Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
373 502 89
Connect ID #
373 502 89

Sorry, chat is currently unavailable

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Steel Replacement Antenna

Steel Replacement Antenna Removable mast antenna for select Ford, Mazda, GM, or Chrysler vehicles

MFR # 44-FD810

4.0 out of 5 stars
25 reviews
View this product
Steel Replacement Antenna

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 3/9/2024

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gets very good reception. Easy to install. Recommend it.

Pros: Best reception ever.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dont Bother...

Timothy from Keyport, NJ on 1/28/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This antenna was a big disappointment. The mounting method, compared to the stock Ford antenna was just unworthy of any vehicle. Really, this is not a unit you want to purchase. I actually returned it for my money back which Crutchfield honorably did with no questions asked.

Pros: None known

Cons: Everything. it is not a well engineered antenna.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Ray from Havana, FL on 12/15/2023

1979 Ford LTD

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice antenna. Well built, good price, fast ship

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Choice

Jack from Havelock, NC on 9/26/2023

1973 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what it should be. Fits. Works. Affordable. Delivered quickly. Quality from a quality company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Maria from Barranquitas, PR on 8/29/2023

1999 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's fits perfect in my truck, came quick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacing the Ranger antenna

John from Moyock, NC on 5/31/2023

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit and function are excellent. The Master Sheet didn't have any instructions about antenna replacement. Fortunately, I'm not a noob. Detach the old antenna from the fender. Pull the entire radio bezel, two bolts above the HVAC controls and it snaps out. Disconnect the old antenna. Follow safety procedures and pull the passenger air bag module by two bolts accessible through glove compartment. Look hard and you'll see the antenna wire exiting the firewall. Thread a strong string on the old antenna wire plug and pull it out through the antenna hole on the fender. Tie onto the new antenna wire plug and pull the new antenna wire through the firewall hole. This requires jiggling and expletives. Clamp down the new antenna to the fender. Route the new antenna wire, secure all the excess length. Reassemble the air bag module and dash bezel. Done. Reception is great.

Pros: Antenna fit and function are great.

Cons: As usual, car manufacturers make an easy job more difficult that it should be.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Suited my need perfectly

Jonathan from Sterling, MA on 2/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This antenna, 44-FD810, was selected primarily to cover a broken antenna's extra mounting holes. The larger of the two supplied bases covered the four mounting holes that the old antenna had used. The larger base and its 'gasket' are tapered to permit installing them with opposing tapers for horizontal fender top, or with matching tapers for slightly sloped fender top. That adjustability and rotating the antenna to line the grip arms under the fender to the high and low points of the fender slope permitted perfect vertical mast positioning. Mine is installed on a fiberglass body so I needed to add a ground wire.

Pros: Large base availability: That's what I wanted to cover up the mount holes of the prior antenna. Low purchase cost

Cons: Running the antenna wire through the vehicle to the radio could be difficult, but that's vehicle dependent, and not an issue with the antenna.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not a replacement: a full one-piece antenna assembly

Brian from Charlo, MT on 6/10/2022

1993 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty simple, but if you have an ancient vehicle this is not a good idea. In my 30 year old truck, routing a new antenna cable through the completely disintegrated material that the original cable used to run through is never going to happen. If you just need to swap out a broken antenna mast, get something else. The casing of this thing is forged together as a single piece and the brass base is press-fit into the molded end of the cable itself - there is no way to take this thing apart at all. That means that the majority of this item is stuff nobody probably needs unless their vehicle doesn't have a radio antenna to begin with. In the end, I had to use a vice to press the brass fitting on the antenna itself into the original mount with some metal packing. It works fine, but a junkyard might have been a better bet for that kind of solution. Anyway, your mileage may vary, and make sure you can/want to actually route the cable. Calling this a "replacement" instead of just an antenna assembly is kinda bs imo, it's clear its a production component, but then it was picked out for me sight unseen so I can't really ding it too much.

Pros: Cheap. Has a couple base plate options.

Cons: Press fit together. "Replacement" in this case means removing the entire original antenna cable and rerouting this one in. Good in case your original antenna cable is stolen by wombats or burns down or something.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice option for broken or missing antenna

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 9/12/2021

1977 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice antenna with 2 different bases. Seems to be high quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 2/18/2021

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Delivered on time. Was easy to install. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product!!

Crutchfield customer from Pagosa Springs, CO on 11/4/2020

1978 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It fits well and works as intended. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Crutchfield customer from Willoughby, OH on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very Happy

Crutchfield customer from Frazier Park, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Antenna fit my 77F250 perfectly. The 6.5 went right in the door beh6the panel and the 5 1/4 speakers needed a 4.5 in hole in the door. My system sounds great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 3/15/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was an exact match to my original antenna.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Medford, NY on 11/9/2019

1996 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect, just what I was looking for!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Crutchfield customer from Pearland, TX on 5/9/2019

1972 AMC Gremlin

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed a new antenna to replace the one that broke on my 1972 AMC Gremlin. I purchased it here on Crutchfield. When it came in it fit perfict the first time even though this car is not listed as one it fits.

Pros: This antenna has 2 different bases giving you more options.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Timothy from Covington, LA on 12/31/2017

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect replacement. I read several reviews about this antenna not seating to the angle of the fender and was hesitant to purchase.However, upon installation i realized the seating clips (underside) needed to be positioned parallel to the angle of the fender in order for the antenna to be perfectly vertical. This antenna was a near perfect factory replacement for my 95 Ford truck. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Mike from Brandywine, MD on 4/12/2017

1995 Mazda B2300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation, package arrived on time, instructions were perfect! Took much less time than I thought it would

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Jovanni J from San Juan, PR on 11/21/2016

1996 Mazda B2300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice antenna replacement

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Steel Replacement Antenna

Ken from Huntington Beach, Ca. on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product as is described. It is even better then I expected. Shipping was fast pricing very competitive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Ok for a quick fix...but...tilted

Dakota from Elkhart, IN on 5/2/2016

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this product to replace the wire on my stock one due to the male connection being cut off and not wanting to modify a new end. It does its job as a antenna replacement ill give it that. BUT it does mount bad. It tilts away from the vehicle at a substantial angle. I did try to bend it back as others said as well and well the mast snapped off. I ended up gluing it back on after bending and test fitting it into the angle I wanted. I still get good reception for the few radio stations. Overall an OK product. Should come with some sort of more adjust-ability for the angle.

Pros: Decent reception for the stations I wanted. Complete antenna and wire replacement for what I needed.

Cons: Mast does stick WAY away from the vehicle and DOES break if you try to bend it. Best thing to do is bend it while it is not in the base. This way the end threaded portion does not end up getting broken off in the base and having either bad reception or having to glue it on and hope it stays.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Replacement Antenna

Crutchfield customer from Pennsylvania on 4/8/2015

1994 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit just like the OEM on my 1994 ford bronco

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good enough for me

wbleavens from California on 3/2/2015

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although a little difficult to thread the antenna cable through the firewall of my '95 F150 (I had to remove the original antenna cable and it was a bear) the antenna works for me. The antenna is not an OEM product, so you have to realize that. I have no complaints on its function. People who think that this antenna is a direct replacement are wrong! They should have done a bit more research and they would realize that. My antenna sits straight as an arrow. If you want a direct replacement of the mast only, then go to your makes dealer and pay the price!! 'Course you also might find one at your local junk yard.

Pros: Works for me, better than original antenna.

Cons: Difficult to thread through firewall.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not a direct screw in replacement for 06 Ranger

Jon from Michigan on 1/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed an antenna when somebody stole mine by simply unscrewing it from the base. I talked to a rep who thought that this would be a direct replacement and could screw into the base. It doesn't. This antenna requires access inside the quarter panel. I found out later that although Ford has been using this antenna design for almost 15 years, no one makes an aftermarket replacement that can screw into the existing base if one's antenna has been stolen/broken. The only option is to buy it from the dealer for about $35. Buying from the dealer was cheaper for me in that it only took a few seconds to screw in instead of opening up the truck. Crutchfield service was fantastic, however. The item is so cheap that it didn't make sense to pay return costs that would nearly equal the credit. So they simply refunded my money. :) Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Customer Support. I realize that has little to do with the actual product, but since I can't use the product, it's the only thing I can say.

Cons: If you just need a screw in replacement, go to the dealer. As of 12/11, they were the only place one can purchase a direct replacement.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Don't waste your time or money on it.

Steve J from Manassas, VA on 8/8/2011

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nearly impossible to get on straight. When tightening it would try to tilt out away from the fender, and while holding it straight with my thumb while tightening, the mast snapped right off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound