Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
744 876 69
Connect ID #
744 876 69

Sorry, chat is currently unavailable

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C Excelon Series 7" component speaker system

MFR # KFC-XP184C

4.5 out of 5 stars
44 reviews
View this product
Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Joel from Phoenix, AZ on 3/11/2024

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. Added a clean sound to my 3rd gen Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did Not Disappoint

Joshua from Galloway, NJ on 3/5/2024

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had a few systems in a few different vehicles over the last decade. These are the best tweeter/woofer set I've had yet. With a little EQ theyre super clear without being harsh. Mounted in front pillars, firing toward windshield. I have them paired with a 12" sub so I can't speak for the low end but theyre clear and loud enough running on a 75w rms amp to rise to and match my 500w sub. Very happy with these

Pros: Clarity at high volumes. Lots of instalation accessories

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great overall

Evan from Federal Way, WA on 1/17/2024

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really great set of speakers! Gave me the volume and clarity i was after. Very nice kit with foam strips and multiple tweeter mounting options.very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent quality and Perfect Fit!

Reggie from Roopville, GA on 1/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed these in my 2019 Ram 1500 with the Harmon Kardon 19 speaker system. One was blown from the previous owner. I replaced the 6x9 front door speakers (left/right) as well as the dash tweeters. The 7 inch woofers sound much better and the tweeters have multi angle adjustability for sound direction. The improvement in over all depth and clarity is substantial and the ease of install made this kit even sweeter. Tony hooked me up with everything I needed in my cart. That's why I love Crutchfield. Thanks again guys!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Nicholas from Cleveland, OH on 12/3/2023

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound quality is great. I am running these in my Tacoma on a 5 channel Kenwood Excelon amp and they handle it perfectly.

Pros: Easy installation with the included adapters Sound quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear at high dB's

Dana from Island Lake, IL on 11/28/2023

2011 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear sound remains, even at very high decibels. These are a fantastic investment. My truck has separate tweeters and woofers in the doors. These are perfect solution.

Pros: Perfect solution for vehicles with separate tweeter and woofers.

Cons: I honestly have not found any yet. These really are great.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Laurel

Justin from Laurel on 10/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had this installed in a 2016 Kia Soul yesterday to replace my dead factory speakers. Have listened to various artists, rock, rap and dance. Some of it sounds great, while some of it where the bass should clearly thump isn't even present. Heavy metal is missing something on these speakers as well. The vocals are loud and clean, almost to clean, the bass is seriously lacking or off in many cases. I am not happy with this at all and want to return it and wait a month to get factory speakers back.

Pros: Loud, clean vocals.

Cons: Bass is too weak in some cases

Crutchfield response on 10/4/2023
Justin, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Jeremy from White River Junction on 9/16/2023

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm sure the speakers are great. Crutchfield not so much. It states these speakers and all that is needed is the wire harnesses. Wrong. For 2008 Audi A4 Sedan (non-Bose) you need Spacer Adapter Speaker Rings. Looks to be Metra 82-9101 which on Metra's site says fit. However on Crutchfield's site says they do not. The included adapter plate in the Kenwood speaker box doesn't have enough thickness to have a gap between the window track nor do any of the screw holes line up with the factory holes. On the Kenwood box it doesn't state Audi at all for acceptable applications. The included "how to" guide from Crutchfield was vague at best at did not give any direction to help assist. Overall a bad experience. ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/26/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Heather, reached out to Jeremy to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 7 found this helpful

Stoked!

Ryath from Sebastopol, CA on 7/20/2023

2010 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are excellent! Crisp, bright, and full sound from the woofers and the tweets. I replaced the factory - paper - speakers on a gen 3 Prius, and I can't believe I waited so long to do this upgrade. So worth it and easy to install everything except routing the tweeters through the door "boots." Comparing with some less expensive Kickers in the rear door; these definitely sound better to my ears. The mid/low ranges are excellent and the tweeters are so sharp I had to adjust them down from my receiver (waiting on a fuse for my compact sub, which might round that out.)

Pros: Excellent sound, mostly easy install (beginner here), definitely worth the price point

Cons: Tweeters are almost too sharp, which I now understand after reading some other reviews... just something to adjust on the receiver side. Routing through the door boot and shaping the tweeter bracket are the most challenging aspects of the install IMO

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Blake from MINNEAPOLIS, MN on 7/9/2023

2004 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound really good but I said it will fit my 350z lower frond door but the driver side window won't roll down all the way

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Not right fit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Absolutely excellent speakers.

Ian r from OXFORD, MI on 7/2/2023

2014 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers are absolutely incredible. I put these components in the front and I put a really nice set of massive audio carbon Siri's in the back that cost a lot more than these and they don't sound half as good.

Pros: All of them.

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon for the win (AGAIN)!!!

Nick from Miamisburg on 6/2/2023

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'll admit-I was skeptical about these, being that they had in-line, passive crossovers, which is usually something I see in more entry-level component speaker packages. But the included brackets and tweeters fit my 2007 Toyota Tundra perfectly in the stock front door locations and I already had a Kenwood DMX9707S head unit and Kenwood Excelon Reference XR901-5 amplifier, so I thought it would pair well for my setup and ordered a set. I installed them in the stock front door tweeter and woofer locations and they fit flawlessly with no modification to my truck! I also fully sound deadened both doors to further improve performance. I turned them on, already having removed the back door speakers, sub, and disabled all 3 dash speakers (I had factory JBL/Nav) and let me tell you-WOW! These aren't even broken in yet and still the bass they put out is extremely surprising for a 7" door speaker at this price point! Match that with the clear and smooth highs and it's a winning combo for sure! I haven't even fully dialed in my amp or EQ yet to make them really shine and still they are the best speakers I've heard at this price point! Get a set, you'll absolutely LOVE them! Side note-I paired them with their coaxial siblings (KFC-X183C) in the rear doors. They come with the same brackets and fit the back doors PERFECTLY! I'm not sure why Crutchfield says they won't fit, but that simply is not true. If you have a tundra or other compatible vehicle, this front/rear setup ROCKS!

Pros: Great bass, excellent fit, amazing sound quality all around, can take my amp's power to high volume with zero distortion, included brackets. Excellent value for the pricepoint and punches WAAAAY above it's weight class.

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice and snug

Justin from GROVELAND, MA on 4/13/2023

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding package, this was a mice addition to the 6x9 Excelon component set in the front doors and dash of my 2015 Ram. I didn't want to alter to much of the factory appearance of the truck and that was achieved with this set. I was able to mount the tweeters right to the supplied adapter bracket. The door panel needed a little love to get it back on but it was a nice snug fit. I could of probably snapped the two tall tabs off but I just left them on because they fit. I highly suggest some sound proofing.

Pros: Price of the set, ease of install

Cons: I wish the made the Ram bracket fit the tweeter.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Brenham, TX on 12/23/2022

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick Delivery, well Packaged and quality products! Can't wait to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Ok

Michael from LEESVILLE, LA on 8/18/2022

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not bad for the price. The highs are nice and crisp, but lacking in any sort of bass. They are getting 60w of power.

Pros: Good highs, loud

Cons: Lacking mids

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Maurice from Grosse Pointe, MI on 8/3/2022

2022 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in the front doors of my 2022 Durango powered by a Rockford Fosgate r2-300×4 and the clarity and sound is crystal clear. Perfect mid bass and the tweeters scream

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing speakers!!!

Christopher from Peachland, NC on 3/5/2022

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Holy cow!!! These hit SOOOOOOO much harder than the stock speakers! I have it mated to a pioneer double din stereo. I was about to get an amp with them but I don't even need one.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Not a dang thing!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing clarity without harsh tweeters

Paul from Springville, AL on 1/15/2022

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These components were the first upgrade for my 2022 4Runner (non-JBL). The 6X9 version was out of stock everywhere and Crutchfield recommended these as a good alternative. They included everything I need to install them and I was shocked at how good they sound with just the factory radio power. I can't wait to see how good they sound when I get an amp installed. I prefer silk tweeters because they aren't harsh and fatiguing and these are exactly what I was looking for. The highs are crisp but not overpowering and the overall sound is fantastic. I used the Crutchfield listen to compare option for these and several other options and these sounded the best to me. They sound just as good in person. Oh and they come with all kinds of foam so you may not even need any fast rings. Get em!

Pros: Great sound. Foam and mounting options included.

Cons: No official bypass for bi-amp (but it can be done).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing sound quality

JOSEPH from MICKLETON, NJ on 1/30/2021

2003 Acura 3.2CL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The quality of sound out of these speakers is second to none. They are super crisp and clear. powered up by excelon xr401 75 watts rms. These things put out amazing bass too. They thump. I turned bass down on them because I run a sub but before i did these things were almost to I dont need a sub. at full volume they are clear as can be. Ear bleeding with zero distortion. You dont realize how loud it is til you get out of car and cant hear anything.

Pros: just incredible speakers

Cons: zero!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not Focal or Alpine but still nice

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, OR on 11/30/2020

2018 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They were better than the factory Beats that came in the car.

Pros: 8 out of 10 for clarity

Cons: None, they are good

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Black Mountain, NC on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible sound from these components! Easy installation with mounting brackets included. A simple plug and play speaker system. These have deep bass, clear mids and highs. The highs are not ear piercing like others that I have heard. I replaced front and rear doors with these and can not recommend them highly enough

Pros: Easy install, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. And great service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, CT on 6/23/2020

2012 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome. I have given them a little power with alpine 445u amp and they kick!

Pros: Size, quality, and comes with plenty of extras in the box.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Prospect, CT on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome clarity and mids

Marc from Waxahachie, TX on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did a custom install into my 08 F250, 2 years ago, started off powering these and a pair of the excelon 6x8 by an mb quart amp 1000x4 then my mb quart sub amp went out so I switched to the Kenwood 5 channel to run the whole system. These matched with the excelon amp sound awesome. Clean amd crisp.

Pros: Killer sound, adapter plates, no crossover box to hide

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 4/14/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the factory speakers in my 2014 Tacoma. The installation was pretty straight forward with the installation accessories supplied by Crutchfield. I did have to fabricate a bracket to mount the tweeters in the factory location. The sound was a drastic improvement over the stock system. The highs are crisp and clean without getting harsh at any volume level. These speakers love power, I added a Kenwood 45x4 amp to my system about a week after installing the speakers. They responded very well to the additional power. I highly recommend these speakers, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Crisp and clean highs. Very smooth mids.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

2007 Tundra W/jbl

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy DIY, replaced the front door 6x9's and tweeters on a 2007 Toyota Tundra w/JBL. The directions provided by Crutchfield worked perfect, the new speakers come with an adapter plate to change the 6x9's to the new 7" with no cutting or trimming. The tweeters just pop into the factory molding and connect to the new 7" speakers which provides a cross over. Super easy, no cutting, no soldering and I only needed a flat and a Phillips head screwdriver for the Tundra installation. The sound of the new Kenwood 7' speaker is amazing; huge upgrade from the factory 6x9's.

Pros: Easy installation, great sound, and comes with Crutchfield's product support.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect Replacement for Door 6x9s

Nuke from Dallas, TX on 2/9/2020

2012 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a set of 6x9 2 ways in the doors of my Charger with the 7" drivers from this component set, and they sound great. I did not use the tweeters from this component set in my car since I didn't want to try to traverse the wiring plug in the door jam, and I already have Infinity 3.5" speakers in the dash handling my highs. I am pushing the door+dash parallel combo with 100w RMS from the front channels on my 4 channel amp and they handle it just fine. No complaints, love these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, OR on 10/4/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound very good. I took a star off because there was no way to support the tweeter in the housing. Seems like it would be easy to make a mounting plate.

Pros: Sound good Easy to install (except tweeter)

Cons: No mounting bracket for tweeter

Crutchfield response on

5 of 12 found this helpful

Enormous Tweeters

Corey from Vancouver BC on 9/28/2019

2013 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wasn't able to find any tweeter dimensions online even from Kenwood, but they are hidden on the inside flaps of the box which can be used for cutting templates. I uploaded a picture of those templates with this review. The tweeter was way larger and deeper than I expected, requiring a 45mm or 1 and 3/4" diameter hole to mount in my existing sail panel. The value in this kit is that everything needed is included in the box, plus the foam gaskets and front foam rings that you'd have to source separately with pretty much any other speaker set. I was pleasantly surprised with the inclusion of self tapping screws that fit my factory speaker holes after I drilled out the rivets, but those screw heads tended to strip rather easily. You will need extra materials to connect the included pigtails to the factory wiring. I chose to solder and heat shrink. My first reaction when playing music on these was that I could actually hear cymbals that I could not before with the OEM speakers. Those big tweeters play loud and proud.

Pros: Speaker brackets, foam gaskets and rings included

Cons: Large tweeters may not fit in all applications. Crossover is just a heat shrinked package, and nothing fancy looking.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

14 of 16 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Washington, VA on 9/24/2019

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers sound very good . Used them as a replacement for stock speaker in my 13 Silverado. Still have plans to add an amp but they sound so good i dont know if i will

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 9/22/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good stock replacements. Went in with no problems and sound much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2008 Tundra w/JBL system

Crutchfield customer from Pearland,TX on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my worn out 2008 Tundra JBL speakers. Was a little concerned going to a 4ohm. No need to worry the sound is awesome. I knew I was missing out on sound due to the condition of my old speakers but WOW what a difference. The tweeters fill in the sound and the mids have some thump. They sound even better when I connect to my AUX port. I would recommend these for anyone looking for and easy replacement for worn out Tundra w/JBL 6x9 (Everything you need is in the box) and tweeters fit in stock bracket (pop the old one out and replace with new one).

Pros: everything included in the box, sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 6/23/2019

2017 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound even on my factory head unit in my 2017 F150

Pros: Great sound quality

Cons: Supplied speaker ring adapters are a little thin and flimsy ended up making my own out of wood.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Roberto from San Antonio, TX on 4/22/2018

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers, the mid bass off of the woofers is incredible. Brought a new degree sound to my crew cab truck!

Pros: Great mid bass

Cons: None right now

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound

Albert from Greensboro, NC on 3/1/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. The detailed installation instructions were very helpful. Installed them in less than half a day. Kenwood quality is second to none.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Tweeter needed some extra time during the install.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Superb Sound Quality

Thomas from Tampa, Florida on 1/21/2018

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unbeatable clarity and able to take the load without any distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Exellent 6x9 replacement.

Mac from Covington, GA on 7/14/2017

2006 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound amazing even with only 14watts coming from my receiver for now. Properly adjusted crossover has my rear sounding like I have a sub installed and no distortion. The fit is nearly perfect to be a 6x9 replacement. Installation was obviously more involved but not difficult by any means. I only wish the same set in 6-3/4s fit my front location. If you are like me and dislike both 6x9s and coaxial, definitely get these.

Pros: Sound!!!! Overall ease of installation as a custom fit speaker, box comes with just about everything to get the job done.

Cons: Installation requires a bit of thought, but that is the nature of these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Nice do-all dpeaker

Guest from Dearborn, MI on 6/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great. Running 75 watts through the speakers. Good bass nice highs. Fits in 2008 audi doors, tweeter fit in dash location. Paired with the 7" coaxials. Nice match.

Pros: 7" fits my 6.5" location. Sounds great.

Cons: Tweeter wires are not color coded. Make sure you have a meter to ensure the tweeters are in phase.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Brent Mercer

WBM from Elkton, VA on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great, and fit great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

EXCELLENT UPGRADE FROM FACTORY SPEAKERS 09 tacoma

tootled from brighton, MA on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

only running these things from my Pioneer AVH-X5800BHS with Kenwood KFC-1795PS in the back door and a Sound Ordnance B-8PTD.. nice and clean sound when tuned.. mostly listen to rock though... but dance music and rap sounds great also

Pros: great upgrade from factory speakers

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works on my 2015 Toyota Corolla

Sione from San Jose, CA on 2/18/2015

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for my 2015 Toyota Corolla, even though the site says this will not fit, but it fits just fine. I only had to drill the rivets out for the stock speakers and tap in to the wire going to the tweeter. The provided bracket works good and you can pop the tweeter out of the housing so you can fit it in to your cars OEM housing.

Pros: Sounds good, fits perfect. No hacking and cutting in to your door frame to make this fit, both tweeter and sub fits with out any hacking.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

just bought this system for my 1998 chevy 1500

nolan from missouri city tx on 11/5/2014

1998 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

crisp and clean sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

My wife likes!

KL from Austin, TX on 4/26/2013

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Kenwood Excelon's installed easily in my wife's 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan doors. I used the factory 6X9 location to house the 7" speakers with Kenwood's bracket. The materials and hardware shipped with the kit were first class. Kenwood had directions specific to Dodge, Toyota, GM, and a few others. The included wire and speaker leads made wiring a breeze. I mounted the component tweeters next to the door speaker on the door panel (plastic drilling required with a 1.75" drill attachment costing $6 at a hardware store). The crossover was imbedded in the woofer and the wiring, making the installation much easier. Mounting a crossover was more than I wanted to tackle; I had visions of the crossover issues and an unhappy wife. The speaker quality was great. The installation went great. The sound is excellent. Good deep bass and clear highs. The component tweeters swivel a bit and can be positioned for ideal directionality. The highs are a tad bright, but some equalization on the stereo easily corrected that. Overall I am very happy with the speaker sound. My wife said today she came home and listened to old music for 30 minutes in our driveway. She loves the new sound. She said it is much more clear and crisp. Wife's happy = me happy. I paid full price (no sale unfortunately) and I would purchase these again. Note also, I installed with Dynamat door kit. The speakers are running from the factory (non-Infinity) head unit; no external amplifier.

Pros: Great component level quality without the separate crossover to mount. Impressive materials all around.

Cons: Would have been nice to catch them on sale.

Crutchfield response on

26 of 28 found this helpful

Compare the sound