Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
255 240 23

Our hours

Connect ID #
255 240 23
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # DB52-BK

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # DB52-BK

25 reviews
View this product

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Crutchfield customer from Greensburg, IN on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Appreciate the quality of sound. Excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these as an exchanges for the Klipsch 160 M. The Klipsch were too much for the room i put them in. Thank you Crutchfield for the easy return policy and the advice to go with these. These speakers are delivering a warmer, more balanced sound for my office and Den. I am using my old Yamaha sub for the super lows, but the Elacs are breaking in nicely and really fit the bill.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Choice - Paired with TX8220

Crutchfield customer from Great Meadows, NJ on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with an Onkyo TX8220 and sound beautiful. They get more then loud enough to fill the (very large) room with music with no distortion. If you're choosing between these or the slightly newer 6.2s then pick these if you have a weaker amp. From what I read they are much more forgiving of a lower powered system (like the 45 wpc 8220).

Pros: -price -sound -look

Cons: -nothint

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Value for Money

Crutchfield customer from W Bloomfield, MI on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for some small and big sounding bookshelf speakers. I did a lot of research. I wound up choosing the Elac B5.2 speakers. I was not disappointed. They sound very warm and accurate. The bass is really good as well. I am really happy with my purchase.

Pros: Great sound from small size. Accurate sound. Great bass.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

As good as expected

Travis from Cedar Park, TX on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received my Debut B5.2s today and am completely pleased. They are replacing the Andrew Jones Pioneer bookshelf speakers. I have them hooked up to a NAD D3020 Hybrid Digital Amplifier and my main source is my Tidal streaming service running from my Mac mini. Probably a perfect match for my small listening space. The first recordings I listened to were of the "master" quality that Tidal says is "Authenticated files from the mastering process. Studio Quality. Unrivaled clarity and depth." The first few cuts were from John Williams' score to "Revenge of the Sith" and Gregory Porter's recording of Smile from his album "Nat King Cole and Me'. As a musician and music teacher myself, I was first impressed by the clarity and presence of the sound. The natural timbre of all of the instruments was impressive as were the subtle nuances of sound....cello and bass bows moving across the strings, brass mutes, percussion mallets and sticks striking heads, brushes moving across the top of the snare drum, vocal articulations, etc. I had been missing these subtleties in my previous speakers. Considering the B5.2s have not been "broken in yet" I guess I am in for a real treat in a few weeks. So far, so fantastic.

Pros: Clarity, depth, presence of sound Natural instrument timbres Detail and subtleties of articulations Bought these during the promo

Cons: None that I can discern yet since I've only had them a few hours

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

O'Guy from Cicero, NY on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced Andrew Jones' Pioneer bookshelfs. Outstanding upgrade.

Pros: Balanced, broad sound stage.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Wesley from LAWRENCEBURG, IN on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the B5.2 's over the B6.2's mainly because of my listening room size (8'X14') and amplifier. I have a Cambridge Audio Topaz AM10 integrated Amp with 35 watts RMS. Other speakers I have are Infinity Primus P163s, Bose 2.2s, and PSB Amazing Alphas. The PSBs were the best sounding but at a higher volume they just didn't sound that good. I play CDs through a Denon DVD - 2910 and HD Tracks Hi-Res music from my Mac Mini. The ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2s arrived on Friday afternoon and I unboxed them and hooked them up right away. My first impression wasn't that good, they pretty much sounded like my other speakers. I listened to them a couple hours that evening and still sounded kind of dull. Saturday I played them for about 14 hours. I played different music genres at different volume levels. About halfway through that session I put a Bach cd in on repeat play and cranked the amp to -30 db, which is pretty loud in my small room. I closed the door and let it play for about 4 hours. I guess you could say that was when the magic started to happen, I went in and turned the volume down to my normal listening level and started playing different types of music. I couldn't believe my ears, the bass was awesome and midrange was sweet and everything I played sounded so much better than what I had been listening to. I did another long session on Sunday and they just seem to be getting better. For the price and excellent sound quality give these B5.2s a try!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Winners

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers and at that sales price it was a no brainer. Originally using for bedroom set up but will be moving to main room downstairs. Fantastic sound and I just didn't need this much speaker for smaller room. Will be perfect for filling out a larger space. Couldn't believe the speed of service during COVID 19 times...really fast and thorough communication.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

1 x C6.2, 2 x B6.2 and 4 x B5.2

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose the Debut's because the reviews indicated that they were tonally balanced. I took a chance and ordered a pair of B6.2's and a C6.2 as the front three for surround. After listening to them for a week, I liked them so well that I took advantage of the sale that was still in effect and ordered two pairs of B5.2's, two for surround and the other two are on my desktop - for now. In my room with the surround, all of the surfaces are hard and the furniture is leather, so I had been concerned that some of the other brands in this category would be harsh in this room, as are my Klipsch Forte's that live in another room with carpet. These are indeed balanced tonally in this room. I am unaware of the tweeter, the treble is just *there* where it belongs. Not screechy or muted. I'm in the acoustical Goldilocks zone. I found that there is a slight tonal difference between the C6.2 and the B6.2's. I only hear it with the pink noise setup-tones in the surround receiver. It almost sounds as if the main vocal range is punched up a tiny bit, but it is still minor. The tonal difference between the B6.2's and the B5.2's is very small. So just listening, music of various types and styles and quality, movies of various types and I haven't been dissatisfied yet in the month I've had them. The surround set up is mated with a folded horn sub, crossed over at 60 Hz. I might try something different someday. I'm good for now.

Pros: Clear, smooth, uncolored sound. Look nice with the grill off. Build is sturdy, internal bracing allows me to place TV on the C6.2.

Cons: Cloth covered plastic grill and snap-in mounts, would prefer magnetic. Packaging uses Styrofoam, would prefer something more readily recyclable and/or collapsible, perhaps all-cardboard supporting structures.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Budget audiophile heaven

Dirk from TRYON, NC on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome bookshelf for medium sized rooms. I paired my speakers with an Emotiva TA-100 with an M&K subwoofer and a raspberry pi -Hi-Fi Berry DAC and am plenty happy with the bang for the buck. Did not think the upgrade from my budget Micca MB-42X's would be so significant. Very musical with detailed imaging and excellent bass response. Bough some high quality stands to help and very pleased. Can't go wrong for the price!!!

Pros: Price Sound Dynamics Detail

Cons: Picky on placement Need good quality souce & amplification

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker

Rich from Middletown, RI on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased these on sale. Crystal clear sound. Bass was better than I thought were going to be. Just played The 1812 Overture a little loud and scared the dog. But he got over it. Have them set up as stereo but will be using them in a 5.1 set up soon with Definitive Technology Pro Monitor 1000 as surrounds and center. Highly recommend

Pros: Nice price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, IL on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a fairly small office space (9' x 13') and was looking for speakers that would match it. My music preferences range across the map - classical, jazz, alternative and hard rock. These speakers handle the first 3 genres very well - I play a number of instruments and a decent reproduction of solo acoustic performances is a must for me. I've added a small 8-inch powered subwoofer for when I want things to shake off of the desk, but only use it occasionally. I'm powering these speakers with a 50 year old Scott R 36 S receiver, rated at 35 watts per channel into 8 ohms. The B5.2's are not high efficiency but I've had no trouble driving them with this setup. They are also acting as monitors for my home studio and doing better than the monitors they've replaced. I'd recommend them for anyone with similar music preferences in a reasonably small space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

These speakers exceeded all expectations!

Crutchfield customer from MCKINNEY, TX on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In all my years of audio purchases, This is the best value in speakers I have ever had. These speakers exceeded all expectations! I need a pair of bookshelf speakers for bedroom, with an eye on expanding, I was amazed by ELAC full-body sound and no comprise on bass , In fact, after setting them up for break-in period first time I left the room you could have sworn a powered sub was playing. Great speakers and great Crutchfield price is a WIN/WIN Dave B. Mckinney Tx

Pros: great sound out these bookshelf speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pleasantly Surprised!

Izzy from Orlando, Fl on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely the best couple hundred bucks I've spent. I figured I would buy these for my L & R speakers and move them to the rear if they weren't up to snuff. Let me tell you, these things are dynamite. I'm driving them with a Denon x-3500 which pushed these speakers perfectly with room to spare. Musically, these are amazing, especially at the price point. Music source will definitely dictate the quality of sound but GEEZ, these things surprized me. I'd recommend a sub as these are not meant to provide the base a tower would offer for home theatre. Even that being the case, they still rumble with a purpose in action scenes. Please do yourself a favor and pick a pair up. You won't be disappointed! The only con is at lower volumes they are plain as vanilla.

Pros: VALUE! Clarity Clear at higher volumes (mostly) Solid construction Visually appealing

Cons: Plain Jane at lower volumes

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Hillsville, VA on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speakers. I recently caught these on sale and couldn't pass them up. Extremely happy with my choice.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great sound

Crutchfield customer from Romney, WV on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound at an incredibly low price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Elac Debut 5.2 ver

Crutchfield customer from Windsor Locks, CT on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been researching book shelf speakers for about a month ago and I finally pulled the trigger and purchased the Debut 2.0 B5.2 speakers. At this price point I am amazed at the quality of the sound! Crystal clear highs with no fatigue, solid mids and tight punchy bass. I am using these as my front mains with an Elac Cinema 5 surround 5.1 system, by adding the B5.2's as my fronts I was able to create a 7.1 system. This is all driven by a Marantz NR 1608 AV receiver. It sounds awesome! Listening to music I use 2.1 stereo and the more power I put to these speaker the better they sound. I plan on getting an Elac Debut C5.2 center speaker to complete my setup. For under a $1000 I have a kick *ss 7.1 system! On the fence about Elac speakers? Come on over, the waters just fine!

Pros: Crystal clear highs without fatigue, solid mids, great bass. Fit and finish perfect.

Cons: I didn't get them sooner.Crystal

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best Bookshelf Speakers for the Price?

Robin from San Francisco on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently decided to replace and upgrade my 35 year old AR bookshelf speakers. After considerable research, I narrowed the candidates down to the ELAC Debut 2.0, the Polk Signature S20 HiRes and the Polk TRi3. I listen blues, jazz, country, bluegrass, old time and roots folk and watch TV; no home theater. My system is a 3.0; the center speaker is a Polk CS10; the receiver is a Yamaha RX-V681; the TT is a 35 year old Technics SL-D30 with a fairly new AT95e cartridge. I used records, CDs and DirecTV to test. My living room is 15x13. Although it is all the reviewer's new darling, I ruled the ELACs out first. They were a slight improvement on my ARs but unremarkable. Virtually all the reviewers, both professional and customer, tagged the Polk TRi3s as bright and they were. They did a really good job in the higher ranges, really clear and no overloading or breaking at the top but were less impressive in the lower ranges. The Polk S20s were the clear winners for music, much more rounded and balanced with just a bigger sound. Those musical passages that needed to pop really did, unlike with the TRi3s. For TV, the TRi3s might have a slight edge, but not enough to matter. I'm a function over form guy but with their cherry wood veneer finish, their curved taper going towards the back and their great looking grill, the TRi3s are far and away the best looking and most stylish of the group. The ELACs and the S20s are not shielded, the TRi3s are. I'm keeping the 20 HiRes speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 B5.2

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these for my daughter's college apartment. I am breaking these in with a Rotel RA 1572 and comparing them to older Paradigm Monitor V 7.2. They sound very, very good. Not quite as full as the tower speakers, and a bit brighter. They sound great stacked together. A great deal for $200.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible value!

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 4/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellant sound for the size and price. I was surprised by their remarkable warmth, and full sound. You absolutely cannot go wrong with these bookshelf speakers.

Pros: Warmth, beautiful tonality, classic looks, solid construction.

Cons: None. Perfect for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

Mario from Guaynabo, PR on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing a Polk Audio TSi 100. And wow, much more there, I mean full bodied sound. Is a 3.1 system, but for music listening I'm only using these speakers, something I could't do with the Polks.

Pros: Full bodied sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

A bit harsh

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the C5.2 first and, after a week of try-out, ordered a pair of B5.2 for front wall (L/C/R) try-out for a 5.1.2 system in new house under construction. We are not critical listeners but, for us, dialogue clarity is important as 80% of our listening is HT. First, for music from playing CD's these speakers are great, excellent SQ. For TV dialogue however we have found the speakers to be a bit harsh and especially so on shows with poor sound quality to begin with. Working thru my Yamaha Aventage 660 receiver, I have been able to tune the audio to where Blu-Ray and DVD audio sounds pretty good so at this point I'm going to let them (and my ears) settle in and see how the performance sounds in a couple of weeks. Right now, I might need to return them. Otherwise, great price and they look fantastic, well built and good mf'g quality.

Pros: Value, appearance, music performance from well recorded sources

Cons: Dialogue harshness, ability to handle bad recordings

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Excellent musical experience

Jeff from Anchorage, AK on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a replacement for well known UK based speaker system, which were far too bright(!). Elac overall sound is quite nice, a little on the bright side but none of glare (glass like) sound. Imaging is very good with some 3d hints of location. Low frequencies are a little heavy used with subwoofer, so I used the foam plugs taken from Monitor Audios to resolve that (small) issue. This is used for bedroom/den system. Main system in living room use model above amplification, Marantz CD player and Focal Chorus 706. What I hear are Elac sounding very close to, but not matching the Focals as expected. Would buy these again.

Pros: Looks like all the hype about Andrews Jones designs are true.

Cons: Banana connection nuts are unusally large, manufacturer terminated Audioquest Type 4 and 8 speaker cable plugs will pop out of speaker from it's own hanging weight. This does not occur with the other speaker systems.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Another Andrew Jones Winner

James from Northbridge, MA on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably the best yet of Andrew Jones' budget speakers. Has the characteristic full and smooth AJ sound, but doesn't suffer from the treble roll-off of his earlier efforts. I have it hooked up with a subwoofer so I can't comment on low bass, but the midrange is clean. Efficiency is not great, but with watts so cheap, who cares? Fit and finish is typical of this class of speaker but nothing special (although those with little kids will appreciate the metal grill over the tweeter). A finish option other than blah black would be nice.

Pros: Smooth sound not missing anything. Great speaker for the money.

Cons: A little tall for my taste, but that's the price of the front port.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Surprisingly big sound

Kenneth from Thiensville, WI on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This new version of the Elac B5 speaker has some positive attributes including front-facing port for easier bookshelf and room placement. The initial impression was one of surprise because the speakers are much larger than I expected, and extremely well packed for shipment. The cabinet construction is good, the binding posts are nice, and the overall fit and finish appears to be of a more expensive speaker. Initial listening convinced me some burn-in time was needed as the speaker sounded unusually bright and a bit strident. After a few weeks, the speaker warmed up, and its main characteristics include excellent upper midrange detail, quick and responsive tweeter allowing for a surprisingly excellent transient response considering the price point, allowing for the inner dynamics of orchestral music to be well evident. Overall bass is ok, with some lower mid-bass coloration I could not resolve. Midrange was acceptable, if not a little too lean for my preference. Overall, a very good speaker, with above average transparency and micro-transient detail previously experienced only on some top tier speakers by B&W, Dynaudio and Epos. Midrange could use more warmth and presence, but overall not a bad price.

Pros: Clean revealing detail, Micro-transients and inner dynamics are there to hear, good build quality, well packaged, and expansive sound

Cons: Muddy bass, can be a bit strident at first, warms up over time, lacks presence in midrange

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP