more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP