Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
553 041 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
553 041 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NAD C 538

Single-disc CD player

MFR # C538

NAD C 538

NAD C 538

Single-disc CD player

MFR # C538

70 reviews
View this product

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems solid and sounds good. Easy to use. Kinda expensive, but I'm happy with it so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Feel free to spend more, but you don't need to.

Doug from SPRING HILL, TN on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this from Crutchfield over a year ago (August 2018). I use it EVERY DAY. It works and sounds flawless. I'm not one of these people persuaded there is much difference in sound quality between a $300 CD player and a $3000 one. If you are, feel free to spend lots more on the same sound. If you're unsure, it's extremely unlikely you'll buy this and think it sounds bad. Save your money and get this instead of a pricier player. This player's built in DAC running into my NAD 316BEE v2 and my Sennheiser HD 800s headphones give me everything CD sound has to offer, and at levels that can make me deaf. I only need to adjust the volume to about 9 o'clock. There's no distortion, hiss, rolloff, boost, or anything on my CDs that shouldn't be there, and it takes nothing away that should. It sounds great. It's not perfect. The CD tray rushes open and closed too fast for my liking, and makes it feel cheap. Also, if you eject a disc before the player stops dealing with it, it will still be spinning in the tray as it comes out. Not good. So, just wait 5 seconds after pressing "Stop" before opening the drawer if a disc is in there. It also has a auto power off function that can't be disabled. It's annoying. If you leave a CD on pause for a few minutes to go potty or answer a call, it will turn itself off, and forget where you were on the disc. That's it. It's a great player! More money spent does not guarantee you better sound.

Pros: Flawless sound, inaudible disc mechanism when playing, reliable with daily use, designed in 2018, proves more money does not equal better sound.

Cons: CD tray too fast and feels cheap. CD spins on plastic in tray if you eject a disc while playing (instead of stopping first, then ejecting), dumb auto off feature to save the 0.000006 watts per year this thing would use if left on 12 months straight.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Tiverton, RI on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many NAD products in the last 25 years. This one is very neutral, with very tight bass. It's output is much higher than the last cd player. On well recorded discs the dynamics are very wide. Be careful the first time you use it because if the dynamics. On my McIntosh mc152 with a NAD 114 preamp first use clipping lights went off at 11:30 on the volume. After break in now get 1:00 out of it. And yes "Dreams" sounds live. A great piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, MN on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear sound that gets better as you use the equipment. Very good bang for the buck on this CD player. Easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing CD player for the money!!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Peters, MO on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the NAD C 538 CD PLAYER.. SOUND QUALITY is very good Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Craig from Denver, CO on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent entry level CD player. No frills but so easy to set up and use. Matches to a NAD amp looks good. Highly recommend for all those people that have kept hold of their CD's.

Pros: Good value Easy setup

Cons: Plastic remote controller

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have very expensive and wonderful speakers, but everytime i put in a disc in this nad the sound was awful. we even upgraded the cable connection, but it didn't help. i returned this item, and i'm waiting for my refund.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 19 found this helpful

Best price/performance ratio you can get.

Crutchfield customer from Manhattan Beach, CA on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A reasonably priced CD player that thinks it's high end audio. Superb sound! Second guessed myself until I turned it on...buy it you won't be disappointed

Pros: Performance and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Brown City, MI on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sounding CD player. The Wolfson DAC brings out all the details the CD has to offer. Good match for my new NAD C328 digital hybrid integrated amplifier. Smooth, quiet CD tray operation.

Pros: Optical, coaxial as well as RCA connections. Nice remote.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Experience

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great experience from the time I contacted Crutchfield until I hooked up the unit!! The website was very easy to use. Andy (Crutchfield advisor) was extremely knowledgeable and knew the equipment extremely well, and he helped me select the best unit for my needs. The unit shipped the same day and was delivered in 3 days to CA. The unit was wrapped very well - no problems. Crutchfield is extremely good at keeping you informed.

Pros: Knowledgeable staff and very customer oriented. The service was outstanding.

Cons: You can't physically see and touch the unit, but that is true of any purchase over the internet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Door doesn't close, avoid this CD player

Jeff from Chicago, IL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit played beautifully, but after a few months of use the tray wouldn't close properly. Crutchfield promptly sent a replacement unit. The same issue happened with the replacement unit after 3 months -- the drawer wouldn't close all the way. Once again, Crutchfield's customer service is superb and they offered me a refund. I would steer clear of this NAD CD player. One star for the unit, five stars for Customer Service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player. Easy to setup and easy to use. Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Sparks Glencoe, MD on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, simple clean design, quickly reads the disc, no issues yet.

Pros: All listed above

Cons: When it is dark in the cabinet I have it in, it is difficult to see the labels for the buttons, would be nice if it lighted up, easier to just use the remote.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Maplewood, MN on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros: Sound

Cons: Downloaded manual has small print for someone my age

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Mebane, NC on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Player CD transport jammed after 3 months of light use. Transport door was not fully closing. Door is now inoperable. Sent to authorized NAD repair center for repair. Sound quality was good while it worked.

Pros: Good sound quality

Cons: Poor build quality

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Beverly Hills, MI on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player! I'm very pleased with this Crutchfield recommendation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this CD player, easy to use, great sound. Came well packaged. I am happy with this purchase and recommend this player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Bill from Lancaster, PA on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is based on having the unit 2 days. First I have to say I went through hundreds of reviews on different players, trying to find a reliable unit that wasn't 500 bucks or up. Finally decided on this..hooked it up and stuck in my favorite and heavily used cd..flawless playback. Since it's been fed a steady diet and played everything I have fed it. The remote is a little confusing, but no matter. If anything changes I will update my review, but at this point money well spent.

Pros: Plays everything I throw at it. Nice looking unit Sounds great

Cons: Nothing to complain about

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 538

David from Mesa on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm impressed with how good my CD's sound with this unit. I have some from the 80's, the early days of CD's and I'm hearing some nuances in the mix that I've never heard before. It's remarkable what a good player can bring out in these old CD's. Things in the mix I've never heard before. Great unit, and the more I listen, the more I like it.

Pros: Plenty.

Cons: None so far. Great Unit!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Very pleased with NAD C 538

Kurt from North Canton, OH on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As other reviewers have noted, this is a nice, clean, solid, cd player. The sound was very nice right out of the box. I am very pleased.

Pros: clean sound, simple operation

Cons: have not found any yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Albrightsville, PA on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield Quality

Crutchfield customer from Hope, AR on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple yet elegant design. Bells and whistles lie confidently in the timeless quality of NAD components. We had an issue with the first shipment and the Crutchfield staff were exceptional in helping us get it resolved. Thank you!

Pros: Consistently good service and support

Cons: No neighborhood Crutchfield store with energetic and knowledgeable staff and that wonderful smell of new components in the filtered air of the store.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just replaced a 14 year old NAD CD player with this one. Solid equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great no frills player.

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price for a fine disc player. Very nice uncolored and detailed sound, silent drive, simple operation. No frills player that performs well. It looks like NAD did put the cost saved by omitting wifi, Bluetooth, and other items into the sound of the player. I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Pros: Sound and simplicity.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful build quality and sound

Al from Bloomington, MN on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent CD player. Top bang for the buck.

Pros: Solidly built no frills unot with top quality components. Produces great sound from an economical package.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lasted < 6 Months

Jon from Vernon Rockville, CT on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lasted less than 6 months, maybe 50 CDs played. Transit for CD is jammed. Piece of junk. Do not buy.

Pros: Price

Cons: Piece of junk lasted 6 months. My previous CD player 1990's SONY lasted 26 YEARS before giving up...

Crutchfield response on 2/4/2019
After receiving Jon's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his CD player is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact NAD at 800-263-4641 for further information about the 2-year warranty on this CD player.

5 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Getzville, NY on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. A little disappointed in the DAC. Classic rock like the who sounds great. Jazz, Classical, Pop sound better using the built in DAC of my 10 year old Yamaha AVR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A price to performance champion

Derek from Boston, MA on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did quite a bit of research before buying this CD player, and heard recommendations from several people about this particular model. I was looking for the best value for money and I think I found it. I burned the player in for two weeks by playing Dark Side of the Moon on repeat before actually connecting it to my amp based on some other reviews on Crutchfield. What you get for the money is fantastic. I am hearing details on CDs I know very well that I've never heard before. I did upgrade the OEM cables to Audioquest Golden Gates, but that probably only accounts for a small fraction of the sound quality. For reference, this unit is being used with a Rogue Audio Sphinx V2 integrated amp playing over KEF LS50 speakers. The remote is fairly basic, but gets the job done. The tray isn't quite as solid as I'd wish for, but that's more an aesthetic thing. I am looking forward to enjoying my CDs again without breaking the bank.

Pros: Incredible, detailed sound without tinny highs. Great value for money.

Cons: None worth mentioning.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Alamogordo, NM on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful product. Easy set up and music plays beautifully, crisply, and cleanly.

Pros: Price, low profile

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

remastered CD's call for upgraded players

Dan from Rockville, MD on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I became intrigued by the raft of remastered anniversary reissue CD's such as the Beatle's White album, and the Rolling Stones Let it Bleed that came out before Christmas. Not to mention the Talking Heads True Stories soundtrack. I stumbled upon a review of this CD player and realized that my twenty year old CD player was probably not doing these CD's justice. I am very glad I bought this. The remasters are just plain stunning. I have a couple hundred CD's to try it out on. The player is not cluttered with extraneous features, it just delivers outstanding playback.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very Nice

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because I wanted a good home CD player. This player is ideal for that. It is good looking, well built and sounds good. The remote is easy to use. The digital display is only one line and will scroll text, but nicely displays digital song information.

Pros: Attractive, well sounding and simple to use.

Cons: Would prefer a multi-line display.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Purpose built CD player

John from Wheaton, IL on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fabulous CD player! I have added this into my system with an NAD preamp and a Carver amp. The sound is absolutely fantastic. I love the simplicity of the design, as it seems purpose built to do one thing - and it does it extremely well.

Pros: Amazing sound quality Clean design Well built

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Jon from Bellaire, OH on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this CD player as I've damaged her unit that I own for a long time of the same manufacture it works very nice it's a little smaller than my original but the sound actually sounds a little better my only negative is probably the interface of the remote is a little different it's not as concise but overall Very happy with the purchase As well as Crutchfield's customer service and shipping all excellent

Pros: Price Reliability Name recognition

Cons: Smaller size Remote control interface

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Martin from Kahului, HI on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup,fits perfect in my stand

Pros: Replaces my older CD deckthat would skip,but put the same disk and no skipping,easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD quality and reliability

Clark from Ann Arbor, MI on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simplicity of operation and great clarity and range of sound. A wonderful replacement for a decades-old NAD cd player that finally wore out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Player

Norris from Hawi, HI on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit plays flawlessly, however the remote doesn't work. Thanks to JT and Jay of Tech Support we're trying to correct the problem. Other then the malfunctioning remote I'm happy with the purchase

Pros: Love the sound

Cons: Remote

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I love it. I had a 5 disc changer before that finally crashed after 30 years. For 30 years we missed out on much better sound. So if you have a disc changer dump and upgrade. I would love to have a disc changer with this sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NAD C 538 is a simple, easy to use, fantastic sounding CD player. Even running it through an older Onkyo amp and Polk bookshelf monitors ,the sound is tremendous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds incredible...great CD player and a great bargain

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

This unit sounds awesome

Stephen from Omaha, NE on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing sounds wonderful. I gave it a good 20 hour burn-in, but I don't think you'll be disappointed with it straight out of the box. I'm playing it currently through its RCA outs into my TEAC AI-501DA and Polk S-20 bookshelf speakers. I made the furniture in my living room accommodate the perfect stereo triangle (much to my girlfriends dismay) and I can assure you, you're going to hear things you've never heard before on your old CDs. It's very open and clear, without being overly crisp on the high end. I've tried a few new CD players lately, and while M brand is nice, silky, and may give you a touch more bass, it definitely takes something off the high end; say 12-14 kHz. This unit is sleek, simple, low profile, and sounds absolutely as good as a player twice its price. I guess at the end of the day, it's very subjective, and it just depends on what you like...if you like clear and open sound, you will love this machine. If you tend to like more "warmth" (which, to my ears =more muddy), then maybe try another brand. I bought my first CD player from Crutchfield in 1990, when I was 15. It was a Kenwood single drawer, and I've only recently pulled out my CDs again- they're still the highest fidelity medium there is- and I've been blown away! I don't remember them sounding this good! Compressed formats are for the gym, or for airplane rides! Do yourself and your ears a favor: Buy this player, get a good amp, and get back to REAL music! You'll be glad you did!

Pros: Small profile, simple layout, great sound. Sturdy build. The top cover has like 4 screws on top/front. Never seen that before. Can dim the display all the way off if you want. Better for watching VU meters on your amp!

Cons: Ok, ok, the remote is a bit cheap. But it works just fine.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Wrightsville, PA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went from a really crappy player and stepped up to this player.. SUCH A HUGE difference. Not sure what the other players can provide for the additional cost, but at this price point, i was definitely happy...

Pros: musical simple

Cons: aesthetics aren't the best

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Rhinebeck, NY on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a gift. Have not been able to hear it in use. However it arrived quickly. Well packaged. No damage. Looks exactly as expected. Will fit in smaller spaces, as needed. Looking forward to hearing it in use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had this for a few weeks, sounded great out of the box and after breaking in for about 50 hours sounds even better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Jim from Somerville, MA on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clean sound and easy set up. Functions as it should.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what he wanted

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a gift for my brother. He likes it a lot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Richmond Hill, NY on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, solid player.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super slim design and compact. Works seamlessly so far and no distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very natural, distinct, musical sound.

Michael from Oakland, CA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace an aging NAD 512 CD player and while the 512 was good, the NAD C 538 is so much better. Much greater clarity and definition, plus clearer bass, makes my extensive CD collection really shine. It has a very natural, musical, British sound hooked up to my NAD 314 amp and original Rogers LS3/5A .speakers. I think it would be hard to find something better at this price.

Pros: Sounds great at a reasonable price. Good match for NAD components or other musical sounding gear.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Two units, both with issues

Russell from York, PA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great experience with Crutchfield, but a poor product from NAD. Fit and finish of the C538 were great: nice simple interface, great remote, etc. However during playback there was a periodic "chirp," possibly from the laser, during playback (did not occur while disc was paused). Wasn't noticeable until I played some quieter classical music, but was very distracting unacceptable. Crutchfield was great and sent me a replacement unit right away. Unfortunately, the second unit wouldn't read any discs - all were store-bought CD's which play fine in my other CD players. After inserting the disc, the unit would spin ("Loading") then read "No disc." So I was never able to confirm the first issue, since the second unit didn't work at all. Rather than tempt fate on another NAD, I had to spend a little more and tried out a Marantz unit (see separate review). Four stars for Crutchfield for their assistance - but watch out for these NAD units.

Pros: Nice form, nice price.

Cons: First unit had annoying / distracting chirp; replacement unit would not read CD's. Unable to confirm if first issue was 'normal' or a defect, but either way it wasn't acceptable.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player took 2 minutes to install and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must Buy This Player

Mark from Florida on 9/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, out of the box I had an issue in that the player didn't recognize a CD in the tray and indicated, 'No DISC'. I tried everything I could think of but couldn't resolve on my own. One phone call to Crutchfield and the issue was immediately remedied. It involved sending the until back and getting a new unit, which worked! Point is, Customer Support is awesome and despite a few days delay, I was up and running. Now for the product review. This CD player is awesome! Like another review, I want to reiterate that you need to burn the player in. Stick a CD in and set player to 'Repeat All' and let it go, speakers on or off. I did this with the 'Greatest Hits of Kansas' due to high harmonies and strings, organ and deep bass. A decent mix of highs, lows and middle. After a couple days of burn in, I listened to the Kansas CD on the NAD and played it side by side with my old Pioneer player. Holy moly, what a dramatic difference! I heard so much more from the NAD, than ever before! If you can compare like I did, you'll hear what I mean. That is, of course, if you purchase the NAD C538, which you must do!

Pros: Easy set up, great DAC resulting in fan sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent sound and value

GLENN from Amherst, OH on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player is exactly what I was looking for. I had read lots of reviews before deciding on the NAC C538, and I see why it was so well regarded. It shipped quickly, was easy to set up, worked flawlessly and sounded great. Best of all, it was surprisingly inexpensive. I'd recommend this player to anyone.

Pros: Low cost, great sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great just like all the other NAD components I have. Very happy with the sound quality and features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Kenai, AK on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sounding low price CD-player. This is used in bedroom as secondary system. It does not match musical ability of Marantz CD 6006 in main system, nor did I expect that. Fast forward function of Remote conflicts with NAD C326bee integrated amplifier. Amps power LED pulsates followed by non-responsive remote function(s) for several seconds on CD player part. Amplifier it self continues normal function. This does not negate purchase decision. It is surprising NAD engineers never encountered this conflict when testing components.

Pros: wide sound stage, depth-width of instruments.

Cons: some issues with remote

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality in a Home CD player. No need to put more money into one with the quality and consistency of NAD.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great CD player. Perfect match for NAD C 338 Amplifier

Ray from Madison, MS on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding and looking. Perfect for the NAD C338 amplifier. Very impressed with the sound and the build quality for the price. One of the better sounding CD players I have owned at any price.

Pros: Small, simple, great sound, easy to use. Nice remote

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great product

Mike from Bryant, AR on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased, no skipping, great sound a big improvement.

Pros: Bring new life to my old CDs which I thought were damaged. No skipping

Cons: None,

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

sound quality is not direct proportional to the price we pay

kvr from Riverview, FL on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i wanted step up my HIfi from Elac UB5 and Elac AMP and Started with Cambridge Audio CXC CD transport and i was happy with it. Then i tried Kef r300 speaker and NAD C 388 combo , this pair has rich in detail but not exciting and engaging sound for my serious Sunday afternoon listening sessions. After day and night research finally ended up kef ls50 wireless. this is very balanced no color to instruments or vocals and very dynamic even at low volumes. again started searching for CD player which has RCA outputs, to connect Kef Ls50w and i tried with NAD C 538 with audio quest Big sur RCA cable , After playing my reference and well known song, immediately i surprised improvement in clear mids and details over Cambridge Audio CXC CD transport. i think NAD nails the performance while keeping price lowest possible. For comparison sake i purchased Feetwood mac TUSK highres 96/24 album and same album CD payed over NAD, Some reason to my ears NAD CD player sound most enjoyable and instruments are more musical. through my upgrade finally i understood in Hifi world sound quality is not direct proportional to the price we pay

Pros: Great sound quality while keeping cost low

Cons: spinning sound when i changed to last track to fist track .

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Atascadero, CA on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. There is a very nice separation of instruments when listening to orchestral/symphonic music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Did not expect this type of quality for the price

mike from NYC on 7/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just for the record, I am a pro musician, recording engineer and mastering engineer with over 35 years technical experience. I have been around all kinds of studio equipment, usually the best quality down to the mediocre. CD players are a way of life for me and I have over 5,000 CD's and LP's. Getting that load out of the way, l need to say this CD player is one of the best I've ever heard. D/A technology has come a long way since the 80's and the circuitry in this unit really shines above a lot of the much higher priced units out there today. This unit replaced a top of the line, let's called it an "M", that I only had for 8 years but was plagued with mechanical problems after the second year. I used to think the sound of that unit was above reproach, but when that unit finally died recently I had to get a new one for home. After doing a lot of reading I decided to give the NAD C 538 a try. To be totally honest, the soundstage, tight bass and overall air around instruments was immediately apparent but there was a bit of harshness to my ears around 1K to 2K. I knew instinctively, the CD player needed to be "burned in". Yes, CD players need to be burned in just like headphones. I picked a very dynamic CD I have & loaded it in & pressed "repeat all" and let it spin for 2 weeks. The results absolutely floored me. I am now hearing things I've never heard on CDs I've been listening to for over 20 years now. A testament to some awesome technology here. Highly recommended.

Pros: impeccable sound quality very quick, solid bass response, clear mids, natural highs solid CD tray and mechanics nice, clean, modern looks small footprint love the blue LED

Cons: no CD text readout does not shut off totally, only reverts to standby (but with 1/2 watt usage in standby mode, I'm not complaining)

Crutchfield response on

22 of 23 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Whitman, MA on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had it for a few days, but seems like a really nice CD player. Great sound and seems well built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to set up

Larry from Faribault, MN on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the Nad C 538. Great sound, plays cd'rs and about everything else. The sound is very good and natural. I have about 2000 cd's dating back to the 80's so it will get much use. The remote works well, after taking a little time to figure it out. I have it connected to a Harmon Kardon 3700 2 channel located in my bed room, with Polk bookshelf speakers and a sub woofer. NAD has been around for about 45 years and makes good stuff.

Pros: Seems to be well made, durable

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Gem Of A CD Player

Dan from Henderson, NV on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best CD Player I have ever had. What you are getting here is technology that was in much higher priced units in previous models. I replaced a Cambridge C350 which I purchased about 6-7 years ago. The technology today is light years ahead which results in amazing sound quality at any price point while this is so called "entry level". I have paired with 316BEE amplifier, PP2 phono preamp, Project Debut turntable with Ortofon OM20 cartridge, Tara Labs RSC Prime M3 interconnects, Pair stand mounted Monitor Audio Silver 1Gloss Black, REL TZERO Gloss Black, Audioquest Rocket 44 Speaker Cables. This is my master bedroom system and it sounds better than primary system in living room which is much more powerful with similar but higher line products.

Pros: Great Sound, Great Remote, Great Looking

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NAD C 538

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 7/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my new NAD C 538.Loads discs smoothly, no skips, very fine sound with my NAD 3020 integrated amp. Super value at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little CD player

Vincent from Apex, NC on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds so much better than the blu-ray player I was using before. Paired with a NAD C 368 for great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic NAD sound!

P from Clarendon Hls, IL on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks Crutchfield for such quick delivery. The C538 replaces an old NAD player that 's time had come. The sound improvement with this player is fantastic! I have always liked the clean design exterior of NAD products. I'm extremely happy w/ the sound quality w/ this player.

Pros: Amazing sound from NAD at respectable price.

Cons: EU cable included. Seems like a waste of money for something most will toss into trash.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value CD player

Craig from Cooper City, FL on 6/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player has great sound. You can't beat this for the price.

Pros: Wolfson DAC makes it sound sweet.

Cons: Tray is a little cheap but it functions fine.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best option for the money

Michael from St Paul, MN on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This NAD C 538 replaced my 17 year old Denon player. I have to say it is a dramatic improvement. My old deck would skip at the slightest bump and would have frequent drop-outs in signal. There are none of those issues here. The fidelity is warm and listenable. I am very impressed with the clarity of the low end and the highs are smooth without a hint of harshness. There are no drop-outs and it plays both manufactured CDs and home burned CDRs without any issues. I can hear previously hidden details in all genres of music by a variety of artists from Erykah Badu to Judas Priest. When comparing my options, the NAD has the best specs of all the players in this price range. I also picked the NAD over the Cambridge Audio player at the same price because this one has seamless playback (no silent gap is added between tracks). You can't go wrong with this player at the price.

Pros: Price Build quality Fidelity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Just a great simple CD player

Peter from Humble, TX on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a great simple CD player. I had the same feeling listening to CD's on this as I did returning to listening to some vinyl. Quality is just awesome. I have not spent too much time with the unit yet, as it is at as it is not at my main house. My wife said she has enjoyed listening to it when she has had the chance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP