Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
931 552 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
931 552 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Home theatre speaker system

MFR # QEMA

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Home theatre speaker system

MFR # QEMA

68 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Eleanor from Kansas City, MO on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great! We hear things I never heard in shows before...scary movies are much more terrifying!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Sound

Steve from Wyoming, MI on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced old legacy Bose Lifestyle system that died on me. Used chats to identify what I should be considering for a new sound system and receiver, very helpful process. Set up this DT ProCinema 800 and subwoofer and paired with a new Denon AVR X2400 receiver to my existing 65 inch Samsung TV. Great sound for movies, sports and music. Enjoying them. Sub delivers plenty of bass. Saved a ton looking for holiday sales and found best solution for me at Crutchfield.

Pros: Versatile sound, surround and sports Straight forward installation and callibration of the speakers Cost effective

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

New Surround Sound System

Crutchfield customer from White Bear Lake, MN on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system sounds awesome with my Denon AVR X3400

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, GA on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Huntersville, NC on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best HTIB for the money. I'm breaking this set up for different rooms. The Promonitor 800's will be used for rear surrounds in our media room with 8060ST Towers, A60 Modules and 8060 Center. The center channel and subwoofer are going in our main living room and are paired with Studiomonitor 45's. I love Definitive Speakers. Solid construction and great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Rsm, CA on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service, sounds good and would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Allendale, MI on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound awesome. Voices are clear coming out of the center speaker I recommend the mounting brackets for the speakers. Shipping was quick.

Pros: Big sound out of small speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sound for small speakers

Norman from Buckhead, GA on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The front rear and center speakers sounds great. I am not quite sold on the compact subwoofer yet. It rattles when there is a heavy bass demand. However it does have a break in period.

Pros: Nice quality finish on speakers. Good sound quality for the price.

Cons: Not too impressed with the compact subwoofer. However it is a very nice looking low profile cabinet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Elyria, OH on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

never had speakers sound so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Richard from South Haven, MI on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big sound from small speakers. I changed from tower front speakers and large front and surround speakers to this setup. It looks and sounds great.

Pros: Small footprint, big sound,

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works perfectly for my needs

Scott from Los Alamos, NM on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not an audiophile, so I have no idea if these speakers are perfect or not. That said, they satisfy my needs perfectly for a reasonable price, and as a bonus the rear satellites connected to my previous ceiling mounts perfectly - something that I could tell would not be possible with many other speakers (the mounts were originally for Energy Take 5).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sounding and great looking speakers. Only one issue (for me)

John from Erie, PA on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding and great looking speakers. They were paired with a new Denon AVR and I couldn't be happier. The only issue I have with them (why I deducted one star) is that the bottom of the ProMonitors 800s are not flat and trying to use satellite speaker stands (that were not the Def. Tech. ones made for them) was a huge PITA. I had to rig them to work and it was not easy. If I were to do it again, I would just buy the Def. Tech stands - however they are not adjustable and that is the reason I didn't get them in the first place. The rear surrounds would not have cleared the back of my sectional sofa.

Pros: Great sound, great looks, nice size

Cons: bottom of speakers are not flat and you are limited with speaker stand options.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

GREAT surround, and Bass !!

Frank from Wilmington, DE on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced 20+ yr old Infinity speakers/sub. The Definitive ProCinema 800 speakers are such an improvement over the old set, even though they were still sounding very good after 22yrs, until one of the front speakers started to buzz certain sounds. I am very pleased that I chose the Pro 800's. My son has the Bose set-up, and I have to say that my Def 800 is equal too, or maybe even better than the Bose. Turning that volume up is a real thrill !!!! Make sure you run your MCACC speaker set up after install. I would highly recommend Def 800's for anyone in the market for a quality set of surround speakers at a good price. Installation was very easy. Just connect to your existing wiring, and mount using the keyholes, or brackets. Supported by Pioneer VSX 80. Lots of good info from my tech advisor, Wolf. Thanks again.

Pros: Outrageous sound !!! Easy install Nice looking

Cons: None Suggestion: A slot in the rear of the speakers for the wire would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Bill from DFW, TX on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had these a couple of years now with 6 surround speakers + the front speaker and subwoofer, all running through a Marantz home theater system. These are just about as good as you can get to perfect sound separation and matters little where the sub is placed. I'd put these up against the B... speakers any day. I've had the b... beginning years back with the 901's, then a pair of 501's, then to home theater with 8.1 surround and these, My other high dollar brand speakers are in a closet as I just can't part with them, but can't see using them again. Highly recommend these Definitive ProCinema line. Hard to beat the sound and frequency response.

Pros: About some of the best speakers you get for the investment. Quality sound at high level or low volume settings.

Cons: Can't think of anything aside from a couple of design of center speaker. As it's not on a mount, it takes a bit to figure how to mount on horizontal surface below a cabinet, below TV or home theater. It does have mounting screws but didn't help in my situation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Ipswich, MA on 5/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally got these speakers hooked up and installed with a new Yamaha receiver. They sound awesome. Eliminating floor speakers for these wall-mounted system also makes the room look bigger, as an added bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far sounding great; had to return sub; first one had a rattle. Return was very smooth no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Paul from Champaign, IL on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an open box set. 2 of the small speakers didn't work but that is likely a side effect of being an open-box set. The speakers sound great. They are a little power hungry so make sure your amp is suitable. I love the size. The small speakers mount easily and look sharp. The whole setup, powered by an Onkyo 747 receiver rocks our small room theater.

Pros: Sharp looking, good sounding set.

Cons: volume control on side of sub is inconvenient depending on where you place the sub.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Value, Quality Build, Rich Sound

Marcus from Brooklyn, NY on 10/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My loyal Denon S-301 finally gave out, and I decided to replace them with these speakers and a new Denon AVR-X2200W receiver with the help and advice of Crutchfield. I'm quite pleased with the sound. The sub has more pop than I had originally expected. I'm tempted to add another one to really take the system up to the next level. Too bad living in Brooklyn with roommates has some limitations...These speakers are setup on the Definitive stands to allow for optimal listening height. The build on these speakers show their quality. They are heavier than they let on. They feel dense, made of solid wood casing. They are sleek, and elegant. I expect them to last far longer than the 5 year warranty.I love them. They are growing on my girlfriend... I'm no audiophile, but the sound just sounds full and responsive. You can really feel the audio. I had these up pretty high during "The Walking Dead" season premiere. It was an awfully visceral experience for me and my roommates. The audio made the episode that much more traumatic... I mostly use these speakers to play video games. I was originally going to get a Sonos, but for the same price, I feel like I got a much better deal. The atmospheric sound on my PS4 makes for an immersive gaming experience. I'm sure there are better speakers out there, but for someone who wants to spend approximately $1000, I can't imagine a better set for your money. I got mine much cheaper...around 720 I think. They're worth it a

Pros: These speakers look like, feel like, and sound like high quality speakers. They hit the highs, the mids, and the lows in music, movies, and video games. Compared to the competition, they're superior in most ways. I was looking for a good compact set. This is far superior to anything on the market at the price point I was willing to pay. Was going to go with the 600's but Crutchfield sale came though on an open box and I upgraded.

Cons: Girlfriend doesn't love the look of speakers on stands around the living room. My response? Too bad...seriously. No cons. These are easily mountable with a stud or with optional stands. Definitive makes high quality stuff. The sub isn't quite as high quality as the rest of the speakers. I would've liked a larger driver for the price, but I can't really complain as it does sound good. Wish I had the option to upgrade to a stronger woofer initially.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 9/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. The sound is very clear from the speakers and good bass from the sub. My living room has large open space and still sounds good. The sub will move around if you turn it up, but not an issue. Good quality for the price.

Pros: Sound quality..

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My theater room rumbles!!!

JP from Bowie, MD on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound... they make the walls rumble in my theater room... I'm really impressed (14' x 22' room)

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great, Rich Sound

JT from Torrance, CA on 5/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really amazing sound from this speaker system! It replaced my older Bose Lifestyles 35 system and I really like it better. Paired it with a Denon AVR-X2200W receiver and couldn't be happier with the choice. The speakers are beautiful looking and super quality. Also couldn't be happier with going with Crutchfield for purchase. Great support team!

Pros: Really great quality and sound for the money!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Solid value

jt from Raleigh, NC on 4/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality speaker set for the money. I am definitely a value shopper and this fit the bill. Also great sales help and technical support.

Pros: Great sound (speakers sound bigger than they actually are) reasonable size excellent bass

Cons: very little documentation came with the speakers if you don't use banana plugs wiring to the speakers with bare wire is not convenient

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

compact and great sound

mogie from Jersey City, NJ on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small, sleek, solid built with excellent sound. Easily fills up a large living room with sound. The subwoofer is powerful and u can feel it rumble.

Pros: Great sound and ergonomics.

Cons: A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Another excellent product!

RD from Columbus, OH on 3/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having the Pro 600 series, I was ready to buy it again for my new theater. With Crutchfield's sale, I was able to buy the 800 series for the same price. Why not go up a level?? Very easy setup and quality sound!!

Pros: Easy setup, nice look, and Great sound!

Cons: None thus far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

5-dot-Wonderful Sound

DocOllie from Columbus, Ohio on 1/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased with a Yamaha RX-A1040. We are still in the break-in period discussed in the manual, but right out of the box the ProCinema 800 system was significant improvement over the sound bar with sub-woofer that I had been using. After running the Yamaha speaker calibration - Wow - the speakers "disappeared" and left a nice front sound field with surround from the rear speakers. The 800's are small enough that they could be placed on the either side of the flat screen TV on the TV cabinet without the need for stands. In our 12.5 ft. x 19 ft family room these are big enough to fill the room and small enough to be inconspicuous.

Pros: Surprisingly heavy for the small size, but that is a plus since it damps out case distortion. Easy setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big Sound in a Small Package

Mike from Tennessee on 12/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound much bigger than they are. I was very impressed once everything was tuned in and placed properly.

Pros: Small size Reasonable price for a high quality small speaker system Sub sounds fantastic for its size and can be hidden easily.

Cons: Sub likes to "walk" . Needs some kind of anchor system or more weight to keep it in place.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Procinema 800

Stand from Tennessee on 11/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers!

Pros: Great surround sound, listened to thunderstorm video & it sounded just like live thunder! Awesome!

Cons: Wish it was a little less expensive

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great speaker

DaveB from Las Vegas, Nevada on 11/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful speakers with big sound. Liked them so much that I bought 2 of the matching bookshelf speakers. I also have to say that the support guys at Crutchfield were a great help in deciding to buy these. They were very knowledgable and did not try to sell me anything I did not want or need. They could have sold me more expensive speakers but after listening to my needs, they recommended the Def Tech 800 series speakers and I really like them.

Pros: Quality and size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Rich sound in a small package.

Penguin Cyclist from New Hampshire on 11/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the size of speakers. I have moved the speakers several times and the Audyssey calibration has managed to make the "sweet spot" better each time. While watching our flat screen TV, my wife and I always complained of not hearing conversations, now it is a delight to watch movies on Netflix since we can hear the dialogue. Listening to music has become quite a joy.

Pros: Wonderful sound. Small size.

Cons: Wiring to the Surround Sound Speakers required so some planning and trips to the hardware store since we have a very unique living room.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Husband is in love

tmp from Arizona on 11/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just gave this to my husband for his birthday - yesterday. He set everything up right away. He is in love. He has been working to tune them to his liking. Heavy speakers, that seem like they will last. They sound great; even to someone like me that has "box wine" taste in audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great surround sound home theater system

LouP from South Carolina on 10/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a Polk audio Pro system to the Pro cinema 800 speaker system. The difference was amazing! The self calibrating balance system using a microphone where you sit works very well. The surround effect is awesome. The sub woofer will shake your house. You have to adjust the center speaker treble to get crystal clear voices over all the other sounds, but that was easy with my Onkyo receiver. I had no problem with the 3 point stands on the surround speakers some reviewers complain about. I highly recommend this system. I did consider the Bose equivalent system but after listening to my brother's Bose, I find this has an overall more satisfying sound. I did not consider the Klipsch because of the larger sized speakers. The Pro cinema 800 is almost invisible in my large den which is what I wanted.

Pros: Excellent compact surround speakers with passive radiators. Superb sub woofer. Great sound all around!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Good surround

NR from Boston, MA on 10/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good surround set up. Certainly better than my prior cheap HTIB, though I'm not blown away by these speakers (though to be fair they have not fully broken in yet). The sub really makes the system, it adds a lot of depth to the sound at any level; the center channel and surround speakers don't really open up unless I have the sound turned up higher than where I normally listen. When they are cranked up though, the quality is very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good sound from relatively small speakers

Nuhuuu from California on 10/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear full sound. I read a lot of reviews and went to magnolia at BB to listen to a variety of speakers. I wanted to go with Bowers and Wilkins but decided on Def Tech 800 series because of the size and sound quality. I was looking to fit speakers into my existing entertainment center. The setup was easy and speakers looked great. I purchased the matching stands sold by Def Tech and was pleased. I can no longer listen to the sound from my plasma TV alone. I have a large rectangular shaped room with vaulted ceilings and the speakers provide plenty of sound for a normal individual. I can't even turn the volume up at night or it will wake my kids up. I paired my speakers with an Denon AVR-X2100 receiver. Couldn't be happier with the flexibility of sound this combination offers.

Pros: Size, sound quality, aesthetics

Cons: That they weren't even cheaper

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Rocks the house

BruceB from New York on 10/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared to previous home theatre at similar cost this speaker setup has wider dynamic range with exciting subwoofer response on special effects the only problem was the need to put a small carpet under the subwoofer to keep it from walking across the floor with action films.

Pros: Dynamic range, realistic surround

Cons: None great value

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Student Center Theater

JamesV from Texas on 8/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a small theater room for student movie nights--speakers hide well and sound amazing. I would definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro Cinema 800 - YES!

GeorgeD from Virginia on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got the ProCinema 800 package to replace my Polk RMs that I have had for a while. I am pushing with a Denon AVR-1912 and was never really satisfied with the quality, even though it sounded good, there was just something missing. Switched to the 800s and now I see what I was missing. Great sound and I got that brightness I was looking for. My surround sound never sounded this good. Finally I feel that my sound system is now solid. I have really enjoyed these so far. The sub does a great job and has a convenient volume on the side of the cabinet so I don't scare the dogs to death! Went in with Bose in mind, and ended up with these Definitive Technology ProCinema 800s....You feel good when you make the right decision... Travis at Crutchfield was great to deal with....

Pros: Great Sound Quality & Price

Cons: None that I have seen

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing

Cuzzin Bri from Montgomery, TX on 5/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker system is the biggest bang for my buck I have ever received. Each speaker is very solid and appealing to the eyes. I paired this system with a Denon AVR S500BT, which is the bottom of the line Denon receivers, and I'm glad I didn't spend any more money than I did. Don't pass this up.

Pros: Amazing sound, easy to hook up, great looking, solid weight.

Cons: None!!!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

800 Pro Cinema

Bp from Florida on 4/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds just as promised. I bought a scratch and dent set and it showed up faster than estimated. One of the speakers did not sound right so Crutchfield sent another one out right away. I'm very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

Joe from Florida on 1/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent full sound, from the voices to the deep, easily adjustable bass. I love the versatility to use with any receiver verses a dedicated system that cannot be expanded. Right now I am running the [offsiteUrl] channel set-up with plans to upgrade to a [offsiteUrl] channel, which my receiver is capable of a Sony STR-DN850/[offsiteUrl]. That would consist of two more back speakers and a second subwoofer.

Pros: Great price/sound/quality

Cons: The three points (feet) that which the speakers stand on, not the most stable, but absolutely acceptable. If the speakers are mounted or in a location where they would not be disturbed you are good to go.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Def Tect ProCinema 800

Steve P from Southington, CT on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound with music or movies. It will make you say "Bose Who?" Paired with a Denon AVR-X2100W

Pros: Quality finish, attractive design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Solid Speakers

Burak from Winchester, MA on 12/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't have any high-end speakers before to compare to, however, I visited couple music stores to listen to demonstrations. Initially I had my eye on Bose home theater system, however, after reading a lot of reviews I realized I can get a very good receiver and a speaker set separately for a cheaper price. For my receiver I decided on Denon X4000 series, so far I am very happy with the performance, for speakers I had Polk Audio, Bose, Definitive Technology as my choices. I ended up choosing Definitive Technology ProCinema 800 due to overwhelmingly good reviews. I must say I do not regret my choice. We have a relatively large family room with high cathedral ceilings (~14ft) and speakers have no problem filling in the room. Even at half the volume level setting, I get amazing bang. Both for music and movies I get very good solid sound. I hear amazing detail that I used to not hear from my previous speakers. Subwoofer is very good as well, it has a separate volume control which is very convenient, at around half setting, you get very good bass, if you increase the volume, floor starts shaking which gives a movie like experience. Speakers have a glossy nice finish to them, and they feel heavy and solid. I am very happy with the performance. I would definitely recommend them.

Pros: - Solid performance for both music and movies - Powerful subwoofer - Nice finish on speakers

Cons: - Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Def Tech 800- A really good choice

JLS from Central Florida on 12/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system provided the proper balance of detailed, nicely nuanced sound and sufficient bass response in an attractive smallish form. These replaced Bose Acoustimass 10's (acquired elsewhere) that weren't quite cutting it. When I explained our issues with the Boseto Sam at Crutchfield he suggested the Pro Cinema 800's. After several weeks, we wholeheartedly agree with the recommendation.

Pros: Very good center channel speaker produces clear and detailed dialogue. There is enough bass and surprising dynamic range from the satellites. The quality is there and the finish is nice.

Cons: None yet. Good value and great customer service

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

ProCinema 800

Buck from Arizona on 12/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiofreak but I was looking for a better system than the lower end home theater 'box' setups. The sound is excellent for my medium size room. Set up is easy but I would recommend they have information on suggested wiring, etc., instead of my having to researching the subject.

Pros: Great sound. Woofer can be easily made more dominate with the volume dial.

Cons: Can't (shouldn't) lay speakers on their sides due to design. Not a big deal as they are not huge speakers.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

DEF TECH 800

michael g from New Port Richey Fl on 10/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound with my Yamaha Receiver. Prior speakers just didn't do receiver justice

Pros: Ease of setup...I had previously wired the room for surround sound. Really like the volume dial on the side of the subwoofer,something more manufacturers should consider, makes tweaking very simple.

Cons: none so far, still slowly tweaking

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Immersive Base; Buried Dialogue

ogret from Idaho on 3/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The surround speakers (the 4 small ones) put out an amazing amount of bass. The system as a whole (I evaluated it with the 10" sub since the 8" happened to be DOA) sounded just like the theatre presentation of Walter Mitty that I just saw--lots of bass but muted high-mid to treble. (I assume this theatre did not have a Klipsch system.) The Definitive Technology system's bass is clean and strong and mesmerizing if you prefer movies like Men In Black (the worm in MIBII sounded like it would come up through my living room floor) or action/explosion movies. Ultimately though I could not live with the lack of higher frequencies--dialogue was muted, music was unbalanced, and for the dialogue-rich movies I prefer Klipsch turned out to be a better match. One other note: in using these with a Marantz 100w/channel receiver, one musical passage made the surrounds clip quite noticeably. I suspect to get the dynamic range movies require, big amp power would be a good idea.

Pros: Strong, clean, immersive bass. Small sized surrounds.

Cons: Muted highs. Power hungry.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Matt

M from pa on 2/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

GREAT PRODUCT

TRABITOS4 from Petaluma, CA on 2/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I HAVE THIS DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY PROCINEMA 800 SPEAKER SYSTEM & IT IS GREAT. I ENJOY MOVIES & NBA GAMES A LOT MORE. I HAD JUST GOT IT FOR THE SUPERBOWL & I HAVE TO SAY. WOW!!! LETS GO SEAHAWKS!! PLUS CRUTCHFIELD WAS VERY HELPFUL WITH ME WHEN I CALLED WITH QUESTIONS ABOUT THE SYSTEM. I AM A HAPPY CUSTOMER. ????????! ????????!!

Pros: LIKE TONY THE TIGER SAID. THEY'RE GREAAAAAT!!!

Cons: NONE!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great Value

Movie Guy from Providence, RI on 2/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are well constructed and pose a great value. Crisp sound and sleek looking.

Pros: Price/Value

Cons: More power from the sub

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

John from Jacksonville Fl. on 12/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound incredible, I can hears notes I never heard with my Polk tower speakers. The look great hanging on the wall next to the TV and the ceiling in the rear. Base is insane from a small package. I highly recommend this product.

Pros: Great Sound Look great Nice styling Easy to install

Cons: Sub walks on a hard floor, had to put rubber pads...small issue

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

ProCinema 800

Jake C. from North Kingstown, RI on 11/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We were considering the ProCinema 600, which in itself is amazing sound from a small package, but Crutchfield's pricing allowed us to upgrade to the 800, and I'm thrilled that we did. The center channel is clear as a bell, no muddled conversation as with our last ctr chnl, and the sub is amazing. I never knew how many sound effects were broadcast during a football game until my floor started vibrating from the subwoofers (I like the rumble enough that I bought a second ProSub 800 and we run 7.2, tho honestly 7.1 would have been enough)! The sats are small enough to be inocuous but full of sound, and we're set up in a pretty large room. They sound fantastic for just listening to music too. For those who care we have an Onkyo TX-NR818 rcvr, which supplies about 135 watts/chan, which these speakers like. Definitive Tech will not dissapoint

Pros: Small attractive set packed with sound, multiple mounting options for the satellites.

Cons: Pricey compared to the competition, but I can't say for sure what the competition sounds like, so.....maybe it's not expensive.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Def techs are great

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicville, NY on 9/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrading from a Sony surround sound system. First upgraded to a Pioneer receiver which started to overpower the speakers on the highs. Replaced with def tech pro cinema 800s and they sound great. The pro cinema 1000 center channel is crystal clear. Def tech truly keeps up to their reputation. Great feedback for Cruthfield also. Butler was a great help to making my final decision. He is extremely knowledgeable and walked me through other parts that I needed for a successful setup.

Pros: great center channel speaker. Sub really compliments that satellite speakers to fully put you into a movie.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great setup

DaleL from Cumming, GA. on 7/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clear sound. I'm using a Yamaha RX-A820 and the sound is just so natural and clear. I was using a JBL soundbar w/sub and decided to upgrade to a 5.1 system. The difference is huge! You can't go wrong here, they have a great sound for their size.

Pros: Clear, Crisp, distortion free, highs, Deep Monster Bass

Cons: Sometimes the Sub goes to sleep and I have to wake it up by pulling the plug and plugging it back in.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice speakers

DanO from Annapolis, MD on 7/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and the price is right. Clean sound, nice looking and fits well into big room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing product for the price!

lconroy213 from Boston, MA on 5/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers produce unbelievable sound quality and clarity with a simply penetrating subwoofer unit to match. Bought these to replace my Bose system and, simply put, the ProCinema 800 system blows it out of the water. The build quality matches the exceptional sound quality, I would definitely recommend this product, the icon on the cake for a home theater system.

Pros: Sound Imaging Sound Clarity Build Quality Power

Cons: Get a rubber may if you plan to have this subwoofer on a hardwood floor, it likes to wander. Requires a powerful amplifier to get he most out of them, but very worth it!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

ProCinema 800

Crutchfield customer from Sherman Oaks, Ca on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and quality, paired with my Denon receiver

Pros: Quality and sound easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ProCinema 800

James from Middletown, NY on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After looking at surround speakers for the past year I finally decided on the ProCinema 800. I had several discussions the the folks at Crutchfield and went to several retail stoes to hears varies products. I had my two choices narrowed down to the ProCinema 600 and 800 and the Bose Accoustimas 10. After several sound trial at various retailers i went with the 800's. The bose sounded great. However, at louder volumes they did not hold up as well as the 800's. I bought the ProCineam 800 from Crutchfield, arrived in 2 days, and the sound is excellent at all volumes. Great audio quality for TV and works just as well for music only applications.

Pros: Stylish and great sound from a smaller speaker. Sound quality is exceptional and the speakers have a nice heavy, durable design.

Cons: The speaker jacks are of a solid design but they are a little cramped for space when mounting with 14 gauge wire. A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

def tech pro 800

mr. ed from puerto rico on 4/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great speaker system. I teamed it up with a denon 1913 and I couldn't be happier. when they arrived, I thought they might be too small, and kicked myself for not getting the pro 1000 setup. but once I set them up, I was very pleased. plenty of bass, clear center channel, and the front and rear speakers do the job. my LR is about 19' by 16', with an open arch leading to kitchen/dining area. extremely pleased.

Pros: great sub, center channel, and front and back speakers just fine with enuf detail. plenty of oomph, for my needs, without getting the neighbors up in arms. speakers are hefty and clearly well made.

Cons: have tried and tried, can't think of a single one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Value Available

Matt R. from Hershey, PA on 3/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired these with a Denon AVR-2312CI and the system is in a 16x18 living room. The highs, mids and lows all seem perfect w/ the subwoofer crossover set at roughly 80Hz, the suggested 120Hz wasn't quite right. The clarity is unmatched in the price range. Simply put, these ProCinema 800s incredible! Also, I wall mounted the monitors w/ Pinpoint AM30B wall mounts and they're a good bang for the buck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound, Great Quality

Mike from OKC, OK on 2/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this system for my mother-in-law, she had been wanting surround sound for her living room. The package arrived neatly packaged, well protected, and neatly organized in the box. The speakers have a nice piano black gloss to them and are pretty hefty for their size. They blend in perfectly with the television and on the walls, drawing any unneeded attention to them. Connected to a DENON AVR-1913, via the LFE Coaxial Output. Tuned with Audyssey.

Pros: Sounds Great, Decent High's, Good Construction, Terminal Connections are Nice.

Cons: The sub emits and overdrive rattle during some lows when the amp is turned up (above 50% volume). Unsure if it is the feet on them or if the sub doesn't like to be turned up all the way. The volume was set at about 50%, and the Amplifier was doing the rest.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Low profile and a great speaker system

Alex from Lake Forest, Illinois on 12/31/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive sound from a "little box"..subwoofer is remarkable..I am using wall mounts purchased separately..All that great sound and you barely notice the speakers..

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

amazing

Louie from Barrigada Guam on 8/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers blow away my bose speakers. Which i am / was a huge bose fan. I was a snob to any other brand speakers. I took a chance in order these and now I cant imagine getting anything else but Definitive Technology speakers.

Pros: crystal clear sound and the 8 inch sub gives me the low end thump I was wanting. Cructhfield you rock! Fast shipping to Guam. (which is not that easy for me to get things here, let alone quickly)

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology ProCinema 800

KenD from Dallas on 1/22/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had listened to some Def Techs in a demo room years ago and was very impressed so as a good santa I bought both of my daughters a set of the Definitive Technology ProCinema 800's. One set was connected to a Yamaha and one to a Denon, both with the auto calibration feature. The speakers are very impressive and the surround effect really brings movies alive in two very different rooms. I was most surprised how musical they are. Love them and Crutchfield for their speed, support, ease and pricing.

Pros: Look good and sound great.

Cons: Not the high levels of volume I was hoping for which is understandable considering the very room friendly size. They get loud, but not Saturday night disco loud.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Everything I expected them to be

Smith from Plano, TX on 1/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Definitve Technology Pro Cinema 800 is everything that I expected this surround system to be. We have a small-medium size media room and did not need a system to overwhelm the space physically or acoustically. After much deliberation and comparison these appeared to be the best small satellite speakers, the best center channel speaker (Pro 1000) and a more than adequate sub without going to a larger floor standing system. The word seamless has never communicated much for me, but I must say that seamless best describes this system's sound quality. Nothing over powers, the system simply fills the space with crisp, distinct, and colorful sound from FM, CD/DVD, or TV sources. Power for the system comes from an Onkyo TX-SR606, and is connected to a 52" Sony, Verizon FIOS and a PS3. I mounted the front L/R and surrounds on the matched DT Pro 600/800 stands and have found it to be a quality and unobtrusive combination. As always was Crutchfield's outstanding customer service with sooner than anticipated delivery and not often seen customer follow up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

Good sound

KenL from Green Bay, WI on 1/25/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound very good in our family room (14x19) and the sound flows very well through a 6 foot wide archway into our adjacent dining room and kitchen area. I researched a lot of speakers and these definitely work well. I little pricey in my estimation but they do work very well for us and they blend into the surroundings very well. So far very satisified.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Great Sound

Jason P from Minneapolis MN on 11/11/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decided to spring for the 800 and am very satisified, these sound great and easy to set up. Crutchfield was great to work with, shipped fast and sent me a replacement speaker stand when it broke during assembly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Listen Up! these are great speakers

Joe C. from Huntingtown, Md. on 8/27/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, let me rate Crutchfields, I have been researching home theater equipment for a long time. I went to the local big box store, and the staff weren't very helpful. I had done business with Crutchfields before and decided to contact them. I spoke with Paul, a salesperson, a VERY knowledgable person. He explained everything I needed to know about the units I was interested in and finally helped me make a decision about these ProCinema 800 speakers. The price was a little steep but I took his advise and I am happy I did. These speakers sound fantastic and work well with my ONKYO TX-SR08 and the Samsung Blu Ray player. Once I listened to these speakers I was sure I made the right decision. Ask for Paul you won't be sorry you did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Exceeded all expectations

JVL from Schenectady, NY on 8/13/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been shopping for upgraded speakers for a while and found myself completely indecisive between bookshelf, floor standing and satellite arrangements. After speaking with my Crutchfield advisor, who essentially told me that a floor standing based 5.1 system with the fidelity of the ProCinema 800 would cost well above my budget, I decided to take a chance. I received and installed everything yesterday, and I am still marveling at the incredible sound quality. My 12 x 17 room (TV on the long wall) is completely enveloped in sound, and when seated in or near the sweet spot, the imaging is just incredible. When watching movies, you hear everything, and sound seems to come from everywhere. With music, you get an equally satisfying experience with incredibly accurate sound and a kind of smoothness all the way up and down the audio spectrum. The combination of these satellites and outstanding sub offers huge, intensely clear/accurate sound with plenty of volume, bass and a seamlessness between sub and satellite that I never thought possible. These speakers would easily handle a larger room, and even my relatively modest receiver does a wonderful job of driving this system. Worried about being satisfied with a sat/sub system? Fear not. Technology is a beautiful thing. This system is absolutely incredible and I do not miss all of the speaker surface area I thought I'd need to keep me satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Best Satellite System I've ever heard. Crutchfields best yet.

Todd from Newnan Ga on 10/1/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been wanting Def Techs since I heard the BP2000's 15yrs ago. This system doesn't pound like those BP's but plays very loud at very high quality, overall volume is nearly painful in a 15x15 room. Bass extension is a lower frequency and tighter than the 15" woofers of my old floor speakers , bass volume starts to fall apart at about 75% volume, louder than any receiver should be pushing. I am looking to add another Def Tech sub to increase the volume of bass. Quality is great however a quality floor standing system for the same price will easliy outperform, but that defeats the whole satellite premise now doesn't it. The center/satellites are things of beauty to look at, construction quality is first rate, they weigh twice what they look, the bass radiators add alot to the sound. The size is a perfect compromise of wall mountable/yet amazing sound. If your're looking at a satellite system you have to hear these, they're not cheap, Definitives never are, but worth list price. I considered Bose, I have brothers and a sister with Bose LS systems, these are easily better. I gave them 4 stars because they need a little more bass volume, other wise they're perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 23 found this helpful

TOP